1 Higher Education Coordinating Board

2

3 Adopted Permanent Rules Relating to Financial Assistance

4

- 5 Rules as Adopted
- 4830.0100 DEFINITIONS FOR HIGHER EDUCATION PROGRAMS.
- 7 Subpart 1. and 2. [Unchanged.]
- Subp. 3. Dependent student. "Dependent student" means a 8
- student who is not an independent student. 9
- 10 Subp. 4. to 8. [Unchanged.]
- 11 Subp. 9. Independent student. "Independent student" has
- 12 the meaning given it in the Higher Education Act of 1965, United
- 13 States Code, title 20, section 1070a-6, and applicable
- 14 regulations.
- Subp. 10. and 11. [Unchanged.] 15
- 4830.0400 APPLICATION DATES AND STUDENT ELIGIBILITY. 16
- Subpart 1. [Unchanged.] 17
- 18 Subp. 2. Minnesota resident. "Minnesota resident" means:
- 19 A. a student who graduated from a Minnesota high
- school and has not since established residence in another state;
- 21 or
- 22 B. a dependent student whose parent or legal guardian
- 23 resides in Minnesota on the date of application; or
- 24 C. an independent student who has resided in
- 25 Minnesota for other than educational purposes for at least 12
- 26 consecutive months prior to becoming an eligible student.
- 27 Subp. 3. Eligibility for initial scholarship. To be
- 28 eligible for an initial scholarship a student must be an
- 29 eligible student, as defined in part 4830.0100, subpart 5,
- 30 except item E, and:
- 31 A. to C. [Unchanged.]
- 32 Subp. 4. and 5. [Unchanged.]
- 33 4830.0600 AWARDS.
- 34 Subpart 1. Monetary awards. The amount of a scholarship

1

Approved by Revisor

- l or grant-in-aid financial stipend may not exceed an applicant's
- 2 cost of attendance, as defined in Minnesota Statutes, section
- 3 136A.121, subdivision 6, after deducting the following:
- 4 A. A contribution by the applicant of at least 50
- 5 percent of the cost of attending the institution of the
- 6 applicant's choosing.
- 7 B. For an applicant who is not an independent
- 8 student, a contribution by the applicant's parents, as
- 9 determined by a financial need analysis. The parental
- 10 contribution will be considered in determining the state award.
- 11 C. For an applicant who is an independent student,
- 12 the additional student contribution.
- D. An estimate of the amount of a federal Pell grant
- 14 award for which the applicant is eligible.
- 15 Subp. la. [Unchanged.]
- 16 Subp. 1b. to 1d. [See Repealer.]
- 17 Subp. 2. [Unchanged.]
- 18 4830.0700 METHOD OF PAYMENT.
- 19 Subpart 1. [Unchanged.]
- 20 Subp. 2. Refunds. A scholarship and grant-in-aid is
- 21 awarded for full-time attendance at a specified school for the
- 22 academic year of nine months within a state fiscal year. If a
- 23 recipient fails to enroll or reduces enrollment, the school must
- 24 refund the unused portion of the award. Refunds to the board
- 25 are determined as follows:
- A. and B. [Unchanged.]
- 27 Subp. 3. [Unchanged.]
- 28 4830.1552 APPLICATION AND DISTRIBUTION OF FUNDS FOR GRANTS.
- 29 Subpart 1. Allocation formula. The board shall allocate
- 30 funds to each school according to the following formula:
- 31 A. [Unchanged.]
- 32 B. Each school's initial allocation is the school's
- 33 share divided by the sum of school shares, multiplied by the
- 34 last year's usage percent, multiplied by 90 percent. Usage
- 35 percent is defined as follows:

- 1 (1) If no final report is received by August-10
- 2 the first working day after August 9, the usage percentage is 80
- 3 percent.
- 4 (2) If the final report is received before August
- 5 10, the usage percent is the total amount of funds used divided
- 6 by the last year's allocation.
- 7 (3) A refund in excess of \$1,000 received after
- 8 April 1 is multiplied by 150 percent and subtracted from the
- 9 original allocation to determine the funds used. This amount is
- 10 divided by the last year's allocation to determine the usage
- 11 percentage.
- 12 C. Each January, the board shall allocate the
- 13 remaining ten percent of the total part-time grant allocation
- 14 according to the same formula, except that the last year's
- 15 percent of usage must not be applied.
- "Number of part-time students" means the sum of all
- 17 enrolled resident, extension, and unclassified part-time
- 18 students, who are Minnesota residents, and are reported to the
- 19 board for its annual enrollment survey as lower division, upper
- 20 division, and vocational students in the fall term of the school
- 21 year.
- "Registration level" is the number of credits (or an
- 23 equivalent measure) taken by part-time students in the fall term
- 24 of the school year as reported to the board for its annual
- 25 enrollment survey, divided by 12 credits (or an equivalent
- 26 measure).
- 27 Subp. 2. to 4. [Unchanged.]
- 28 4830.1555 REPORTS OF DATA.
- The school must collect demographic, educational, and
- 30 financial data specified by the board from eligible students
- 31 requesting grants. The school shall provide the board with
- 32 individual student data upon request.
- 33 End of year program activity and student data reports are
- 34 required by the board. The school must complete and submit the
- 35 reports and any applicable refunds to the board by the first

- l working day after August 9. If the reports are not completed by
- 2 the deadline, the board shall withhold the subsequent year's
- 3 allocation.
- 4 DISLOCATED RURAL WORKER ASSISTANCE PROGRAM
- 5 4830.1560 SCOPE.
- 6 Parts 4830.1560 to 4830.1565 govern state assistance to
- 7 schools for students who are dislocated rural workers.
- 8 4830.1561 ELIGIBLE SCHOOLS.
- 9 An eligible school under part 4830.0300 is eligible to
- 10 receive an allocation of state assistance for students who are
- ll dislocated rural workers.
- 12 4830.1562 APPLICATION AND DISTRIBUTION OF FUNDS FOR GRANTS.
- 13 Subpart 1. Allocation formula. The board shall allocate
- 14 grant money to eligible schools according to the formula in this
- 15 subpart. An eligible school's allocation is the school's share,
- 16 divided by the sum of school shares. An eligible school's share
- 17 is the number of entering Minnesota resident students enrolled
- 18 in the last fiscal year, from the school's home county, and
- 19 contiguous counties. For schools located in Hennepin and Ramsey
- 20 counties, the following counties are considered contiguous:
- 21 Chisago, Isanti, Sherburne, Wright, McLeod, Sibley, Le Sueur,
- 22 Rice, and Goodhue. Students who resided in Anoka, Carver,
- 23 Dakota, Hennepin, Ramsey, Scott, or Washington county must not
- 24 be counted in any school's share. A school whose allocation
- 25 would be less than \$500 using this formula must not receive an
- 26 allocation. Would-be allocations of less than \$500 must be
- 27 reallocated, using this formula, to other schools.
- Subp. 2. Notification. The board shall notify each school
- 29 of the amount allocated to it.
- 30 Subp. 3. Accountability. A participating school is
- 31 accountable for money disbursed to students for assistance for
- 32 dislocated rural worker students. The money may be used by
- 33 students only during the fiscal year of disbursement. If a
- 34 student does not use a grant because the student does not enroll

- 1 in, or withdraws from, school, the school may use the funds for
- 2 other eligible students. The school must return unused money to
- 3 the board.
- 4 Subp. 4. Report; unused funds. When requested by the
- 5 board, a school shall report on its use of funds and shall
- 6 return unused funds. The board shall reallocate unused funds to
- 7 schools desiring additional funds according to the formula in
- 8 subpart 1.
- 9 4830.1563 DETERMINATION OF STUDENT ELIGIBILITY.
- 10 Subpart 1. Eligibility. A school shall determine if a
- ll student is eligible for a dislocated rural worker assistance
- 12 grant. To be eligible a student must demonstrate compliance
- 13 with the requirements in this part.
- 14 A. The student must meet the requirements for an
- 15 eligible student as defined in part 4830.0100, subpart 5, items
- 16 B, C, E, and F.
- B. The student must be enrolled in an adult farm
- 18 management program, or an occupational training education
- 19 program. The program cannot be a liberal arts program. The
- 20 program must prepare the student for available employment within
- 21 a labor market where the student lives or is willing to move.
- 22 C. The student must have applied for all other
- 23 federal and state financial aid scholarship or grant programs.
- D. The student must be able to demonstrate that
- 25 subitem (1), (2), or (3) applies to the student:
- 26 (1) The student or the student's spouse is a
- 27 worker who has been separated from employment or has notice of
- 28 separation from employment. The separation must be because of a
- 29 plant shutdown, an industry slowdown, or because the worker's
- 30 occupation is obsolete; or be in a region where there has been a
- 31 decline in the number of persons in the worker's customary
- 32 occupation. The worker must be unlikely to go to work for the
- 33 same employer or in the same occupation for a year after the job
- 34 loss.
- 35 (2) The student is a displaced homemaker.

- 1 (3) The student or the student's spouse is a
- 2 farmer who can demonstrate severe household financial need.
- 3 Subp. 2. Severe household financial need; incorporation by
- 4 reference. Severe household financial need is demonstrated by
- 5 relating the income of the student's household to the income of
- 6 a same-sized household as found in the most current table of
- 7 standard maintenance allowance found in the current edition of
- 8 "Handbook for Financial Aid Administrators" published by the
- 9 American College Testing Program; 2201 North Dodge Street, P.O.
- 10 Box 168; Iowa City, Iowa 52243. The table is incorporated by
- 11 reference, is subject to frequent change, and is available in
- 12 the handbook in public libraries throughout the state through
- 13 the Minitex interlibrary loan system. The table is also
- 14 available separately from the board.
- 15 4830.1564 AMOUNT AND TERM OF GRANTS.
- 16 Subpart 1. Financial need. An eligible school shall award
- 17 a grant to an eligible student, to the extent allocated funds
- 18 are available and to the extent the student demonstrates
- 19 financial need according to a method consistent with the
- 20 school's financial aid policies and procedures.
- 21 Subp. 2. Amount. The amount of the grant to a student
- 22 when combined with the expected or awarded (a) federal, state,
- 23 institutional, and private grant assistance that the student
- 24 receives, (b) employer reimbursement, and (c) the expected
- 25 parent and student contribution resulting from the assessment of
- 26 financial need under subpart 1, must not exceed the student's
- 27 direct educational cost as defined in subpart 3.
- Subp. 3. Direct educational cost. The direct educational
- 29 cost includes the following:
- 30 A. resident tuition and fees at the institution;
- 31 B. cost of educational materials;
- 32 C. transportation expenses;
- D. an allowance for child care expenses; and
- 34 E. other expenses allowed by the school.
- 35 The direct educational cost must be consistent with the

- 1 school's financial aid policies and procedures.
- 2 4830.1565 COLLECT, REPORT DATA.
- 3 The school must collect demographic, educational, and
- 4 financial data specified by the board from eligible students
- 5 requesting grants. The school shall provide the board with
- 6 individual student data upon request.
- 7 4830.2600 REPORTS BY SCHOOL.
- 8 The school must collect demographic and program activity
- 9 data as specified by the board. The school shall provide the
- 10 board with individual student data upon request.
- 11 End-of-year program activity and student data reports are
- 12 required by the board. The school must complete and submit
- 13 these reports and any applicable refunds to the board by the
- 14 first working day after August 9. If the reports are not
- 15 completed by the deadline, the board shall withhold the
- 16 subsequent year's allocation.
- 17 4850.0011 DEFINITIONS.
- 18 Subpart 1. Academic year. "Academic year" means:
- 19 A. a period of time, typically eight or nine months,
- 20 in which a full-time student is expected to complete the
- 21 equivalent of at least two semesters, two trimesters, or three
- 22 quarters at an eligible school using credit hours;
- B. at least 900 clock hours of training for a program
- 24 at an eligible school using clock hours; or
- 25 C. a student may borrow for a portion of the academic
- 26 year, or for all of it (see "loan period").
- 27 Subp. 2. to 9. [Unchanged.]
- 28 Subp. 10. Cosigners. All borrowers from the student
- 29 educational loan fund shall have a credit worthy cosigner who is
- 30 either a United States citizen or a permanent resident. The
- 31 cosigner is jointly and separately responsible for making loan
- 32 payments (principal, interest, and other charges). The cosigner
- 33 is relieved of this financial responsibility only in the event
- 34 of death or permanent disability of the borrower.

- A. A cosigner must be at least 18 years old.
- B. A cosigner must be a person or an eligible school.
- 3 If the cosigner has no credit history, credit-worthiness
- 4 shall be determined by the board, by a review of banking
- 5 references and a review of net worth data with a minimum test
- 6 requiring that net worth equal or exceed a sum ten times the
- 7 size of each loan amount requested.
- 8 Subp. 11. to 14. [Unchanged.]
- 9 Subp. 15. Eligible student. "Eligible student" means a
- 10 student who:
- 11 A. to C. [Unchanged.]
- D. is not currently in default, as defined by each
- 13 specific program, of any student educational loan program (GSL,
- 14 FISL, NDSL, HPL, HEAL, ALAS/SLS, or other state supplemental
- 15 loan program) at the current or any previous school;
- 16 E. to G. [Unchanged.]
- 17 H. for those with loans made from the bonds, has at
- 18 the time of application, an anticipated graduation date no later
- 19 than November 1, 1992; and
- I. [Unchanged.]
- 21 Subp. 16. to 24. [Unchanged.]
- Subp. 25. Loan period. "Loan period" means the period for
- 23 which the student receives the loan. The period begins on the
- 24 first day of class. It must be at least 30 days in length, and
- 25 must not exceed 12 months. A loan period may be the same as, or
- 26 a portion of, the academic year. For example, the loan period
- 27 may be for a single semester, or quarter.
- Subp. 26. [Unchanged.]
- 29 Subp. 27. Payout period. "Payout period" means the time
- 30 period which begins immediately following the transition period
- 31 and runs to the earliest of:
- 32 A. November 1, 2000, for those with loans made from
- 33 the bonds; or
- 34 B. ten years from the date the student ceases to be
- 35 an eligible student; or
- 36 C. fifteen years from the date of the first loan

```
1 check; or
```

- D. a shorter period negotiated with the borrower.
- 3 Subp. 28. to 30. [Unchanged.]
- 4 4850.0014 AMOUNT AND TERMS.
- 5 Subpart 1. Loan amounts. The minimum loan amount from the
- 6 student educational loan fund is \$1,000.
- 7 The annual and maximum loan amounts for:
- 8 A. an undergraduate student are those prescribed in
- 9 Minnesota Statutes, section 136A.1701. The loan must not exceed
- 10 the stated annual undergraduate borrowing maximum or the cost of
- 11 attendance less all other financial aid (including PLUS loans
- 12 borrowed on the student's behalf); and the cumulative student
- 13 loan debt (excluding PLUS loans borrowed on the student's
- 14 behalf) must not exceed the product of the grade level times the
- 15 annual undergraduate borrowing maximum, except in grade level 05
- 16 when the cumulative undergraduate loan debt maximum stays the
- 17 same as in grade level 04. For example, if the annual
- 18 undergraduate borrowing maximum in statute was \$4,000, the
- 19 cumulative undergraduate loan debt maximum, by grade level, is:
- 20 (1) grade level 1, \$ 4,000;
- 21 (2) grade level 2, \$ 8,000;
- 22 (3) grade level 3, \$12,000;
- 23 (4) grade level 4, \$16,000; and
- 24 (5) grade level 5, \$16,000.
- B. a graduate student are those prescribed in
- 26 Minnesota Statutes, section 136A.1701. The loan must not exceed
- 27 the stated annual graduate student borrowing maximum or the cost
- 28 of attendance less all other financial aid (including PLUS loans
- 29 borrowed on the student's behalf); and the cumulative student
- 30 loan debt of the graduate student (excluding PLUS loans borrowed
- 31 on the student's behalf) does not exceed the total amount
- 32 prescribed in Minnesota Statutes for both undergraduate and
- 33 graduate educations combined. For example, if the stated total
- 34 borrowing maximum was \$25,000, the cumulative graduate student
- 35 borrowing maximum, by grade level, is:

34

35

36

1 (6) grade level 6, \$25,000; (7) grade level 7, \$25,000; 2 3 (8) grade level 8, \$25,000; and 4 (9) grade level 9, \$25,000. 5 Two loans in one year. Subp. 2. A student may borrow more than once in the same 6 academic year as long as: 7 8 (1) eligibility remains; 9 (2) the annual borrowing maximum is not exceeded; 10 and 11 (3) the amount approved is at least \$1,000. 12 A student may borrow the annual maximum twice in 13 the same grade level, as long as: (1) a total of 11 months elapses from the 14 15 beginning of the first loan period to the beginning of the second loan period; and 16 17 (2) the cumulative loan debt maximum for that grade level is not exceeded. 18 C. A student who advances a grade level in the middle 19 20 of an academic year may borrow at that new grade level, as long 21 as: 22 (1) there is no more than one month overlap of 23 loan period; and (2) the cumulative loan debt maximum for that new 24 grade level is not exceeded. 25 Subp. 3. Interest rate. For loans made from the bonds, 26 the interest rate on the loan must be fixed by the board at a 27 margin in excess of the "index rate" on the bonds. If the bonds 28 29 bear interest at more than one rate at any one time, the "index rate" will be the weighted average of the interest rates. 30 "index rate" may change on Thursday of each week. If the "index 31 rate" increases or decreases, the interest rate on the loan 32 increases or decreases automatically on the same day without 33

does not reflect the costs of the SELF program, the board may

must increase or decrease the margin within-the-limits-of-law.

notice to the borrower. If the board determines that the margin

- 1 The board shall advise borrowers of changes in the margin.
- 2 For-loans-made-from-sources-other-than-the-bonds,-the-board
- 3 shall-establish-interest-rates-charged-to-borrowers-that-are
- 4 reasonable,-competitive,-and-within-the-limits-of-law.
- 5 Information-about-how-the-interest-rate-is-calculated-will-be
- 6 available-from-the-board-or-the-financial-aid-office-at-the
- 7 eligible-school. For loans made from sources other than the
- 8 bonds, the interest rate on the loan will be determined by the
- 9 board at a margin in excess of the "index rate." The "index
- 10 rate" is the average rounded to the nearest quarter of one
- 11 percent of the bond equivalent yield, for auctions of 13-week
- 12 treasury bills, during the preceding calendar quarter. If the
- 13 index rate increases or decreases, the interest rate on the loan
- 14 automatically increases or decreases on the same day without
- 15 notice to the borrower. The interest rate on the loan cannot
- 16 increase or decrease more than two percentage points over any
- 17 four consecutive calendar quarters. The board shall set the
- 18 margin to reflect the costs of the SELF program. If the board
- 19 determines that the margin does not reflect the costs of the
- 20 SELF program, the board must increase or decrease the margin.
- 21 The board shall advise borrowers of changes in the margin.
- 22 4850.0016 NONENROLLMENT, TRANSFER, AND WITHDRAWAL.
- 23 Subpart 1. [Unchanged.]
- 24 Subp. 2. Withdrawal and transfer to another eligible
- 25 school. If the student fails to complete the loan period at the
- 26 school where the loan application was certified and transfers to
- 27 another eligible school, any remaining scheduled disbursements
- 28 must be canceled. The school must immediately notify the board
- 29 of any borrower who withdraws for any purpose. The student may
- 30 apply for any remaining loan eligibility at the other eligible
- 31 school, assuming the amount approved is at least \$1,000.
- 32 Subp. 3. and 4. [Unchanged.]
- 33 4850.0017 REPAYMENT PROCEDURES.
- 34 Borrowers shall make payments of principal and interest
- 35 according to the following schedule:

- A. During the school period, the board or its agent
- 2 shall bill borrowers for accrued interest once during each
- 3 calendar quarter.
- B. During the transition period, the board or its
- 5 agent shall bill borrowers for accrued interest once during each
- 6 calendar month.
- 7 C. During the payout period, borrowers must repay
- 8 their loans in monthly installments of principal and interest.
- 9 The interest rate may vary throughout the period. The board or
- 10 its agent must bill borrowers monthly for amounts due. The sum
- 11 of the monthly payments must equal the sum of accrued interest
- 12 plus principal. The monthly payments of principal must be in
- 13 amounts calculated at the beginning of the repayment period as
- 14 if two conditions existed. The two conditions are: (1)
- 15 interest on the loan accrues at a fixed rate equal to the
- 16 interest rate in effect at the time of the calculation and (2)
- 17 the loan is payable over its term in equal monthly installments.
- 18 The borrower must pay a total of at least \$600 each year on all
- 19 of the borrower's SELF loans. If the borrower's spouse also has
- 20 SELF loans, their combined annual payments on all SELF loans
- 21 must be at least \$600.
- D. to H. [Unchanged.]

23

- REPEALER. Minnesota Rules, parts 4830.0600, subparts 1b,
- 25 lc, and ld, are repealed.