1 Pollution Control Agency

2

3 Adopted Permanent Rules Relating to Air Quality Permit Fees

4

- 5 Rules as Adopted
- 6 7002.0010 SCOPE.
- 7 Parts 7002.0010 to 7002.0100 apply to all persons required
- 8 to obtain a permit from the Minnesota Pollution Control Agency
- 9 as described in parts 7001.0010 to 7001.0210 and 7001.1200 to
- 10 7001.1350.
- 11 7002.0020 DEFINITIONS.
- 12 Subpart 1. Scope. For the purposes of parts 7002.0010 to
- 13 7002.0110, the terms defined in this part have the meanings
- 14 given them and the definitions in parts 7001.0010, 7001.1260,
- 15 and 7005.0010 to 7005.3060 apply unless the terms are defined in
- 16 this part.
- 17 Subp. 2. [See Repealer.]
- Subp. 2a. Administrative amendment. "Administrative
- 19 amendment" means an amendment to an air emission permit or
- 20 indirect source permit under part 7001.0190, subparts 2 and 3.
- 21 Subp. 3. Air pollution control equipment. "Air pollution
- 22 control equipment" means a device used to prevent, abate, or
- 23 control air pollution.
- Subp. 4. and 5. [See Repealer.]
- Subp. 6. Major emitter. "Major emitter" means a
- 26 stationary source that has the potential to emit 100 tons per
- 27 year or more of a single criteria pollutant.
- Subp. 7. [See Repealer.]
- 29 Subp. 7a. Noncriteria pollutant. "Noncriteria pollutant"
- 30 means a pollutant that is not a criteria pollutant and that may
- 31 have the potential to be injurious to human health.
- 32 Subp. 9. Nonmajor emitter. "Nonmajor emitter" means a
- 33 stationary source other than a major emitter.
- 34 7002.0030 FEE DETERMINATION.

Approved by Revisor

- The agency shall calculate processing, compliance
- 2 demonstration, and annual fees based upon the schedule in part
- 3 7002.0100 and shall notify the permittee of the amount due
- 4 before each payment date, except for application fees, which
- 5 shall be submitted in accordance with part 7002.0050.
- 6 7002.0050 APPLICATION FEE.
- 7 A person who applies for (1) a permit to construct, modify,
- 8 reconstruct, or operate an emissions unit, emission facility,
- 9 stationary source, air pollution control equipment, or an
- 10 indirect source, or (2) an administrative amendment, shall
- 11 submit with the application the appropriate application fee.
- 12 Failure to submit the fee renders the application incomplete and
- 13 the agency shall suspend processing of the application until the
- 14 fee is received. Application fees are nonrefundable.
- 15 7002.0060 PROCESSING AND COMPLIANCE DEMONSTRATION FEES.
- 16 Subpart 1. Processing and compliance demonstration fees.
- 17 Except as provided in subpart 2, a permittee shall pay the
- 18 applicable processing and compliance demonstration fees as
- 19 listed in part 7002.0100, subparts 3 to 4c, within 30 days of
- 20 receipt of an invoice from the agency.
- 21 Subp. 2. Annual installment of fees. If a facility is a
- 22 "small business" as defined in Minnesota Statutes, section
- 23 14.115, subdivision 1, the permittee may request to pay the
- 24 processing fee in annual installments. Annual installments are
- 25 determined by dividing the processing fee into equal annual
- 26 payments based on the term of the permit. The first payment
- 27 shall be made within 30 days of receipt of an invoice from the
- 28 agency and annually thereafter on the receipt of another
- 29 invoice. A facility that qualifies as a "small business" must
- 30 provide proof of that status upon application for a permit. For
- 31 purposes of this subpart, the term of an indirect source permit
- 32 is the construction period unless the permit specifies a term.
- 33 7002.0070 ANNUAL FEE.
- 34 All persons required to obtain a permit shall pay the

- 1 annual fee for enforcement of applicable statutes and rules
- 2 required by part 7002.0100, subparts 5, 5a, and 6. The annual
- 3 fee shall be paid within 30 days of receipt of an invoice from
- 4 the agency.
- 5 7002.0080 NOTIFICATION OF ERROR.
- 6 A person who thinks that a processing fee, compliance
- 7 demonstration fee, or annual fee for a specific facility is in
- 8 error shall provide written notice of the error to the director
- 9 of the Division of Air Quality along with the assessed fee. If
- 10 the director of the Division of Air Quality finds, upon
- 11 reviewing the data, that the assessed fee was in error, the
- 12 overpayment shall be refunded to the permittee or credited to
- 13 the permittee's account.
- 14 7002.0100 AIR QUALITY PERMIT FEE SCHEDULE.
- 15 Subpart 1. Scope. The fees established in this part are
- 16 applicable to facilities and indirect sources which require an
- 17 air emission permit under part 7001.1210 (permit rules, air
- 18 emission permits) or an indirect source permit under part
- 19 7001.1270 (permit rules, indirect source permits).
- 20 Subp. 2. Application fee. A person making application for
- 21 an air emission permit or an indirect source permit shall submit
- 22 with the application an application fee of \$50.
- Subp. 3. Basic processing fees. The permittee shall pay
- 24 the following basic processing fees for the applicable permit
- 25 activity:
- A. \$1,000 for the construction of an indirect source;
- B. \$1,000 for the construction or reconstruction of a
- 28 major emitter;
- 29 C. \$500 for the construction or reconstruction of a
- 30 nonmajor emitter;
- 31 D. \$350 for the modification of a major emitter or
- 32 installation of air pollution control equipment at a major
- 33 emitter;
- 34 E. \$175 for the modification of a nonmajor emitter or
- 35 installation of air pollution control equipment at a nonmajor

- l emitter;
- F. \$550 for the reissuance of a permit for a major
- 3 emitter; and
- G. \$225 for the reissuance of a permit for a nonmajor
- 5 emitter;
- 6 H. \$175 for any modification of an indirect source,
- 7 other than an administrative amendment;
- 8 I. \$50 for an administrative amendment to a permit;
- 9 and
- J. \$75 for issuance or reissuance of a general permit.
- 11 For purposes of this subpart, if activities in items D and
- 12 E occur simultaneously with items described in items F and G,
- 13 the agency shall waive the fee for items D and E and only assess
- 14 a reissuance fee and applicable additional processing fees.
- Subp. 3a. Basic processing fee surcharges. In addition to
- 16 the fees in subpart 3, item B, D, or F, a major emitter shall be
- 17 charged a basic processing fee surcharge for the tons of
- 18 potential emissions of criteria pollutants above the initial 100
- 19 ton per year threshold that classifies it as a major emitter.
- 20 The surcharge shall be in the following amount, based on
- 21 potential emissions of the criteria pollutant emitted in the
- 22 greatest volume by the major emitter:

23	Total Potential		Surcharge	•
24	Emissions		•	
25 26	(tons per year)	Subpart 3, item B	Subpart 3, item D	Subpart 3, item F
27		Construction	Modification	Reissue
28		Reconstruction	ı	
29				
30	250-499	\$ 500	\$ 175	\$ 275
31	500-999	\$ 750	\$ 260	\$ 415
32	1,000-4,999	\$ 1,125	\$ 395	\$ 625
33	5,000-9,999	\$ 1,500	<b>\$</b> 590	\$ 935
34 35	10,000 or more	\$ 2,500	\$ 895	\$ 1,400

- 36 Subp. 4. Additional processing fees. In addition to the
- 37 fees required in subparts 3 and 3a, the permittee shall pay the
- 38 following additional processing fees, when applicable:
- A. \$2,500 for permits issued to which parts 7005.3010
- 40 to 7005.3060 apply;
- 41 B. \$2,500 for permits issued to which federal
- 42 prevention of significant deterioration regulations in Code of

- 1 Federal Regulations, title 40, section 52.21 apply;
- 2 C. \$125 for permits issued to which new source
- 3 performance standards requirements in Code of Federal
- 4 Regulations, title 40, part 60 apply, with an additional \$125
- 5 applying for each additional new source performance standard
- 6 subpart beyond the first, applicable to the subject permit;
- 7 D. \$400 for permits requiring evaluation with regard
- 8 to emissions of noncriteria pollutants;
- 9 E. \$400 for dispersion modeling reviews performed for
- 10 reasons other than those covered by item A, B, or D; and
- 11 F. \$500 for either an indirect source design change
- 12 as defined in the applicable indirect source permit, or for a
- 13 modification of an indirect source permit that is neither a
- 14 minor modification as described in part 7001.1350, nor an
- 15 administrative amendment.
- 16 Subp. 4a. Additional processing fee surcharges. In
- 17 addition to the fees required in subparts 3, 3a, and 4, the
- 18 permittee shall pay the following additional processing fee
- 19 surcharges when applicable:
- 20 A. \$250 for each additional criteria pollutant beyond
- 21 the first which is subject to parts 7005.3010 to 7005.3060;
- B. \$250 for each additional criteria pollutant beyond
- 23 the first which is subject to federal prevention of significant
- 24 deterioration rules in Code of Federal Regulations, title 40,
- 25 section 52.21;
- 26 C. for each permit that includes permit requirements
- 27 for facilities subject to new source performance standards, Code
- 28 of Federal Regulations, title 40, part 60:
- 29 (1) \$25 for each additional affected facility, as
- 30 defined in Code of Federal Regulations, title 40, part 60,
- 31 beyond the first, that is subject to a single subpart of Code of
- 32 Federal Regulations, title 40, part 60, not to exceed \$500 per
- 33 permit issuance; and
- 34 (2) \$25 for each additional pollutant, beyond the
- 35 first, to which the stationary source is subject under a single
- 36 applicable subpart of Code of Federal Regulations, title 40,

- 1 part 60;
- D. \$75 for each additional noncriteria pollutant
- 3 beyond the first that is evaluated; and
- 4 E. \$75 for each additional pollutant, beyond the
- 5 first, that is subject to a fee for dispersion modeling review
- 6 under subpart 4, item E.
- 7 Subp. 4b. Compliance demonstration fees. Fees under this
- 8 subpart apply at the time of completion of the review of the
- 9 activity by the agency. Persons required to perform the
- 10 following activities shall pay the following applicable fees:
- 11 A. \$75 for each method 9 visible emissions evaluation
- 12 or part 7005.0930 odor emission evaluation performance test
- 13 report reviewed by the agency;
- B. \$475 for each performance test report on emissions
- 15 from one stack or equivalent emissions point, other than a
- 16 method 9 visible emissions evaluation, reviewed by the agency,
- 17 with a separate \$475 fee applying to each stack or equivalent
- 18 emissions point tested; and
- 19 C. \$475 for each continuous emission monitor
- 20 certification, recertification, and any relative accuracy test
- 21 audit report reviewed by the agency.
- 22 Subp. 4c. Compliance demonstration fee surcharges. Fees
- 23 under this subpart apply at the time of completion of the review
- 24 by the agency. In addition to the fees required in subpart 4b,
- 25 the permittee shall pay compliance demonstration fee surcharges
- 26 as listed below when applicable:
- A. \$25 for each additional method 9 visible emission
- 28 evaluation included in a single performance test report beyond
- 29 the first that is reviewed by the agency;
- 30 B. for a single performance test report, other than a
- 31 method 9 visible emission evaluation or part 7005.0930 odor
- 32 emission evaluation performance test report:
- 33 (1) \$100 for each additional reference method or
- 34 its equivalent beyond the first five that is reviewed; and
- 35 (2) \$100 for each additional emissions unit that
- 36 contributes to the stack or equivalent emissions point tested

- l beyond the first that is reviewed; and
- C. \$100 for each additional pollutant monitored by a
- 3 continuous emission monitor submitting a report under subpart
- 4 4b, item C, beyond the first, not to include diluent gases
- 5 necessary for monitor operation.
- 6 Subp. 5. Annual fees. All persons required to obtain an
- 7 air emission permit or an indirect source permit shall pay the
- 8 applicable annual fee according to items A and B.
- 9 A. Stationary sources shall pay the following
- 10 applicable annual fees:
- 11 (1) \$450 for a major emitter; and
- 12 (2) \$225 for a nonmajor emitter.
- Annual fees for stationary sources shall be based on the
- 14 potential emissions of the stationary source on January 1 of the
- 15 year for which the fee applies. Seasonal facilities are not
- 16 exempt from annual fees and shall pay annual fees in accordance
- 17 with their potential to emit. The agency shall not charge an
- 18 annual fee for a stationary source if the potential to emit any
- 19 single criteria pollutant is more-than-25-tons-per-year-but-is
- 20 less than 50 tons per year for each criteria pollutant unless
- 21 the stationary source has the potential to emit at least 1,000
- 22 pounds of lead per year.
- 23 B. Persons required to obtain an indirect source
- 24 permit shall pay an annual fee of \$400 through the year in which
- 25 construction is completed or compliance with all permit
- 26 provisions is documented, whichever is later.
- 27 Subp. 5a. Annual fee surcharges. In addition to the fees
- 28 in subpart 5, item A, a major emitter shall be charged an
- 29 additional annual fee surcharge for the tons of potential
- 30 emissions above the initial 100 tons that classifies it as a
- 31 major emitter. The surcharge shall be in the following amount,
- 32 based on the potential emissions of the criteria pollutant
- 33 emitted in the greatest amount:

34 35	Table Potential Emissions (tons per year)	•	Su	charge	<u> </u>
36	,				
37	250-499		\$	450	
38	500-999		\$	675	

1 2 3 4 5	1,000-4,999 \$ 1,015 5,000-9,999 \$ 1,520 10,000 or more \$ 2,280		
5	Subp. 6. General permits. The agency shall not charge		
6	annual fees for permits issued as a general permit under the		
7	permit rules in part 7001.0210.		
8			
9	REPEALER. Minnesota Rules, part 7002.0020, subparts 2, 4,		
10	5, and 7, are repealed.		