Department of Health

2

Adopted Permanent Rules Relating to Hearing Aid Seller Permits 3

4

- 5 Rules as Adopted
- 4692.0010 PURPOSE.
- 7 Chapter 4692 establishes procedures for applying and
- obtaining a permit to sell hearing instruments. The purpose of
- this chapter is to establish a central registry listing of
- 10 persons who sell hearing instruments and to establish procedures
- for issuing, suspending, and revoking permits. 11
- 12 4692.0015 DEFINITIONS.
- 13 Subpart 1. Scope. For purposes of this chapter, the
- 14 following terms have the meanings given them.
- 15 Subp. 2. Applicant. "Applicant" means a person who
- applies with the commissioner for a permit to sell hearing 16
- 17 instruments.
- Subp. 3. Commissioner. "Commissioner" means the 18
- commissioner of health. 19
- 20 Subp. 4. Hearing instrument. "Hearing instrument" is as
- defined in Minnesota Statutes, section 153A.13, subdivision 3. 21
- 22 Subp. 5. Hearing instrument selling. "Hearing instrument
- 23 selling" is-as-defined-in-Minnesota-Statutes,-section-153A-13,
- subdivision-4 means fitting ear molds, assisting the consumer in 24
- instrument selection, or testing of human hearing when the 25
- 26 person conducting these activities has a monetary interest in
- the sale of hearing instruments to the consumer at retail. 27
- Subp. 6. Permit holder. "Permit holder" means a person 28
- who has been issued a valid permit by the commissioner. 29
- Subp. 7. Permit number. "Permit number" means the number 30
- 31 assigned to each permit by the commissioner.
- 32 Subp. 8. Seller of hearing instruments. "Seller of
- hearing instruments" is as defined in Minnesota Statutes, 33
- section 153A.13, subdivision 5. 34

- 1 4692.0020 REQUIREMENT TO APPLY FOR A PERMIT AND TIME PERIODS.
- 2 Subpart 1. Who must apply. A person who sells hearing
- 3 instruments in Minnesota must apply for a permit from the
- 4 commissioner on forms provided by the commissioner.
- 5 Subp. 2. Time period for initial application. A seller
- 6 who is selling hearing instruments in Minnesota on the effective
- 7 date of this chapter must apply for a permit from the
- 8 commissioner within 120 days after the effective date of this
- 9 chapter.
- 10 Subp. 3. Time period after initial application period.
- 11 One hundred twenty days after the effective date of this
- 12 chapter, a person who sells hearing instruments must first have
- 13 a valid permit issued by the commissioner and the 120-day period
- 14 in subpart 2 does not apply.
- 15 4692.0025 PROCEDURE FOR APPLYING FOR A PERMIT.
- 16 Subpart 1. Application forms. The applicant must:
- A. apply to the commissioner for a permit to sell
- 18 hearing instruments on the forms provided by the commissioner;
- B. include with the application a statement that the
- 20 statements in the application are true and correct to the best
- 21 of the applicant's knowledge and belief;
- 22 C. include with the application a nonrefundable
- 23 application fee specified in part 4692.0040;
- D. include with the application the information
- 25 required by Minnesota Statutes, section 153A.14, and describe
- 26 the applicant's experience, including the number of years and
- 27 months that the applicant has sold hearing instruments as
- 28 defined in Minnesota Statutes, section 153A.13;
- 29 E. include with the application the applicant's
- 30 business address and phone number, or home address and phone
- 31 number if the applicant conducts his or her business out of the
- 32 home, and if applicable, the name of the applicant's supervisor,
- 33 manager, and business owner;
- F. include with the application a written and signed
- 35 authorization that authorizes the commissioner to make inquiries

- l to appropriate regulatory agencies in this or any other state
- 2 where the applicant has sold hearing instruments; and
- 3 G. complete the application in sufficient detail for
- 4 the commissioner to determine if the applicant meets the
- 5 requirements for filing. The commissioner may ask the applicant
- 6 to provide additional information necessary to clarify
- 7 incomplete or ambiguous information submitted in the application.
- 8 Subp. 2. Requirement to maintain current information. F
- 9 seller must notify the commissioner within 30 days of the
- 10 occurrence of any one or more of the following:
- 11 A. a change of name, address, and home or business
- 12 phone number;
- B. the occurrence of conduct prohibited by Minnesota
- 14 Statutes, section 153A.15; and
- 15 C. a settlement or award based on the negligence or
- 16 intentional acts committed in the selling of hearing instruments
- 17 by the seller; -and
- 18 B---a-physical-or-mental-disability-of-the-seller-that
- 19 may-affect-a-seller's-ability-to-sell-hearing-instruments.
- 20 4692.0030 COMMISSIONER ACTION ON PERMITS.
- 21 Subpart 1. Issuance of permit. The commissioner will
- 22 review the permit application to determine whether or not the
- 23 applicant has met the application requirements of part
- 24 4692.0025. If the permit applicant has met the requirements of
- 25 part 4692.0025, then the commissioner will issue a permit to the
- 26 applicant.
- 27 Subp. 2. Prohibitions. The permit is not transferable to
- 28 any other person. It may not be displayed, published, or
- 29 duplicated in any way.
- 30 Subp. 3. Required use of permit number. The permit holder
- 31 shall use the permit number on all contracts, bills of sale, and
- 32 receipts used in the sale of hearing instruments.
- 33 Subp. 4. Denial of application for permit.
- 34 A. The commissioner may deny an application for a
- 35 permit if:

- 1 (1) the application does not contain the
- 2 information required by Minnesota Statutes, section 153A.14,
- 3 subdivision 1, and part 4692.0025, subpart 1, and the applicant
- 4 fails to provide the commissioner with the required or
- 5 additional information within 30 days after the date requested
- 6 by the commissioner;
- 7 (2) the applicant has submitted false or
- 8 misleading information on the application;
- 9 (3) the applicant fails to fully disclose actions
- 10 taken against the applicant or the applicant's legal
- 11 authorization to sell hearing instruments in this or another
- 12 state;
- 13 (4) the applicant fails to authorize the
- 14 commissioner as required in part 4692.0025, subpart 1, item F,
- 15 to obtain information from the appropriate regulatory agencies
- 16 in this or any other state where the applicant has sold hearing
- 17 instruments:
- 18 (5) there is evidence that the applicant has not
- 19 made good faith efforts to comply with the commissioner's
- 20 internal operating procedures for the hearing instrument
- 21 consumer complaint system;
- 22 (6) there is evidence that the applicant has
- 23 engaged in behavior that is specifically prohibited by Minnesota
- 24 Statutes, section 153A.15; or
- 25 (7) there is evidence that the applicant has
- 26 violated a state or federal court order or judgment issued to
- 27 manage the activities of the applicant in selling hearing
- 28 instruments.
- B. The commissioner must notify an applicant in
- 30 writing if the application is denied and include the reasons for
- 31 denying the application.
- 32 C. An applicant may appeal the commissioner's
- 33 decision to deny issuance of a permit. An appeal must be made
- 34 according to the contested case procedures of Minnesota
- 35 Statutes, chapter 14. Once a timely appeal is made, the
- 36 commissioner's decision will be stayed until resolution of the

- 1 contested case.
- D. At any time after the commissioner has denied an
- 3 applicant's application for a permit, an applicant may submit a
- 4 new permit application with the commissioner. The new permit
- 5 application must be accompanied by a new filing fee, except if
- 6 the original application was denied for typographical errors.
- 7 Subp. 5. Suspension or revocation of permit. The
- 8 commissioner shall follow the procedures in items A to E for
- 9 suspending or revoking a permit.
- 10 A. The commissioner may suspend or revoke a permit to
- 11 sell hearing instruments if:
- 12 (1) there is evidence that the permit holder
- 13 engaged in conduct prohibited by Minnesota Statutes, section
- 14 153A.15;
- 15 (2) there is evidence that the permit holder
- 16 submitted false or misleading information to the commissioner;
- 17 (3) there is evidence that the permit holder
- 18 violated a state or federal court order or judgment issued to
- 19 manage the activities of the applicant in the hearing instrument
- 20 selling business; or
- 21 (4) there is evidence that the permit holder has
- 22 not made good faith efforts to comply with the commissioner's
- 23 internal operating procedures for the hearing instrument
- 24 consumer complaint system.
- 25 B. The commissioner must notify a permit holder in
- 26 writing if the permit is suspended or revoked and include the
- 27 reasons for the suspension or revocation.
- 28 C. A permit holder may appeal the commissioner's
- 29 decision to suspend or revoke the permit. An appeal must be
- 30 according to the contested case procedures of Minnesota
- 31 Statutes, chapter 14. Once an appeal is timely made, the
- 32 commissioner's decision will be stayed until resolution of the
- 33 contested case.
- D. The commissioner may not suspend a permit to sell
- 35 hearing instruments for longer than one year. The commissioner
- 36 may not revoke a permit to sell hearing instruments for longer

- 1 than three years.
- 2 E. When the suspension or revocation period is over,
- 3 the permit holder may petition the commissioner to remove the
- 4 suspension or revocation. If the commissioner finds that the
- 5 petitioner has complied with the terms of the suspension or
- 6 revocation order and has met the requirements in part 4692.0025,
- 7 the commissioner shall reinstate a permit to the petitioner.
- 8 4692.0035 RENEWAL OF PERMITS.
- 9 Subpart 1. Permit renewal notice. Permit holders must
- 10 renew their permits annually. At least 30 days before the date
- 11 the permit must be renewed according to subpart 2, the
- 12 commissioner shall send out a renewal notice to the permit
- 13 holder's last known address. The notice shall include a renewal
- 14 application and notice of fees required for renewal. A permit
- 15 holder is not relieved from meeting the applicable deadline for
- 16 renewal on the basis that the permit holder did not receive the
- 17 renewal notice. In renewing a permit, a permit holder shall
- 18 follow the procedures for applying for a permit specified in
- 19 part 4692.0025.
- 20 Subp. 2. Renewal deadline. The renewal application and
- 21 fee must be postmarked on or before the date the permit must be
- 22 renewed according to items A to E. Permits must be renewed
- 23 according to the following schedule:
- A. for permit holders whose last name begins with the
- 25 letters A to E, February 1;
- 26 B. for permit holders whose last name begins with the
- 27 letters F to L, April 1;
- 28 C. for permit holders whose last name begins with the
- 29 letters M to P, June 1;
- D. for permit holders whose last name begins with the
- 31 letters Q to U, August 1; and
- 32 E. for permit holders whose last name begins with the
- 33 letters V to Z, October 1.
- 34 4692.0040 FEES.
- 35 Subpart 1. First time applicants and reapplicants for

- l permits. The commissioner shall prorate the permit fee for
- 2 first time applicants and reapplicants according to the number
- 3 of months that have elapsed between the date the permit is
- 4 issued and the date the permit must be renewed according to part
- 5 4692.0035, subpart 2.
- 6 Subp. 2. Annual permit fee. The annual permit fee is \$140.
- 7 Subpr-3:--Surcharge-feer--In-addition-to-other-applicable
- 8 fees,-each-applicant-must-pay-a-surcharge-fee-of-\$29---The
- 9 surcharge-fee-applies-to-all-persons-applying-for-a-permit-or
- 10 renewal-of-a-permit-under-this-chapter-during-the-first-five
- 11 years-following-the-effective-date-of-this-chapter-
- 12 4692.0045 BONDS.
- 13 Subpart 1. Evidence of compliance with Minnesota Statutes,
- 14 section 153A.16. Bonds shall be submitted to the commissioner
- 15 on bond forms provided by the commissioner.