1 Department of Commerce

2

3 Adopted Permanent Rules Relating to Cosmetology

4

- 5 Rules as Adopted
- 6 2640.0100 DEFINITIONS.
- 7 Subpart 1. [Unchanged.]
- 8 Subp. 2. Accommodate or to be accommodated. "Accommodate"
- 9 or "to be accommodated" means the maximum number of students
- 10 present on the school premises at any one time and for which the
- 11 school has the required physical and program resources. In most
- 12 cases this will be the maximum number of day student enrollees.
- Subp. 3. to 6. [Unchanged.]
- 14 Subp. 7. [See Repealer.]
- Subp. 8. to 12. [Unchanged.]
- 16 Subp. 13. Demonstration. "Demonstration" means a
- 17 presentation of less than eight hours duration, conducted by a
- 18 recognized expert in the field, for the purposes of training
- 19 cosmetology students or specialization by current licensees.
- 20 The same demonstration may be repeated successive times that
- 21 total more than eight hours. Demonstrations pursuant to
- 22 nonretail sales are exempt from parts 2640.0100 to 2640.9200.
- 23 Subp. 14. to 22. [Unchanged.]
- 24 2640.1100 EXAMINATION ADMINISTRATION.
- 25 Subpart 1. and 2. [Unchanged.]
- 26 Subp. 3. Instructor examination. Instructor examination:
- 27 A. [Unchanged.]
- 28 B. Each examinee is responsible for providing the
- 29 model for the practical examination and shall be responsible for
- 30 insuring the suitability of that model for the examination.
- 31 Models shall be over 16 years of age. The model shall not be a
- 32 licensed cosmetologist or a cosmetology student.
- 33 Subp. 4. and 5. [Unchanged.]
- 34 2640.1700 LICENSE RECIPROCITY WITH OTHER JURISDICTIONS.



- 1 Subpart 1. and 2. [Unchanged.]
- Subp. 3. Evidence of experience. An applicant with more
- 3 than three years of licensure shall provide documentation of at
- 4 least 1,800 hours of experience as a licensed practitioner at
- 5 the level for which a Minnesota license is sought within three
- 6 years prior to the application. The documentation must be from
- 7 an employer or, in the case of self-employed applicants, from a
- 8 reliable source.
- 9 Subp. 4. [Unchanged.]
- 10 2640.3300 MAINTAINING A SALON LICENSE.
- 11 The following requirements shall be met by all salons:
- 12 A. The licensee shall continuously comply with all
- 13 applicable provisions of Minnesota Statutes and rules.
- 14 B. The manager shall advise the department of a
- 15 change in name of the salon in writing, including both new and
- 16 old name and address, within 60 days of the change.
- 17 C. The licensee shall renew the license before its
- 18 expiration date.
- 19 D. The licensee shall display the required documents.
- 20 2640.3500 DELINQUENT SALON LICENSES.
- 21 Subpart 1. Failure to renew. Failure to renew a license
- 22 before its expiration date shall result in a delinquent salon
- 23 license. This license must be renewed within 30 days.
- Subp. 2. Renewal. If less than 30 days have elapsed since
- 25 the expiration date of the license, the applicant shall submit a
- 26 written request for renewal of license, the license fee, and the
- 27 processing fee. If more than 30 days have elapsed, the salon
- 28 shall cease operation until a new salon application has been
- 29 submitted and a provisional license has been issued.
- 30 2640.4100 SPECIFIC TYPES OF SALON LICENSES.
- 31 Subpart 1. [Unchanged.]
- 32 Subp. 2. Beauty salon and barber shop. A beauty salon and
- 33 a barber shop may be operated in the same establishment, if the
- 34 beauty salon is clearly identified as a beauty salon by a

- l conspicuously displayed sign that states, "Beauty Salon" in
- 2 letters at least two inches in height.
- 3 Subp. 3. to 7. [Unchanged.]
- 4 2640.5100 COMPLIANCE BY PRESENT LICENSEES AND STUDENTS.
- 5 Subpart 1. [Unchanged.]
- 6 Subp. 3. Senior instructor licenses. Senior instructor
- 7 licenses are discontinued. Current senior instructor licenses
- 8 shall be renewed as instructor licenses. Senior instructor
- 9 licenses which expire before January 1, 1988, shall not be
- 10 required to satisfy the requirements of part 2640.1900, subpart
- 11 2, item B.
- 12 Subp. 6. Salons, temporary exemptions. Salons licensed on
- 13 April 1, 1983, shall be exempt from the following provisions
- 14 until January 1, 1988:
- A. to C. [Unchanged.]
- 16 Subp. 8. and 10. [Unchanged.]
- 17 2640.5200 SCHOOL LICENSURE.
- 18 Subpart 1. to 3. [Unchanged.]
- 19 Subp. 4. Surety bond. The applicant, except the state and
- 20 its political subdivisions as described in Minnesota Statutes,
- 21 section 471.617, subdivision 1, shall file with the commissioner
- 22 a continuous corporate surety bond in the amount of \$10,000,
- 23 conditioned upon the faithful performance of all contracts and
- 24 agreements with students made by the applicant. The bond shall
- 25 run to the state of Minnesota and to any person who may have a
- 26 cause of action against the applicant arising at any time after
- 27 the bond is filed and before it is canceled for breach of any
- 28 contract or agreement made by the applicant with any student.
- 29 The aggregate liability of the surety for all breaches of the
- 30 conditions of the bond shall not exceed \$10,000. The surety of
- 31 the bond may cancel it upon giving 60 days notice in writing to
- 32 the commissioner and shall be relieved of liability for any
- 33 breach of condition occurring after the effective date of
- 34 cancellation.
- 35 Subp. 5. [Unchanged.]

- 1 2640.5500 DELINQUENT SCHOOL LICENSES.
- 2 Failure to renew a school license before its expiration
- 3 date shall result in a delinquent license. The applicant shall
- 4 comply with the following:
- 5 A. If less than 30 days have elapsed since the
- 6 expiration date of the license, the applicant shall submit a
- 7 written request for renewal of license, the license fee, and the
- 8 processing fee.
- 9 B. If more than 30 days have elapsed since the
- 10 expiration of the license, the licensee shall reapply for a
- 11 school license as if no license had been previously issued. The
- 12 school's operation without a valid license is a violation of the
- 13 law and no student training provided during that period will be
- 14 recognized by the department.
- 15 2640.5600 CERTIFICATE OF IDENTIFICATION.
- 16 Subpart 1. Issuance. Upon written request to the
- 17 department, a licensee may be issued a certificate of
- 18 identification authorizing his or her lawful practice in a place
- 19 other than a licensed salon. To obtain the certificate, the
- 20 individual shall:
- A. hold a current Minnesota cosmetologist,
- 22 manicurist, or esthetician license;
- B. provide documentation to the department of at
- 24 least 2,700 hours of lawful practice in Minnesota;
- 25 C. provide documentation of current employment in a
- 26 Minnesota licensed cosmetology, esthetician, or manicuring
- 27 salon; and
- D. attest that the services shall be provided only in
- 29 a licensed health care facility, or in the residence of a
- 30 home-bound individual.
- 31 Subp. 2. and 3. [Unchanged.]
- 32 2640.6000 PHYSICAL REQUIREMENTS.
- 33 Subpart 1. Space. Space:
- 34 A. There shall be a combined clinic and classroom

- l size of at least 25 square feet for each enrollee to be
- 2 accommodated. This space shall exclude all office space,
- 3 storage areas, lounge facilities, and restrooms.
- 4 B. All supplies and materials shall be stored in a
- 5 space not accessible to the public.
- 6 C. The dispensary shall be a specified area
- 7 inaccessible to the public.
- 8 D. There shall be a furnished student lounge of at
- 9 least 120 contiguous square feet.
- 10 Subp. 2. to 5. [Unchanged.]
- 11 2640.6700 COSMETOLOGIST TRAINING.
- 12 A. Cosmetologist training consists of a course of
- 13 training of at least 1,550 hours. This course shall consist of
- 14 the full manicurist course content, the full esthetician course
- 15 content, and the balance in hairdressing, including the
- 16 breakdown of hours specified in item D and the clinical
- 17 exercises in provision of cosmetology services specified in item
- 18 D.
- B. [Unchanged.]
- 20 C. There shall be instruction in applied science and
- 21 skills in shampooing, scalp and hair conditioning, hair design
- 22 and shaping, chemical hair control, hair coloring, hair styling,
- 23 facials, and makeup, and manicuring and nail care of 1,130 hours
- 24 and instruction in related theory and sciences of 420 hours.
- D. to F. [Unchanged.]
- 26 2640.6800 ESTHETICIAN TRAINING.
- A. to C. [Unchanged.]
- D. There shall be planned clinical instruction and
- 29 experience of 200 hours in the applied sciences.
- 30 (1) and (2) [Unchanged.]
- 31 E. [Unchanged.]
- 32 2640.6900 MANICURIST TRAINING.
- A. to C. [Unchanged.]
- 34 D. There shall be planned clinical instruction and

- l experience of 150 hours in applied sciences and skills.
- 2 (1) and (2) [Unchanged.]
- 3 E. [Unchanged.]
- 4 2640.7000 REFRESHER COURSES.
- 5 A licensed cosmetology school, salon, or a professional
- 6 association may plan and offer a refresher course taught by
- 7 licensed instructors of at least 40 hours in length for
- 8 cosmetologists, estheticians, and/or manicurists. The course
- 9 shall focus on knowledge, skills, and product types related to
- 10 chemical services and shall balance lectures, demonstrations,
- 11 and clinical experiences. It shall be held in a licensed salon
- 12 or school. The course sponsor shall provide the individuals who
- 13 successfully pass a final course examination with course
- 14 completion certificates. The class attendees are then
- 15 responsible for providing a copy of the completion certificates
- 16 to the Department of Commerce when required.
- 17 2640.8200 STUDENT RECORDS.
- 18 Student records shall be maintained as follows:
- 19 A. to D. [Unchanged.]
- 20 E. The school shall maintain the following reports
- 21 for each student:
- 22 (1) a student registration form containing the
- 23 student's full and correct name, course of training for which
- 24 enrolled, and start date. The status of the student shall be
- 25 stated as full-time or part-time, day or night classes;
- 26 (2) certification of completion of preclinical
- 27 courses. Documentation signed by the school owner or manager
- 28 shall indicate that the student has successfully completed the
- 29 required hours of preclinical work. A student shall not be
- 30 allowed to perform any service or portion thereof in the school
- 31 clinic on a client until this certification has been completed;
- 32 (3) a progress evaluation report. Upon
- 33 completion of one-half of the total required hours, the school
- 34 shall give the student a written progress evaluation assessing
- 35 the student's progress towards successful fulfillment of the

- 1 license requirements;
- 2 (4) certification of readiness to take the
- 3 written examination. Documentation signed by school owner or
- 4 manager, shall indicate that the student has successfully
- 5 completed 1,350, 500, and 315 hours, for cosmetologist,
- 6 esthetician, and manicurist respectively, of preclinical and
- 7 clinical training, and is prepared to take the written state
- 8 licensing examinations;
- 9 (5) documentation signed by school owner or
- 10 manager, shall indicate that the student has successfully
- 11 completed the course of training for which he or she enrolled,
- 12 including documentation of the student's completion of the
- 13 practical exercises, as required by parts 2640.6700, item D,
- 14 2640.6800, item D, subitem (1), and 2640.6900, item D, subitem
- 15 (1), and documentation of the student's successful completion of
- 16 the skills certification review, on a form provided by the
- 17 department;
- 18 (6) a certification shall be written and
- 19 maintained by the school if a student withdraws, is suspended,
- 20 or expelled from his or her course of training. The
- 21 certification shall be signed by the school owner or manager,
- 22 shall indicate the last day on which the student was enrolled,
- 23 the total number of hours the student has successfully completed
- 24 as of that date, a transcript detailing the nature of those
- 25 hours, and the reason for the withdrawal, suspension, or
- 26 revocation. A copy of a student's termination certification
- 27 and/or completion of course of training certification must be
- 28 provided to the student within ten days of the termination from
- 29 or completion of the cosmetology training.
- 30 2640.8900 SCHOOL CLINICS.
- 31 All instruction in school clinics and all work performed by
- 32 students in school clinics shall comply with the operational
- 33 requirements for a cosmetology salon in part 2640.3900, items A
- 34 to M, S, T, and W. In addition:
- A. to F. [Unchanged.]

35

```
1
              G. All students shall be required to wear an
    identification badge at all times. The badges shall be at least
    two inches by one inch; state the student's name; and state that
 3
    the student is either a "Cosmetologist Trainee," "Esthetician
   Trainee," or "Manicurist Trainee." Badges shall be furnished by
 5
    the school as part of tuition costs.
 6
 7
              H. to L. [Unchanged.]
    2640.9200 FEE SCHEDULE.
8
9
         The fee schedule shall be as follows:
10
              Α.
                  [Unchanged.]
11
              B. Penalties:
12
                   (1) Reinspection fee, variable;
                   (2) Manager with lapsed practitioner, $25;
13
14
                   (3)-Reinstatement-fee,-$30.
                Administrative fees:
15
              C.
                   (1) Duplicate license (includes individual name
16
   or address change), $5;
17
                   (2) Certificate of identification, $20;
18
19
                   (3) Processing fee (covers licensing history or
    certification of licensure, restoration of lapsed license, salon
20
   name change, school name change, late renewals, applications for
21
   new licenses), $15;
22
23
                   (4) School original application, $150.
24
         REPEALER. Minnesota Rules, part 2640.0100, subpart 7, is
    repealed.
25
         APPLICATION.
26
         Subpart 1. Salons. Minnesota Rules, parts 2640.0100;
27
    2640.0500, subpart 1; 2640.0600; 2640.0700; 2640.1100;
28
    2640.1200; 2640.1300; 2640.1400; 2640.1600; 2640.1700, subparts
29
    1 to 3; 2640.1800; 2640.1900; 2640.2000; 2640.2100; 2640.2200;
30
    2640.3100; 2640.3200; 2640.3300; 2640.3400; 2640.3500;
31
    2640.3600; 2640.3700; 2640.3800; 2640.3900; 2640.4000;
32
    2640.4100; 2640.5100, subpart 6; 2640.6400; 2640.7000;
33
    2640.7100; 2640.7200; 2640.8400; 2640.9100; 2640.9200; and
34
```

2640.9400, apply to salons. In the next and subsequent editions

- 1 of Minnesota Rules, these parts may be codified in a separate
- 2 chapter.
- 3 Subp. 2. Schools. Minnesota Rules, parts 2640.0100;
- 4 2640.0500; 2640.0600; 2640.0700; 2640.1100; 2640.1500;
- 5 2640.1700; 2640.1800; 2640.1900; 2640.2000; 2640.2100;
- 6 2640.2200; 2640.5100, subparts 1 to 4, and 7 to 10; 2640.5200;
- 7 2640.5300; 2640.5400; 2640.5500; 2640.5600; 2640.5700;
- 8 2640.5800; 2640.5900; 2640.6000; 2640.6100; 2640.6200;
- 9 2640.6300; 2640.6400; 2640.6600; 2640.6700; 2640.6800;
- 10 2640.6900; 2640.7000; 2640.7100; 2640.7200; 2640.7500;
- 11 2640.7600; 2640.7700; 2640.7800; 2640.7900; 2640.8000;
- 12 2640.8100; 2640.8200; 2640.8300; 2640.8400; 2640.8500;
- 13 2640.8600; 2640.8700; 2640.8800; 2640.8900; 2640.9100;
- 14 2640.9200; and 2640.9400, apply to schools. In the next and
- 15 subsequent editions of Minnesota Rules, these parts may be
- 16 codified in a separate chapter.