Board of Barber Examiners
 Adopted Permanent Rules Relating to Barber Licensing
 4

5 Rules as Adopted

6 2100.0100 DEFINITIONS.

Subpart 1. Scope. For the purpose of parts 2100.0100 to
2100.9300, the terms defined in this part have the meanings
given them.

10 Subp. 1a. Barbering. The practice of barbering as defined 11 in Minnesota Statutes, section 154.02, means the services 12 described in that section when performed on a living person and 13 includes those services when performed in conjunction with the 14 selling of hair pieces, wigs, or an artificial hair application.

15 Subp. 2. A license or certificate of registration as 16 practicing barber. The phrase "a license or certificate of 17 registration as practicing barber" contained in Minnesota 18 Statutes, section 154.11, means a current certificate of 19 registration as a certified barber.

Subp. 3. Has practiced as a barber. The phrase "has practiced as a barber" contained in Minnesota Statutes, section 154.11, means that a person has performed the acts of barbering under a certificate of registration as either a registered barber or a registered apprentice.

25 2100.0200 APPLICATION FOR EXAMINATION.

26 Upon completion of the required 1,500 hour course of 27 training, the school shall issue each graduate a certificate of 28 completion.

29 Upon issuance of the certificate of completion, the 30 graduate is eligible to be scheduled for the apprentice 31 examination under part 2100.0500.

In an emergency or in a situation beyond a student's control in which the 1,500 hours of training course cannot be completed before the apprentice examination schedule, the board **may** shall make an exception from the requirement of course

> Approved by Revisor

completion if: 1 the course can be completed within the following 2 Α. week after the apprentice examination and before the registered 3 barber examination; and 4 B. the student has less than 48 hours to complete 5 after the examination schedule in part 2100.0500. 6 7 Results of examinations must not be issued until the certificate of completion is filed. 8 9 2100.0300 NONRESIDENT APPRENTICE QUALIFICATIONS. 10 The board must find the following to determine that another state or country has substantially the same requirements for 11 12 registration of an apprentice as provided under Minnesota Statutes, chapter 154: 13 14 Α. the same educational requirements as Minnesota Statutes, section 154.06, clause (1); 15 16 в. graduation from a barber school that requires: 17 (1) approval by a state requiring at least the 18 same number of hours of instruction for school approval as 19 Minnesota; and 20 (2) a curriculum that is equivalent to Minnesota 21 Statutes, section 154.07, and parts 2100.0100 to 2100.9300; and 22 C. must meet the requirements of Minnesota Statutes, section 154.11. 23 24 Applicants unable to comply with items A and B shall make 25 up the difference in a Minnesota accredited barber school. Barbering experience may shall be considered equivalent to or 26 27 substantially the same as hours in school training. 28 2100.0500 EXAMINATION DATES. Examinations for a certificate as a registered apprentice 29 30 shall be held the first week in February, May, August, and November of each year. Notice of the examination shall be given 31 during the first week of the month preceding the month in which 32 the examination is to be held. Two additional examinations may 33 34 be held when the board determines it is cost efficient.

[REVISOR] PMM/SS AR1342

12/15/88

1 2100.0600 CONTENTS OF EXAMINATION.

Each examination consists of six parts: oral, written, and four practical services. The type of haircut, shave, or beard trim and the two other of the following practical services: <u>shampoo, perm wrap, facial, or color application, will be</u> determined at the discretion of the board.

7 2100.0900 REVIEW OF EXAMINATION RESULTS.

8 An applicant may review his or her examination results at 9 the office of the Board of Barber Examiners during usual 10 business hours.

11 2100.1000 FAILURE OF EXAMINATION.

12 A student who fails the apprentice examination shall 13 complete an additional 500 hours to be eligible to retake the 14 apprentice examination, as many times as necessary to pass.

15 2100.1100 APPRENTICE PRACTICE.

16 The requirement of Minnesota Statutes, section 154.05, 17 clause (4) regarding the practicing as a registered apprentice 18 for a period of 12 months shall mean licensure for not less than 19 1,500 hours of work time.

20 2100.1200 TIME REPORT.

The registered barber who supervises the practice of a registered apprentice shall file an affidavit as to the number of hours the apprentice accumulated under the registered barber's supervision.

25 2100.1300 HOME STUDY COURSE.

The 12 months practice of a registered apprentice under Minnesota Statutes, section 154.05 shall include completion of the program entitled "Related Home Study Course for Apprentice Barbers" prepared or approved by the Board of Barber Examiners. The course must be successfully completed before the examination may be taken.

32 2100.1400 PRACTICE COMPLETION BEFORE BARBER EXAMINATION.
 33 A registered apprentice meets the requirements of Minnesota

Approved by Revisor

[REVISOR] PMM/SS AR1342

Statutes, section 154.05, clause (4) if 1,500 hours and 12
 months of practice are completed at any time before or within
 the week in which the examination is given pursuant to Minnesota
 Statutes, section 154.05, clause (5).

5 2100.1500 REPORTING PRACTICE UNDER SUPERVISION.

A registered apprentice who practices under the immediate personal supervision of a registered barber must file with the annual license renewal, a statement of the number of hours completed and under whose supervision.

10 2100.2500 EXAMINATION DATES.

Examinations for a certificate as a registered barber shall be held in the second week of February, May, August, and November of each year. Notice of the examination shall be given during the first week of the month preceding the month in which the examination is to be held. Two additional examinations may be held when the board determines it is cost efficient.

17 2100.2600 APPLICATION FOR EXAMINATION.

An applicant for examination as a registered barber shall 18 file an application for examination and a sworn affidavit of 19 completing 12 months and 1,500 hours of supervision on forms 20 furnished by the board. This application must be filed with the 21 board no later than the 20th day of the month preceding the 22 month in which the examination is to be given; provided, 23 however, that the board shall, upon the showing of a hardship, 24 accept applications at a later date. 25

26 2100.2700 NONRESIDENT BARBERS; QUALIFICATIONS.

The board must find the following to determine that another state or country has substantially the same requirements for registration of barbers as provided under Minnesota Statutes, chapter 154:

A. the same educational requirements as Minnesota
Statutes, section 154.05, clause (1);
B. graduation from a barber school that requires:
(1) approval by a state requiring at least the

Approved by Revisor _

[REVISOR] PMM/SS AR1342

same number of hours of instruction for school approval as
 Minnesota; and

3 (2) a curriculum that is equivalent to Minnesota
4 Statutes, section 154.07, and parts 2100.0100 to 2100.9300;
5 C. must meet requirements for a registered apprentice
6 in Minnesota Statutes, section 154.05, clause (4); and

D. the same practice requirements for a registered
apprentice as set forth in Minnesota Statutes, section 154.05,
clause (4).

10 Applicants unable to comply with items A and B must make up 11 the difference in a Minnesota accredited barber school. 12 Barbering experience may shall be considered equivalent to or 13 substantially the same as hours in school training.

14 2100.2900 CONTENTS OF EXAMINATION.

Each examination consists of six parts: oral, written, and four practical services. The type of haircut, shave or beard trim, and the two other of the following practical services: <u>shampoo, perm wrap, facial, or color application, will be</u> determined at the discretion of the board.

20 2100.3200 FAILURE OF EXAMINATION; ADDITIONAL APPRENTICE PRACTICE.

An apprentice who fails to satisfactorily pass an 21 examination for a certificate of registration to practice as a 22 registered barber, must practice an additional two months and 23 300 hours to be eligible to retake the examination. The 24 additional two months practice required by Minnesota Statutes, 25 section 154.05, clause (5) shall include not less than 300 hours 26 of work time. The registered barber who supervises the 27 additional two months practice must file an affidavit with the 28 board for the additional practice period. 29

30 2100.4500 INSTRUCTOR LICENSE QUALIFICATION.

To qualify for an instructor's examination, an applicant must be a licensed registered barber with five years' experience and hold a current vocational teacher's certificate.

34 2100.5000 LICENSE REQUIREMENT.

Approved by Revisor _

[REVISOR] PMM/SS AR1342

1 No person shall operate a barber school in Minnesota 2 without having first obtained a license from the Board of Barber Examiners. Persons holding a permit for the conduct of a barber 3 4 school which was issued prior to the adoption of these rules have a period of 60 days after the adoption of these rules to 5 6 file the necessary documents showing conformance with these 7 rules with the exception of the course outline required by part 2100.5100, subpart 2. After the date of adoption of these rules 8 all barber schools operating or requesting a license to operate 9 10 will be governed by and shall proceed in accordance with these 11 rules.

12 2100.5100 LICENSE APPLICATION.

Subpart 1. Verified statement. A person desiring to 13 14 operate a barber school in Minnesota shall present to the board a verified statement showing at least the following: 15 16 A. all information required by Minnesota Statutes, 17 chapter 154 elsewhere in these rules; 18 Β. the name of the applicant or applicants together with their occupations and residences for the ten years 19 20 immediately prior to making applications; 21 С. the address of the proposed school; 22 D. a complete financial statement; and 23 Ε. a plan of operation of the school setting forth the following information: 24 25 (1) drawings showing the number of chairs to be 26 installed and showing a minimum of five feet between barber chairs, measuring from center to center, the waiting area must 27 28 be separate from work stations; 29 (2) drawings showing classroom space with a 30 minimum area of 25 square feet available for each proposed student in classroom space; 31 32 (3) a statement showing that the following will 33 be available: one desk for each student enrolled; one chart on 34 skin and hair; one chart on blood supply to face and neck; one 35 chart on the muscles of the face, head, and neck; one chart on

б

.

Approved

by Revisor

[REVISOR] PMM/SS AR1342

1 the nerves of the face, head, and neck; one chart on the bones 2 of the face, head, and neck; and one blackboard of a size not 3 less than six feet by 3-1/2 feet; 4 (4) plans showing the following: separate toilet 5 and washroom facilities for men and women; plumbing and sewer

5 and washroom facilities for men and women; plumbing and sewer 6 system appropriate to the size and use of the building as a 7 barber school; a statement regarding the availability and 8 intended use of municipal sewer and water supplies;

9 (5) plans for appropriate lighting and10 ventilating systems;

(6) plans showing use of a type of floor material such as tile or linoleum which may be easily kept clean and sanitary;

(7) plans for proper sanitization facilities
including the following: one sink for each barber chair or
dispensary as required in part 2100.8100, subpart 3; one closed
cabinet for clean towels for each barber chair; one closed
container for soiled towels for each barber chair; one time
clock; and one hair dryer; and

20 (8) plans for adequate waiting chairs and clothes21 racks.

22 Subp. 2. Course outline. All barber schools shall submit to the board a full course outline including each instructional 23 24 unit, showing a course of instruction comprising an aggregate of not less than 1,500 hours, of not more than eight work 25 instruction hours in any one working day. A copy of each 26 school's curriculum will be filed with the board. In the case 27 28 of applicants for a license to operate a barber school submitted to the board after the adoption of these rules, the application 29 30 will contain the foregoing statements. Barber schools in 31 existence at the time of adoption of these rules shall have two months from the date of adoption for submission of the outline 32 33 prescribed by this part. All schools shall submit a complete student course syllabus to the board at the time of application 34 35 for license and any renewal of it.

36 Subp. 3. Brochure. Applicants for a license to operate a

Approved by Revisor

[REVISOR] PMM/SS AR1342 12/15/88 barber school shall submit a copy of a brochure which will be 1 made available to students upon approval of the application. 2 This brochure shall list the fees which will be charged; 3 4 together with enrollment and termination procedures for students. Any change in the tuition fee listed in this brochure 5 must be immediately reported, in writing, to the board. 6 2100.5200 CONSIDERATIONS IN LICENSE ISSUANCE. 7 8 Subpart 1. Factors. Upon receipt of an application for establishment of a barber school, the board shall give 9 10 consideration to the factors in subparts 2 to 5. Subp. 2. Public welfare. The board shall give 11 12 consideration to any detriment to the public welfare and the 13 need for barber school facilities in the community and neighborhood where the proposed barber school is to be located, 14 15 giving particular consideration to: A. the economic character of the community and 16 neighborhood; 17 в. the effect on existing barber shops and barber 18 19 schools in the community; C. the availability of adequate support for the 20 proposed barber school in the community and neighborhood with 21 particular regard to adequate practice for students; 22 the extent to which the proposed barber school 23 D. 24 would draw patrons from adjacent communities or neighborhoods 25 and the character thereof; and the effect of the establishment of a barber school Ε. 26 27 on the social and economic aspects of the community and neighborhood and adjacent communities and neighborhoods in 28 29 regard to the proposed site. 30 Subp. 3. and 4. [See repealer.] Subp. 5. Student-license ratio. There must be at least 31 one instructor for every 17 students enrolled. 32 2100.5400 CORPORATIONS PROHIBITED. 33 No school license shall be issued to a corporation, nor 34 shall the school indicate any affiliation with a corporation. 35

> Approved by Revisor

35

1 2100.5600 RENEWAL OF LICENSE.

Subpart 1. Application. Owners of barber schools shall make annual application for renewal of their licenses in accordance with the rules of the board. The board shall make a new determination annually that the school meets the requirements of Minnesota Statutes, chapter 154, and part 2100.5100, subpart 2, of the board before issuing the renewal license.

9 Subp. 2. Nonrenewal; hearing. In the event that a license 10 is not renewed by the board upon application pursuant to these 11 rules, the aggrieved applicant may by written notice to the 12 board request a public hearing concerning the denial of his or 13 her application in accordance with Minnesota Statutes, chapter 14 14, and rules adopted thereunder.

15 2100.5700 REGISTERED INSTRUCTORS, TEMPORARY TEACHER, OR 16 EMERGENCY TEACHER.

Subpart 1. Number of registered instructors. 17 The 18 provisions of Minnesota Statutes, section 154.07 requiring one 19 registered instructor for every 17 students or minor fraction in 20 excess thereof applies to classroom instruction as well as 21 practical instruction. "Minor fraction in excess thereof" means 22 a maximum of 20 students per instructor for a period of no more 23 than three months. An applicant shall name in the application 24 the names of all instructors and teachers. The board will not 25 issue a temporary teacher's permit for a new school. To assure 26 barber school students adequate uninterrupted training, a 27 temporary teacher's permit can be issued upon approval of the 28 board.

Subp. 2. Temporary permits. This subpart applies to temporary teacher's permits.

31 A. To be granted a temporary teacher's permit, a 32 permit applicant must: 33 (1) hold a current Minnesota registered barber's 34 license;

(2) have practiced for at least two years as a

Approved by Revisor

1 registered barber; and 2 (3) show proof of a temporary vocational teaching 3 permit and continuous enrollment taking courses as required by 4 part 2100.4500. Application forms will be prepared and furnished 5 Β. 6 by the board. Applications must be signed and sworn to by the applicant and contain proof of the minimum qualifications and 7 qualifications for a teacher's vocational certificate and the 8 9 barber instructor examination. The applicant shall furnish to 10 the board two photographs, three inches by five inches in size, signed by the applicant. One photograph must be returned with 11 the permit and one must be kept on file with the application. 12 13 C. The applicant shall pay the required application 14 fee. 15 Permits must be annually renewed on or before D. 16 December 31 of each year. 17 The permit must be posted in the school. Ε. 18 A barber school may only have a temporary teacher F. 19 for each licensed instructor or for each 17 students at any 20 given time. 21 Persons holding a temporary teacher's permit shall G. 22 immediately inform the board of any change in location of the teacher's work place. 23 The board will not issue a temporary teacher's 24 н. permit for a new school or for expansion of a school. 25 26 I. A temporary teacher's permit is valid for four 27 years from the date it is issued if continued educational 28 courses are being pursued. Any request for a temporary teacher's permit must 29 J. be made by the applicant and verified by the school of barbering. 30 The Board of Barber Examiners shall keep an active 31 Κ. list of all instructors and temporary teacher's permits. 32 33 All temporary teacher permit holders shall notify L. the board of any change in the permitee's work place, address, 34 or phone number. 35 36 Subp. 3. Emergency teacher permit.

[REVISOR] PMM/SS AR1342

12/15/88

Approved by Revisor

[REVISOR] PMM/SS AR1342

1 Α. To assure barber school students adequate 2 uninterrupted training, an emergency teacher permit may be 3 issued in an emergency if: 4 (1) a sudden unexpected happening of an unforeseen occurrence or condition demanding sudden or 5 6 unexpected actions, exigency, or pressing necessity occurs; 7 (2) the board is notified by the school immediately after an emergency arises and is informed as to the 8 nature of the emergency and who is being considered as the 9 emergency teacher; 10 11 (3) the board verifies that no licensed instructor or temporary teacher is available; and 12 13 (4) an applicant holds a current registered barber license. 14 в. Upon the fulfillment of the conditions provided in 15 16 item A, an emergency teacher's permit shall be issued without delay. The maximum duration of an emergency teacher permit is 17 30 days. 18 2100.6000 HOURS OF INSTRUCTION. 19 20 Each student, including each part-time student, must complete at least 281 classroom hours and 1,219 practical hours 21 22 in the required 1,500-hour course. 2100.6100 STUDENT WORK COMPLETION. 23 An instructor may help a beginning student finish a service 24 on a patron upon request by the student. 25 2100.7700 OTHER USE OF PREMISES. 26 27 Subpart 1. Prohibited uses. No person shall use any room 28 or part of a place which is also used for residential purposes, or any business purpose other than barbering, unless the areas 29 30 are separated by substantial partition, extending from the floor to the ceiling. Further, any door or other entrance leading 31 into the residential or other business portion of the building 32 must be used only for the passage of barbers or other employees. 33 34 Subp. 2. Exception: barber shop with beauty shop.

> Approved by Revisor

[REVISOR] PMM/SS AR1342

Subpart 1 notwithstanding, a beauty shop and a barber shop may
 be operated in conjunction, without being separated by a
 partition of ceiling height.

4 2100.8100 SANITIZATION.

Instruments. Razors, shears, combs, clipper 5 Subpart 1. blades, hairbrush, and all other instruments or appliances that 6 come in contact with the head, neck, or face must be thoroughly 7 cleaned and sanitized by submersion for a minimum of two minutes 8 after use on each patron. As an alternative to submersion, 9 clipper blades and shears may be treated by spraying them with a 10 commercial spray containing active ingredients not less than 11 0.25 percent o-phenyl phenol, 11.00 percent isopropyl alcohol, 12 13 and 88.75 percent inert ingredients. As an extra measure, instruments may be wiped or sprayed with a solution of 10:1 14 household bleach before being used. When not in use, they must 15 be kept in a clean closed compartment provided for and used only 16 for storage of instruments. Styptic pencil and lump alum are 17 positively prohibited. Contact with raw blood or body fluids 18 should be avoided. If accidentally exposed, immediate washing 19 20 with soap and running water is required.

Sanitizer. All barber shops and barber schools 21 Subp. 2. 22 shall have in use at all times at each chair a wet or dip sanitizer which is adequate in size to accommodate all 23 instruments to be used on each patron. The wet sanitizer shall 24 25 contain a suitable chemical bactericide solution which shall be bacteriologically effective, such as 0.1 percent suitable 26 27 quaternary ammonium compound, or by other means having a solution equivalent to five percent phenol, or other chemical 28 29 sanitizing agent having equivalent bactericidal effect. The chemical solution shall be changed daily or more often, as 30 31 needed.

One dip disinfectant solution container will be kept for each barber chair in operation. Instruments immersed in the dip disinfectant solution container will be carefully rinsed in warm running water before use. Failure to provide a sink or dip

> Approved by Revisor _

[REVISOR] PMM/SS AR1342

disinfectant solution container constitutes prima facie evidence
 that instruments are not properly sanitized.

At least one sink or lavatory must be provided in each 3 4 room, booth, stall, compartment, or the immediate area in which 5 barbers work. If more than two barber chairs are in any room, booth, stall, or compartment, at least one sink or lavatory must 6 7 be provided for each two barber chairs at which the barbers work. 8 Each barber must have free access to the sink or lavatory 9 without obstruction from other chairs, partitions, wall 10 dividers, or other barriers.

11 Subp. 3. Dispensary. A dispensary must be located in each 12 barber shop and each barber school where hot and cold running 13 water is not present within five feet of the working chair. A 14 dispensary is a room, booth, or area where implements will be 15 cleansed, disinfected, and stored. A dispensary must contain 16 the following furnishings:

A. A container large enough to accommodate all soiled implements in which those instruments, such as combs and brushes, can be totally immersed for washing. All nonimmersive or electrical implements such as clippers, clipper blades, and shears must be sprayed according to subpart 1.

B. One sink with hot and cold running water to
cleanse implements mentioned in item A to be used for washing of
hands before serving each patron.

C. A container with suitable chemical bactericide solution to accommodate and immerse all immersible implements after being washed for at least two minutes before being used or stored.

D. A container large enough for storage of cleandisinfected implements.

31 E. A container filled with fresh disinfectant 32 solution in which razors will be stored or dipped at least two 33 minutes before being used.

34 Subp. 4. Hand washing. Hands shall be washed with soap 35 and running water immediately before serving each and every 36 patron.

13

Approved

by Revisor

٤

[REVISOR] PMM/SS AR1342

1	Subp. 5. Implement storage. Implements that require
2	washing and disinfecting by total immersion must not be stored
3	at the work station unless running water is present at the
4	working chair.
5	Subp. 6. Shampoo sinks. The shampoo area shall have one
б	shampoo sink for each six chairs.
7	Subp. 7. Minimum implements. Each barber shall have at
8	least 15 combs and ten brushes.
9	2100.9300 FEES.
10	Subpart 1. Fee schedule. The Board of Barber Examiners
11	shall charge the following fees:
12	A. examination and certificate, registered barber,
13	\$55;
14	B. examination and certificate, apprentice, \$50;
15	C. examination, instructor, \$150;
16	D. certificate, instructor, \$35;
17	E. temporary teacher permit, \$25;
18	F. renewal of license, registered barber, \$25;
19	G. renewal of license, apprentice, \$20;
20	H. renewal of license, instructor, \$35;
21	I. renewal of temporary teacher permit, \$25;
22	J. student permit, \$10;
23	K. initial shop registration, \$50;
24	L. initial school registration, \$1,000;
25	M. renewal shop registration, \$35;
26	N. renewal school registration, \$200;
27	O. restoration of registered barber license, \$50;
28	P. restoration of apprentice license, \$45;
29	Q. restoration of shop registration, \$60;
30	R. change of ownership or location, \$25; and
31	S. duplicate license, \$10.
32	Subp. 2. Duplicate license. Any photocopy of a license
33	made by the board for an official purpose shall be stamped with
34	the office state seal.
35	Subp. 3. Restoration fee. A restoration fee is a fee

14

Approved

by Revisor

[REVISOR] PMM/SS AR1342

charged a licensee to restore a license that has not been
 renewed in a timely manner. The fee is comprised of the license
 fee plus a late penalty fee.

Subp. 4. Renewals; schedule. This subpart governs
renewals of licenses and registrations.

A. Apprentices, barbers, instructors, temporary teacher permits, and school licenses shall renew their licenses by no later than December 31 of each year for the ensuing year to avoid a late penalty fee.

B. Shop registration shall be renewed by no later than June 30 of each year for the ensuing year to avoid a late penalty fee.

13 C. Change of location and change of ownership shall14 be filed within 30 days of the action.

Subp. 5. License requirements. An active barber must hold a current license and must post it at the work station.

18 REPEALER. Minnesota Rules, parts 2100.0400; 2100.1600; 19 2100.2800; 2100.4300; 2100.4400; 2100.5200, subparts 3 and 4; 20 2100.6500; 2100.7200; 2100.7300; 2100.7400; 2100.7500; and 21 2100.8300 are repealed.