1 Department of Commerce

2

3 Adopted Permanent Rules Relating to Currency Exchange Rates

4

- 5 Rules as Adopted
- 6 2872.0100 CURRENCY EXCHANGE FEES.
- 7 Subpart 1. Presumption. It shall be presumed that fees
- 8 and amendments of fees filed with the commissioner of commerce
- 9 under Minnesota Statutes, section 53A.07, are fair and
- 10 reasonable if they do not exceed the following amounts:
- 11 A. for cashing checks,-drafts,-money-orders,-or
- 12 travelers -- checks, -- the-greater-of-(1)-one-and-one-half-percent
- 13 of-the-face-amount-of-the-instrument,-or-(2)-50-cents issued by
- 14 a government entity in an amount up to \$500, the greater of (1)
- 15 2-1/2 percent of the face amount of the instrument, or (2) \$1,
- 16 except that it is permissible to charge a first-time customer up
- 17 to five percent of the face amount of the instrument; and
- B. for cashing checks-issued-by-a-government-entity
- 19 in-an-amount-up-to-\$500,-the-greater-of-(1)-one-percent-of-the
- 20 face-amount-of-the-instrument,-or-(2)-50-cents all other
- 21 government checks and for cashing payroll checks, the greater of
- 22 (1) three percent of the face amount of the instrument, or (2)
- 23 \$1, except that it is permissible to charge a first-time
- 24 customer up to six percent of the face amount of the instrument.
- 25 Subp. 2. Disapproval. Fees and amendments of fees filed
- 26 with the commissioner under Minnesota Statutes, section 53A.07,
- 27 that exceed the maximum amounts in subpart 1 may be disapproved
- 28 by the commissioner as not fair and reasonable based on a
- 29 consideration of the standards in Minnesota Statutes, section
- 30 53A.07, subdivision 3.
- 31 2872-0200-POSTING-OF-FEE-SCHEDULES-
- 32 The-fees-charged-by-a-currency-exchange-for-rendering-any
- 33 service-authorized-by-Minnesota-Statutes,-chapter-53A,-at-all
- 34 times-shall-be-prominently-posted-on-the-premises---The-notice
- 35 shall-be-made-of-plastic-or-metal;-be-no-less-than-30-inches

Approved by Revisor

- 1 wide-and-36-inches-high,-with-letters-between-one-half-inch-and
- 2 three-quarters-inch-in-size-
- 3 For-checksy-other-than-those-which-are-issued-by-a
- 4 government-entity-in-an-amount-up-to-\$500;-the-notice-must
- 5 indicate;-in-one-cent-increments;-between-50-cents-and-\$7:50;
- 6 the-fee-that-applies-to-the-full-amount-of-the-check-to-be
- 7 cashed:
- 8 For-checks-which-are-issued-by-a-government-entity-in-an
- 9 amount-up-to-\$5007-the-notice-shall-indicate7-in-one-cent
- 10 increments,-between-50-cents-and-\$5,-the-fee-that-applies-to-the
- 11 full-amount-of-the-check-to-be-cashed.
- 12 If-a-minimum-fee-of-5θ-cents-is-imposed, the notice-must
- 13 indicate-that-fact:--The-notice-must-be-posted-on-two-separate
- 14 walls-in-the-customers--area-