1 Public Utilities Commission

2

3 Adopted Permanent Rules Relating to Utility Service

4 Disconnection During Cold Weather

5

6 Rules as Adopted

7 7820.1500 PURPOSE AND AUTHORITY.

Parts 7820.1500 to 7820.2300 are prescribed by the 8 commission pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, chapter 216B, in its 9 entirety and in particular Minnesota Statutes, sections 216B.01, 10 216B.02, 216B.026, 216B.08, 216B.09, 216B.095, 216B.17, and 11 216B.23, and the Public Utilities Regulatory Policies Act of 12 1978, United States Code, title 15, sections 3201 et seq. and 13 United States Code, title 16, sections 2601 et seq. to prohibit 14 disconnection of a residential utility customer who is unable to 15 pay for utility service during cold weather months. Parts 16 7820.1500 to 7820.2300 do not relieve a residential customer's 17 responsibility for utility bills. 18

19 7820.1600 DEFINITIONS.

20 Subpart 1. [Unchanged.]

Subp. 1a. Calendar days. "Calendar days" means Mondays through Sundays, including legal holidays. When calculating a period of time under parts 7820.1500 to 7820.2300, if the last day of the period falls on a legal holiday, that day shall be omitted from the computation.

26 Subp. 2. [Unchanged.]

27 Subp. 2a. Financial counseling provider. "Financial 28 counseling provider" means an entity that provides budget 29 counseling and:

A. is affiliated with the National Foundation on
Consumer Credit Counseling or the Counsel on Accreditation of
Services for Families and Children, Inc.;

B. is licensed with the Minnesota Department of
Commerce to offer a debt prorating plan; or

1

35

C. has licensed social workers or staff registered

Approved

by Revisor

m

04/18/90

with the Board on Unlicensed Mental Health Providers.
 Subp. 2b. Household income. "Household income" means the
 income, as defined in Minnesota Statutes, section 290A.03,
 subdivision 3, of a residential customer and all persons
 residing with the residential customer. Household income does
 not include any amount received for energy assistance.

Subp. 2c. Local energy assistance provider. "Local energy
assistance provider" means a subgrantee for the purposes of
implementing the low-income home energy assistance block grant
as provided by Public Law Number 97-35, as amended.

11 Subp. 2d. Monthly income. "Monthly income" means the actual monthly income of all persons residing in the household, 12 13 as defined in Minnesota Statutes, section 290A.03, subdivision 14 3, of a residential customer. For a residential customer who is 15 normally employed only on a seasonal basis and whose annual income is over 135 percent of the federal poverty level, as 16 17 provided under Public Law Number 97-35, as amended, monthly 18 income is the average monthly income of the residential customer computed on an annual calendar year basis added to the monthly 19 income of all persons residing in the household. Monthly income 20 does not include any amount received for energy assistance. 21

Subp. 3. Notice of residential customer rights and possible assistance. "Notice of residential customer rights and possible assistance" means a commission-approved,

25 easy-to-understand explanation of the residential customer's 26 rights and responsibilities under parts 7820.1500 to 7820.2300.

Subp. 3a. 185 percent of the federal poverty level. "185 percent of the federal poverty level" means 185 percent of the federal poverty level, as provided by Public Law Number 97-35, as amended.

31 Subp. 4. Payment schedule. "Payment schedule" means any 32 mutually acceptable agreement between the residential customer 33 and utility that provides for the payment of the balance of any 34 outstanding bills and future bills for estimated usage during 35 the period covered by the payment schedule. Payment schedule 36 also means a budget payment plan pursuant to Minnesota Statutes,

> Approved by Revisor _

04/18/90

section 325E.015. Payment schedule does not include the ten
 percent plan or a reconnection plan.

Subp. 4a. Reasonably on time with payments. "Reasonably
on time with payments" means payment within seven calendar days
of agreed-to payment dates.

6 Subp. 4b. Reconnection plan. "Reconnection plan" means a 7 payment plan for a <u>an income eligible</u> residential customer whose 8 service remains disconnected as of October 15 pursuant to part 9 7820.2300.

10 Subp. 5. [Unchanged.]

Subp. 5a. Ten percent plan. "Ten percent plan" means
payment by the residential customer to the utility of ten

13 percent of the residential customer's monthly income or the full 14 amount of the current month's utility bill, not including 15 arrearages, pursuant to part 7820.1800, subpart 1, item B. 16 Subp. 6. [Unchanged.]

Subp. 6a. Utility. "Utility" means a public utility as 17 defined in Minnesota Statutes, section 216B.02, as modified by 18 Minnesota Statutes, section 216B.026. Utility also means a 19 cooperative electric association when a complaint is filed under 20 21 Minnesota Statutes, section 216B.17, subdivision 6a. Utility 22 also means a municipally owned gas or electric utility for 23 nonresident consumers of the municipally owned utility when a complaint is filed under Minnesota Statutes, section 216B.17, 24 25 subdivision 6.

26 Subp. 7. [Unchanged.]

27 7820.1700 EARLY NOTIFICATION OF RIGHTS AND THIRD PARTY NOTICE 28 OPTION.

All utilities shall include a "third party notice" and a commission-approved, easy-to-understand general statement of the protections of parts 7820.1500 to 7820.2300 annually as a separate mailing or in the monthly billing mailed to residential customers immediately prior to the commencement of the billing cycle which includes October 15. These notices shall also be provided to all new residential customers when they are first

> Approved by Revisor _

[REVISOR] RR/SS AR1550

1 provided service by the utility.

2 7820.1750 DEPOSITS AND DELINQUENCY CHARGES PROHIBITED.

No utility shall charge a deposit or delinquency charge to 4 a residential customer who has:

A. declared to the utility inability to pay and is income eligible, or, if appealed, been determined by the commission to be unable to pay; or

B. requested from the utility the ten percent plan 9 and is income eligible, or, if appealed, been determined by the 10 commission to be eligible for the ten percent plan.

11 7820.1800 DISCONNECTION RESTRICTION FOR OCCUPIED RESIDENTIAL
12 UNITS.

Subpart 1. Prohibited disconnection. No utility shall disconnect the service of any residential unit during "cold weather months," notwithstanding any other customer service rule, except part 7820.1100, if the disconnection would affect in any way the primary heat source of the residential unit and:

The residential customer, or any designated third 18 Α. 19 party, has declared inability to pay and is income eligible, as provided in part 7820.1900; or, if appealed, the commission has 20 determined the residential customer is unable to pay. 21 To declare inability, the residential customer must meet the 22 23 following requirements: the residential customer expresses 24 willingness to enter into a mutually acceptable payment schedule for the current cold weather months, pursuant to part 7820.2100; 25 and the residential customer was fully paid up or was reasonably 26 on time with payments under a payment schedule as of the billing 27 cycle immediately preceding the start of the current cold 28 weather months; or 29

B. The residential customer, or any designated third party, requests the ten percent plan and is income eligible, as provided in part 7820.1900; or, if appealed, the commission has determined the residential customer is eligible for the ten percent plan. To request the ten percent plan, the residential customer must pay the utility at least the lesser of the

> Approved by Revisor _

[REVISOR] RR/SS AR1550

1 following amounts:

2 (1) ten percent of the residential customer's3 monthly income; or

4 (2) the full amount of the current month's5 utility bill not including arrearages.

6 Payment must be received within seven calendar days of the 7 due date or regularly scheduled payment date or payment must be 8 received by the date agreed upon by the utility and the 9 residential customer; or

10 C. The residential customer has entered into a 11 payment schedule and is reasonably on time with payments under 12 the schedule.

Subp. 2. Multiple utilities. If a residential customer 13 receives service from more than one utility, the ten percent 14 amount in subpart 1, item B, subitem (1), must be prorated 15 between utilities. The utility providing the major portion of 16 the residential customer's total energy costs during the cold 17 weather months shall receive 70 percent of the ten percent 18 19 amount. Other utilities shall receive equal portions of the 20 remaining 30 percent of the ten percent amount.

21 7820.1900 DECLARATION OF INABILITY TO PAY OR PLAN REQUEST.

22 Subpart 1. Notice before disconnection of service. Prior 23 to disconnecting the service affecting the primary heat source 24 of any residential unit for failure to make payment for such 25 service, the utility shall serve, personally or by first class 26 mail, the following upon the residential customer and any 27 designated third party:

A. a commission-approved notice of proposeddisconnection;

B. a commission-approved notice of residential customer rights and possible assistance which must include: (1) for each county served by the utility, a list of the names and phone numbers of local energy assistance providers, weatherization providers, conservation providers, and other entities that assist residential customers in reducing the

> Approved by Revisor _

1

2

3

4

5

6

7

8

9

10

11

(3) an explanation of the residential customer's rights and responsibilities under part 7820.2010 and, for each county served by the utility, a list of the names and phone numbers of local energy assistance providers, financial counseling providers, and other entities from which the residential customer can receive budget counseling; and

18 (4) a written explanation of how utility payments
19 will be prorated under the ten percent plan when the residential
20 customer is served by multiple utilities;

C. a commission-approved, addressed, postage-prepaid form on which a residential customer, or any designated third party, shall state that the customer received budget counseling pursuant to part 7820.2010; and

D. a commission-approved, addressed, postage-prepaid 25 form on which a residential customer, or any designated third 26 party, may declare inability to pay or request the ten percent 27 plan. The residential customer shall indicate on the form 28 29 whether the customer receives any type of public assistance, including energy assistance, that uses household income 30 31 eligibility at-or-below of less than 185 percent of the federal poverty level. The residential customer shall provide on the 32 33 form:

34 (1) written consent to the utilities' exchange of
35 billing information when the residential customer is served by
36 multiple utilities;

04/18/90

(2) acknowledgment that the residential customer
 has received, read, and understood the notice served under item
 B; and

4 (3) a declaration that the information provided5 is true and correct.

6 Subp. la. Notice to local energy assistance provider. Upon 7 receipt of a residential customer's declaration of inability to 8 pay or request for the ten percent plan, the utility shall mail 9 the following information to the local energy assistance 10 provider:

11

12

13

14

A. the name and address of the residential customer;
B. the expiration date of the notice of proposed
disconnection and the date of proposed disconnection; and

C. the amount due.

15 Subp. 1b. Income verification and appeal. If the 16 residential customer does not receive any type of public assistance, including energy assistance, that uses household 17 18 income eligibility at-or-below of less than 185 percent of the 19 federal poverty level, and the utility does not have information sufficient to determine income eligibility without income 20 21 verification, the utility shall notify the local energy assistance provider. The local energy assistance provider shall 22 verify to the utility that the residential customer's household 23 24 income is at-or-below less than 185 percent of the federal 25 poverty level within 21 calendar days after the local energy assistance provider receives notification of the need to verify 26 from the utility. The local energy assistance provider shall 27 document its verification and, upon request, provide a copy to 28 29 the commission. If the local energy assistance provider fails to verify income within 21 days, the utility may determine 30 31 income eligibility based upon the information available to it.

32 If the local energy assistance provider <u>or utility</u> 33 determines that the residential customer's household income is 34 <u>equal to or</u> greater than 185 percent of the federal poverty 35 level, the utility shall provide the residential customer and 36 any designated third party with a commission-approved written

7

Approved by Revisor _

04/18/90

notice of the right to appeal the local energy assistance 1 provider or utility determination. Any appeal must be made 2 within seven working days after the residential customer's 3 receipt of personally served notice, or for ten working days 4 5 after the utility has deposited first class mail notice in the United States mail. In determining an appeal, the procedures 6 set forth in part 7820.2000 shall apply. The determination 7 shall be based upon 185 percent of the federal poverty level. 8

9 The utility shall not disconnect service while an appeal is 10 pending, or until any appeal involving income verification has 11 been determined by the commission. If no appeal is made by the 12 residential customer or designated third party, the utility may 13 disconnect service pursuant to the procedures and requirements 14 of parts 7820.1000 to 7820.1400, 7820.2400, and 7820.2500.

15

Subp. 2. [Unchanged.]

Subp. 3. Appeal of customer's declaration or request. 16 Ιf the local energy assistance provider does not need to verify 17 income or if the utility appeals on other grounds, the utility 18 19 has 14 working days after receipt of the form from the 20 residential customer to file an appeal. An appeal must be in 21 writing, on forms prescribed by the commission. The utility 22 shall not prevent any residential customer or designated third party from making a declaration or request. If it appeals, a 23 copy of the appeal, and a commission-approved letter explaining 24 that the residential customer may have service terminated, shall 25 be mailed by the utility to the local welfare agency and the 26 local energy assistance provider on the same day as the utility 27 mails its appeal to the commission. 28

29 7820.2000 COMMISSION DETERMINATION OF DECLARATION OR REQUEST.
30 Subpart 1. Determination of appeal. All appeals of
31 declarations of inability to pay or eligibility for the ten
32 percent plan shall be determined on an informal basis by the
33 commission within 30 calendar days after receipt of the
34 utility's written appeal. The commission shall determine the
35 residential customer's inability to pay or eligibility for the

Approved by Revisor _

04/18/90

ten percent plan based upon the following: a finding that the 1 residential customer is in compliance with part 7820.1800, and a 2 finding that the residential customer's household income is less 3 than 185 percent of the federal poverty level. 4 In making its determination, the commission shall consider 5 one or more of the following: 6 7 A. documentation of income verification by the local energy assistance provider, if applicable; 8 9 Β. documentation that the residential customer is a recipient of any type of public assistance, including energy 10 assistance, that uses household income eligibility in an amount 11 at-or-below less than 185 percent of the federal poverty level; 12 C. 13 the most recent income tax return(s) filed by members of the residential customer's household; 14 for each employed member of the residential 15 D. 16 customer's household, either paycheck stubs for the last two months or a written statement from the employer of wages earned 17 18 during the preceding two months; 19 E. a medicaid card or food stamps eligibility 20 document; F. documentation that the residential customer is on 21 a pension from the Department of Human Services, the Social 22 Security Administration, the Veterans Administration or other 23 pension providers; 24 25 G. a letter showing the residential customer's dismissal from a job or other documentation of unemployment; or 26 27 H. other documentation which supports the residential customer's declaration of inability to pay. 28 29 Subp. 2. Disconnection during 30-day appeal period. The utility shall not disconnect the service until expiration of the 30 31 30-day appeal period. If the commission determines that the residential customer is able to pay or if the commission 32 determines that the residential customer is not eligible for the 33 34 ten percent plan, the utility may disconnect the service, pursuant to parts 7820.1000 to 7820.1400, 7820.2100, 7820.2400, 35 and 7820.2500. 36 Approved 9 by Revisor _

04/18/90

1 7820.2010 BUDGET COUNSELING.

Subpart 1. Requirement. The following residential
customers shall receive budget counseling from a local energy
assistance provider, financial counseling provider, or other
entity that provides budget counseling <u>such as a church</u>,
community group, or outreach worker employed by a public or
private social service agency:

8 Α. a residential customer who has declared inability 9 to pay to the utility and is income eligible, or if appealed, 10 has been determined by the commission to be unable to pay; and 11 R. a residential customer who has requested the ten percent plan from the utility and is income eligible, or if 12 13 appealed, has been determined by the commission to be eligible for the ten percent plan. 14

15 A residential customer shall receive budget counseling within 90 calendar days after declaring inability to pay or 16 requesting the ten percent plan. The residential customer and 17 the local energy assistance provider, financial counseling 18 provider, or other entity that provides budget counseling shall 19 sign and date the form provided by the utility under part 20 21 7820.1900, subpart 1. The residential customer shall mail the 22 completed form to the utility. Budget counseling is not a prerequisite for protection under parts 7820.1800, 7820.1900, 23 and 7820.2000. 24

25 Subp. 2. Appeals. Prior to disconnecting a residential customer for failure to receive budget counseling, the utility 26 27 shall provide the residential customer and any designated third party with a commission-approved written notice of the right to 28 appeal. Any appeal must be made within seven working days after 29 the residential customer's receipt of personally served notice, 30 31 or for ten working days after the utility has deposited first class mail notice in the United States mail. In determining an 32 appeal, the procedures set forth in part 7820.2000 shall apply. 33 In determining an appeal, the commission shall consider 34 whether the residential customer made a good faith effort to 35

> Approved by Revisor _

1 obtain budget counseling.

The utility shall not disconnect service while an appeal is pending, or until any appeal involving budget counseling has been determined by the commission. If no appeal is made by the residential customer or designated third party, the utility may disconnect service pursuant to the procedures and requirements of parts 7820.1000 to 7820.1400, 7820.2400, and 7820.2500.

8 7820.2100 PAYMENT SCHEDULE.

9

Subpart 1. [Unchanged.]

10 Subp. 2. Inability to pay. The residential customer or 11 third party should notify the utility immediately of any circumstances making it impossible for the residential customer 12 13 to comply with the payment schedule and should propose specific 14 modifications to the payment schedule. Upon receipt of a 15 request for modification of a payment schedule, the utility shall consider changes in the residential customer's consumption 16 pattern, utility rate increases effective since the date of the 17 18 original schedule, and changes in the residential customer's financial circumstances. No residential customer who has 19 20 declared inability to pay and is income eligible, or if appealed, has been determined to be unable to pay, shall be 21 22 disconnected during cold weather months for failure to make payments under a payment schedule which applies to that period 23 of time. 24

25 Subp. 3. Appeals. The utility shall provide the residential customer and any designated third party with a 26 commission-approved written notice of the right to appeal to the 27 commission when the utility and residential customer are unable 28 to agree on the establishment, reasonableness or modification of 29 a payment schedule, or on the reasonable timeliness of the 30 31 payments under a payment schedule. Any appeal must be made within seven working days after the residential customer's 32 receipt of personally served notice, or for ten working days 33 after the utility has deposited first class mail notice in the 34 United States mail. In determining an appeal, the procedures 35

11

Approved by Revisor _____

04/18/90

set forth in part 7820.2000 shall apply. The determination
 shall be based upon 185 percent of the federal poverty level.
 The utility shall not disconnect service while a payment

4 schedule is pending appeal, or until any appeal involving payment schedules has been determined by the commission. 5 If no appeal is made by the residential customer or designated third 6 party and the residential customer has been determined to have 7 8 the ability to pay the utility bill pursuant to part 7820.2000, the utility may disconnect service pursuant to the procedures 9 10 and requirements of parts 7820.1000 to 7820.1400, 7820.2400, and 7820.2500. 11

12 7820.2150 TEN PERCENT PAYMENT PLAN APPEALS.

The utility shall provide the residential customer and any 13 14 designated third party with a commission-approved written notice of the right to appeal to the commission when the utility and 15 residential customer are unable to agree on the timeliness of 16 the payment or the proration among multiple utilities under the 17 ten percent plan. Any appeal must be made within seven working 18 19 days after the residential customer's receipt of personally served notice, or for ten working days after the utility has 20 21 deposited first class mail notice in the United States mail. In 22 determining an appeal, the procedures set forth in part 7820.2000 shall apply. 23

The utility shall not disconnect service while an appeal 24 under this part is pending, or until any appeal under this part 25 26 has been determined by the commission. If no appeal is made by the residential customer or designated third party and the 27 residential customer has been determined to be ineligible for 28 the ten percent plan pursuant to part 7820.2000, the utility may 29 disconnect service pursuant to parts 7820.1000 to 7820.1400, 30 7820.2400, and 7820.2500. 31

32 7820.2200 DISCONNECTION OF POTENTIALLY UNOCCUPIED UNITS.

33 Subpart 1. [Unchanged.]

34 Subp. 2. Notice. If contact is made with the residential 35 customer, the utility shall provide the residential customer

> Approved by Revisor

04/18/90

1 with the information required by part 7820.1900, subpart 1. If the residential customer declares inability to pay or requests 2 the ten percent plan, parts 7820.1900 and 7820.2000 shall 3 apply. At least seven working days before disconnecting the 4 residential customer, the utility shall notify by telephone and 5 a commission-approved letter the local welfare office and the 6 local energy assistance provider of the proposed disconnection. 7 If the utility is unable to contact the residential 8 9 customer, and it reasonably appears from the on-site inspections 10 that the unit is unoccupied, the utility shall provide notice by 11 first class mail to the recorded billing address of the residential customer. Such notice shall include an 12 13 easy-to-understand explanation of the protections of this rule 14 and the information required by part 7820.1900, subpart 1. If 15 no response has been received by the utility after ten working days after the utility has deposited first class mail notice in 16 the United States mail, the service may be disconnected, 17 18 pursuant to parts 7820.1000 to 7820.1400, 7820.2400, and 7820.2500. 19

20 Subp. 3. [Unchanged.]

7820.2300 RECONNECTION AT BEGINNING OF COLD WEATHER MONTHS. 21 Subpart 1. Reinstatement of service. The utility shall 22 reinstate service which in any way affects the primary heat 23 source of a residential unit if such service remains 24 disconnected as of October 15 if the residential customer makes 25 application for reinstatement and enters either a reconnection 26 27 plan or a payment schedule. A residential customer may enter a reconnection plan only if the customer's monthly household 28 income is less than 185 percent of the federal poverty level. 29

30 Subp. 2. Reconnection plan. Under a reconnection plan, 31 the residential customer must pay the current utility bills and 32 arrearages in monthly installments until-paid-in-full during the 33 <u>cold weather months</u>. Each monthly installment must not exceed 34 ten percent of one-twelfth of the residential customer's annual 35 income. <u>The reconnection plan applies only to the cold weather</u>

[REVISOR] RR/SS AR1550

1 months.

2 Subp. 3. Appeal of reconnection plan. The utility shall provide the residential customer and any designated third party 3 with a commission-approved written notice of the right to appeal 4 5 to the commission when the utility and residential customer are unable to agree on the establishment, amount, or reasonable 6 7 timeliness of the payments under a reconnection plan. Any appeal must be made within seven working days after the 8 residential customer's receipt of personally served notice, or 9 10 for ten working days after the utility has deposited first class mail notice in the United States mail. In determining an 11 12 appeal, the procedures set forth in part 7820.2000 apply.

13 The utility shall not deny service while a reconnection 14 plan is pending appeal, or until any appeal involving 15 reconnection plans has been determined by the commission. If no 16 appeal is made by the residential customer or designated third 17 party, the utility may deny service.

14

Subp. 4. Payment schedule. Any residential customer disconnected as of October 15 shall have the same rights as provided in part 7820.2100, governing payment schedules.

> Approved by Revisor