l Department of Agriculture

2

3 Adopted Permanent Rules Relating to Seed Fees

4

- 5 Rules as Adopted
- 6 1510.0281 CHARGES UNDER MINNESOTA SEED LAW.
- 7 Subpart 1. and 2. [Unchanged.]
- 8 Subp. 3. Seed fee permits. An initial labeler who wishes
- 9 to sell seed in Minnesota must comply with Minnesota Statutes,
- 10 section 21.89, subdivisions 1 and 2, and the procedures in this
- ll subpart.
- 12 A. Each initial labeler who wishes to sell seed in
- 13 Minnesota must apply to the commissioner to obtain a permit.
- 14 The application must contain the name and address of the
- 15 applicant, the application date, and the name and title of the
- 16 applicant's contact person. The application must be accompanied
- 17 by an application fee of \$10. Initial labelers holding seed fee
- 18 permits on the effective date of this subpart need not apply for
- 19 a new permit or pay the application fee.
- 20 (1) If, for reasons beyond the control and
- 21 knowledge of the initial labeler, seed is shipped into Minnesota
- 22 by a person other than the initial labeler, the responsibility
- 23 for the seed fees is transferred to the shipper. An application
- 24 for a transfer of this responsibility must be made to the
- 25 commissioner. Upon approval by the commissioner of the
- 26 transfer, the shipper is responsible for payment of the seed
- 27 permit fees.
- 28 (2) [Unchanged.]
- 29 B. All seed fee permit holders must file semiannual
- 30 reports with the commissioner, even if no seed was sold during
- 31 the reporting period. Each semiannual report must be submitted
- 32 within 30 days of the end of each reporting period. The
- 33 reporting periods are October 1 to March 31 and April 1 to
- 34 September 30 of each year or July 1 to December 31, and January
- 35 1 to June 30 of each year. Permit holders may change their

30

31

33

Minnesota seed law.

```
1 reporting periods with approval of the commissioner.
 2
                 The holder of a seed fee permit must pay fees on
   all seed for which the permit holder is the initial labeler and
 3
    which are covered by Minnesota Statutes, sections 21.80 to 21.92
    and sold during the reporting period.
 5
 6
                   (1) For the following kinds of agricultural seed
 7
    sold either in bulk or containers, the fees are:
 8
                        (a) oats, wheat, barley, 4.5 cents per cwt.;
 9
                        (b) rye, field beans, soybeans, 6 cents per
10
    cwt.;
11
                        (c) buckwheat, flax, 8 cents per cwt;
                        (d) field corn, 21 cents per cwt.;
12
13
                        (e) forage, lawn and turf grasses, and
14
    legumes, 35 cents per cwt.;
15
                        (f) sunflower, $1 per cwt.;
16
                        (g) sugar beet, $2.35 per cwt.; and
                        (h) other agricultural seeds except
17
18
    vegetables grown for processing, 20 cents per cwt.
                   (2) For vegetable and flower seeds packed in
19
    small containers or in bulk for use by home gardeners, the fee
20
    is 30 cents per $100 of net sales of these seeds.
21
              D. If a seed fee permit holder fails to submit a
22
    semiannual report and pay the seed fee within 30 days after the
23
    end of each reporting period, the commissioner shall assess a
24
25
    penalty of $10 or eight percent, calculated on an annual basis,
    of the fee due, whichever is greater, but no more than $100 for
26
    each late semiannual report. A $10 penalty will be charged when
27
    the semiannual report is late, even if no fee is due for the
28
    reporting period. Seed fee permits may be revoked for failure
29
```

Subp. 4. Hybrid seed corn variety registration fee. 32 accordance with Minnesota Statutes, section 21.90, subdivision

to comply with the applicable provisions of this part or the

- 2, the annual fee for the registration of each hybrid seed corn 34
- variety or blend is \$30, which must be paid at the time of 35
- registration. Hybrid seed corn variety registrations received 36

36

after February 1 of each year will have an annual registration 2 fee of \$35 per variety. 3 Subp. 5. Service testing and identification. The fees in items A to D for purity, germination, identification, or other related tests of seeds or plants for farmers, dealers, and others are established pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 21.85, subdivision 12. 7 8 A. General crops, including corn, cereals, soybeans, sorghum, millet, sunflowers, clovers, alfalfa, ryegrass, 9 timothy, flax, rape, vegetable, and other similar seeds: 10 11 (1) Purity, \$12 \$10 (includes a Minnesota noxious weed seed test); 12 (2) Germination, \$7.50 \$6.50; 13 14 (3) United States noxious weed seed only, \$8; 15 (4) Minnesota noxious weed seed only, \$6; and (5) Tetrazolium, \$15 (includes germination test). 16 B. Grasses, including bromes, fescues, orchardgrass, 17 reed canary, wheat grasses, bluegrasses, bentgrasses, redtop, 18 green needle grass, weeping lovegrass, sandlove, sanddrop seed, 19 flower, and other similar seeds: 20 (1) Purity, \$18 \$15 (includes a Minnesota noxious 21 weed seed test); 22 (2) Germination, \$10.50 \$9; 23 (3) United States noxious weed seed only, \$11; 24 (4) Minnesota noxious weed seed only, \$9; and 25 (5) Tetrazolium, \$18 (includes germination test). 26 Chaffy range grasses, including big bluestem, 27 Indiangrass, side oats grama, gramagrass, little bluestem, 28 meadow foxtail, and similar seeds: 29 (1) Purity, \$30 \$25 (includes a Minnesota noxious 30 31 weed seed test); (2) Germination, \$15 \$13; 32 (3) United States noxious weed seed only, \$17; 33 (4) Minnesota noxious weed seed only, \$15; and 34 (5) Tetrazolium, \$24 (includes germination test). 35

Mixtures. "A" means the full price of the

- 1 highest-priced species plus one-half the price of each
- 2 additional species. "B" means one-half of the price of the
- 3 purity test on the highest-priced species in the mixture. "C"
- 4 means the full price of the purity test on the highest priced
- 5 species in the mixture.
- 6 (1) Purity, A (includes a Minnesota noxious weed
- 7 seed test);
- 8 (2) Germination, A;
- 9 (3) United States noxious weed seed only, C;
- 10 (4) Minnesota noxious weed seed only, B; and
- 11 (5) Tetrazolium, A (includes germination test).
- 12 E. A fee of \$20 per hour will be charged for tests
- 13 which are specially requested but not included in items A to D,
- 14 or which require excess time due to abnormal sample conditions,
- 15 such as unusual amounts of dirt or foreign material.
- 16 F. An additional fee of \$10 per sample will be
- 17 charged for any sample for which special handling is requested,
- 18 such as samples marked "RUSH."
- 19 G. and H. [Unchanged.]