02/17/87 [REVISOR] SEQ/MM AR0951 Department of Human Services 1 2 Adopted Permanent Rules Relating to Adult Foster Care Services 3 4 and Licensure of Adult Foster Homes 5 Rules as Adopted 6 9555.5105 DEFINITIONS. 7 8 Subpart 1. Scope. As used in parts 9555.5105 to 9555.6265 9 the following terms have the meanings given them. 10 Subp. 2. Adult. "Adult" means a person at least 18 years 11 of age. Subp. 3. Adult foster care. "Adult foster care" means the 12 provision of food, lodging, protection, supervision, and 13 14 household services to a functionally impaired adult in a 15 residence and may also include the provision of personal care, household and living skills assistance or training, medication 16 assistance under part 9555.6225, subpart 8, and assistance 17 18 safeguarding cash resources under part 9555.6265. 19 Subp. 4. Adult foster care services. "Adult foster care 20 services" means those community social services in parts 21 9550.0010 to 9550.0092 that are provided to residents or prospective residents of adult foster homes. 22 23 Subp. 5. Adult foster home. "Adult foster home" means a 24 residence operated by an operator who, for financial gain or otherwise, provides up-to-four-functionally-impaired-residents 25 26 with 24-hour foster care to no more than four functionally impaired residents. 27 Subp. 6. Applicant. "Applicant" means the operator 28 seeking a license to operate an adult foster home. 29 Subp. 7. Building official. "Building official" means a 30 31 person appointed in accordance with Minnesota Statutes, section 16B.65, to administer the state building code or the building 32 33 official's authorized representative. Subp. 8. Caregiver. "Caregiver" means an adult who meets 34

> Approved by Revisor

1

the qualifications in part 9555.6125, subpart 4, and gives care

[REVISOR] SEQ/MM AR0951

1 to a resident in an adult foster home.

2 Subp. 9. Commissioner. "Commissioner" means the 3 commissioner of the Minnesota Department of Human Services or 4 the commissioner's authorized representative.

5 Subp. 10. County board. "County board" means the county 6 board of commissioners in each county. When a human services 7 board has been established under Minnesota Statutes, sections 8 402.02 to 402.10, it shall be considered to be the county board.

9 Subp. 11. County of financial responsibility. "County of
10 financial responsibility" means the county responsible for
11 paying for foster care services for a resident under Minnesota
12 Statutes, section 256E.08, subdivision 7.

13 Subp. 12. Department. "Department" means the Minnesota14 Department of Human Services.

15 Subp. 13. Fire marshal. "Fire marshal" means the person 16 designated by Minnesota Statutes, section 299F.011, to 17 administer and enforce the Minnesota Uniform Fire Code or the 18 fire marshal's authorized representative.

19 Subp. 14. Functionally impaired. "Functionally impaired"
20 means a person who has:

A. substantial difficulty carrying out one or more of the essential major activities of daily living, such as caring for oneself, performing manual tasks, walking, seeing, hearing, speaking, breathing, learning, or working; or

B. a disorder of thought or mood that significantly impairs judgment, behavior, capacity to recognize reality, or ability to cope with the ordinary demands of life.

Subp. 15. **Health authority.** "Health authority" means the designated representative of the local board of health organized under Minnesota Statutes, chapter 145, to enforce public health codes.

32 Subp. 16. Household member. "Household member" means any 33 person living in the adult foster home more than 30 consecutive 34 calendar days in any 12-month period who is not a resident.

35 Subp. 17. Household services. "Household services" means 36 activities taught to or performed by a caregiver for a resident

> Approved by Revisor

36

[REVISOR] SEQ/MM AR0951

such as cooking, cleaning, budgeting, and other household care 1 2 or maintenance tasks.

Subp. 18. Individual service plan. "Individual service 3 plan" means the written plan agreed upon and signed by the 4 5 county of financial responsibility and the resident or resident's legal representative for the provision of social 6 services under part 9550.0090. For persons with mental 7 retardation or a related condition, it means the plan agreed 8 upon and signed under part 9525.0075. 9

Subp. 19. Individual resident placement agreement. 10 "Individual resident placement agreement" means the written 11 document specifying the terms for provision of foster care to an 12 adult that is developed under part 9555.5705 for persons 13 receiving services under part 9525.0075 or 9550.0090 or under 14 part 9555.6167 for persons not receiving community social 15 services or services for persons with mental retardation or a 16 17 related condition. The individual resident placement agreement must: 18

A. describe the reason for placement; 19 20 describe what the operator must provide in the в. areas of lodging, food, protection, household or living skills 21 training or assistance, personal care assistance, assistance 22 23 safeguarding cash resources, transportation, residence accessibility modifications, medication assistance, and 24 25 supervision;

26 C. describe who is financially responsible for the payment of the foster care provided by the operator; 27

28 describe any other community, health and social D. services that the operator will assist in providing; 29

coordinate with the contents of the individual Ε. 30 habilitation plan developed under parts 9525.0015 to 9525.0165 31 for persons with mental retardation or a related condition; and 32 F. coordinate with the individual service plan 33 developed under part 9525.0075 or 9550.0090. 34 35 Subp. 20. Legal representative. "Legal representative" means a person appointed by the court as a guardian or

3

Approved

by Revisor _

[REVISOR] SEQ/MM AR0951

conservator of an adult under Minnesota Statutes, sections
 525.539 to 525.6198 or chapter 252A.

3 Subp. 21. License. "License" means a certificate issued 4 by the commissioner authorizing the operator to give specified 5 services for a specified period in accordance with parts 6 9555.6105 to 9555.6265 and Minnesota Statutes, sections 245.781 7 to 245.812 and 252.28, subdivision 2. License includes a 8 provisional license issued to an operator who is temporarily 9 unable to comply with the requirements for a license.

Subp. 22. Licensed capacity. "Licensed capacity" means the maximum number of functionally impaired adults who may receive foster care in the adult foster home at any one time.

13 Subp. 23. Living skills assistance. "Living skills 14 assistance" means activities taught or performed to assist the 15 resident to use services, transportation, recreation, and social 16 opportunities available in the community.

17 Subp. 24. Local agency. "Local agency" means the county or multi-county social service agency governed by the county 18 19 board or multi-county human services board of the county in which the adult foster home is located. If the local agency is 20 21 also providing foster care services to the resident, then the local agency is also the service agency defined in subpart 34. 22 Subp. 25. Medication. "Medication" means a prescription 23 24 substance taken internally, applied externally, or injected to prevent or treat a condition or disease, heal, or relieve pain. 25 26 Subp. 26. Minnesota Uniform Fire Code. "Minnesota Uniform 27 Fire Code" means those codes and regulations adopted by the fire marshal under Minnesota Statutes, section 299F.011 and parts 28 7510.0200 to 7510.3000. 29

30 Subp. 27. **Operator.** "Operator" means the individual, 31 partnership, corporation, or governmental unit licensed by the 32 department and legally responsible for the operation of an adult 33 foster home.

34 Subp. 28. Personal care. "Personal care" means assistance 35 by a caregiver with or teaching of skills related to activities 36 of daily living such as eating, grooming, bathing, and

> Approved by Revisor _

[REVISOR] SEQ/MM AR0951

02/17/87

36

l laundering clothes.

Subp. 29. Protection. "Protection" means compliance withthe Vulnerable Adults Act.

Subp. 30. Related. "Related" means any of the following
relationships by marriage, blood, or adoption: spouse, parent,
grandparent, brother, sister, stepparent, stepsister,
stepbrother, uncle, aunt, grandchild, child, niece, and nephew.

8 Subp. 31. Residence. "Residence" means the single 9 dwelling unit in which foster care is provided with complete, 10 independent living facilities for one or more persons. As 11 defined in section 405 of the Minnesota State Building Code, the 12 residence has permanent provisions for living, sleeping, 13 cooking, eating, and sanitation.

Subp. 32. Resident. "Resident" means a functionally impaired adult residing in an adult foster home and receiving foster care.

17 Subp. 33. Roomer. "Roomer" means a household member who 18 is not related to the provider operator and is not a resident or 19 caregiver.

Subp. 34. Service agency. "Service agency" means the public or private agency designated by the county of financial responsibility with the responsibility to provide the foster care services in parts 9555.5105 to 9555.5705.

Subp. 35. Social worker. "Social worker" means a person 24 designated by the local agency or service agency of the county 25 of financial responsibility with credentials meeting the minimum 26 27 requirements under the Minnesota Merit System classification for social worker or a county personnel system equivalent under 28 Minnesota Statutes, section 375.56-71; Laws of Minnesota 1965, 29 30 chapter 855; and Laws of Minnesota 1974, chapter 435, article 3, who is responsible for coordinating a prospective resident's 31 initial assessment and placement in part 9555.5605 the 32 development of the individual resident placement agreement for 33 those persons with an individual service plan. 34 Subp. 36. State Building Code. "State Building Code" 35

means those codes and regulations adopted by the commissioner of

Approved by Revisor

[REVISOR] SEQ/MM AR0951

administration under chapter 1300 and Minnesota Statutes,
 section 16B.59.

Subp. 37. Supervision. "Supervision" means:
A. oversight by a caregiver as specified in the
individual resident placement agreement and daily awareness of a
resident's needs and activities; and

B. the presence of a caregiver in the residence8 during normal sleeping hours.

9 Subp. 38. Variance. "Variance" means written permission 10 by the commissioner for an applicant or operator to depart from 11 the provisions of parts 9555.6105 to 9555.6265 if equivalent 12 alternative measures are provided to ensure the health, safety, 13 and rights of a resident.

Subp. 39. Vulnerable Adults Act. "Vulnerable Adults Act"
means Minnesota Statutes, section 626.557.

16 9555.5205 APPLICABILITY.

Parts 9555.5105 to 9555.5705 govern the administration and provision of adult foster care services to residents or prospective residents of adult foster homes by the county board.

20 9555.5305 PURPOSE.

The purpose of parts 9555.5105 to 9555.5705 is to ensure that a resident or prospective resident of an adult foster home receives an assessment of need for adult foster care, is notified about adult foster care services that are available, and consultation, assistance, and information are provided to applicants or operators of adult foster homes.

27 9555.5405 FOSTER HOME DEVELOPMENT.

The local agency shall implement an annual adult foster home recruitment plan specifying a method and timetable for recruiting operators to meet the county's adult foster care needs if adult foster care services to residents or prospective residents of adult foster homes are specified by the county board in the community social services plan developed under parts 9550.0010 to 9550.0092.

> Approved by Revisor

[REVISOR] SEQ/MM AR0951

1 9555.5415 LICENSING ASSISTANCE.

Subpart 1. Assistance. The local agency shall tell persons seeking information about adult foster home licensure of the standards in parts 9555.6105 to 9555.6265. The local agency shall offer consultation, assistance, and information in accordance with parts 9555.6105 to 9555.6265. The local agency shall:

A. supply the applicant with the department 9 application form, a copy of parts 9555.5105 and 9555.6105 to 10 9555.6265, and the department forms needed to determine 11 compliance with parts 9555.5105 and 9555.6105 to 9555.6265;

B. stamp and date a signed and completed departmentapplication form on the date of receipt;

14 C. accept and process applications for licensure and 15 recommend licensure or negative licensing actions to the 16 department;

D. conduct the inspection of the residence and study of the applicant in accordance with parts 9555.5105 and 9555.6105 to 9555.6265; and

E. notify the local zoning administrator in the jurisdiction in which the residence is located at least 30 days prior to the initial issuance date of a license. The date the local zoning administrator was notified must be noted on the application form.

Subp. 2. Unlicensed residences. When the local agency has reasonable cause to believe a residence required to be licensed under parts 9555.6105 to 9555.6265 is operating without a license, the local agency must verify the home's license status following the procedures in items A and B.

A. The local agency shall verify the home's license status within five working days. If the operator is not licensed to operate an adult foster home, the local agency shall contact the person providing adult foster care in the residence and tell the person of the licensing requirements in Minnesota Statutes, sections 245.781 to 245.812 and parts 9555.5105 and

> Approved by Revisor _

[REVISOR] SEQ/MM AR0951

1 9555.6105 to 9555.6265.

If no application is made to obtain a license 2 в. within 30 days after the operator is told of the licensure 3 requirements, the city or county attorney for the local agency 4 with jurisdiction to bring misdemeanor charges shall be notified 5 by the local agency. The operator of a residence required to be 6 licensed under parts 9555.5105 and 9555.6105 to 9555.6265 that 7 is operating without a license is subject to misdemeanor 8 prosecution and injunction under Minnesota Statutes, section 9 10 245.803.

A complaint concerning violations of parts 11 C. 9555.6105 to 9555.6265 shall be investigated by the local agency 12 13 within 14 working days of receipt, except complaints concerning abuse or neglect, which shall be investigated in accordance with 14 parts 9555.7100 to 9555.7700. Substantiated complaints about an 15 operator licensed under parts 9555.5105 and 9555.6105 to 16 9555.6265 shall be recorded in the record on the residence in 17 part 9555-6155 9555.5515. 18

19 9555.5505 LOCAL AGENCY ORIENTATION AND TRAINING ROLE.
20 Subpart 1. Local agency role. The local agency shall
21 ensure that:

the operator and caregivers comply with the 22 Α. orientation and training requirements in part 9555.6185; and 23 the orientation and training in part 9555.6185 is 24 в. available within the county or within 50 miles of the adult 25 foster home at times convenient to foster home operators. 26 Subp. 2. Orientation. The local agency shall provide 27 three hours of orientation to a foster home operator and 28 caregivers prior to the placement of the first resident 29 following initial licensure. The orientation training must 30 include training on requirements of the Vulnerable Adults Act 31 contained in Minnesota Statutes, section 626.557; parts 32 9555.8000 to 9555.8500; and the general provisions of parts 33 9555.5105, and 9555.6105 to 9555.6265. 34

Approved by Revisor

8

Subp. 3. Information. The local agency shall identify

02/17/87 [REVISOR] SEQ/MM AR0951 sources of training that meet the standards in part 9555.6185 l and notify the operator of a licensed residence in the county at 2 3 least once a year of the training opportunities available. 9555.5515 RECORD ON THE RESIDENCE. 4 5 A record for the residence licensed as an adult foster home shall be maintained by the commissioner and contain: 6 7 A. a copy of the completed licensing application form signed by the applicant and the representative of the 8 9 commissioner, as specified in part 9555.6115, subpart 1; 10 B. the physician's reports on caregivers and 11 household members specified in part 9555.6125 if the operator is 12 an individual; 13 C. the initial and subsequent inspection report from 14 the fire marshal specified in part 9555.6125 and the subsequent home safety checklists; 15 16 D. any written inspection reports from a health 17 authority or building official; E. the commissioner's initial and any renewal 18 19 licensing studies and inspections; 20 F. any comments of the operator or provider about the 21 licensing studies and inspections; 22 G. written references from at least three persons who 23 know about the applicant's potential to operate an adult foster home. If the applicant has been licensed through another 24 25 jurisdiction, the local agency shall also request and keep a 26 reference from the licensing authority in that jurisdiction; 27 H. a list of residents currently in the residence; 28 I. a list of residents who have been in the residence in the past five years; 29 J. documentation of any variances to parts 9555.6105 30 to 9555.6265; 31 32 K. arrest, conviction, and criminal history records 33 on the operator, caregivers, and household members; 34 L. if the operator is a partnership, corporation, or governmental unit, the information required in part 9555.6125, 35

02/17/87 [REVISOR] SEQ/MM AR0951 subpart 3, item C, subitems (1), (2), (3), (6), and (7); 1 M. a copy of the commissioner approved, written adult 2 3 foster home program required in part 9555.6235; N. a record of any substantiated complaints of abuse 4 and neglect as defined in Minnesota Statutes, section 626.557 5 and any corrective action taken under parts 9555.7100 to 6 9555.7700; and 7 O. a copy of the facility abuse prevention plan 8 required under the Vulnerable Adults Act. 9 9555.5605 ASSESSMENT. 10 Subpart 1. Assessment. A social worker from the local 11 agency or service agency of the county of financial 12 responsibility shall ensure that a person seeking adult foster 13 14 home placement has an assessment to determine the person's need for adult foster care. 15 A. An adult who has or may have a diagnosis of mental 16 17 retardation or a related condition shall be assessed under part 9525.0065. 18 B. An adult requesting adult foster care services 19 under parts 9550.0010 to 9550.0092 shall be assessed under item 20 D and part 9550.0090. 21 C. An assessment performed under Minnesota Statutes, 22 section 256B.091 shall satisfy the provisions of item D. 23 D. An assessment coordinated by a social worker and 24 25 review of any information gathered from professionals must be made of the adult's: 26 (1) ability to manage activities of daily living; 27 (2) physical health, including impairments of 28 mobility, sight, hearing, and speech; 29 (3) intellectual functioning and mental health, 30 including impairments of judgment, behavior, capacity to 31 recognize reality, or ability to cope with the ordinary demands 32 of life; 33 (4) need for supervision; 34 (5) need for protection; 35

> Approved by Revisor

[REVISOR] SEQ/MM AR0951

1	(6) need for assistance in safeguarding cash
2	resources;
3	(7) need for medication assistance;
4	(8) employability and vocational skills;
5	(9) need for family and community involvement;
6	and
7	(10) need for community, social, or health
8	servi ce s.
9	Subp. 2. Mobility access assessment. Before placement, or
10	after placement if the local agency has reasonable cause to
11	believe a mobility access, seizure, or disability problem has
12	developed, the social worker shall determine, in consultation
13	with the prospective resident and the resident's representative
14	and any other person knowledgeable about the resident's needs,
15	whether accessibility aides or modifications to the residence
16	are needed. The need for accessibility aides or modifications
17	to the residence shall be determined for persons with regular
18	seizures or physical disabilities using an accessibility
19	checklist approved by the commissioner in consultation with
20	persons knowledgeable about the accessibility and mobility needs

21 of the resident and persons knowledgeable about accessibility 22 modifications to residential occupancies. A person confined to 23 a wheelchair must be housed on a level with an exit directly to 24 grade.

25 Subp. 3. Placement standards. A person shall be 26 appropriate for adult foster home placement if the person:

27

28

B. is functionally impaired;

A. is an adult;

C. has requested, or the adult's legal representative
has requested, foster care placement;

31 D. has demonstrated a need for foster care based on 32 the assessment in subpart 1;

E. does not require continuous medical care or treatment in a facility licensed for acute care under chapter 4640; and

36 F. has been approved for placement under parts

Approved by Revisor

[REVISOR] SEQ/MM AR0951

02/17/87

1 9525.0015 to 9525.0145, if the adult has mental retardation or a
2 related condition.

3 Subp. 4. Placement and consumer choice. A person who is 4 appropriate for adult foster home placement, and the person's 5 legal representative must be allowed to choose among between the 6 homes that the social worker determines would meet the person's 7 foster care needs.

Subp. 5. Matching. When referring the adult seeking 8 foster care to a licensed adult foster home, the social worker 9 shall match the licensing study information and the capacity of 10 the adult foster home program developed by the operator under 11 part 9555.6235 with the assessed needs of the functionally 12 impaired adult determined under part 9555.5605, subparts 1 and 2. 13 Subp. 6. Preplacement visit. The social worker shall 14 arrange for the functionally impaired adult to visit the 15 prospective adult foster home before placement, except in cases 16 of emergency placement or placement for less than 30 consecutive 17 days. Before placement, the following shall be discussed with 18 the operator: 19

A. the needs of the functionally impaired adult as
determined by the assessment in part 9555.5605, subparts 1 and 2;
B. the foster care that must be provided by the
operator to the adult seeking placement;

C. the adult's need for additional community health and social services and the operator's responsibility in assisting with provision of or access to those services; and D. the financial arrangements to pay for the adult foster care.

29 9555.5705 PROVISION OF ADULT FOSTER CARE SERVICES TO RESIDENTS30 OF ADULT FOSTER HOMES.

31 Subpart 1. Adult foster care service. When the county 32 board elects to provide adult foster care services under parts 33 9550.0010 to 9550.0092, the county board shall offer adult 34 foster care services to the residents or prospective residents 35 of an adult foster home. Adult foster care services may be

> Approved by Revisor _

[REVISOR] SEQ/MM AR0951

1 provided directly by the county of financial responsibility, or 2 by the service agency under a written agreement with the county 3 of financial responsibility, or by another agency under contract 4 to the county of financial responsibility.

5 Subp. 2. Development of individual resident placement 6 agreement. If the resident or prospective resident requests and 7 receives adult foster care services, then the service agency shall develop, and the resident, resident's legal 8 9 representative, and the operator shall agree on and sign an individual resident placement agreement as defined in part 10 11 9555.5105, subpart 19. The agreement must be signed within 30 12 days of placement and be coordinated with the adult's individual service plan as defined in part 9555.5105, subpart 18. 13 The 14 service agency shall give a copy of the individual service plan to the operator. If the resident is appropriate for adult 15 foster home placement and does not require adult foster care 16 services under parts 9550.0010 to 9550.0092, the individual 17 resident placement agreement shall be developed by the operator, 18 19 resident, and resident's legal representative under part 20 9555.6167.

Subp. 3. Placement review for residents with an individual service plan. The service agency assigned to a resident in an adult foster home with an individual service plan must:

A. visit the resident and operator within 30 days of
placement to confirm the appropriateness of the placement;
B. provide consultation services to the operator in

27 meeting the resident's assessed needs;

28 C. provide a telephone number where caregivers and 29 the resident or resident's legal representative may call for 30 emergency social service assistance 24 hours a day; and

D. assist in developing the individual abuse prevention plan for the resident under parts 9555.7100 to 33 9555.7700.

34 9555.6105 APPLICABILITY AND PURPOSE.

35 Parts 9555.5105 and 9555.6105 to 9555.6265, as authorized

13

Approved

by Revisor

[REVISOR] SEQ/MM AR0951

by Minnesota Statutes, sections 245.781 to 245.812, govern the licensure of the operator of an adult foster home. The purpose of parts 9555.5105 and 9555.6105 to 9555.6265 is to establish procedures and standards for licensure and operation of an adult foster home so minimum levels of care are provided and the health, safety, and rights of residents are assured.

7 9555.6115 LICENSE APPLICATION PROCESS.

8 A license to operate an adult foster home must be obtained 9 from the department under items A to E.

10 A. Application for a license must be made on the 11 application form issued by the department and must be made in 12 the county where the adult foster home is located.

B. The applicant must be the individual or the authorized representative of the partnership, corporation, or government unit that will be the operator of the adult foster home.

17 C. Separate licenses are required for residences 18 located at separate addresses, even if the residences are to be 19 operated by the same operator.

D. An application for licensure is complete when the 20 commissioner determines that the department forms and 21 22 documentation needed for licensure, the inspection, zoning, evaluation, and investigative reports, documentation and 23 information required to verify compliance with parts 9555.5105 24 25 and 9555.6105 to 9555.6265 have been submitted by the applicant. The commissioner shall stamp and date a signed and 26 completed department application form on the date of receipt. 27

28 9555.6125 LICENSING STUDY.

Subpart 1. Access to residence. The applicant shall give the commissioner access to the residence to determine compliance with parts 9555.5105 and 9555.6105 to 9555.6265. Access shall include the residence to be occupied as an adult foster home; any adjoining land or buildings owned or operated by the applicant or operator in conjunction with the provision of adult foster care and designated for use by a resident;

> Approved by Revisor

[REVISOR] SEQ/MM AR0951

1 noninterference in interviewing caregivers, roomers, or
2 household members; and the right to view and photocopy the
3 records and documents specified in parts 9555.6235 and
4 9555.6245. The commissioner shall have access to the residence
5 at any time during the period of licensure to determine whether
6 the operator is in compliance with parts 9555.5105 and 9555.6105
7 to 9555.6265.

8 Subp. 2. Inspections. The residence must be inspected by a fire marshal within 12 months before initial licensure to 9 verify that the residence is a dwelling unit within a 10 residential occupancy as defined in section 9.117 of the 11 Minnesota Uniform Fire Code and that the residence complies with 12 the fire safety standards for that residential occupancy 13 14 contained in the Minnesota Uniform Fire Code. A home safety 15 checklist, approved by the commissioner, must be completed by the operator and the commissioner before licensure each year a 16 fire marshal inspection is not made. The residence shall be 17 inspected according to the licensed capacity specified on the 18 initial application form. If the commissioner has reasonable 19 cause to believe that a potentially hazardous condition may be 20 21 present or the licensed capacity is increased to four residents, the commissioner shall request a subsequent inspection and 22 written report by a fire marshal to verify the absence of 23 24 hazard. Any condition cited by a fire marshal, building official, or health authority as hazardous or creating an 25 immediate danger of fire or threat to health and safety must be 26 27 corrected before a license is issued or renewed by the department. 28

29 Subp. 3. Study of applicant. A study of the applicant 30 shall be conducted by the commissioner under items A to D.

A. The applicant shall provide the commissioner with a completed, signed form as required by Minnesota Statutes, section 245.783, subdivision 3, for the disclosure of arrest, conviction, and criminal history records for each caregiver, household member over the age of $\frac{12}{12}$, and each owner, partner, board member, and employee who will be involved in the operation

> Approved by Revisor _

[REVISOR] SEQ/MM AR0951

02/17/87

of the adult foster home. The form must disclose the person's 1 full name and all previous or additional names, date of birth, 2 the specific nature of information to be disclosed, who will 3 receive the information, and who will disclose it. 4 The commissioner shall seek the assistance of the Minnesota Bureau 5 of Criminal Apprehension, the county attorney, and sheriff or 6 7 chief of police in the locality where the person resides in determining the person's arrest, conviction, or criminal history 8 record. If the person has not resided in the state for five 9 10 years, the form shall also be sent to a national criminal history repository. In the case of a household member who is 11 nine years of age but under the age of 14, the commissioner 12 13 shall ascertain from the local court of jurisdiction whether the juvenile has been adjudicated as a delinquent for any of the 14 acts specified in subpart 4, items D and E. 15 16 B. The applicant who is an individual shall provide social history information to the commissioner about 17 each caregiver-and household member. "Social history 18 information" means information on education; employment; 19 financial condition; military service; marital 20 21 history; strengths and weaknesses of household relationships; mental illness; chemical dependency; hospitalizations; 22 involuntary terminations of parental rights; the use of mental 23 retardation services; felony, gross misdemeanor or misdemeanor 24 convictions, arrests or admissions; and substantiated reports of 25 neglect or abuse. 26 If the applicant is an authorized representative C. 27 of a partnership, corporation, or governmental unit, the 28 applicant shall make available and maintain the following 29 30 information: 31 (1) the names and addresses of the owners and board members; 32 (2) the name, address, and physical health report 33 34 of the employees who are involved in the operation of the adult 35 foster home: (3) an organization chart; 36

16

Approved

by Revisor

[REVISOR] SEQ/MM AR0951

1 (4) personnel policies; 2 (5) the personnel records of persons in subitem (2) and verification that they comply with the qualifications in 3 subpart 4; 4 5 (6) job descriptions of persons in subitem (2); and 6 7 (7) the staffing pattern to be used in the adult foster home. 8 9 D. The applicant shall provide the commissioner with the names of three persons not related to the applicant who can 10 11 supply information about the applicant's ability to operate an 12 adult foster home. Subp. 4. Qualifications. Operators, caregivers, and 13 14 household members must meet the qualifications in items A to H. Operators and caregivers must be adults. 15 Α. в. Household members and caregivers must be free of 16 17 reportable communicable disease as named in parts 4605.7000 to 4605.7800. With the exception of caregivers providing less than 18 19 30 days of care per year, the household member and caregiver must provide the commissioner with a physician's statement 20 showing the absence of reportable communicable disease and any 21 physical condition that would prevent the caregiver from being 22 able to provide foster care to a resident. The physician's 23 report must be based on an examination of the individual within 24 25 the 12 months before application for licensure. Caregivers shall provide the commissioner with a physician's report at 26 least once every five years after initial licensure. 27 28 Operators, caregivers, and household members must С. agree to disclose the arrest, conviction, and criminal history 29 information specified in subpart 3. 30 31 D. Operators, caregivers, and household members must not have a conviction of, adjudication of delinquency for, have 32 33 admitted to, or there be substantial evidence as determined by the local agency or department indicating abuse or neglect as 34 those terms are defined in Minnesota Statutes, sections 626.556 35 36 and 626.557 or assault as defined in Minnesota Statutes, Approved

17

by Revisor _

[REVISOR] SEQ/MM AR0951 02/17/87 sections 609.221 to 609.235, 609.322 to 609.342, 609.343, 1 609.344, or 609.345. 2 3 E. Operators, caregivers, and household members must not be awaiting trial for or have a conviction of, adjudication 4 of delinquency for, or admission of any crime listed in 5 Minnesota Statutes, sections 152.09, 152.096, 152.097, 609.185 6 to 609.345, 609.365, 609.377, 609.378, 609.52, 609.521, 609.525, 7 609.53, 609.54, 609.551, 609.561 to 609.563, 609.582, 609.59, 8 609.625, 609.63, 609.687, 609.71, 609.713, 609.821, 617.23, 9 617.246, other than those listed in item D, or the same or 10 similar crime listed in the laws of another state or of the 11 12 United States or of another country. F. Caregivers must not have had parental rights 13 terminated under Minnesota Statutes, section 260.221, paragraph 14 (b), within the past five years. 15 G. Operators and caregivers must not have a diagnosis 16 of mental retardation or a related condition and be receiving 17 services under parts 9525.0015 to 9525.0145. 18 Caregivers and household members must not have a 19 н. mental illness or condition as diagnosed by a psychiatrist or 20 licensed psychologist that has documented behaviors that the 21 commissioner determines would jeopardize the health, rights, or 22 safety of residents. Past history of a mental illness or 23 condition may be considered. "Mental illness" means the 24 inability-to-interpret-reality-realistically-and-the-impaired 25 functioning-in an organic disorder of the brain or a clinically 26 significant disorder of thought, mood, perception, orientation, 27 memory, or behavior that is listed in the clinical manual of the 28 International Classification of Diseases (ICD-9-CM), Ninth 29 Revision (1980), code range 290.0 to 302.99 or 306.0 to 316.0 or 30 the corresponding code in the American Psychiatric Association's 31 Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM-III), 32 Third Edition (1980), Axes I, II, or III, and that seriously 33 limits a person's functional capacities relative to primary 34 aspects of daily living, such as personal relations, living 35 arrangements, work, and recreation. These publications are 36

> Approved by Revisor

[REVISOR] SEQ/MM AR0951

<u>incorporated by reference and are not subject to frequent</u>
 <u>change. They are available in the State Law Library, Ford</u>
 <u>Building, 117 University Avenue, St. Paul, Minnesota 55155.</u>

I. Caregivers and household members must not abuse prescription drugs or use controlled substances as named in Minnesota Statutes, chapter 152, or alcohol, to the extent that the use or abuse has or may have a negative effect on the health, rights, or safety of residents.

Subp. 5. Evaluation for cause. The commissioner may 9 require, before licensure or at any time during the licensed 10 11 term of the adult foster home, a physical, mental health, chemical dependency, or criminal history evaluation of the 12 operator, caregiver, or household member if the commissioner has 13 reasonable cause to believe that any of the qualifications or 14 requirements in items A to I have not been met or that the 15 16 operator or any caregiver cannot care for a resident. Evaluations must be conducted by a professional qualified by 17 license, certification, education, or training to perform the 18 19 specific evaluation.

Subp. 6. Zoning. At least 30 days before the initial license issuance date, the commissioner shall notify the local zoning administrator in the jurisdiction where the residence is located of the license application.

Subp. 7. Period of licensure; nontransfer. A license shall be issued by the commissioner for up to one year when the applicant complies with parts 9555.6105 to 9555.6265. A license is not transferable to another operator or residence.

Subp. 8. Provisional license. An applicant for initial 28 licensure may be granted a provisional license by the 29 commissioner for up to one year if the laws and rules cannot be 30 complied with immediately, and if the deviations from parts 31 32 9555.6105 to 9555.6265 do not threaten the health, rights, or safety of a resident. All deviations must be corrected within 33 the time specified by the commissioner but not exceeding one 34 35 year. Failure to correct deviations within the stated time shall be cause for revocation of a license or a fine or both. 3**6**

Approved by Revisor _

[REVISOR] SEQ/MM AR0951

l	Subp. 9. Variance procedure. An applicant or operator may
2	request a variance from compliance with parts 9555.5105 and
3	9555.6105 to 9555.6265. A request for a variance must comply
4	with and be handled according to the following procedures:
5	A. An applicant or operator must submit a written
6	request for a variance to the commissioner. The request must
7	include:
8	(1) the sections or parts 9555.6105 to 9555.6275
9	with which the applicant or operator cannot comply;
10	(2) the reasons why the applicant or operator
11	needs to depart from the specified sections;
12	(3) the period for which the applicant or
13	operator requests a variance; and
14	(4) the specific equivalent alternative measures
15	that the applicant or operator will provide so the health,
16	rights, and safety of residents are ensured if the variance is
17	granted.
18	B. An applicant or operator must submit to the
19	commissioner written approval from a fire marshal of the
20	alternative measures identified to ensure the safety of
21	residents when a variance of part 9555.6125, subpart 2, is
22	requested.
2 3	C. An applicant or operator must submit to the
24	commissioner written approval from a health authority of the
25	alternative measures identified to ensure the health of
26	residents when a variance of parts 9555.6225 and 9555.6215 is
27	requested.
28	Subp. 10. Variance standard. A variance may be granted if:
29	A. the variance is submitted in accordance with
30	subpart 9;
31	B. the commissioner does not have reasonable cause to
32	believe the health, rights, or safety of the residents will be
33	threatened;
34	C. the variance would not be contrary to a standard
35	required by Minnesota Statutes; and
36	D. a request for variance to subpart 4, item E, has

Approved by Revisor _

[REVISOR] SEQ/MM AR0951

clear and convincing evidence presented by the operator, 1 2 caregiver, or household member that no threat or harm whatsoever will result to the residents due to the granting of the 3 variance. The commissioner shall consider the nature of the 4 5 crime committed and amount of time which has elapsed without a repeat of the crime. 6 Subp. 11. License terms. A license, whether regular or 7 8 provisional, must show: 9 the licensed capacity of the adult foster home; Α. 10 the expiration date of the license and address of Β. the residence; 11 c. the name and address of the operator; 12 13 D. that the operator is licensed under parts 9555.5105 and 9555.6105 to 9555.6265; and 14 15 Ε. the provisional status of the license, if applicable. 16 Subp. 12. Change in license terms. The following shall 17 apply to changes in the terms of licensure: 18 19 The license issued must not be transferred to Α. 20 another operator, building, or address unless the provisions in item B are followed first. 21 22 B. The operator must notify the commissioner and the studies in part 9555.6125 must be completed: 23 24 (1) before the operator moves the residence to 25 another building or address; (2) when there is an addition of any adult or 26 27 child who is or will be a roomer, resident, household member, or 28 caregiver; 29 (3) when the operator makes structural changes to the residence that require a building permit from the local 30 jurisdiction; or 31 32 (4) before the operator changes, sells, or 33 transfers ownership or responsibility for the operation of the residence. 34 Subp. 13. License renewal. Before the expiration of a 35 36 license, the commissioner must conduct a study of the operator

> Approved by Revisor _

[REVISOR] SEQ/MM AR0951

and an inspection of the residence to determine compliance with
 parts 9555.5105 and 9555.6105 to 9555.6265 at least once every
 12 months to determine whether a new license shall be issued.

4 9555.6145 NEGATIVE LICENSING ACTIONS.

5 Subpart 1. Definition. For the purposes of this part, 6 "negative licensing action" means denial of application for 7 licensure, revocation, probation, suspension, or immediate 8 suspension of an existing license.

Subp. 2. Procedures. In accordance with Minnesota 9 Statutes, section 245.801, failure to comply with parts 10 11 9555.5105 and 9555.6105 to 9555.6265 or the terms of licensure is grounds for a negative licensing action. If the local agency 12 recommends a negative licensing action, the local agency shall 13 notify the department and the department shall determine if the 14 standards in parts 9555.5105 and 9555.6105 to 9555.6265 or the 15 terms of licensure have been violated. If the grounds are 16 sufficient, the commissioner shall follow the procedures in 17 Minnesota Statutes, section 245.801, and notify the applicant or 18 operator by certified mail, unless personal service is required 19 by subpart 7. The notice of negative licensing action must be 20 addressed to the name and location shown on the application or 21 license and contain a statement of, and the reasons for, the 22 proposed negative licensing action. The notice of negative 23 licensing action must inform the applicant or operator of the 24 right to appeal the decision. The applicant or operator shall 25 have an opportunity for a hearing under Minnesota Statutes, 26 sections 14.57 to 14.70. 27

Subp. 3. Denial. If the commissioner denies an application for licensure, the applicant must tell the commissioner of the applicant's appeal of the decision within 20 days after receipt of the notice of denial.

32 Subp. 4. Revocation, probation, or suspension. If the 33 commissioner revokes a license, makes a license probationary, or 34 suspends a license, the operator must tell the commissioner of 35 the operator's appeal of the decision within ten days after

Approved by Revisor _

[REVISOR] SEQ/MM AR0951

receipt of the notice of revocation, probation, or suspension. 1 Subp. 5. Immediate suspension. If the commissioner finds 2 that the health, safety, or rights of the residents in care are 3 4 in imminent danger, the commissioner shall immediately suspend the license and notify the local agency to remove the 5 residents. The operator shall be notified by personal service 6 7 and must tell the commissioner of the operator's appeal of the decision within five days after receipt of the notice of 8 immediate suspension. The appeal does not stay the decision of 9 10 the commissioner to immediately suspend the license.

11 Subp. 6. Correction orders and fines. If the commissioner 12 finds that the operator does not comply with parts 9555.5105 and 13 9555.6105 to 9555.6265, the commissioner shall issue a 14 correction order under Minnesota Statutes, section 245.805, and 15 the operator may be subject to a fine for each uncorrected 16 deficiency.

Subp. 7. Notice of negative licensing action. At the time 17 the commissioner notifies the operator of a proposed negative 18 licensing action, the commissioner shall notify residents and 19 residents' legal representatives of the proposed negative 20 licensing action and of the operator's right to appeal. 21 The notification procedures in Minnesota Statutes, section 626.557, 22 23 subdivision 10, paragraph (a), shall be followed in situations alleging abuse or neglect of residents. 24

Subp. 8. Reapplication after revocation. An operator whose license has been revoked shall not be granted a new license for five years following revocation and must reapply for licensure to determine current compliance with parts 9555.5105 and 9555.6105 to 9555.6265.

30 9555-6155-RECORD-ON-THE-RESIDENCE-

31 A-record-for-the-residence-licensed-as-an-adult-foster-home
32 shall-be-maintained-by-the-commissioner-and-contain:

A:--a-copy-of-the-completed-licensing-application-form signed-by-the-applicant-and-the-representative-of-the commissioner;-as-specified-in-part-9555.6115;-subpart-1;

Approved by Revisor _

[REVISOR] SEQ/MM AR0951

1	Bthe-physician's-reports-on-caregivers-and
2	household-members-specified-in-part-9555-6125-if-the-operator-is
3	an-individual;
4	Cthe-initial-and-subsequent-inspection-report-from
5	the-fire-marshal-specified-in-part-9555.6125-and-the-subsequent
6	home-safety-checklists;
7	Dany-written-inspection-reports-from-a-health
8	authority-or-building-official;
9	Ethe-commissioner's-initial-and-any-renewal
10	licensing-studies-and-inspections;
11	Fany-comments-of-the-operator-or-provider-about-the
12	licensing-studies-and-inspections;
13	Gwritten-references-from-at-least-three-persons-who
14	know-about-the-applicant's-potential-to-operate-an-adult-foster
15	homeIf-the-applicant-has-been-licensed-through-another
16	jurisdiction,-the-local-agency-shall-also-request-and-keep-a
17	reference-from-the-licensing-authority-in-that-jurisdiction;
18	Ha-list-of-residents-currently-in-the-residence;
19	Ia-list-of-residents-who-have-been-in-the-residence
20	in-the-past-five-years;
21	Jdocumentation-of-any-variances-to-parts-9555-6105
22	to-9555.6265;
23	Karrestconviction-and-criminal-history-records
24	on-the-operator,-caregivers,-and-household-members,-and
25	caregivers;
26	L if-the-operator-is-a-partnership,-corporation,-or
27	governmental-unit,-the-information-required-in-part-9555.6125,
28	subpart-3,-item-6,-subitems-(1),-(2),-(3),-(6),-and-(7);
29	Ma-copy-of-the-commissioner-approvedwritten-adult
30	foster-home-program-required-in-part-9555-6235;
31	Na-record-of-any-substantiated-complaints-of-abuse
3 2	and-neglect-as-defined-in-Minnesota-Statutes7-section-626.557
33	and-any-corrective-action-taken-under-parts-9555.7100-to
34	9555-7700;-and
35	0a-copy-of-the-facility-abuse-prevention-plan
36	required-under-the-Vulnerable-Adults-Act.

Approved _____

[REVISOR] SEQ/MM AR0951

02/17/87

1 9555.6165 CAPACITY.

2 Subpart 1. Licensed capacity. A maximum of four residents 3 may live in the adult foster home at one time.

Subp. 2. Capacity of roomers and residents. The total
number of roomers and residents in the adult foster home at one
time shall not exceed four.

7 9555.6167 INDIVIDUAL RESIDENT PLACEMENT AGREEMENT.

8 The operator shall ensure that an individual resident 9 placement agreement as defined in part 9555.5105, subpart 19, is 10 developed, signed, and on file for the resident who is not 11 receiving community social services under parts 9550.0010 to 12 9550.0092, and who does not have an individual service plan 13 developed under part 9525.0075 or 9550.0090.

14 9555.6175 COOPERATE AND REPORT TO AGENCIES.

15 Subpart 1. Cooperating with service agency. The operator 16 shall cooperate with the service agency in carrying out the 17 provisions of the individual service plan for each resident who 18 has one and in developing the individual resident placement 19 agreement.

Subp. 2. Abuse and neglect reporting. Caregivers shall immediately report any suspected abuse or neglect of a resident to the commissioner, local agency, local police, or county sheriff as required by the Vulnerable Adults Act.

Subp. 3. Reporting to local agency. The operator shall ensure that the local agency is told:

A. within five calendar days of any change in the regular membership of the household or caregiver's employment status;

B. within 24 hours after the occurrence of a fire that causes damage to the residence or requires the services of a fire department or the onset of any changes or repairs to the residence that require a building permit;

33 C. immediately after the occurrence of any serious 34 injury or death of a resident. "Serious injury" means an injury

Approved by Revisor _

02/17/87 [REVISOR] SEQ/MM AR0951 1 that is-treated requires treatment by a physician; D. within 24 hours of a change in health status of a 2 caregiver that could affect the ability of the caregiver to care 3 4 for a resident; immediately upon diagnosis by a physician or 5 E. health authority of a reportable communicable disease, as 6 7 specified in parts 4605.7000 to 4605.7800, of any resident, caregiver, or household member; 8 F. at least 30 days before the involuntary discharge 9 of a resident who does not have an individual service plan; and 10 G. within seven days after the transfer or voluntary 11 12 discharge of a resident who does not have an individual service 13 plan. Subp. 4. Reporting to service agency. The operator shall 14 15 ensure that the service agency is told: A. within five days if a resident shows a need for 16 additional community health or social services; and 17 B. at least 30 days before the involuntary discharge 18 of a resident. When a resident wants to voluntarily leave the 19 adult foster home, the operator must notify the service agency 20 within three days. In this instance, the resident's legal 21 representative, if any, shall also be notified by the service 22 23 agency. 9555.6185 FOSTER CARE TRAINING. 24 25 Subpart 1. Orientation. Operators and caregivers must complete the orientation provided by the local agency in part 26 9555.5505 prior to placement of the first resident following 27 initial licensure. 28 Subp. 2. Training requirements. In addition to the 29 orientation training, caregivers must complete the training 30

31 designed to meet the needs of the residents in care in any of 32 the subject areas and in the amount specified in subpart 4. The 33 operator must ensure that a record of training completed is 34 maintained.

26

35

A. Caregivers with zero to five years of licensure or

Approved

by Revisor _

[REVISOR] SEQ/MM AR0951 02/17/87 experience as an adult foster home caregiver must complete 12 1 hours training a year. 2 3 в. Caregivers with six or more years of licensure or experience as an adult foster home caregiver must complete six 4 5 hours training a year. C. Caregivers who provide services according to a 6 contract between the operator and the department or service must 7 comply with any additional training requirements stated in the 8 terms of the contract. 9 10 Subp. 3. Exceptions. The following persons are exempt from the training requirements in this part: 11 12 A. caregivers providing not more than 30 cumulative days of foster care in a 12-month period; and 13 14 в. caregivers providing foster care eight hours or 15 less a week. Training subjects. Training subjects shall be 16 Subp. 4. 17 selected from the following areas: 18 Α. communication skills; roles and relationships in foster care; 19 в. community services for adults; 20 с. constructive problem solving; 21 D. cultural differences; Ε. 22 basic first aid and cardiopulmonary resuscitation 23 F. 24 (CPR); 25 G. home safety; 26 H. self-esteem; 27 I. medication assistance; human sexuality; 28 J. 29 death, dying, separation, and grieving; K. 30 aging process; L. recreation and leisure time; 31 Μ. 32 N. nutrition; mental health; 33 Ο. 34 P. mental retardation; 35 0. physical disabilities; chemical dependency; 36 R.

1 abuse and neglect; s. 2 stress management; т. 3 Π. assertiveness; eating disorders; 4 v. 5 behavior problem solving; W. money management; 6 Χ. 7 data privacy; Υ. living skills training; and 8 z. 9 other areas that the local agency documents as AA. relevant to adult foster care. 10 11 9555.6195 PROHIBITIONS AGAINST ABUSE, NEGLECT, AND DISCRIMINATION. 12 Subpart 1. Protection from neglect and abuse. 13 The operator shall ensure that residents are protected from abuse 14 and neglect through compliance with the Vulnerable Adults Act 15 and parts 9555.8000 to 9555.8500. 16 Subp. 2. Nondiscrimination. Under Minnesota Statutes, 17 section 363.03, subdivision 3, the operator must comply with the 18 nondiscrimination provisions applicable to public accommodations. 19 9555.6205 PHYSICAL ENVIRONMMENT. 20 Subpart 1. Residential occupancy. The residence must meet 21 the definition of a dwelling unit in a residential occupancy and 22 be free of any plumbing, electrical, ventilation, mechanical or 23 structural hazard that would threaten the health or safety of a 24 25 resident. Subp. 2. Living room access. Each resident must have use 26 of and free access to the living room. 27 Subp. 3. Dining area. Each residence shall have a dining 28 area furnished for group eating that is simultaneously 29 accessible to residents and household members. 30 Subp. 4. Resident bedrooms. Residents must mutually 31 consent, in writing, to share a bedroom with another resident. 32 No more than two residents may share one bedroom. 33 Resident bedrooms must meet the following criteria: 34 Α. (1) A single-occupancy bedroom must have at least 35

> Approved by Revisor

[REVISOR] SEQ/MM AR0951 02/17/87 80 square feet of floor space with a 7-1/2 foot ceiling. A 1 double-occupancy room must have at least 120 square feet of 2 floor space with a 7-1/2 foot ceiling. 3 (2) Bedrooms must be separated from halls, 4 corridors, and other habitable rooms by floor-to-ceiling walls 5 containing no openings except doorways and must not serve as a 6 corridor to another room used in daily living. 7 (3) A resident's personal possessions and items 8 for the resident's own use are the only items permitted to be 9 stored in a resident's bedroom. 10 (4) When possible, a resident shall be allowed to 11 have items of furniture that he or she personally owns in the 12 bedroom, unless doing so would interfere with safety 13 precautions, violate a building or fire code, or another 14 resident's use of the bedroom. 15 B. Each resident shall be provided with the following 16 furnishings: 17 (1) A separate, adult-size single bed or larger 18 with a clean mattress in good repair. 19 (2) Clean bedding appropriate for the season for 20 each resident. 21 (3) An individual dresser and closet for storage 22 23 of personal possessions and clothing. (4) A mirror for grooming. 24 9555.6215 WATER AND FOOD. 25 Subpart 1. Water. Water from privately-owned wells must 26 be tested annually by a Minnesota Health Department-certified 27 laboratory for coliform bacteria and nitrate nitrogens to verify 28 safety. Retesting and corrective measures may be required by 29 the health authority if results exceed state water standards in 30 chapter 4720. 31 Subp. 2. Food. Food served must meet any special dietary 32 needs of a resident as prescribed by the resident's physician or 33 dietitian. Three nutritionally balanced meals a day must be 34 served or made available to residents, and nutritious snacks

> Approved by Revisor

29

[REVISOR] SEQ/MM AR0951

02/17/87

33

by the telephone;

1 must be available between meals.

2 Subp. 3. Food safety. Food must be obtained, handled, and 3 properly stored to prevent contamination, spoilage, or a threat 4 to the health of a resident.

5 9555.6225 SANITATION AND HEALTH.

6 Subpart 1. Sanitation and cleanliness. The residence must 7 be clean, as specified in part 4625.0100, subpart 2, and free 8 from accumulations of dirt, rubbish, peeling paint, vermin, or 9 insects.

10 Subp. 2. Toxic substances. Chemicals, detergents, and other toxic substances must not be stored with food products. 11 12 Subp. 3. Physical examination of resident. The operator must ensure that each resident must-be is examined by a 13 physician no more than 30 days before or within three days after 14 15 placement in the adult foster home to ensure that the resident is free of the reportable communicable diseases named in parts 16 4605.7000 to 4605.7800. Transfer records from a health care 17 facility licensed by the Department of Health may be substituted 18 for this requirement. 19

20 Subp. 4. First-aid supplies. The operator shall ensure 21 that the residence is equipped with accessible first-aid 22 supplies including bandages, sterile compresses, scissors, an 23 ice bag or cold pack, an oral or surface thermometer, mild 24 liquid soap, adhesive tape, and first-aid manual.

25 Subp. 5. Emergencies. The operator shall be prepared for 26 emergencies and ensure that:

27 A. a noncoin-operated telephone and an operable 28 flashlight is located within the residence;

B. the phone numbers of each resident's
representative, physician, and dentist are readily available;
C. phone numbers of the local fire department, police
department, and an emergency transportation service are posted

34 D. prior arrangements are made for a substitute 35 caregiver who meets the qualifications in part 9555.6125,

Approved by Revisor _

[REVISOR] SEQ/MM AR0951

1 subpart 4, to provide care during emergencies;

E. each resident is informed of a designated area within the residence where the resident shall go for cover during severe storms or tornadoes;

5 F. fire drills are conducted at least once every 6 three months;

G. a written fire escape plan and a log of quarterly
8 fire drills is on file in the residence; and

H. the fire escape plan is approved by the fire 9 marshal and specifies emergency phone numbers, a place to meet 10 outdoors for roll call, smoke detector and fire extinguisher 11 12 locations, plans for quarterly fire and tornado drill sessions, 13 and escape routes to the outside from the levels used by residents. In buildings with three or more dwelling units, 14 15 enclosed exit stairs must be indicated. There must be an emergency escape plan for each resident. 16

17 Subp. 6. Individual personal articles. Individual clean 18 bed linens, towels, and wash cloths must be available for each 19 resident.

20 Subp. 7. Pets. Pets housed within the residence shall be 21 maintained in good health. The operator shall ensure that the 22 resident and the resident's representative is notified before 23 admission of the presence of pets in the residence.

Subp. 8. Resident's medication. Caregivers may administer medication to a resident who is not capable of self-administering medication only if the operator ensures that the procedures in items A to G are followed.

A. The operator shall get a written statement from the resident's physician stating the name of the medication prescribed and whether the resident is capable of taking the medication without assistance.

32 B. The operator shall get written permission from the 33 resident or the resident's legal representative to administer 34 the medication.

35 C. A resident who is not capable of 36 self-administering the medication may be administered the

> Approved by Revisor _

[REVISOR] SEQ/MM AR0951

medication by a caregiver in accordance with the written 1 2 instructions from the resident's physician if the written permission has been obtained from the resident or the resident's 3 legal representative. A prescription label is sufficient to 4 constitute written instructions from a physician. 5 D. Each resident receiving medication assistance must 6 have a medication record containing: 7 8 (1) the information on the prescription label; 9 (2) the consequences if the medication is not taken as directed; 10 (3) the adverse reactions to the medication that 11 must be reported to the resident's physician; 12 (4) instruction from the resident's physician 13 indicating when the resident's physician must be notified if the 14 medication is not taken as prescribed; 15 16 (5) notation of when a medication is started, changed, or discontinued; and 17 (6) notation of any reports made to the 18 resident's physician whenever the resident does not take 19 medication as prescribed or there are any adverse medication 20 21 reactions. A caregiver must report to the resident's 22 Ε. 23 physician and legal representative: 24 (1) any adverse medication reaction as specified in item D, subitem (3); and 25 (2) the resident's refusal or failure to take 26 medication as prescribed and in accordance with the physician's 27 instructions in item D, subitem (4). 28 F. A caregiver must immediately report to the local 29 agency whenever the resident's physician is notified because 30 medication is not taken as prescribed and the physician 31 32 determines that the refusal or failure to take medication as prescribed creates an immediate threat to the resident's health 33 or safety or the health or safety of other residents or 34 35 household members. G. A caregiver shall not give injectable medication 36

Approved by Revisor _

record.

12

l unless:

2 (1) the caregiver is a registered nurse or licensed practical nurse with a current Minnesota license, is 3 authorized to do so in writing by the resident's physician, and 4 5 is covered by professional liability insurance; or (2) there is an agreement signed by the 6 caregiver, the resident's physician, the resident, and the 7 resident's legal representative specifying what injections may 8 be given, when, how, and that the physician shall retain 9 10 responsibility for the caregiver's giving the injections. A copy of the agreement must be placed in the resident's personal 11

13 Subp. 9. Storage of medication. Schedule II controlled 14 substances in the residence that are named in Minnesota 15 Statutes, section 152.02, subdivision 3, must be stored in a 16 locked storage area permitting access only by residents and 17 caregivers authorized to administer the medication as named in 18 subpart 8.

Subp. 10. Weapons. Weapons and ammunition must be stored separately in locked areas that are inaccessible to residents and prevent contents from being visible to residents. "Weapons" means firearms and other instruments or devices designed for and capable of producing bodily harm.

24 9555.6235 ADULT FOSTER HOME PROGRAM.

The operator shall develop and implement a commissioner-approved written plan that allows residents to share in the privileges and responsibilities of the adult foster home and includes the information in items A to C.

A. The type of functionally impaired adults to be30 served.

31 B. The foster care that will be available to 32 residents within the adult foster home including the provision 33 of:

34 (1) lodging;35 (2) food;

Approved by Revisor _

02/17/87 [REVISOR] SEQ/MM AR0951 1 (3) protection; 2 (4) personal care; (5) household and living skills assistance or 3 4 training; 5 (6) opportunities to participate in community, recreation and religious activities, and events of the 6 7 resident's choosing; 8 (7) opportunities for the resident to have 9 contact with family and friends; (8) assistance safeguarding cash resources, such 10 as banking, reporting the resident's earnings to appropriate 11 agencies, keeping records of financial information (checks 12 13 issued and received), and accounting for the resident's funds controlled by the operator; 14 15 (9) supervision; 16 (10) transportation; 17 (11) assistance with the provision of other community, social, or health services as named in the resident's 18 19 individual service plan, if any; and 20 (12) medication assistance. A program abuse prevention plan with specific 21 C. measures to be taken to minimize the risk of abuse to residents 22 23 under part 9555.8200. 9555.6245 PERSONAL RECORD OF RESIDENT IN FOSTER CARE. 24 Subpart 1. General provisions. The operator shall ensure 25 26 that an individual record is maintained in the adult foster home on each resident. 27 Subp. 2. Demographic information. The record must include 28 29 the resident's name, birthdate, sex, race, marital status, next of kin, Social Security number, medical assistance number, name, 30 address, and phone number of an emergency contact or the 31 resident's legal representative, admission date, place or 32 address from which the resident was admitted, date of leaving 33 34 the residence, and place or address to which the resident has 35 moved.

> Approved by Revisor

[REVISOR] SEQ/MM AR0951

Subp. 3. Medical information. The record must contain the
 following medical information:

A. the name, address, and phone number of the resident's physician, dentist, clinic, and other sources of medical care;

B. a health history and information on any health
risks, allergies, currently prescribed medication, and
documentation of the physical examination or transfer record
required in part 9555.6225, subpart 3;

10 C. any emergency treatment needed or provided while 11 the resident resides in the adult foster home; and 12 D. the medication record required under part 13 9555.6225, subpart 8.

14 Subp. 4. Cash resource information. The record must 15 include an accounting of any personal funds and charges against 16 those funds if the operator or a caregiver gives cash resource 17 assistance to a resident.

18 Subp. 5. Incident reports. The record must contain all 19 incident reports. Incident reports must be written when a resident requires emergency care, when a police report of an 20 21 incident involving a resident has been made, or when a complaint has been filed under the Vulnerable Adults Act. Incident 22 reports must be entered into the resident's personal record by 23 24 the provider operator within two eight hours after knowledge of 25 the occurrence.

Subp. 6. Individual abuse prevention plan. The record must contain an individual abuse prevention plan for a resident developed in compliance with part 9555.8300.

29 Subp. 7. Individual service plan. The record must contain 30 the service agency's initial and current individual service plan 31 for a resident.

32 Subp. 8. Individual resident placement agreement. The 33 record must contain the initial individual resident placement 34 agreement for a resident and the annual update of the agreement. 35 Subp. 9. Individual mobility check list. The record must 36 contain an individual mobility check list for a resident as

Approved by Revisor _

[REVISOR] SEQ/MM AR0951

1 specified in part 9555.5605, subpart 2.

2 Subp. 10. Transfer or discharge. When a resident is 3 transferred or discharged for any reason a note must be made in 4 the resident's record showing the date of discharge, forwarding 5 address, and reason for discharge or transfer.

6 Subp. 11. Record storage. The personal record on a 7 resident must be stored by the operator for four years after the 8 resident has been discharged from the residence.

9 9555.6255 RESIDENT'S RIGHTS.

Subpart 1. Information about rights. The operator shall ensure that a resident and a resident's legal representative are given, at admission:

A. an explanation and copy of the resident's rightsspecified in subparts 2 to 7;

B. a written summary of the Vulnerable Adults Actprepared by the department; and

17 C. the name, address, and telephone number of the 18 local agency to which a resident or a resident's legal 19 representative may submit an oral or written complaint.

20 Subp. 2. Right to use telephone. A resident has the right 21 to daily, private access to and use of a noncoin-operated 22 telephone for local calls and long-distance calls made collect 23 or paid for by the resident.

24 Subp. 3. **Right to receive and send mail.** A resident has 25 the right to receive and send uncensored, unopened mail.

Subp. 4. Right to privacy. A resident has the right to 26 personal privacy and privacy for visits from others, and the 27 respect of individuality and cultural identity. Privacy must be 28 respected by operators, caregivers, household members, and 29 volunteers by knocking on the door of a resident's bedroom and 30 seeking consent before entering, except in an emergency, and 31 during toileting, bathing, and other activities of personal 32 hygiene, except as needed for resident safety or assistance as 33 noted in the resident's individual record. 34

35 Subp. 5. Right to use personal property. A resident has

Approved by Revisor

[REVISOR] SEQ/MM AR0951

02/17/87

the right to keep and use personal clothing and possessions as
 space permits, unless to do so would infringe on the health,
 safety, or rights of other residents or household members.

Subp. 6. Right to associate. A resident has the right to meet with or refuse to meet with visitors and participate in activities of commercial, religious, political, and community groups without interference if the activities do not infringe on the rights of other residents or household members.

9 Subp. 7. Married residents. Married residents have the 10 right to privacy for visits by their spouses, and, if both 11 spouses are residents of the adult foster home, they have the 12 right to share a bedroom and bed.

13 9555.6265 SAFEGUARDS FOR CASH RESOURCES ENTRUSTED TO OPERATOR.
14 Subpart 1. Determination. If the social worker determines
15 that a resident needs and wants assistance safeguarding cash
16 resources, any cash resources entrusted to the operator must be
17 handled in accordance with this part.

Subp. 2. Procedures for handling cash resources. If a resident entrusts cash resources to the operator, the procedures in items A to F must be used.

A. The resident and the resident's legal representative shall be given a receipt by the operator. Receipts must be signed by the resident or the resident's legal representative.

B. The operator shall not be entrusted with cash
resources in excess of \$300 plus resources sufficient to meet
one month's cost of care.

28 C. The resident or resident's legal representative 29 shall have access to the written records involving the 30 resident's funds.

D. The operator shall provide the resident or resident's legal representative with a written quarterly accounting of financial transactions made on behalf of the resident.

35

E. Upon the death or transfer of a resident, any cash

Approved by Revisor _

[REVISOR] SEQ/MM AR0951

1 resources of the resident must be <u>surrendered to the resident or</u>
2 <u>the resident's legal representative, or</u> given to the executor or
3 administrator of the estate or;-if-none-has-been-appointed;-to
4 the-resident's-legal-representative in exchange for an itemized
5 receipt.

6

7 REPEALER. Minnesota Rules, parts 9555.5100, 9555.5200, 8 9555.5300, and 9555.5400 are repealed five days after the notice of adoption of parts 9555.5105 to 9555.5705 is published in the 9 10 State Register. Minnesota Rules, parts 9555.6100, 9555.6200, 11 9555.6300, and 9555.6400 are repealed five days after the notice of adoption of parts 9555.6105 to 9555.6265 is published in the 12 State Register, except as parts 9555.6100 to 9555.6400 apply to 13 14 operators of adult foster homes providing care and approved by the county board under part 9555.6400 on the date of adoption of 15 16 parts 9555.6105 to 9555.6265. As to the operators of those adult foster homes, parts 9555.6100, 9555.6200, 9555.6300, and 17 9555.6400 are repealed one year after the notice of adoption of 18 parts 9555.6105 to 9555.6265 is published in the State Register. 19 20

21 EFFECTIVE DATE. Minnesota Rules, parts 9555.5105 to 22 9555.6265 take effect five days after the notice of adoption is published in the State Register, except for the operators of 23 24 those adult foster homes providing care and approved by a county 25 welfare board under part 9555.6400 on that date. As to the operators of those adult foster homes, parts 9555.6105 to 26 9555.6265 take effect six months after the notice of adoption is 27 published in the State Register or on the day after an 28 operator's current period of approval under part 9555.6400 29 expires, whichever is later. 30