1 Department of Agriculture

2

3 Adopted Permanent Rules Relating to Buying and Storing Grain

4

- 5 Rules as Adopted
- 6 DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE
- 7 BUYING AND STORING OF GRAIN
- 8 1562.0100 DEFINITIONS.
- 9 Subpart 1. Scope. For the purposes of this chapter, the
- 10 terms defined in this part have the meanings given them.
- 11 Subp. 2. Bond. "Bond" means an obligation acceptable to
- 12 and running to the state, as obligee, for the purpose of:
- 13 A. indemnifying producers of grain against the breach
- 14 of a cash sale contract by a grain buyer licensed under
- 15 Minnesota Statutes, chapter 223;
- 16 B. indemnifying depositors of grain against the
- 17 breach of a grain storage contract by a public grain warehouse
- 18 operator licensed under Minnesota Statutes, chapter 232; or
- 19 C. indemnifying depositors of grain against the
- 20 breach of a grain bank storage contract by a public or private
- 21 grain warehouse operator licensed under Minnesota Statutes,
- 22 chapter 236.
- Subp. 3. Cash sale. "Cash sale" means:
- A. a sale for which payment is tendered to the seller
- 25 not later than the close of business on the next business day
- 26 after the sale, either by cash or by check, or by mailing or
- 27 wiring funds to the seller's account in the amount of at least
- 28 80 percent of the value of the grain at delivery; or
- B. a sale of a shipment of grain which is part of a
- 30 multiple shipment sale, for which a scale ticket clearly marked
- 31 "cash" has been received by the seller before completion of the
- 32 entire sale, and for which payment is tendered in cash or by
- 33 check not later than ten days after the sale of that shipment,
- 34 except that when the entire sale is completed, payment is
- 35 tendered in cash or by check not later than the close of

- l business on the next business day, or within 48 hours, whichever
- 2 is later.
- 3 Subp. 4. Commissioner. "Commissioner" means the
- 4 commissioner of agriculture or the commissioner's designee.
- 5 Subp. 5. Department. "Department" means the Minnesota
- 6 Department of Agriculture.
- 7 Subp. 6. Depositor. "Depositor" means a person who is the
- 8 owner or legal holder of an outstanding grain warehouse receipt,
- 9 grain bank receipt, or open scale ticket marked for storage on
- 10 which a receipt is to be issued, representing any grain stored
- 11 in a public grain warehouse or grain bank.
- Subp. 7. Grain. "Grain" means any cereal grain, coarse
- 13 grain, or oilseed in unprocessed form for which a standard has
- 14 been established by the United States Secretary of Agriculture
- 15 or the Minnesota Board of Grain Standards, or any other
- 16 agricultural crop which the commissioner may designate by rule.
- Subp. 8. Grain bank. "Grain bank" means a feed-processing
- 18 plant that receives and stores grain, the equivalent of which,
- 19 except as is otherwise permitted by Minnesota Statutes, section
- 20 236.04, it processes and returns to the grain's owner in
- 21 amounts, at intervals, and with added ingredients that are
- 22 mutually agreeable to the grain's owner and the person operating
- 23 the plant.
- Subp. 9. Grain bank bond. "Grain bank bond" means an
- 25 obligation acceptable to and running to the state, as obligee,
- 26 for the purpose of indemnifying depositors of grain against the
- 27 breach of a grain bank storage contract by a person with a grain
- 28 bank license.
- 29 Subp. 10. Grain bank receipt. "Grain bank receipt" means
- 30 a nonnegotiable receipt issued to the owner of the grain, or the
- 31 owner's agent, for grain which is being stored for the purpose
- 32 of being processed into feed.
- 33 Subp. 11. Grain buyer. "Grain buyer" means a person who
- 34 purchases grain from a producer with the exception of a person
- 35 who purchases seed grain for crop production or who purchases
- 36 grain as feed for the person's own livestock.

- 1 Subp. 12. Grain buyer's bond. "Grain buyer's bond" means
- 2 an obligation acceptable to and running to the state, as
- 3 obligee, for the purpose of indemnifying producers of grain
- 4 against the breach of a cash sale contract by a licensed grain
- 5 buyer.
- 6 Subp. 13. Grain purchase receipt. "Grain purchase receipt"
- 7 means a memorandum issued by a grain buyer to a seller at the
- 8 time grain is delivered from the seller to the grain buyer, and
- 9 which shows the weight or quantity and kind of grain.
- 10 Subp. 14. Grain storage bond. "Grain storage bond" means
- 11 an obligation acceptable to and running to the state, as
- 12 obligee, for the purpose of indemnifying depositors of grain
- 13 against the breach of a grain storage contract by a person
- 14 licensed to store grain.
- 15 Subp. 15. Grain warehouse. "Grain warehouse" means an
- 16 elevator, flour, cereal or feed mill, malthouse or warehouse in
- 17 which grain belonging to a person other than the warehouse
- 18 operator is received for purchase or storage.
- 19 Subp. 16. Grain warehouse receipt. "Grain warehouse
- 20 receipt" means a formal record issued to a depositor by a grain
- 21 warehouse operator under Minnesota Statutes, section 232.23.
- 22 Subp. 17. Independent grain buyer. "Independent grain
- 23 buyer" means a person who buys grain from producers and does not
- 24 operate a grain warehouse.
- Subp. 18. Person. "Person" means a corporation, company,
- 26 joint stock company or association, partnership, firm, or
- 27 individual and includes their agents, trustees, assignees, or
- 28 duly appointed receivers.
- 29 Subp. 19. Private grain warehouse operator. "Private
- 30 grain warehouse operator" means a person operating a grain
- 31 warehouse for the sole purpose of purchasing, handling,
- 32 processing, and shipping grain or its byproducts who is not
- 33 licensed by the commissioner to accept grain belonging to others
- 34 for storage. "Private grain warehouse operator" includes any
- 35 person licensed under the United States Warehouse Act.
- 36 Subp. 20. Producer. "Producer" means a person who grows

- 1 grain on land that the person owns or leases.
- 2 Subp. 21. Public grain warehouse operator. "Public grain
- 3 warehouse operator" means a person operating a grain warehouse
- 4 in which grain belonging to persons other than the grain
- 5 warehouse operator is accepted for storage or purchase or who
- 6 offers grain storage or warehouse facilities to the public for
- 7 hire.
- 8 Subp. 22. Public terminal warehouse. "Public terminal
- 9 warehouse" has the meaning given in Minnesota Statutes, section
- 10 233.01.
- 11 Subp. 23. Scale ticket. "Scale ticket" means a memorandum
- 12 issued by a grain elevator or warehouse operator to a depositor
- 13 at the time grain is delivered showing the weight and kind of
- 14 grain.
- Subp. 24. Vehicle. "Vehicle" means a device in, upon, or
- 16 by which any person or property is or may be transported or
- 17 drawn upon a highway, except devices used exclusively upon
- 18 stationary rails or tracks.
- 19 Subp. 25. Voluntary extension of credit contract.
- 20 "Voluntary extension of credit contract" means a contract for
- 21 the purchase of a specific amount of grain from a producer in
- 22 which title to the grain passes to the grain buyer upon delivery
- 23 but the price is to be determined or payment for the grain is to
- 24 be made at a date later than the date of delivery of the grain
- 25 to the grain buyer. Voluntary extension of credit contracts
- 26 include deferred or delayed payment contracts, unpriced sales,
- 27 no-price-established contracts, average pricing contracts, and
- 28 all other contractual arrangements with the exception of cash
- 29 sales and grain storage agreements evidenced by a grain
- 30 warehouse receipt or scale ticket marked "storage."
- 31 Subp. 26. Warehouse. "Warehouse" means all or a portion
- 32 of a building, structure, or other protected enclosure in which
- 33 grain is or may be stored.
- 34 1562.0200 LICENSING.
- 35 Before purchasing or storing grain in Minnesota a person

- l must file with the commissioner an application for a license on
- 2 forms provided by the commissioner. No person may buy grain
- 3 from producers in Minnesota without first obtaining a grain
- 4 buyer's license or store grain for others in Minnesota without
- 5 first obtaining a grain storage license.
- 6 Applications may be submitted any time during the year.
- 7 Each license must be renewed every year on July 1. All licenses
- 8 expire at midnight each June 30. Only one person may obtain a
- 9 license to buy or store grain at any one grain warehouse.
- 10 A separate license is required for each home rule charter
- ll or statutory city or town in which a grain buyer or public grain
- 12 warehouse operator buys or stores grain.
- 13 1562.0300 LICENSE EXCEPTIONS.
- 14 The following persons are not required to obtain a license
- 15 to buy grain in Minnesota:
- A. a person who does not buy grain from producers;
- B. a producer selling the producer's own grain;
- C. a person who buys seed grain for crop production;
- 19 and
- D. a person who purchases grain as feed for the
- 21 person's own livestock or poultry.
- 22 1562.0400 TYPES OF LICENSES.
- 23 Subpart 1. Grain buyer. A license to buy grain is a
- 24 license issued to an independent grain buyer, private grain
- 25 warehouse operator, or public grain warehouse operator who buys
- 26 grain from producers.
- 27 Subp. 2. Grain storage. A license to store grain is a
- 28 license issued to a public grain warehouse operator who accepts
- 29 grain for storage or who offers grain storage facilities to the
- 30 public for hire.
- 31 Subp. 3. Grain bank. A grain bank license is a license
- 32 issued to a private or public grain warehouse operator who
- 33 processes grain into feed and who has a license to buy grain.
- 34 1562.0500 GRAIN STORAGE LICENSE REQUIREMENTS.

- 1 Subpart 1. Place of business. A public grain warehouse
- 2 operator must have a permanent established place of business at
- 3 each licensed location where the books, records, and files
- 4 necessary to conduct the business are kept and maintained, and
- 5 where the license and tariff are posted in a conspicuous place.
- 6 Subp. 2. Warehouse equipment. Each licensed location must
- 7 include a warehouse that is equipped for the weighing, drying,
- 8 grading, storing, handling, processing, and shipping of grain.
- 9 Subp. 3. Multiple warehouse license. Grain warehouses
- 10 located within the same home rule charter or statutory city or
- 11 town and operated by the same person may be included under the
- 12 same license.
- 13 Subp. 4. Inspection; approval. A grain warehouse must be
- 14 inspected and approved by the commissioner before a license is
- 15 issued and grain is stored.
- Subp. 5. Cleanliness. A grain warehouse must be kept
- 17 reasonably clean of dust, rubbish, and materials that might
- 18 increase the fire hazard or interfere with the handling of grain.
- Subp. 6. Grain quality. Grain must be maintained in good
- 20 quality condition at all times and be kept free of rodents,
- 21 insects, birds, and contaminants harmful to the quality of the
- 22 grain.
- Subp. 7. Records and accounts. A person licensed to store
- 24 grain shall maintain a daily position record of each kind of
- 25 grain stored in the warehouse including warehouse-owned cash
- 26 grain, grain priced but not paid, and grain bought but not
- 27 priced.
- 28 1562.0600 LICENSING OF LEASED FACILITIES.
- A person shall obtain a grain buyer's license or storage
- 30 license for each grain warehouse leased, except that all grain
- 31 warehouses located within the same home rule charter or
- 32 statutory city or town and leased and operated by the same
- 33 person may be covered by a single license. A person may not
- 34 lease storage space that is licensed and operated by another
- 35 person licensed to buy or store grain.

- A warehouse must be under the control of the licensed
- 2 warehouse operator leasing the warehouse.
- 3 All grain or commodities stored in a leased warehouse must
- 4 be covered under the licensee's storage bond and must be
- 5 included under the licensee's insurance policy, as required by
- 6 Minnesota Statutes, section 232.23, subdivision 16.
- 7 1562.0700 BOND.
- 8 Subpart 1. Requirement. Before a license to buy or store
- 9 grain is issued, the applicant for the license must file with
- 10 the commissioner a bond in an amount prescribed by this part.
- 11 The bond provides coverage at all licensed locations.
- 12 Subp. 2. Grain buyer's bond. The grain buyer's bond
- 13 amount is based on the latest total annual dollar amount of
- 14 grain purchased by the grain buyer in Minnesota as follows:

15 16 17	GRAIN BUYER'S BOND	TOTAL ANNUAL GRAIN PURCHASES
18	\$10,000	\$100,000 or less
19	\$20,000	\$100,001 to \$750,000
20	\$30,000	\$750,001 to \$1,500,000
21	\$40,000	\$1,500,001 to \$3,000,000
22	\$50 , 000	more than \$3,000,000

- Subp. 3. Grain buyer's bond; first-time applicant. A
- 24 first-time applicant for a grain buyer's license shall file a
- 25 \$20,000 grain buyer's bond with the commissioner. This bond
- 26 must remain in effect for the first year of the license. A
- 27 first-time applicant includes a person previously licensed to
- 28 buy grain who has not renewed the license for one or more years.
- Subp. 4. Grain storage bond. The amount of bond required
- 30 for grain storage is based on 50 percent of the local market
- 31 value of grain stored by a public grain warehouse operator in
- 32 Minnesota. The minimum grain storage bond is \$20,000. The
- 33 maximum grain storage bond is \$500,000, excluding any grain bank
- 34 liability. The storage bond amount may be increased during the
- 35 license year. However, the storage bond may not be reduced
- 36 during the license year.
- 37 Subp. 5. Grain bank bond. The grain bank bond is based on
- 38 50 percent of the local market value of grain stored in grain
- 39 banks in Minnesota. A person licensed to store grain may

- l include the additional liability for grain bank grain in the
- 2 determination of the amount of the storage bond in lieu of
- 3 obtaining a separate grain bank bond. The minimum grain bank
- 4 bond is \$1,500. The maximum grain bank bond is \$150,000. The
- 5 grain bank bond amount may be increased during the license
- 6 year. The grain bank bond may not be reduced during the license
- 7 year.
- 8 1562.0800 FEES.
- 9 Subpart 1. License to buy grain. The fee for a license to
- 10 buy grain is based on the latest total annual dollar amount of
- 11 grain purchased in Minnesota as follows:
- A. For annual grain purchases under \$1,500,000, the
- 13 license fee is \$100 plus \$50 for each additional home rule
- 14 charter or statutory city or town in which the grain buyer is to
- 15 be licensed to buy grain.
- B. For annual grain purchases of \$1,500,000 to
- 17 \$3,000,000, the license fee is \$200 plus \$50 for each additional
- 18 home rule charter or statutory city or town in which the grain
- 19 buyer is to be licensed to buy grain.
- C. For annual grain purchases over \$3,000,000, the
- 21 license fee is \$300 plus \$50 for each additional home rule
- 22 charter or statutory city or town in which the grain buyer is to
- 23 be licensed to buy grain.
- Subp. 2. License to store grain. The fees for a license
- 25 to store grain are as follows:
- A. For a license to store grain, the license fee is
- 27 \$40 for each home rule charter or statutory city or town in
- 28 which a public grain warehouse is operated.
- B. A person with a license to store grain in a public
- 30 grain warehouse is subject to an examination fee for each
- 31 licensed location, based on the following schedule for one
- 32 examination:

33		
34	BUSHEL CAPACITY	EXAMINATION FEE
35		~
36	Less than 150,001 bushels	\$ 275
37	150,001 to 250,000 bushels	385
38	250,001 to 500,000 bushels	495

1	500,001 to 750,000 bushels	605
2	750,001 to 1,000,000 bushels	715
3	1,000,001 to 1,200,000 bushels	825
4	1,200,001 to 1,500,000 bushels	935
5	1,500,001 to 2,000,000 bushels	1,045
6	More than 2,000,000 bushels	1,155

- 7 The fee for the second examination is \$22 per hour per
- 8 examiner for warehouse operators who choose to have it performed
- 9 by the commissioner.
- 10 Subp. 3. Grain bank license. The license fee is \$30 for
- ll each home rule charter or statutory city or town in which a
- 12 private or public grain warehouse is operated and which will be
- 13 used to operate a grain bank.
- 14 1562.0900 STATEMENT OF GRAIN IN STORAGE.
- Subpart 1. Monthly grain storage reports. A person with a
- 16 grain bank license or a license to store grain must, by the
- 17 tenth day of each month, file with the commissioner on forms
- 18 provided by the commissioner a monthly storage report showing
- 19 the net monetary liability, based on the local market price, of
- 20 all grain outstanding on grain bank receipts, grain warehouse
- 21 receipts, and scale tickets marked "store" as of the close of
- 22 business on the last day of the preceding month.
- 23 Subp. 2. Determination of grain bank and grain storage
- 24 bond amount. The monthly grain storage reports referred to in
- 25 subpart 1, shall be used for the purpose of determining the
- 26 dollar amount of the grain bank bond and the grain storage bond,
- 27 and for determining whether these bond amounts should be
- 28 increased during the license year.
- 29 Subp. 3. Penalty. If a person wilfully neglects or
- 30 refuses to file the reports required in subpart 1 for two
- 31 consecutive months, the commissioner may immediately suspend the
- 32 person's license and the licensee must surrender the license to
- 33 the commissioner. Within 15 days the licensee may request an
- 34 administrative hearing subject to Minnesota Statutes, chapter 14
- 35 to determine if the license should be revoked. If no request is
- 36 made within 15 days, the commissioner shall revoke the license.
- 37 Subp. 4. Exceptions. A person with the maximum grain bank
- 38 bond or grain storage bond is not required to submit a monthly

- l grain storage report. A person who has the maximum grain bank
- 2 bond or storage bond and who requests a reduction in the bond
- 3 amount must submit 12 consecutive monthly grain storage reports,
- 4 to verify the request for a reduced bond amount. Persons having
- 5 their bond amount reduced under this procedure must continue to
- 6 submit monthly storage reports to the department. A reduction
- 7 in the bond amount under this provision shall commence with the
- 8 next licensing period.
- 9 1562.1000 VOLUNTARY EXTENSION OF CREDIT CONTRACT.
- 10 Subpart 1. Form. A voluntary extension of credit contract
- 11 must include a statement of the legal and financial
- 12 responsibilities of the grain buyer and seller and the following
- 13 statement in not less than ten point, all capital type, framed
- 14 in a box with space provided for the seller's signature:
- "THIS CONTRACT CONSTITUTES A VOLUNTARY EXTENSION OF
- 16 CREDIT. THIS CONTRACT IS NOT COVERED BY ANY GRAIN
- 17 BUYER'S BOND."
- 18 BUYER SELLER
- (Type or print name) (Type or print name)
- 20 BY______BY___
- 21 (Buyer's signature) (Seller's signature)
- If a written contract is provided at the time the grain is
- 23 delivered to the grain buyer, the seller shall sign the contract
- 24 in the space provided directly beneath the statement. If the
- 25 seller does not sign the contract at the time of delivery, then
- 26 the buyer shall send the contract to the seller by certified
- 27 mail, return receipt requested, to be signed. All contracts
- 28 must be put in writing.
- 29 Subp. 2. Requirements. Voluntary extension of credit
- 30 contracts must be consecutively prenumbered.
- 31 Subp. 3. Not a storage agreement. A contract sale of
- 32 grain is not a storage agreement. The title to grain delivered
- 33 on a voluntary extension of credit contract transfers to the
- 34 grain buyer upon delivery, and no storage charges may be charged
- 35 with respect to that grain. A voluntary extension of credit

- 1 contract sale of grain is not covered by either the grain
- storage bond or the grain buyer's bond. 2
- 1562.1100 WAREHOUSE EXAMINATIONS. 3
- Subpart 1. Required examinations. A person with a license 4
- to store grain is subject to two grain inventory examinations 5
- 6 per year, for the purpose of determining whether there is enough
- grain at the warehouse to satisfy all grain storage obligations. 7
- 8 Subp. 2. First warehouse examination. The commissioner
- 9 shall perform at least one of the required warehouse
- 10 examinations during the license year.
- 11 Subp. 3. Second warehouse examination. The second
- 12 examination may be performed by an independent third party
- qualified to do a physical grain measure-up, or weigh-up, if the 13
- 14 independent third party agrees to perform the second warehouse
- 15 examination, within 30 days of the date of the licensee's fiscal
- In the absence of such an agreement the commissioner 16 year end.
- 17 shall perform the second examination. The results of the grain
- inventory examination must include an accounting of all 18
- 19 outstanding warehouse receipts, grain bank receipts, and other
- 20 evidence of grain storage obligations.
- 21 Subp. 4. Warehouses with a Commodity Credit Corporation
- 22 storage agreement. At the request of Commodity Credit
- 23 Corporation, the commissioner shall perform warehouse
- 24 examinations at warehouses with a uniform grain storage
- 25 agreement. The results of these examinations must be forwarded
- 26 to Commodity Credit Corporation.
- Subp. 5. Required information; form. A grain inventory 27
- examination must include the following information: 28
- 29 GRAIN INVENTORY EXAMINATION
- 30 Name of Elevator
- 31 Date
- 32 Physical Measurement of Grain Inventory
- 33

34 Grain Inventory as of 35 plus or minus Receipts

36 plus or minus Sales -- Shipments 37

Adjusted Inventory as of*

38 39 II. Grain Inventory per Books as of* KIND OF GRAIN

bushels

bushels

```
1
            Storage Liability
                                                            bushels
 2
            Grain Bank Liability
                                                               *
 3
            Other
 4
            Warehouse Owned
 5
              Total Grain Inventory per Books
                                                          # bushels
 6
 7
     III.
           Other Grain Detail
 8
            Obligations on Grain Delivered to the
 9
             Elevator
10
              Deferred Payment Contracts
                                                          # bushels
11
              Delayed Price Contracts
12
              Other
13
              Total
                                                          # bushels
14
15
      IV.
           Grain Inventory Measured by ......
16
17
           This Report Prepared by ......
18
19
          *These dates should be the same.
20
    1562.1200 GRAIN PURCHASE RECEIPT.
21
         An independent grain buyer, upon purchasing grain, shall
22
    issue a grain purchase receipt. A duplicate copy of each grain
    purchase receipt must remain in the possession of the
23
24
    independent grain buyer as a permanent record.
                                                    The original
25
    grain purchase receipt must be delivered to the seller upon
26
    receipt of each load of grain.
27
         The grain purchase receipt must state specifically whether
28
    the grain was sold on contract or for cash and the price at
29
    which the grain was sold. For contract purchases, if the price
30
    is not determined at the time of delivery, then the grain
31
   purchase receipt must be marked "price later."
32
         All grain purchase receipts must be consecutively
33
   prenumbered and must contain the following information:
34
                  the name and address of the grain buyer;
             Α.
35
              B.
                  the name of the seller;
36
                  the location and date of the transaction;
              C.
37
              D.
                  the weight or volume and kind of grain; and
38
                  the signature of the grain buyer.
39
        For the sale of grain designated "contract" on the grain
40
   purchase receipt, the grain buyer must put the terms of the
41
   contract in writing as required by Minnesota Statutes, section
   223.177, subdivision 3. The term "contract" signifies any form
42
   of sale except a cash sale. A contract sale of grain is not
43
44
   covered by the grain buyer's bond.
```

- 1 1562.1300 SCALE TICKET.
- 2 A grain warehouse operator, upon receiving grain, shall
- 3 issue a scale ticket for each load of grain received. A
- 4 duplicate copy of each scale ticket must remain in the
- 5 possession of the grain warehouse operator as a permanent
- 6 record. The original scale ticket must be delivered to the
- 7 seller or depositor upon receipt of each load of grain.
- 8 The scale ticket must state specifically whether the grain
- 9 was sold on contract or for cash and the price at which the
- 10 grain was sold. If the grain was not sold, then the scale
- 11 ticket must state whether the grain was received for storage.
- 12 The term "contract" signifies any form of sale except a cash
- 13 sale.
- 14 All scale tickets must be consecutively prenumbered and
- 15 must contain the following information:
- 16 A. the name and address of the grain warehouse
- 17 operator;
- B. the name of the seller or depositor;
- 19 C. the location and date of the transaction;
- D. the weight, volume, and kind of grain; and
- 21 E. the signature of the grain warehouse operator.
- 22 1562.1400 DETERMINATION OF GRADE.
- 23 If the grade of grain is established at the time of
- 24 delivery to a warehouse, it must be recorded on the original and
- 25 duplicate copy of the scale ticket. If the grade is not
- 26 established at the time of delivery, the grade and factors that
- 27 relate to the grade must be recorded on the duplicate copy of
- 28 the scale ticket retained by the grain warehouse operator. The
- 29 depositor or seller must be notified of the grade within 48
- 30 hours after the grade has been determined.
- 31 1562.1500 WAREHOUSE RECEIPT.
- 32 If grain is received for storage, the grain warehouse
- 33 operator shall issue a grain warehouse receipt to the depositor
- 34 within five working days of the date of deposit.

- 1 Storage contracts on grain being stored end on the
- 2 expiration date of the storage license if not ended earlier by
- 3 the depositor. In the absence of a demand for delivery, order
- 4 to sell, or notice by the grain warehouse operator, it is
- 5 presumed that the parties intended to renew the storage contract
- 6 for the next licensing year.
- 7 1562.1600 CHARGES; RATES.
- 8 Subpart 1. Filing of rates for storing and handling
- 9 grain. A person licensed to store grain shall file with the
- 10 commissioner a tariff or schedule of all charges relating to the
- 11 storage of grain including charges for receiving, storing,
- 12 redelivery, and handling on forms provided by the commissioner.
- Subp. 2. Posting of charges. Every warehouse operator
- 14 shall post conspicuously in the warehouse, at each licensed
- 15 location, a statement of all charges relating to the storage of
- 16 grain.
- 17 Subp. 3. Charges to depositor. No charge different from
- 18 that filed with the commissioner and posted may be made to any
- 19 depositor for the same service.
- 20 All depositors must be notified of any changes in the
- 21 tariff or schedule of charges prior to their implementation. A
- 22 conspicuous posting of the revised tariff in the warehouse,
- 23 plainly visible to all customers, qualifies as notification to
- 24 depositors.
- 25 1562.1700 CLAIMS AGAINST A BOND.
- Subpart 1. Filing a claim. Claims against a bond may be
- 27 filed by the persons indicated in this subpart.
- A. A producer claiming to be damaged by the breach of
- 29 an agreement to purchase grain according to the terms of a cash
- 30 sale must file a claim with the commissioner within 180 days of
- 31 the date of breach.
- 32 B. A depositor claiming to be damaged by the breach
- 33 of an agreement to store grain, including an agreement to sell
- 34 grain which was originally delivered for storage, must file a
- 35 claim with the commissioner within 180 days of the date of

- 1 breach.
- 2 Subp. 2. Form of claim. All claims must be in writing,
- 3 must state the facts upon which the claim is based, must include
- 4 any supporting evidence, and must be signed by the claimant.
- 5 The supporting evidence may consist of, but is not limited to, a
- 6 purchase agreement, a scale ticket, a grain purchase receipt, a
- 7 check indicating insufficient funds, a warehouse receipt, or an
- 8 assembly sheet.
- 9 Subp. 3. Where to file. All claims must be filed at the
- 10 following address: Minnesota Department of Agriculture, Grain
- 11 Inspection Division, Warehouse Section, 316 Grain Exchange
- 12 Building, Minneapolis, MN 55415.
- Subp. 4. Bond limitations. The bonds are not cumulative
- 14 from one year to the next. A claim against the bond may only be
- 15 made against the bond in effect at the time the agreement is
- 16 breached. A bond is not liable for claims filed after 180 days
- 17 from the date of breach of the bond.
- 18 Subp. 5. Public notice of a claim. Upon determining that
- 19 a producer or depositor has filed a valid claim, the
- 20 commissioner shall publish notice of the claim in the official
- 21 county newspaper of the county in which the licensee's place of
- 22 business is located.
- The notice must state that a claim against the bond of a
- 24 licensee has been filed with the commissioner, the name and
- 25 address of the licensee, that any additional claims should be
- 26 filed with the commissioner, the bond disbursement date, and
- 27 where the claims should be filed.
- The public notice of the claim must appear for three
- 29 consecutive days in newspapers with a daily circulation and for
- 30 two consecutive publications in newspapers published less than
- 31 daily.
- 32 Subp. 6. Bond disbursement date. The bond disbursement
- 33 date is 90 days from the date the commissioner publishes a
- 34 public notice of a claim. At the end of this time period, the
- 35 commissioner will initiate bond payments on all valid claims
- 36 received by the department.

- 1 1562.1800 BOND COVERAGE.
- 2 Subpart 1. Grain buyers bond. The grain buyers bond
- 3 provides for payment of loss to producers caused by a licensed
- 4 grain buyer's failure to pay, upon the owner's demand, for grain
- 5 purchased in Minnesota according to the terms of a cash sale.
- 6 Subp. 2. Grain storage bond. The grain storage bond
- 7 provides for payment of loss caused by the failure of a person
- 8 licensed to store grain in Minnesota to deliver stored grain to
- 9 the depositor's order, or for nonpayment of grain when the
- 10 depositor orders that the grain be sold in lieu of taking
- ll redelivery of the grain in storage.
- 12 Subp. 3. Grain bank bond. The grain bank bond provides
- 13 for payment of loss caused by the failure of a person with a
- 14 grain bank license in Minnesota to deliver grain bank-receipted
- 15 grain to the depositor's order, or for nonpayment of grain when
- 16 the depositor orders that the grain bank-receipted grain be sold
- 17 in lieu of taking redelivery of the grain in the grain bank.
- 18 1562.1900 LOST, STOLEN, OR DESTROYED WAREHOUSE RECEIPTS.
- While a warehouse receipt is outstanding, no other
- 20 warehouse receipt may be issued for any part of the grain
- 21 represented by the original warehouse receipt except that, in
- 22 case of a lost, stolen, or destroyed warehouse receipt, the
- 23 depositor is entitled to a new warehouse receipt, plainly
- 24 designated to be a duplicate or substitute for the one missing
- 25 or destroyed indicating the dates of issuance of the original
- 26 and the replacement warehouse receipts. Before issuing a
- 27 duplicate warehouse receipt the warehouse operator shall require
- 28 the depositor to make and file an affidavit stating that the
- 29 depositor is lawfully entitled to possession of the original
- 30 receipt and that the depositor has not negotiated or assigned
- 31 it, the circumstances in which it was lost or destroyed, and
- 32 that, if lost, a diligent effort has been made to find it. The
- 33 warehouse operator may require the depositor to post a bond in
- 34 an amount not more than double the value at the time the bond is
- 35 given of the grain represented by the missing or destroyed

- 1 warehouse receipt. The bond must be conditioned to indemnify
- 2 the warehouse operator against any loss which might be sustained
- 3 because of the issuance of a duplicate receipt, must be in a
- 4 form approved by the commissioner, and must be executed by a
- 5 corporate surety licensed to operate in Minnesota. A valid
- 6 duplicate or substitute warehouse receipt has all the rights of
- 7 the document in lieu of which it was issued.
- 8 1562.2000 SHORTAGES OF GRAIN.
- 9 Whenever it appears that a warehouse operator does not have
- 10 on hand grain of sufficient quality and quantity to cover the
- 11 outstanding warehouse receipt obligations, notice must be given
- 12 by the commissioner to the warehouse operator requiring that the
- 13 shortage be corrected immediately. If the warehouse operator
- 14 fails to comply with that order and the commissioner determines
- 15 that the interests of depositors may be threatened, then the
- 16 commissioner shall seal the warehouse to prevent any further
- 17 removal of grain until the shortage is corrected.
- 18 If it appears that the warehouse operator is in default to
- 19 warehouse receipt holders and unable to correct the default
- 20 within a reasonable time the commissioner shall make
- 21 arrangements to protect the warehouse receipt holders by either
- 22 redelivering the grain, on a pro rata basis, to each warehouse
- 23 receipt holder of record or liquidating the grain inventory,
- 24 depositing the proceeds in an interest-bearing trust account,
- 25 and distributing the proceeds, on a pro rata basis, to each
- 26 warehouse receipt holder of record. The proceeds must remain in
- 27 the trust account until the bond disbursement date, if
- 28 applicable. Valid claims by warehouse receipt holders in excess
- 29 of the amount in the trust account will be applied against the
- 30 storage bond. The warehouse operator, the operator's surety,
- 31 and each warehouse receipt holder of record must be notified of
- 32 the shortage and the proposed action to be taken by the
- 33 commissioner to protect warehouse receipt holders. Notice must
- 34 be mailed to each warehouse receipt holder's last known address
- 35 as evidenced by the records of the warehouse operator.

- If any interested party files a written objection to the
- 2 department's proposed action within ten days of receipt of the
- 3 commissioner's notice, the commissioner shall apply to the
- 4 district court for the appointment of a trustee or receiver to
- 5 manage and supervise the operations of the grain warehouse
- 6 operator in default.
- 7 An audit or other investigation of the affairs of the
- 8 warehouse operator must be made by the commissioner for the
- 9 purpose of determining the amount of the shortage and computing
- 10 the loss sustained by each depositor.
- 11 1562.2100 MOVEMENT OF ENCUMBERED GRAIN.
- Grain encumbered by a warehouse receipt may be moved to
- 13 another public grain warehouse with the depositor's request,
- 14 pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 232.23, subdivision 13.
- 15 The original warehouse receipt must be canceled and the
- 16 receiving public grain warehouse operator must issue a
- 17 currently-dated warehouse receipt for the grain being moved and
- 18 stored. All storage charges must be paid through the date of
- 19 cancellation of the original warehouse receipt.
- 20 1562.2200 TERMINATION OF LICENSE; CHANGE OF OWNERSHIP.
- When a license is terminated by reason of sale,
- 22 discontinuance of business, failure to renew a license, or for
- 23 any other reason, the grain buyer or warehouse operator must
- 24 discontinue buying grain from producers or storing grain, and
- 25 redeliver or purchase all grain belonging to others in the
- 26 warehouse. If a licensee sells or leases a grain warehouse to
- 27 another person, proper indemnity must be provided to all
- 28 depositors. Agreement in writing by the warehouse operator's
- 29 successor to assume liability for all warehouse receipts
- 30 outstanding at the time of take-over and reissuance of warehouse
- 31 receipts by the successor constitutes sufficient indemnity. The
- 32 commissioner must be notified of a change in ownership so that a
- 33 new license and bond may be issued.

34

35 REPEALER. Minnesota Rules, parts 1560.5400; 1560.5500;

- 1 1560.5600; 1560.5700; 1560.5800; 1560.5900; 1560.6000;
- 2 1560.6100; 1560.6200; 1560.6300; 1560.6400; 1560.6500;
- 3 1560.6600; 1560.6700; 1560.6800; 1560.6900; 1560.7000;
- 4 1560.7100; 1560.7200; 1560.7300; 1560.7400; 1560.7500; and
- 5 1560.7600 are repealed.