08/08/89 [REVISOR] CMR/JV AR1400 1 Board of Dentistry 2 Adopted Permanent Rules Relating to Licensure 3 4 Rules as Adopted 5 3100.0100 DEFINITIONS. 6 Subpart 1. Scope. For the purpose of this chapter and 7 unless the context otherwise requires, the terms in subparts 2 8 to 21 have the meanings given them. 9 Subp. 2. Act. "Act" means Laws of Minnesota 1969, chapter 10 974, codified as Minnesota Statutes, sections 150A.01 to 150A.12. 11 Subp. 3. to 5. [Unchanged.] 12 Subp. 6. Board. "Board" means the Board of Dentistry. 13 Subp. 7. to 9a. [Unchanged.] 14 Subp. 10. Dental technician. "Dental technician" means a 15 person other than a licensed dentist who performs any of the 16 services described in Minnesota Statutes, section 150A.10, 17 subdivision 3. 18 Subp. 11. and 13. [Unchanged.] 19 Subp. 14. Minnesota Professional Corporations Act. 20 "Minnesota Professional Corporations Act" means Minnesota 21 Statutes, sections 319A.01 to 319A.22. 22 Subp. 15. National board. "National board" means an 23 examination administered nationally and acceptable to the board. 24 25 Subp. 16. [Unchanged.] Subp. 17. Registered dental assistant. "Registered dental 26 assistant" means an assistant registered by the board pursuant 27 to Minnesota Statutes, section 150A.06, subdivision 2a. 28 Subp. 18. and 20. [Unchanged.] 29 Subp. 21. Supervision. "Supervision" means one of the 30 following levels of supervision, in descending order of 31 restriction: 32 "Personal supervision" means the dentist is 33 Α. 34 personally operating on a patient and authorizes the auxiliary 35 to aid in treatment by concurrently performing supportive

08/08/89

1 procedures.

B. "Direct supervision" means the dentist is in the dental office, personally diagnoses the condition to be treated, personally authorizes the procedure, and before dismissal of the patient, evaluates the performance of the auxiliary.

6 C. "Indirect supervision" means the dentist is in the 7 office, authorizes the procedures, and remains in the office 8 while the procedures are being performed by the auxiliary.

9 D. "General supervision" means the dentist has 10 authorized the procedures and they are being carried out in 11 accordance with the dentist's diagnosis and treatment plan.

12 3100.1400 APPLICATION FOR LICENSURE BY CREDENTIALS.

13 Any person who is already a licensed dentist or dental 14 hygienist in another state or Canadian province desiring to be 15 licensed to practice dentistry or dental hygiene in Minnesota 16 shall present to the board an application and credentials as 17 prescribed by the act. The applicant shall conform to the 18 following rules of the board:

19

A. to C. [Unchanged.]

20 D. An applicant for licensure as a dental hygienist 21 must have been in active practice in another state, Canadian 22 province, or United States government service for at least one 23 of the two years prior to the board receiving a completed 24 application. The applicant must submit at least two character 25 references from dentists and two references from practicing 26 dental hygienists.

27

E. to J. [Unchanged.]

28 3100.2000 FEES.

29 Subpart 1. Application fees. Each applicant for licensure as a dentist or dental hygienist or for registration as a 30 registered dental assistant shall submit with a license or 31 registration application a fee in the following amounts: 32 dentist application, \$100; 33 Α. 34 в. dental hygienist application, \$45; and 35 с. dental assistant application, \$25.

08/08/89

[REVISOR] CMR/JV AR1400

.

l	Subp. 2. Annual license or registration fees. Each
2	dentist, dental hygienist, and registered dental assistant shall
3	submit with an annual license or registration renewal
4	application a fee as established by the board not to exceed the
5	following amounts:
6	A. dentist, \$80;
7	B. dental hygienist, \$30; and
8	C. registered dental assistant, \$20.
9	Subp. 3. Licensure by credentials. Each applicant for
10	licensure as a dentist or dental hygienist by credentials
11	pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 150A.06, subdivision 4
12	and part 3100.1400 shall submit with the license application a
13	fee in the following amounts:
14	A. dentist, \$425; and
15	B. dental hygienist, \$100.
16	Subp. 4. [Unchanged.]
17	Subp. 5. Duplicate license or registration fee. Each
18	licensee or registrant shall submit with a request for issuance
19	of a duplicate of the original license or registration or of an
20	annual renewal of it a fee in the following amounts:
21	A. original dentist or dental hygiene license, \$10;
22	and
23	B. initial and renewal registration certificates and
24	license renewal certificates, \$8.
25	Subp. 6. Reinstatement fee. No dentist, dental hygienist,
26	or registered dental assistant whose license or registration has
27	been suspended or revoked shall have the license or registration
28	reinstated or a new license or registration issued until a fee
29	has been submitted to the board in the following amount:
30	A. dentist, \$100;
31	B. dental hygienist, \$45; and
32	C. registered dental assistant, \$25.
33	Subp. 7. to 9. [Unchanged.]
34	Subp. 9a. Verification of licensure. Each institution or
35	corporation shall submit with a request for verification of a
36	licensure or registration a fee in the amount of \$5 for each

[REVISOR] CMR/JV AR1400

08/08/89

1 license or registration to be verified.

Subp. 10. [Unchanged.]

3 3100.3300 EXAMINATION OF DENTISTS.

4

2

Subpart 1. to 4. [Unchanged.]

Subp. 4a. Additional education for two failed clinical 5 examinations. When an applicant fails twice any part of the 6 7 clinical examination required by Minnesota Statutes, section 150A.06, subdivision 1, the applicant may not take it again 8 until the applicant successfully completes additional education 9 10 provided by an institution accredited by the Commission on 11 Accreditation. The education must cover all of the subject 12 areas failed by the applicant in each of the two clinical examinations. The applicant may retake the examination only 13 after the institution provides to the board information 14 specifying the areas failed in the previous examinations and the 15 16 instruction provided to address the areas failed, and certifies that the applicant has successfully completed the instruction. 17 The applicant must take the additional instruction provided 18 19 above each time the applicant fails the clinical examination 20 twice.

21 Subp. 5. [Unchanged.]

22 3100.3400 EXAMINATION OF DENTAL HYGIENISTS.

_23

Subpart 1. to 3. [Unchanged.]

24 Subp. 3a. Additional education for two failed clinical examinations. When an applicant fails twice any part of the 25 clinical examination required by Minnesota Statutes, section 26 150A.06, subdivision 2, the applicant may not take it again 27 until the applicant successfully completes additional education 28 provided by an institution accredited by the Commission on 29 Accreditation. The education must cover all of the subject 30 areas failed by the applicant in each of the two clinical 31 examinations. The applicant may retake the examination only 32 after the institution provides to the board information 33 specifying the areas failed in the previous examinations and the 34 35 instruction provided to address the areas failed, and certifies

08/08/89

[REVISOR] CMR/JV AR1400

that the applicant has successfully completed the instruction.
The applicant must take the additional instruction provided
above each time the applicant fails the clinical examination
twice.

5 Subr

Subp. 4. [Unchanged.]

6 3100.3500 EXAMINATION OF REGISTERED DENTAL ASSISTANTS.

7 Subpart 1. and 2. [Unchanged.]

8 Subp. 2a. Additional education for two failed clinical 9 examinations. When an applicant fails twice any part of the 10 clinical examination required by Minnesota Statutes, section 150A.06, subdivision 2a, the applicant may not take it again 11 until the applicant successfully completes additional education 12 provided by an institution accredited by the Commission on 13 Accreditation. The education must cover all of the subject 14 areas failed by the applicant in each of the two clinical 15 16 examinations. The applicant may retake the examination only 17 after the institution provides to the board information specifying the areas failed in the previous examinations and the 18 instruction provided to address the areas failed, and certifies 19 20 that the applicant has successfully completed the instruction. The applicant must take the additional instruction provided 21 above each time the applicant fails the clinical examination 22 twice. 23

24 Subp. 3. Additional examination content. All candidates 25 shall be examined for general knowledge of the act and the rules 26 of the board.

27 Subp. 4. [Unchanged.]

28 3100.4100 CONTINUING DENTAL EDUCATION.

29 9

Subpart 1. to 3. [Unchanged.]

30 Subp. 4. Exemptions. A licensee or registrant who pays an 31 annual license or registration renewal fee is exempt from 32 complying with the CDE requirements if he or she files with the 33 board an affidavit specifying that the licensee or registrant 34 does not practice, including on a volunteer or free basis, 35 within the state.

08/08/89 [REVISOR] CMR/JV AR1400 Subp. 5. [Unchanged.] 3100.6200 CONDUCT UNBECOMING A LICENSEE OR REGISTRANT. "Conduct unbecoming a person licensed to practice dentistry or dental hygiene or registered as a dental assistant or conduct contrary to the best interests of the public," as used in 6 Minnesota Statutes, section 150A.08, subdivision 1, clause (6), shall include the act of a dentist, dental hygienist, registered dental assistant, or applicant in: A. to I. [Unchanged.] J. failing to cooperate with the board, its agents, or those working on behalf of the board as required by part 3100.6350; failing to maintain adequate safety and sanitary K. conditions for a dental office as specified in part 3100.6300; and L. failing to provide access to and transfer of medical and dental records as prescribed by Minnesota Statutes, section 144.335. 3100.7000 ADVERTISING DENTAL SPECIALTY PRACTICE. Subpart 1. Specialty areas. The following special areas of dentistry are recognized as suitable for the announcement of specialty dental practices: A. endodontics (endodontist); B. oral and maxillofacial surgery (oral surgeon/oral maxillofacial surgeon); C. oral pathology (oral pathologist); D. orthodontics (orthodontist); pediatric dentistry (pediatric dentist); E. periodontics (periodontist); F. G. prosthodontics (prosthodontist); and public health. H. Subp. 2. and 3. [Unchanged.] 3100.8700 DENTAL HYGIENISTS.

1

2

3

4

5

7

8

9

10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

22

23

24

25

26

27

28

29

30

31

32

33

34

6

Subpart 1. Permissible duties. Dental hygienists may

08/08/89 [REVISOR] CMR/JV AR1400 1 perform the following services under the general supervision of 2 a dentist: A. all services permitted under parts 3100.8400 to 3 3100.8500, subpart 1; 4 B. complete prophylaxis to include scaling, root 5 6 planing, polishing of restorations, and temporary replacement of 7 restorations; C. to E. [Unchanged.] 8 Subp. 2. and 3. [Unchanged.] 9