06/06/89 [REVISOR] PMM/CF AR1454 1 Minnesota Racing Commission 2 3 Adopted Permanent Rules Relating to Horse Racing in Minnesota 4 Rules as Adopted 5 7869.0100 DEFINITIONS. 6 Subpart 1. to 50. [Unchanged.] 7 Subp. 51. Race. "Race" means a contest among horses for 8 purse, stakes, premium, or wager for money, run in the presence 9 of racing officials of the association and the commission. The 10 following are categories of races: 11 12 A. to L. [Unchanged.] 13 Μ. "Stakes race" or "sweepstakes race" means a race to which nominators of the engaged entries contribute to a 14 15 purse, and to which money or any other award may be added. 16 N. [Unchanged.] Subp. 52. to 69. [Unchanged.] 17 18 7873.0300 SIMULCAST WAGERING. 19 Subpart 1. [Unchanged.] Subp. 2. Approval. All simulcast races must be conducted 20 21 at the licensed racetrack and approved by the commission. 22 Subp. 3. [Unchanged.] Subp. 4. [See Repealer.] 23 Subp. 5. [Unchanged.] 24 7873.0550 DISTRIBUTION OF PURSE MONEY. 25 26 Subpart 1. Purse amounts. Purse amounts must be set 27 pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 240.13, subdivision 5. In making the distribution of purse money, an association must, 28 29 to the extent possible, maintain purse amounts in proper relationship to actual pari-mutuel handles. 30 Subp. 2. to 6. [Unchanged.] 31 7877.0110 PROCEDURE FOR OBTAINING CLASS C LICENSE. 32 33 Subpart 1. [Unchanged.] Subp. 2. Application content. An application for a Class 34 Approved 1 by Revisor

06/06/89

[REVISOR] PMM/CF AR1454

C license shall include the following information with respect 1 to the applicant: 2 A. date of birth; 3 в. social security number; 4 с. home address; 5 D. home telephone number; 6 7 names and addresses of previous employers; E. 8 F. a signed statement authorizing the release of information to the commission and the Minnesota Bureau of 9 Criminal Apprehension; and 10 11 G. if the applicant is 18 years of age or above, a 12 completed FBI fingerprint card. Subp. 3. and 4. [Unchanged.] 13 7877.0120 FEES. 14 Subpart 1. [Unchanged.] 15 Subp. 2. Fingerprint charge. In addition to the license 16 17 fee in subpart 1, each initial application for a Class C license, and each renewal application every third year 18 thereafter, shall be accompanied by a completed FBI fingerprint 19 20 card taken by the commission and a cashier's check or money 21 order in the amount of \$14 payable to "Federal Bureau of Investigation." Any horse owner who does not make application 22 in person must meet all requirements of this subpart, except 23 that the owner may file a completed fingerprint card taken by a 24 law enforcement agency. This subpart does not apply to 25 applications submitted by persons under the age of 18. 26 Subp. 3. and 4. [Unchanged.] 27 7877.0160 DURATION AND EXTENT OF CLASS C LICENSES. 28 Subpart 1. Duration. A Class C license shall expire at 29 midnight on December 31 of the calendar year after its issuance. 30 Extent. A Class C license issued at one race Subp. 2. 31 meeting during the calendar year shall be eligible for 32 validation at any other race meeting regulated by the commission 33 that year provided that: 34 35 A. [Unchanged.]

Approved by Revisor _____

[REVISOR] PMM/CF AR1454

06/06/89

the licensee furnishes proof of employment or 1 в. other evidence that he or she is practicing the occupation for 2 which he or she is licensed at the race meeting other than the 3 meeting for which the license was issued. 4 5 Subp. 3. [Unchanged.] 6 Subp. 4. Renewal. The commission may renew a license after receipt of required submissions unless the licensee is 7 determined to be ineligible. The commission may require 8 fingerprints, a photograph, or other relevant data if it has 9 reason to doubt the identity or eligibility of the licensee. 10 7883.0100 ENTRIES AND SUBSCRIPTIONS. 11 12 Subpart 1. to 15a. [Unchanged.] 13 Subp. 16. Workout requirements. In order to be eligible: A. and B. [Unchanged.] 14 15 C. First-time starters must have gate approval and a minimum of two timed workouts prior to the entry date. 16 Subp. 17. [Unchanged.] 17 Subp. 18. Protest. Any time before the running of a race, 18 19 an owner, trainer, or authorized agent may object to the eligibility of a horse participating in the race by filing a 20 21 written protest with the stewards. 7883.0120 DECLARATIONS AND SCRATCHES. 22 23 Subpart 1. to 5. [Unchanged.] Subp. 6. Horse declared nonstarter. The stewards shall 24 25 have the authority to declare that a horse is not a starter if they determine that the horse was ineligible to participate in 26 the race or any occurrence before the running of a race calls 27 for such action by them. 28 29 Subp. 7. [Unchanged.] 7890.0140 BLEEDERS. 30 31 Subpart 1. to 5. [Unchanged.] Subp. 6. Lasix® may be administered to certified bleeders. 32 Upon request, any horse placed on the bleeder list shall, in its 33 next race, be permitted the use of Lasix®. Once a horse has 34

06/06/89

raced with Lasix*, it must continue to race with Lasix* in all 1 subsequent races unless a request is made to discontinue the 2 3 use. If the use of Lasix® is discontinued, the horse shall be prohibited from again racing with Lasix® unless it is later 4 observed to be bleeding pursuant to subpart 1 or meets the 5 6 requirements of subpart 3. Requests for the use of or 7 discontinuance of Lasix® must be made to the commission 8 veterinarian by the horse's trainer or assistant trainer on a form prescribed by the commission on or before the day of entry 9 10 into the race for which the request is made. Lasix® shall be administered intravenously by a veterinarian employed by the 11 owner or trainer of the horse. The Lasix® must be administered 12 at least four hours before scheduled post time for any horse 13 entered to race and the dose level of Lasix® must not exceed 250 14 15 milligrams (five milliliters of a 50 milligram/milliliter or five percent solution) per administration. Lasix-must-be 16 administered-as-follows: 17

18 The practicing veterinarian must deposit with the A-19 commission veterinarian at the Lasix® detention barn an unopened 20 supply of Lasix® and sterile hypodermic needles and syringes to be used for the administration. The horse must be brought to 21 the Lasix® detention barn for treatment not less than four hours 22 23 before scheduled post time for the race in which it is entered 24 to start. The Lasix® must be administered under the supervision 25 of a person employed by the commission. Once at the Lasix* 26 detention barn, a horse shall remain there until it is taken to 27 the paddock to be saddled or harnessed for a race.

B:--The-requirements-of-item-A-shall-not-apply-if: (1)-the-commission-approves-a-scientifically recognized-test-to-determine-the-quantitative-level-of-basix*-in a-plasma-sample-of-the-treated-horse; (2)-the-commission-establishes-the-permitted quantitative-level-determined-by-scientific-research-and accepted-as-the-recognized-standard-by-the-industry;-and

35 (3)-the-trainer-delivers-to-the-commission

36 veterinarian-no-later-than-one-hour-before-post-time-of-the-race

Approved by Revisor _

06/06/89 [REVISOR] PMM/CF AR1454 for-which-the-horse-is-entered-the-following-information-on-a 1 2 form-provided-by-the-commission: (a)-the-racetrack-name;-date;-and-time-of 3 day-basix*-was-administered-to-the-entered-horse; 4 5 (b)-the-dosage-amount-of-fasix*-administered 6 to-the-entered-horse;-and 7 (c)-the-printed-name-and-signature-of-the veterinarian-who-administered-the-Easix*. 8 Subp. 7. to 9. [See Repealer.] 9 Subp. 10. [Unchanged.] 10 7892.0120 TAKING OF SAMPLES. 11 12 Subpart 1. Horses tested. A. Blood and/or urine test samples shall be taken 13 14 from the winning horse in every race and horses finishing second in races with quinella or exacta wagering. 15 B. Blood and/or urine test samples may be taken from 16 17 randomly selected horses during each racing program, from horses designated by the stewards or the commission veterinarian at any 18 time upon suspicion that a violation of chapter 7890 has 19 occurred, or for testing the quantitative level of furosemide in 20 the plasma of treated horses. 21 22 c. The stewards or commission veterinarian may 23 require that specimens of saliva or other body fluid or excretion may be taken from a tested horse as deemed necessary 24 by the stewards or the commission veterinarian to determine 25 whether a violation of chapter 7890 has occurred. 26 D. Any owner, trainer, or other person having care, 27 custody, or control of a horse required to be tested must submit 28 29 the horse immediately. Subp. 2. to 6. [Unchanged.] 30 7895.0110 THOROUGHBRED BREEDERS' FUND. 31 Subpart 1. [Unchanged.] 32 Subp. 2. Division of money. The money available from the 33 breeders' fund for the thoroughbred breed category shall be 34 divided as follows: 35

> Approved by Revisor

[REVISOR] PMM/CF AR1454

06/06/89

1 Α. [Unchanged.] 2 в. Sixty-two percent shall be paid to supplement 3 purses. The purse supplements shall be apportioned in accordance with the quality of the race as determined by the 4 5 commission. C. [Unchanged.] 6 7 Subp. 3. to 8. [Unchanged.] 7895.0350 QUARTER HORSE REGISTRATION. 8 9 Subpart 1. Broodmare registration. To be eligible to 10 receive any breeders' award payments, the following requirements must be met: 11 Prior to foaling, a broodmare must be in Minnesota 12 Α. and registered or the registration renewed with the racing 13 commission or official registering agency on or before January 14 15 31 of the year in which the broodmare will foal. The broodmare's original American Quarter Horse Association (AQHA) 16 certificate must be received by the racing commission or 17 official registering agency. 18 19 B. and C. [Unchanged.] 20 Subp. 2. and 3. [Unchanged.] 21 7897.0100 PROHIBITED ACTS. Subpart 1. to 9. [Unchanged.] 22 23 Subp. 10. Financial responsibility. No licensee shall 24 willfully or deliberately refuse to pay any money when due for 25 any service, supplies, or fees connected with his or her 26 activities as a licensee, nor shall he or she falsely deny any such amount due or the validity of the claim therefor with the 27 28 purpose of hindering or defrauding the person to whom the 29 indebtedness is due. All financial responsibility complaints 30 against a licensee shall be made in writing, signed by the 31 complainant, and accompanied by (a) a judgment from a court of 32 competent jurisdiction; or (b) a check, issued by the licensee 33 or by a business entity owned or controlled by the licensee, 34 which indicates on its face that the bank upon which the check 35 is drawn has refused payment due to insufficient funds,

> Approved by Revisor _

06/06/89 [REVISOR] PMM/CF AR1454 alteration, forgery, or because the check was written on a 1 closed or nonexistent account; or (c) written documentation that 2 3 a licensee is in arrears in an amount in excess of \$2,000 but not to exceed \$5,000 for goods or services for a period of time 4 5 not to exceed 45 days from the date the goods or services were first provided. 6 7 Subp. 11. to 18. [Unchanged.] 7899.0100 VARIANCES. 8 9 Subpart 1. [Unchanged.] 10 Subp. 2. Requests for a variance. A person desirous of obtaining a variance from the application of one or more of the 11 commission's rules shall initiate the variance process by 12 submitting in writing to the commission the following 13 14 information and documents: A. to C. [Unchanged.] 15 Subp. 3. Disposition of variance requests. The commission 16 17 shall grant or deny a variance pursuant to the following procedures and standards: 18 A. Upon receipt of a variance request, the commission 19 shall send written notice of the time, date, and place of the 20 21 variance hearing to all persons who have registered their names with the commission for that purpose. The commission shall not 22 act upon the variance request for 30 calendar days after it has 23 24 issued the notice. 25 B. to E. [Unchanged.] 26 Subp. 4. [Unchanged.] 27 REPEALER. Minnesota Rules, parts 7873.0300, subpart 4; and 28 29 7890.0140, subparts 7, 8, and 9 are repealed.

Approved by Revisor _