Department of Commerce 1 2 3 Adopted Permanent Rules Relating to Liquor Liability Assigned Risk Plan Rates 4 5 6 Rules as Adopted 7 2783.0060 RATING PLAN. 8 Rates Applicable To Minimum Coverage Required By 9 Minnesota Statutes, Section 340A.409, Subdivision 1 10 Assigned Risk Liquor Liability Rates 11 Rate For Three or Fewer Incidents 12 In The Last Three Years Package 13 14 Limits Goods Restaurants Bars 15 16 50/100 s .34 \$1.17 \$1.70 17 Rate For More Than Three Incidents 18 In The Last Three Years 19 Four Incidents 20 50/100 \$6.25 21 Each incident after the fourth incident will cause the 22 rate charged to be increased by 20 percent over the 23 rate charged for one less incident 24 For purposes of the rating plan, no experience or scheduled 25 credits apply. 26 A combined bar and package establishment is rated as a bar for purposes of the plan. 27 A restaurant for purposes of the rating plan is a liquor 28 29 vendor whose revenue from liquor sales is less than 50 percent 30 of its combined liquor and food sales. 31 A bar for purposes of the rating plan is a liquor vendor 32 whose revenues from liquor sales is 50 percent or more of its combined liquor and food sales. 33

34 An incident is either a loss or a violation. A loss and

the violation that resulted in that loss are deemed to be one 35

36 incident for purposes of the rating plan. A loss shall not be

considered an incident for purposes of the rating plan if the 37

circumstances which resulted in that loss would not result in a 38

- l loss at the time of application to the assigned risk plan
- 2 because state law prohibits recovery by an insurance company
- 3 against any liquor vendor under subrogation clauses of the
- 4 uninsured, underinsured, collision, or other first party
- 5 coverages of a motor vehicle insurance policy as a result of
- 6 payments made by the company to persons who have claims that
- 7 arise in whole or in part under Minnesota Statutes, section
- 8 340A.801. The applicant shall have the burden of proof to
- 9 establish that a loss which occurred prior to the adoption of
- 10 Minnesota Statutes, section 340A.801 should not be classified as
- ll a loss.
- 12 The rates charged by the assigned risk plan shall not be
- 13 deemed to be the maximum rates allowed to be charged for liquor
- 14 liability insurance in Minnesota.
- Upon adoption of this chapter any certificate of coverage
- 16 previously issued by the assigned risk plan shall be subject to
- 17 retroactive rebate, dividend, surcharge or other charge as may
- 18 be necessitated by the adoption of this rating plan. Premiums
- 19 for certificates of coverage previously issued shall be
- 20 determined as if this rating plan were in effect at the time of
- 21 issuance of the certificate of coverage.