1 Higher Education Coordinating Board

2

3 Adopted Permanent Rules Relating to Child Care Grants Program

4

- 5 Rules as Adopted
- 6 CHILD CARE GRANTS
- 7 4830.7000 SCOPE.
- 8 Parts 4830.7000 to 4830.7900 govern state assistance to
- 9 institutions to reduce the cost of child care for eligible
- 10 students attending eligible postsecondary institutions.
- 11 4830.7100 DEFINITIONS.
- 12 Subpart 1. Scope. The definitions in this part apply for
- 13 the purposes of parts 4830.7000 to 4830.7900.
- 14 Subp. 2. Continuing enrollment. "Continuing enrollment"
- 15 means that a student has not had an interruption in enrollment
- 16 at the institution in which the student is currently enrolled
- 17 for more than one academic term or 60 days of the immediately
- 18 preceding academic year, whichever is longer. A student may
- 19 miss one academic term and summer school and not lose continuing
- 20 enrollment status.
- 21 Subp. 3. Eligible employment. "Eligible employment" means
- 22 the number of hours of paid employment that the institution
- 23 determines shall be covered with child care assistance, not to
- 24 exceed 20 hours of employment per week.
- Subp. 4. Eligible hours of education. "Eligible hours of
- 26 education" means:
- 27 A. hours spent in class;
- B. up to a maximum of one hour a day for
- 29 transportation between class, home, and employment;
- 30 C. up to four hours a day between classes; and
- D. additional eligible hours as determined by the
- 32 institution.
- 33 Subp. 5. Eligible student. "Eligible student" means a
- 34 student who:
- A. has a child 12 years of age or younger, or 14

Approved by Revisor

- l years of age or younger who is handicapped as defined in
- 2 Minnesota Statutes, section 120.03, and who is receiving or will
- 3 receive care on a regular basis from a provider of child care
- 4 services as those terms are defined in Minnesota Statutes,
- 5 section 256H.01, subdivisions 2 and 12, after the grant is
- 6 received;
- 7 B. is a resident of Minnesota as defined in part
- 8 4830.0400, subpart 2;
- 9 C. is not a recipient of aid to families with
- 10 dependent children;
- 11 D. has not earned a baccalaureate degree and has been
- 12 enrolled full time in any postsecondary institution fewer than
- 13 eight semesters, 12 quarters, or the equivalent;
- 14 E. is pursuing a nonsectarian program or course of
- 15 study that applies to an undergraduate degree, diploma, or
- 16 certificate;
- 17 F. is enrolled at least half time in an eligible
- 18 institution for the term for which an award is received;
- 19 G. is in good academic standing and making
- 20 satisfactory progress, as defined by the institution according
- 21 to federal requirements; and
- 22 H. reports any changes to data reported on the child
- 23 care application within ten days of the change.
- Subp. 6. Nonsectarian program. "Nonsectarian program"
- 25 means a program of study that is not specifically designed to
- 26 prepare students to become ministers of religion, to enter some
- 27 other religious vocation, or to prepare them to teach
- 28 theological subjects. A nonsectarian program may provide for
- 29 the scholarly study of religion as a discipline of knowledge in
- 30 a manner similar to that provided for any other field of study,
- 31 but must not require its students to take courses that are based
- 32 on a particular set of religious beliefs, to receive instruction
- 33 intended to propagate or promote any religious beliefs, to
- 34 participate in religious activities, to maintain affiliation
- 35 with a particular church or religious organization, or to attest
- 36 to any particular religious beliefs.

- 1 Subp. 7. Institution's share. "Institution's share" means
- 2 the number of students in an eligible institution who have
- 3 applied for the state scholarship and grant program under parts
- 4 4830.0200 to 4830.0700 for the most current academic year and
- 5 who have reported dependent children.
- 6 4830.7200 ELIGIBLE INSTITUTIONS.
- 7 Institutions eligible for child care grants are Minnesota
- 8 public postsecondary institutions and private, residential
- 9 colleges or universities granting two-year or four-year liberal
- 10 arts degrees that have signed a child care program agreement
- ll with the board.
- 12 4830.7300 STUDENT PRIORITY.
- Beginning July 1, 1990, a student who has received an award
- 14 from the program in the immediately preceding academic year and
- 15 who has had continuing enrollment at that institution must be
- 16 given a child care award for the next academic year if the
- 17 student remains eligible and funds are available. A student
- 18 shall apply for a continuation of funds by June 1 of the
- 19 preceding academic year or lose priority ranking for the funds
- 20 over students who did not apply for a continuation of funds by
- 21 June 1 and eligible students applying for a child care grant for
- 22 the first time.
- 23 4830.7400 APPLICATION AND DISTRIBUTION OF FUNDS FOR GRANTS.
- 24 Subpart 1. Initial allocation formula. Funds shall be
- 25 allocated to each eligible institution according to the
- 26 following formula:
- A. the institution's share divided by the sum of
- 28 participating institutions' shares; and
- B. multiplied by the current fiscal year's
- 30 appropriation for child care grants.
- 31 Subp. 2. Yearly allocation to institutions. After the
- 32 1989-1990 academic year, funds shall be allocated to each
- 33 eligible institution according to the following formula:
- A. the institution's share divided by the sum of

- l participating institutions' shares;
- B. multiplied by the current fiscal year's
- 3 appropriation for child care grants; and
- 4 C. multiplied by the percent of funds for child care
- 5 grants actually used by the institution during the prior
- 6 academic year.
- 7 Subp. 3. Reallocation. The board shall reallocate
- 8 available funds at least twice during the academic year to
- 9 institutions requesting additional child care funds according to
- 10 the following formula:
- 11 A. the institution's share divided by the sum of the
- 12 shares of institutions requesting additional funds; and
- B. multiplied by the amount of child care funds
- 14 available for reallocation.
- Subp. 4. Administrative expense. By July 1 of each year,
- 16 the board shall set the percentage of awarded child care grant
- 17 funds that may be used for administration of the child care
- 18 program by the board and the institution.
- 19 Subp. 5. Notification. The board shall notify each
- 20 participating institution in writing of allocation and
- 21 reallocation amounts.
- Subp. 6. Accountability. Each participating institution
- 23 shall be accountable for any funds disbursed to students for
- 24 child care grants. Funds may be used only during the fiscal
- 25 year of disbursement. If a student does not use a grant because
- 26 the student does not enroll or withdraws from the institution,
- 27 the institution may use the funds for other eligible students or
- 28 return them to the board.
- 29 Subp. 7. Unused funds. An institution shall return funds
- 30 that the institution determines will not be used within 30 days
- 31 from the date of a request by the board. The board shall
- 32 reallocate unused funds to other participating institutions
- 33 requesting additional funds.
- 34 4830.7500 AMOUNT AND TERM OF GRANTS.
- 35 Subpart 1. Financial need. An institution shall award a

- l grant to each eligible student to the extent allocated funds are
- 2 available. The family income and family size used shall be that
- 3 used to determine eligibility for the state scholarship and
- 4 grant program under parts 4830.0200 to 4830.0700 and must be
- 5 within the income ranges established by Minnesota Statutes,
- 6 section 256H.10, subdivision 2. Each student shall report any
- 7 changes in income within ten days to the institution.
- 8 Subp. 2. Amount. The amount of a grant must cover:
- 9 A. the cost of child care for all children 12 years
- 10 old or younger, or 14 years old or younger if the child is
- 11 handicapped as defined in Minnesota Statutes, section 120.03;
- B. the total number of eligible hours for which child
- 13 care is needed; and
- 14 C. the provider's charge up to a maximum rate
- 15 established each year by the board based on rate information
- 16 received from the Department of Human Services in each county
- 17 where services are being provided.
- The institution shall determine the amount of child care
- 19 needed for the eligible hours of education as defined in part
- 20 4830.7100, subpart 4, and the number of eligible hours of
- 21 employment as defined in part 4830.7100, subpart 3, for each
- 22 academic term and then subtract the amount of student copayment
- 23 for each month of child care according to charts provided by the
- 24 board.
- The amount of the grant must not exceed 60 hours per child
- 26 per week and must not cover hours during which a parent or legal
- 27 guardian is capable and available to care for the children.
- 28 If, after an award is made, a student presents information
- 29 to the institution that would increase the student's child care
- 30 award, the award must be increased if program funds are
- 31 available.
- 32 Subp. 3. Insufficient funds. An institution shall make
- 33 awards that cover all eligible hours as defined in part
- 34 4830.7100, subparts 3 and 4. An institution may use one of the
- 35 following methods to award the next student on the institution's
- 36 waiting list if funds are insufficient to award all students

- 1 eligible for the child care grants:
- A. an institution may delay the beginning of an award
- 3 but once an award is made, the award must continue throughout
- 4 the year unless a student becomes ineligible;
- 5 B. an institution may award a student a full child
- 6 care grant but notify the student that all awards are contingent
- 7 on the availability of funds and that the student might not
- 8 receive the full award; as refunds or reallocations make funds
- 9 available, no new student may receive an award until outstanding
- 10 awards are assured full disbursement; or
- 11 C. an institution may supplement child care money
- 12 with institutional money in order to make a full disbursement to
- 13 a student.
- 14 4830.7600 PAYMENT.
- 15 Child care payments shall be made each academic term to the
- 16 student or to the child care provider, as determined by the
- 17 institution.
- 18 4830.7700 TERMINATION OF CHILD CARE AWARD.
- 19 A child care award shall be terminated if the student
- 20 ceases to meet the eligibility requirements in part 4830.7100,
- 21 subpart 5. Before termination of the award occurs, the
- 22 institution must allow the student to meet with the financial
- 23 aid officer at the institution to discuss the termination, and
- 24 documentation as to why the termination should not occur.
- 25 4830.7710 PROCEDURES FOR DENIAL OR TERMINATION OF A CHILD CARE
- 26 AWARD.
- 27 Subpart 1. Applicability. Students meeting the
- 28 eligibility requirements in part 4830.7100, subpart 5, but
- 29 denied a child care grant award due to an institution's lack of
- 30 program funds, shall be placed on the institution's waiting list
- 31 pending the availability of program funds. Subpart 2 and part
- 32 4830.7720 are not applicable to students who are denied child
- 33 care grant awards due to lack of program funds.
- 34 Subp. 2. Procedures. A school must follow the procedures

- 1 in items A to D when denying or terminating a child care grant
- 2 award except in cases where the denial is due to lack of program
- 3 funds.
- A. The school shall notify a student, in writing, of
- 5 denial or termination of a child care grant award. The notice
- 6 must state the reason or reasons the assistance is being denied
- 7 or terminated. The notice shall inform the student of the right
- 8 to contest the adverse action and the procedure for doing so.
- 9 Except for cases of suspected fraud when a child care grant is
- 10 terminated, the notice must be mailed to the student's last
- 11 known address, or hand delivered to the recipient at least 14
- 12 calendar days before terminating assistance. In cases of
- 13 suspected fraud, the termination notice must be mailed or hand
- 14 delivered at least five working days before the effective date
- 15 of the termination.
- B. Failure of a child care grant recipient to provide
- 17 required information or documentation, to report changes
- 18 required under part 4830.7100, subpart 5, or to pay the family
- 19 copayment fee or the provider charge if the state share of the
- 20 subsidy is paid directly to the family, is just cause for
- 21 terminating assistance.
- C. Child care assistance payments shall be terminated
- 23 pending the result of the appeal process in part 4830.7720. If
- 24 the appeal results in the continuation of child care payments to
- 25 the student, payments covering the period from termination to
- 26 the appeal decision to continue child care payments shall be
- 27 made retroactively to the extent allocated funds are available.
- D. If the child care grant award is made by vendor
- 29 payment, the school shall inform the child care provider of the
- 30 notice of termination pending the results of the appeal process.
- 31 4830.7720 APPEAL PROCESS.
- 32 Subpart 1. Appeal request. An applicant or recipient of a
- 33 child care subsidy adversely affected by a school's action may
- 34 file a written request for an appeal.
- 35 Subp. 2. Informal conference. The school shall offer an

- 1 informal conference to students adversely affected by the
- 2 school's decision in an attempt to resolve the dispute. The
- 3 school shall advise such students that a request for a
- 4 conference with the school is optional and does not delay or
- 5 replace the right to an appeal under subpart 1.
- 6 Subp. 3. Appeal process. Students must follow the normal
- 7 appeal process established by the school to handle complaints
- 8 about financial aid program decisions. The school's appeal
- 9 process must be completed within two weeks of the student's
- 10 filing a written request for an appeal with the school. If the
- 11 student is not satisfied with the result of the appeal, the
- 12 student may ask the school to forward the results to the
- 13 executive director of the Minnesota Higher Education
- 14 Coordinating Board for review. The school must forward the
- 15 results of the appeal and documentation provided by the student
- 16 at the appeal to the executive director within two weeks of the
- 17 school's appeal decision. The executive director shall review
- 18 the decision and accompanying documentation, and shall make a
- 19 decision according to Minnesota Statutes, section 136A.125, and
- 20 parts 4830.7000 to 4830.7900. The student and school shall be
- 21 advised in writing of the executive director's decision. The
- 22 executive director's decision is final.
- 23 4830.7800 REFUNDS.
- 24 If a recipient reduces enrollment, the institution must
- 25 refund the unused portion of the award. Refunds are determined
- 26 as follows:
- 27 A. the percentage the child care award represents of
- 28 the student's total financial aid package for the applicable
- 29 term; and
- 30 B. multiplied by the amount determined to be refunded
- 31 to the student under the institution's refund policy. The
- 32 result yields the amount to be refunded to the program fund.
- 33 Refunded awards are available for reassignment to other
- 34 qualified applicants.
- 35 4830.7900 REPORTS OF DATA.

- 1 Institutions must:
- 2 A. collect demographic, educational, and financial
- 3 data specified by the board from eligible students requesting
- 4 child care grants;
- B. provide the board with individual student data
- 6 upon request;
- 7 C. report information about students who receive
- 8 awards, students who are on the waiting list, and students who
- 9 were denied awards, including the institution's methods of
- 10 prioritizing applicants if insufficient funds are available; and
- 11 D. submit fiscal year program activity reports and
- 12 student data reports to the board.
- 13 Fiscal year program activity reports and student data
- 14 reports are required by the board. Institutions shall correctly
- 15 complete and submit all required reports and any applicable
- 16 refunds to the board by the first working day after August 9.
- 17 The board shall withhold an institution's subsequent year's
- 18 allocation if the deadline date is not met.