l Hazardous Substance Injury Compensation Board

2

3 Adopted Permanent Rules Relating to Death Benefits

4

5 Rules as Adopted

6

DEATH BENEFITS

- 7 7190.1000 DEFINITIONS.
- 8 Subpart 1. Board. "Board" means the Hazardous Substance
- 9 Injury Compensation Board established by Minnesota Statutes,
- 10 section 115B.26.
- 11 Subp. 2. Claimant. "Claimant" means a person who suffered
- 12 an eligible personal injury as defined in Minnesota Statutes,
- 13 section 115B.30, subdivision 1.
- 14 Subp. 3. Value of household labor. "Value of household
- 15 labor" means the value determined by parts 7190.0100 to
- 16 7190.0108.
- 17 Subp. 4. Wage. "Wage" means the average gross weekly wage
- 18 received by the claimant for the highest three of the five years
- 19 immediately preceding death or the date of diagnosis of the
- 20 injury causing the death, whichever is greater. If the claimant
- 21 was self-employed, wage means the income of the claimant from
- 22 the business for the highest three of the five years immediately
- 23 preceding death or the date of diagnosis of the injury causing
- 24 the death, whichever is greater. The claimant's dependents may
- 25 request the board use the date of the exposure to the hazardous
- 26 substance to calculate the wage, if the dependents document the
- 27 date of exposure.
- 28 7190.1005 PAYMENT OF CLAIMS WHEN CLAIMANT DIES.
- 29 Subpart 1. Death occurring during investigation. If a
- 30 claimant dies from an eligible injury during the investigation
- 31 of the claim, the board shall amend the claim so that it seeks
- 32 compensation for the claimant's estate for medical expenses and
- 33 death benefits for the claimant's dependents. If the death of
- 34 the claimant during the investigation is unrelated to the
- 35 eligible injury, the board shall amend the claim to-compensate

1

Approved by Revisor

- 1 so that it seeks compensation for the claimant's dependents for
- 2 eligible losses due to the injury up to the date of death.
- 3 Subp. 2. Death occurring during payout. If a claimant who
- 4 is receiving compensation from the board dies, the board shall
- 5 pay the remaining compensation due the claimant to the
- 6 dependents in the order of the subparts in part 7190.1015. If
- 7 there are no dependents, the board shall pay the remaining
- 8 compensation to the claimant's estate.
- 9 Subp. 3. Death after award. If a claimant has received
- 10 compensation from the board for future loss of wages and
- 11 household labor due to the injury that caused the death, the
- 12 board shall not accept a claim for death benefits.
- 13 7190.1010 PRIORITY FOR DEATH BENEFITS.
- 14 The board shall pay death benefits to eligible dependents
- 15 of a claimant in the following order:
- A. allowances to presumed dependents;
- B. allowances to wholly supported established
- 18 dependents in the order in part 7190.1015; and
- 19 C. allowances to partially supported established
- 20 dependents in the order in part 7190.1015.
- 21 7190.1015 ELIGIBLE DEPENDENTS.
- 22 Supbart 1. Presumed dependents. The board shall presume
- 23 that the following persons are wholly supported dependents of
- 24 the claimant:
- A. the spouse, unless it is shown that the spouse and
- 26 claimant were voluntarily living apart at the time of the injury
- 27 or death:
- 28 B. a child under 18 years old;
- 29 C. a child under 25 years old if regularly attending
- 30 an accredited educational institution on a full-time basis; and
- 31 D. a child 18 years old or older if physically or
- 32 mentally incapacitated from earning.
- 33 Subp. 2. Established dependents. The board shall
- 34 consider, in the following order, these persons as dependents of
- 35 the claimant if the persons establish that the claimant

- 1 contributed regularly to their support:
- A. a child 18 years old or older;
- 3 B. a parent;
- 4 C. a grandparent;
- 5 D. a grandchild;
- 6 E. a sibling; and
- 7 F. a parent-in-law.
- 8 7190.1020 FACTORS GOVERNING AWARD OF DEATH BENEFITS.
- 9 Subpart 1. Limitations. The board shall award death
- 10 benefits to presumed and established dependents until two-thirds
- 11 of the claimant's wage is allocated. The board shall adjust any
- 12 award of death benefits according to the limitations of
- 13 Minnesota Statutes, sections 115B.34, subdivision 1, clause (d)
- 14 and 115B.36. The benefit paid to established dependents shall
- 15 not exceed the actual contribution by the claimant to their
- 16 support.
- 17 Subp. 2. Initiation. The board shall calculate death
- 18 benefits from the onset of disability leading to the death of
- 19 the claimant or from the date of death, taking into
- 20 consideration when the claimant's financial capability to
- 21 provide reasonable support for the dependents diminished.
- Subp. 3. Determination of dependents. The board shall
- 23 determine the eligibility of a dependent based on the facts
- 24 existing on the date of the board's decision.
- 25 Subp. 4. Lump sum payment. When the board chooses to pay
- 26 death benefits in a lump sum, it shall discount benefits awarded
- 27 for future years to current value according-to-Minnesota
- 28 Statutes, -section-604.07, -subdivision-4, -clauses-(1) -and
- 29 (2) based on real rates of return obtainable through
- 30 conservative investment.
- 31 Subp. 5. Installment payment. When the board chooses to
- 32 pay death benefits in installments, it shall adjust future
- 33 payments by the cost of living rate for the current year
- 34 according-to-Minnesota-Statutes,-section-604-07,-subdivision-4,
- 35 clause-(2).

- 1 Subp. 6. Collateral sources. In calculating the total
- 2 award of death benefits, the board shall subtract from the award
- 3 losses recouped by the dependents from any government survivor
- 4 program to the extent that the combined total of government
- 5 survivor benefits and death benefits paid under this chapter
- 6 exceeds 100 percent of the wage earned by the claimant.
- 7 Subp. 7. Cessation of compensation. The board shall cease
- 8 compensation upon the death of any dependent or upon marriage of
- 9 any dependent other than the spouse. The cessation of
- 10 compensation to any dependent does not affect the compensation
- 11 paid to any other dependent.
- 12 7190.1025 ELIGIBLE ALLOWANCES FOR PRESUMED DEPENDENTS.
- 13 Subpart 1. Spouse, no dependent children. If the claimant
- 14 leaves a spouse and no dependent children, the board shall pay
- 15 to the spouse for ten years one-half of the claimant's wage and
- 16 one-half the value of the claimant's household labor.
- 17 Subp. 2. Spouse, one dependent child. If the claimant
- 18 leaves a spouse and one dependent child, the board shall pay to
- 19 the spouse for ten years, for the benefit of the spouse and
- 20 child, three-fifths of the claimant's wage and three-fifths the
- 21 value of the claimant's household labor. If the child is not
- 22 dependent for ten years, the board shall pay to the spouse
- 23 one-half the claimant's wage and one-half the value of the
- 24 claimant's household labor in the years remaining after the
- 25 child is no longer dependent. If the child is dependent for
- 26 more than ten years, the board shall pay to the spouse for the
- 27 child one-half of the claimant's wage and one-half the value of
- 28 the claimant's household labor until the child is no longer
- 29 dependent.
- 30 Subp. 3. Spouse, two or more dependent children. If the
- 31 claimant leaves a spouse and two or more dependent children, the
- 32 board shall pay to the spouse for ten years, for the benefit of
- 33 the spouse and children, two-thirds of the claimant's wage and
- 34 two-thirds the value of the claimant's household labor. If no
- 35 child remains dependent for ten years, the board shall pay to

- 1 the spouse one-half the claimant's wage and one-half the value
- 2 of the claimant's household labor in the years remaining after
- 3 the last child is no longer dependent. If a child is dependent
- 4 for more than ten years, the board shall pay to the spouse, for
- 5 the benefit of the child, one-half of the claimant's wage and
- 6 one-half the value of the claimant's household labor.
- 7 Subp. 4. Dependent children, no spouse. If the claimant
- 8 leaves a dependent child and no spouse, the board shall pay to
- 9 the guardian of the child 55 percent of the claimant's wage and
- 10 55 percent of the value of the claimant's household labor; and
- 11 for two or more children, the board shall pay to the guardian of
- 12 the children two-thirds of the claimant's wage and two-thirds
- 13 the value of the claimant's household labor until the last child
- 14 is no longer dependent.
- 15 7190.1026 ELIGIBLE ALLOWANCES FOR ESTABLISHED DEPENDENTS.
- 16 Subpart 1. Parents. If the claimant leaves both parents
- 17 wholly dependent on the deceased, the board shall pay to both
- 18 parents jointly for ten years, 45 percent of the claimant's
- 19 wage. If only one parent survives, the board shall pay to that
- 20 parent for ten years 35 percent of the claimant's wage. If the
- 21 claimant lived in the same household as both parents immediately
- 22 before death, the board shall pay for ten years, 45 percent of
- 23 the value of the claimant's household labor to both parents
- 24 jointly. If the claimant lived in the household of one parent
- 25 immediately before death, the board shall pay 35 percent of the
- 26 value of the claimant's household labor to that parent for ten
- 27 years.
- Subp. 2. Other established dependents. If the claimant
- 29 leaves a child, grandparent, grandchild, sibling, or
- 30 parent-in-law wholly dependent, the board shall pay to that
- 31 dependent for ten years, 30 percent of the claimant's wage. If
- 32 the claimant leaves more than one of them, the board shall pay
- 33 35 percent of the claimant's wage divided among them in equal
- 34 shares.
- 35 Subp. 3. Partial support. If an established dependent

1	regularly received only partial financial support from the
2	claimant, the board shall adjust the eligible allowance in
3	subparts 5 and 6 according to the following formula:
4	$b = A \times c/w$
5	where: b is the benefit to be awarded;
6	A is the eligible allowance to the dependent;
7	c is the amount of weekly contribution to the
8	dependent by the claimant; and
9	w is the wage of the claimant.
10	Subp4Cessation-of-compensationThe-board-shall-cease
11	compensation-upon-the-death-of-any-dependent-or-upon-marriage-of
12	any-dependent-other-than-the-spouseThe-cessation-of
13	compensation-to-any-dependent-does-not-affect-the-compensation
14	paid-to-any-other-dependent-