

1	Department of Labor and Industry
2	
3	Adopted Permanent Rules Relating to Workers' Compensation Rules
4	of Practice
5	
6	Rules as Adopted
7	5220.2690 SUBROGATION INTEREST IN THIRD-PARTY RECOVERY.
8	Subpart 1. [Unchanged.]
9	Subp. 2. Stipulated agreement. Where all of the parties
10	have reached agreement with respect to the subrogation interest,
11	a stipulated agreement concerning that interest may be submitted
12	as provided in Minnesota Statutes, section 176.521.
13	Subp. 3. Determination of subrogation interest. The
14	insurer or employee must comply with the procedures in this part
15	in submitting a petition to the workers' compensation division
16	for an order determining subrogation interest and credit.
17	A. The petition must be on the form prescribed by the
18	commissioner and contain substantially the following:
19	(1) information identifying both the district
20	court action if any and the workers' compensation claim
21	<pre>involved;</pre>
22	(2) the total proceeds of the third-party
23	settlement or award;
24	(3) the amount of legal fees and costs of the
25	third-party claim;
26	(4) the subrogation interest of the employer
27	itemized by type of benefits paid such as but not limited to:
28	(a) temporary total disability;
29	(b) temporary partial disability;
30	<pre>(c) permanent total disability;</pre>
31	(d) permanent partial disability;
32	(e) medical expenses where Minnesota

33 Statutes, section 176.061, subdivision 7, claim was not made;

34 and

35 (f) other;

- 1 (5) the name, address, and telephone number of
- 2 the attorney for each party if any.
- B. The petitioner shall serve a copy of the petition
- 4 and attachments on all parties to both the third-party action
- 5 and the workers' compensation proceeding. Notice to the special
- 6 compensation fund shall be given where a subrogation interest
- 7 based on payments made pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section
- 8 176.183 or potential interest under Minnesota Statutes, section
- 9 176.131 is known.
- 10 C. The original petition, together with a copy of the
- 11 district court order or stipulation for settlement and
- 12 corresponding order for dismissal or other documentary evidence
- 13 reflecting the nature and extent of the resolution in district
- 14 court must be filed with the division with proof of service as
- 15 required in item B.
- D. Upon receipt of the petition, the division will
- 17 issue an order containing the following:
- 18 (1) information identifying both the district
- 19 court action if any and the workers' compensation claim
- 20 involved;
- 21 (2) the information upon which the subrogation
- 22 order is based;
- 23 (3) the calculation of the subrogation interest,
- 24 including the future credit amount and the sum payable to the
- 25 employee; and
- 26 (4) an explanation of the effect of the credit
- 27 upon future benefit entitlement.
- The order will be served on all parties and will contain
- 29 notice of the parties' right to appeal the order within 30 days
- 30 of its service.
- 31 E. If an appeal of the order is not received by the
- 32 division within 30 days, the order will become the final order.
- 33 Subp. 4. Appeal of order. A party may appeal the order by
- 34 filing a written appeal with the division and serving it on all
- 35 parties within 30 days of the service of the order. The appeal
- 36 must contain a detailed statement explaining the factual or

- 1 legal basis for the appeal and include any documentation
- 2 supporting the appeal.
- 3 Upon receipt of a timely appeal, the matter will be
- 4 referred to a settlement judge for a settlement conference to
- 5 resolve the issues by agreement.
- 6 If agreement is not reached at the settlement conference
- 7 but the parties agree to a stipulated set of facts, the
- 8 settlement judge will rule on the subrogation interest under
- 9 Minnesota Statutes, section 176.322. The determination is
- 10 appealable as provided in Minnesota Statutes, section 176.322.
- If agreement is not reached at the settlement conference
- 12 and facts remain in dispute, the matter will be certified to the
- 13 office for hearing.
- 14 5220.2840 FAILURE TO MAKE PAYMENT TO SPECIAL FUND; PENALTY.
- 15 Subpart 1. Due date. For workers' compensation benefits
- 16 paid from January 1 through June 30, the due date of the
- 17 completed assessment form and corresponding assessment amount is
- 18 August 15 of the same calendar year.
- 19 For workers' compensation benefits paid from July 1 through
- 20 December 31, the due date of the corresponding assessment amount
- 21 is March 1 of the following calendar year.
- Notice of the assessment rate and instructions for payment
- 23 will be issued by the fund 45 or more days before the due date.
- Subp. 2. Basis. A penalty will be assessed under
- 25 Minnesota Statutes, section 176.129, subdivision 10, where
- 26 either:
- A. the completed assessment form and payment of the
- 28 special compensation fund assessment; or
- B. written certification that the assessment report
- 30 and assessment payment will not be made by the due date because
- 31 of reasons beyond the control of the insurer, is not received by
- 32 the special compensation fund on or before the due date.
- 33 Subp. 3. Amount. Within 30 days of the due date, the
- 34 special compensation fund will give notice of penalty to those
- 35 who have neither filed the completed assessment form and paid

- 1 the assessment amount, nor submitted a certified reason for
- 2 nonpayment by the due date as follows:
- 3 A. Either:
- 4 (1) 2.5 percent of the assessment amount due if
- 5 the assessment payment is received at the fund within five days
- 6 after the due date; or
- 7 (2) five percent of the assessment amount due if
- 8 the assessment payment is received at the fund within six to 30
- 9 days after the due date; or
- 10 (3) ten percent of the assessment amount due if
- 11 the assessment payment is received at the fund within 31 to 60
- 12 days after the due date; or
- 13 (4) 15 percent of the assessment amount due if
- 14 the assessment payment is received at the fund 61 or more days
- 15 after the due date; or
- B. \$500, whichever is greater.
- 17 Subp. 4. Payable to. Both the assessment amount and any
- 18 penalty due under this part are payable to the special
- 19 compensation fund.
- 20 Subp. 5. Continued nonpayment. If the insurer penalized
- 21 does not make payment within six months of the due date, the
- 22 fund director shall refer the file to the Department of Commerce
- 23 for consideration of license or permit revocation.