1 Department of Commerce

2

- 3 Adopted Rules Relating to Real Estate Broker Licensing and
- 4 Education

5

- 6 Rules as Adopted
- 7 2800.0100 DEFINITIONS.
- 8 Subpart 1. Scope. For the purposes of this chapter, the
- 9 terms defined in this part have the meanings given them.
- 10 Subp. 2. to 12. [Unchanged.]
- 11 Subp. 13. Sponsor. "Sponsor" means a person offering or
- 12 providing real estate education.
- 13 Subp. 14. [Unchanged.]
- 14 2800.1300 LICENSE.
- 15 Subpart 1. [Unchanged.]
- Subp. 2. Cancellation of salesperson's or broker's
- 17 license. A salesperson's or broker's license that has been
- 18 canceled for failure of a licensee to complete postlicensing
- 19 education requirements must be returned to the commissioner by
- 20 the licensee's broker within ten days of receipt of notice of
- 21 cancellation. The license shall be reinstated without
- 22 reexamination by completing the required instruction, filing an
- 23 application, and paying the fee for a salesperson's or broker's
- 24 license within two years of the cancellation date.
- Subp. 3. [Unchanged.]
- 26 2800.1600 NOTICE TO COMMISSIONER.
- 27 Subpart 1. [See Repealer.]
- 28 Subp. 2. Change of application information. The
- 29 commissioner must be notified in writing of a change of
- 30 information contained in the license application on file with
- 31 the commissioner within ten days of the change.
- 32 Subp. 3. to 5. [See Repealer.]
- 33 2800.1700 AUTOMATIC TRANSFER OF SALESPERSON'S LICENSE.
- 34 Subpart 1. Scope. A salesperson may utilize the automatic

APPROVED IN THE REVISOR OF STATUTES

- 1 license transfer provisions of Minnesota Statutes, section
- 2 82.20, subdivision 9, clause (b) if the salesperson commences
- 3 association with the broker to whom the salesperson is
- 4 transferring, as evidenced by the dates of the signatures of
- 5 both brokers on the form prescribed by the commissioner, within
- 6 five days after terminating the salesperson's association with
- 7 the broker from whom the salesperson is transferring, provided
- 8 the salesperson's educational requirements are not past due.
- 9 A salesperson may not utilize the automatic license
- 10 transfer provisions of Minnesota Statutes, section 82.20,
- 11 subdivision 9, clause (b) if the salesperson has failed to
- 12 notify the commissioner within ten days of any change of
- 13 information contained in the salesperson's license application
- 14 on file with the commissioner or of a civil judgment,
- 15 disciplinary action, or criminal offense, which notice is
- 16 required pursuant to part 2800.1600.
- 17 Subp. 2. Procedure. An application for automatic transfer
- 18 shall be made only on the form prescribed by the commissioner.
- 19 The transfer is ineffective if the form is not completed in its
- 20 entirety.
- The form shall be accompanied by a \$10 transfer fee, and
- 22 the license renewal fee, if applicable, plus an additional \$10
- 23 if the salesperson holds a subdivided land license. Cash will
- 24 not be accepted. If the licensee holds a subdivided land
- 25 license it must be transferred at the same time as the
- 26 salesperson's license. In order for the transfer of the
- 27 subdivided land license to be effective the broker to whom the
- 28 salesperson is transferring must also hold a subdivided land
- 29 license.
- The signature of the broker from whom the salesperson is
- 31 transferring must predate the signature of the broker to whom
- 32 the salesperson is transferring. The salesperson is unlicensed
- 33 for the period of time between the times and dates of both
- 34 signatures. The broker from whom the salesperson is
- 35 transferring shall sign and date the transfer application upon
- 36 the request of the salesperson and shall destroy the

- 1 salesperson's license immediately.
- Subp. 3. Effective date.
- 3 A. The transfer is effective when the broker to whom
- 4 the salesperson is transferring signs and dates the transfer
- 5 application form, provided the commissioner receives the form
- 6 and fee within 72 hours after the date and time of the new
- 7 broker's signature, either by certified mail or personal
- 8 delivery to the commissioner's office. In the event of a delay
- 9 in mail delivery, an application postmarked within 24 hours of
- 10 the date of the signature of the new broker shall be deemed
- 11 timely received. The properly executed automatic transfer form
- 12 serves as a temporary real estate license for no more than 45
- 13 days.
- B. and C. [Unchanged.]
- 15 2800.1750 REAL ESTATE SALESPERSON AUTOMATIC TRANSFER.
- 16 The real estate salesperson automatic transfer shall be in
- 17 the form prescribed by the commissioner.
- 18 2800.1751 INDIVIDUAL APPOINTMENT OF ATTORNEY FOR SERVICE OF
- 19 PROCESS.
- 20 STATE OF MINNESOTA
- 21 DEPARTMENT OF COMMERCE
- 22 LICENSING UNIT
- 5th Floor, Metro Square Bldg.
- 24 Seventh and Robert Streets
- St. Paul, Minnesota 55101
- 26 INDIVIDUAL APPOINTMENT OF ATTORNEY FOR SERVICE OF PROCESS
- 27 KNOW ALL PERSONS BY THESE PRESENTS:
- That in compliance with the Laws of the State of Minnesota,
- 29
- 30 non-resident, does hereby appoint the Commissioner of Commerce
- 31 of the State of Minnesota, his/her successor or successors as
- 32 his/her true and lawful attorney upon whom may be served all
- 33 legal process in any action or proceeding in which he/she may be
- 34 a party and which relates to or involves any transaction covered
- 35 by Chapter 82, Minnesota Statutes, and does hereby expressly

1	consent and agree that service upon such attorney shall be as		
2	valid and binding as if due and personal service had been made		
3	upon him/her and that such appointment shall be irrevocable.		
4	IN WITNESS WHEREOF, I have hereunto set my hand this		
5	, day of, 19		
6 7			
8 9			
10 11	CTATE OF		
12	STATE OF) SS.		
14	COUNTY OF) On this day of,		
15	19, personally appeared before me, a notary public in and		
16	for said County and State,, to		
17	me known to be the person described in and who executed the		
18	foregoing instrument and who, being by me first sworn,		
19	acknowledged that he/she executed the same as his/her free act		
20	and deed.		
21 2 2			
23 24	Notary Public, County		
25	(NOTARIAL SEAL) My Commission expires		
26	2800.1900 FAILURE TO RENEW LICENSE.		
27	If a license lapses or becomes ineffective due to the		
28	licensee's failure to file a timely renewal application or		
29	otherwise, the commissioner may institute a revocation or		
30	suspension proceeding within two years after the license was		
31	last effective and enter a revocation or suspension order as of		
32	the last date on which the license was in effect.		
3 ³	2800.2100 COURSE COMPLETION CERTIFICATES FOR SALESPERSON'S		
34	LICENSE.		
35	Applicants for a salesperson's license shall submit to the		
36	commissioner, along with their application for licensure, a copy		
37	of the course completion certificate for courses I, II, and III.		
38	Students are responsible for maintaining copies of course		
39	completion certificates.		
10	2800.2150 COURSE COMPLETION CERTIFICATE.		
11	The real estate education course completion certificate APPROVED IN THE		

- 1 shall be in the form set forth by the commissioner.
- 2 2800.4200 NEGOTIATIONS.
- 3 Subpart 1. to 5. [Unchanged.]
- 4 Subp. 6. Exclusive agency agreements. A licensee shall
- 5 not negotiate the sale, exchange, lease, or listing of any real
- 6 property directly with the owner or lessor knowing that the
- 7 owner or lessor has executed a written contract granting
- 8 exclusive agency in connection with the property to another real
- 9 estate broker, buyer, or lessee nor shall a licensee negotiate
- 10 the purchase, lease, or exchange knowing that the buyer or
- 11 lessee has executed a written contract granting an exclusive
- 12 agency for the purchase, lease, or exchange of real property to
- 13 another real estate broker. The licensee must inquire of the
- 14 owner, lessor, buyer, or lessee whether such a contract exists.
- Subp. 7. Prohibition against interference with contractual
- 16 relationships of others. Licensees shall not induce any party
- 17 to a contract of sale, purchase, or lease, option, or exclusive
- 18 listing agreement or buyer's agreement, to breach the contract,
- 19 option, or agreement.
- Subp. 8. [Unchanged.]
- 21 2800.5100 PRELICENSE EDUCATION.
- An approved course of prelicense education shall consist of
- 23 three 30-classroom-hour courses to be designated as course I,
- 24 course II, and course III. Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes,
- 25 section 82.22, subdivision 6, each applicant for a salesperson's
- 26 license or salesperson is required to complete all courses
- 27 successfully. Courses I, II, and III must be taken in sequence
- 28 and may not be taken concurrently.
- 29 2800.5200 SALESPERSON'S EXAMINATION.
- 30 Applicants must successfully complete all portions of the
- 31 salesperson's examination within one year after the successful
- 32 completion of course I. After this date, credit for course I
- 33 will expire and successful completion of the first 30-hour
- 34 course must be repeated before taking the salesperson's

- l examination.
- 2 An exception will be made for students pursuing a full-time
- 3 course of study in either a two-year or four-year real estate
- 4 education program. The burden of demonstrating full-time status
- 5 is on the student. Applicants must successfully complete the
- 6 salesperson's examination within one year after the successful
- 7 completion of the two-year or four-year course of study.
- 8 2800.5300 APPLICATION FOR SALESPERSON'S LICENSE.
- 9 Applicants must apply for a salesperson's license within
- 10 one year of successful completion of all portions of the
- ll licensing examination. Courses II and III must be completed
- 12 prior to application. Applicants who fail to apply for a
- 13 license within the one-year period must retake course I and
- 14 successfully complete the examination.
- 15 2800.5400 POSTLICENSING EDUCATION.
- Thirty hours of approved continuing education must be
- 17 completed within one year after obtaining a salesperson's
- 18 license.
- 19 2800.5600 LIMITATIONS ON COURSE SUBSTITUTIONS.
- No course may be substituted for course I. Written
- 21 requests for substitutions for courses II and III shall be
- 22 granted if the request is submitted no later than 30 days prior
- 23 to the date upon which that education is due to be completed, if:
- A. [Unchanged.]
- B. the salesperson demonstrates successful completion
- 26 of a course that is substantially similar to course II or III.
- 27 2800.5900 COMPLETION OF INITIAL EDUCATION.
- 28 Successful completion of courses I, II, and III includes
- 29 full-time classroom attendance throughout the course, completion
- 30 of required assignments or reading materials if applicable, and
- 31 passage of an examination designed by the sponsor that is
- 32 sufficiently comprehensive to measure the student's knowledge of
- 33 all aspects of the course.

- 1 2800.6500 COURSE III CURRICULUM.
- 2 Subpart 1. to 9. [Unchanged.]
- 3 Subp. 10. Combination course. A combination course shall
- 4 consist of no more than three of the preceding nine subparts and
- 5 shall devote at least ten hours to each subject. A sponsor that
- 6 proposes to offer a combination course III shall submit to the
- 7 commissioner, as part of the application for approval, an
- 8 outline setting forth the subjects to be addressed and the
- 9 number of hours proposed to be devoted to each topic.
- 10 2800.6800 CONTINUING EDUCATION.
- Subpart 1. [Unchanged.]
- 12 Subp. 2. and 3. [See Repealer.]
- 13 Subp. 4. Examinations. Course examinations will not be
- 14 required for continuing education courses unless they are
- 15 required by the sponsor or the licensee elects to take course
- 16 III for continuing education credit.
- 17 Subp. 5. and 6. [Unchanged.]
- 18 Subp. 7. Nonapproved courses for continuing education.
- 19 The following are not approved courses:
- A. a course which is approved for prelicense training;
- 21 B. courses designed to prepare students for a license
- 22 examination;
- C. courses in mechanical office or business skills,
- 24 including typing, speed reading, or use of calculators or other
- 25 machines or equipment;
- D. courses in sales promotion, including meetings
- 27 held in conjunction with the general business of the licensee;
- E. courses in motivation, salesmanship, psychology,
- 29 time management, or communication; or
- F. courses related to office management or intended
- 31 to improve the operation of the licensee's business.
- 32 Subp. 8. Continuing education credit for course III.
- 33 Licensees may attend or teach course III for continuing
- 34 education credit. Credit will be given for less than the entire
- 35 course III only for combination courses offered pursuant to part

- 1 2800.6400, subpart 10. Credit will be given only for attendance
- 2 at segments of the combination course III which completely cover
- 3 a subject. An examination will be required only if the licensee
- 4 takes the entire combination course or if the sponsor requires a
- 5 separate examination for each subject covered.
- 6 Subp. 9. [Unchanged.]
- 7 Subp. 10. Professional designations. Courses leading to
- 8 the following professional designations shall automatically
- 9 qualify for continuing education credit:
- 10 A. Certified Property Manager (CPM) offered by the
- 11 Institute of Real Estate Management.
- B. Member, Appraisal Institute (MAI) offered by the
- 13 American Institute of Real Estate Appraisers.
- 14 C. Certified Commercial Investment Member (CCIM)
- 15 offered by the Realtors National Marketing Insitute.
- D. Society of Industrial Realtors (SIR) offered by
- 17 the Society of Industrial Realtors.
- 18 E. Certified Mortgage Banker (CMB) offered by the
- 19 Mortgage Bankers Association.
- 20 F. Senior Real Property Appraiser (SRPA) offered by
- 21 the Society of Real Estate Appraisers.
- G. Accredited Farm and Land Member (AFLM) offered by
- 23 the Realtors Land Institute.
- 24 H. Certified Real Estate Broker (CRB) offered by the
- 25 National Association of Realtors.
- I. Certified Residential Specialist (CRS) offered by
- 27 the National Association of Realtors.
- 28 2800.7150 APPLICATION FOR COURSE APPROVAL FOR COURSES I, II, AND
- 29 III.
- The real estate education application for course approval
- 31 for courses I, II, and III shall be in the form prescribed by
- 32 the commissioner.
- 33 2800.7175 APPLICATION FOR COURSE APPROVAL FOR CONTINUING
- 34 EDUCATION.
- The real estate education application for course approval

- 1 for continuing education shall be in the form prescribed by the
- 2 commissioner.
- 3 2800.7200 COURSE APPROVAL.
- 4 Subpart 1. [Unchanged.]
- 5 Subp. 2. Permitted course offerings. Courses complying
- 6 with Minnesota Statutes, chapter 82 and the rules adopted
- 7 thereunder may be offered or sponsored by sponsors.
- 8 Coordinators must immediately notify the commissioner of
- 9 any material change in an application for approval or in the
- 10 exhibits attached to it.
- 11 Subp. 3. [See Repealer.]
- 12 Subp. 4. Applications. Applications for course approval
- 13 will be accepted on forms prescribed by the commissioner no
- 14 later than 30 days prior to the course offering.
- Subp. 5. [See Repealer.]
- Subp. 6. Subsequent offerings of courses. Approval shall
- 17 be granted for subsequent offerings of identical continuing
- 18 education courses without requiring a new application if a
- 19 notice of subsequent offerings, on the form prescribed by the
- 20 commissioner, is filed with the commissioner at least 30 days in
- 21 advance of the date the course is to be held.
- 22 Subsequent offerings of identical courses I, II, and III do
- 23 not require the approval of or notice to the commissioner.
- 24 2800.7250 NOTICE OF SUBSEQUENT OFFERINGS OF CONTINUING EDUCATION
- 25 COURSES.
- The real estate education notice of subsequent offerings of
- 27 continuing education courses shall be in the form prescribed by
- 28 the commissioner.
- 29 2800.7400 COURSE COORDINATOR.
- 30 Subpart 1. Mandatory. Each course of study shall have one
- 31 coordinator, approved by the commissioner, who is responsible
- 32 for supervising the program and assuring compliance with
- 33 Minnesota Statutes, chapter 82 and the rules adopted
- 34 thereunder. Sponsors may engage an additional approved

- coordinator in order to assist the coordinator or to act as a
- substitute for the coordinator in the event of an emergency or 2
- illness. 3
- 4 Subp. 2. [Unchanged.]
- Form for coordinator approval. Application for 5 Subp. 3.
- approval must be submitted on the form prescribed by the 6
- 7 commissioner.
- Subp. 4. Responsibilities. A coordinator shall be 8
- responsible for: 9
- [Unchanged.] 10 A. to E.
- F. maintaining records relating to course offerings, -11
- 12 instructors, and student attendance for a period of three years
- 13 from the date on which the course was completed; these records
- shall be made available to the commissioner upon request (In the 14
- event that a sponsor should cease operation for any reason, the 15
- coordinator shall be responsible for maintaining the records or 16
- providing a custodian for the records acceptable to the 17
- commissioner. Under no circumstances will the commissioner act 18
- 19 as custodian of the records. In order to be acceptable to the
- commissioner, custodians must agree to make copies of 20
- 21 acknowledgements available to students at a reasonable fee);
- 22 G. [Unchanged.]
- 23 attending workshops or instructional programs as
- reasonably required by the commissioner; and 24
- 25 providing students with course completion
- 26 certificates for courses I, II, and III, and continuing
- 27 education courses.
- 28 2800.7450 APPLICATION FOR COORDINATOR APPROVAL.
- 29 The real estate education application for coordinator
- 30 approval shall be in the form prescribed by the commissioner.
- 31 2800.7500 INSTRUCTORS.
- 32 Subpart 1. [Unchanged.]
- 33 Subp. 2. Qualifications. The following provisions relate
- 34 to the approval and qualification of instructors:
- 35 Applicants shall submit requests for instructor APPROVED IN THE REVISOR OF STATUTES OFFICE BY:

- 1 approval on the form prescribed by the commissioner for courses
- 2 I, II, and III and the form prescribed by the commissioner for
- 3 continuing education courses. Requests must be submitted at
- 4 least 30 days prior to instruction in an approved course.
- 5 B. Applicants for Courses I, II and III shall be
- 6 approved if they have the education and/or experience
- 7 requirements set forth in part 2800.9905.
- 8 C. and D. [Unchanged.]
- 9 Subp. 3. [Unchanged.]
- 10 2800.7550 APPLICATION FOR INSTRUCTOR APPROVAL FOR COURSES I, II,
- 11 III.
- 12 The real estate education application for instructor
- 13 approval for courses I, II, and III shall be in the form
- 14 prescribed by the commissioner.
- 15 2800.7575 APPLICATION FOR INSTRUCTOR APPROVAL FOR CONTINUING
- 16 EDUCATION.
- 17 The real estate education application for instructor
- 18 approval for continuing education shall be in the form
- 19 prescribed by the commissioner.
- 20 2800.7600 PROHIBITED PRACTICES FOR COORDINATORS AND INSTRUCTORS.
- 21 Subpart 1. Prohibitions. In connection with an approved
- 22 course, coordinators and instructors shall not:
- 23 A. recommend or promote the services or practices of
- 24 any particular real estate brokerage, franchise, coordinator,
- 25 instructor, or sponsor;
- B. and C. [Unchanged.]
- D. require students to participate in other programs
- 28 or services offered by the sponsor, coordinator, or instructor;
- E. to G. [Unchanged.]
- 30 Subp. 2. and 3. [Unchanged.]
- 31 2800.7900 FEES.
- Fees for approved courses and related materials shall be
- 33 reasonable and clearly identified to students. In the event
- 34 that a course is canceled for any reason, all fees shall be

- 1 returned promptly. In the event that a course is postponed for
- 2 any reason, students shall be given the choice of attending the
- 3 course at a later date or of having their fees refunded in
- 4 full. If a student is unable to attend a course or cancels his
- 5 or her registration in a course, sponsor policies regarding
- 6 refunds shall govern.
- 7 2800,8100 CONFLICT OF INTEREST.
- 8 A course will not be approved if it is sponsored by a
- 9 person who derives substantial income from the real estate
- 10 brokerage business.
- 11 2800.8300 ADVERTISING COURSES.
- 12 Subpart 1. [Unchanged.]
- Subp. 2. Approval statement. No advertisement, pamphlet,
- 14 circular, or other similar materials pertaining to an approved
- 15 offering may be circulated or distributed in this state unless
- 16 one of the following statements is prominently displayed:
- 17 For prelicense education courses, "This course has been
- 18 approved by the Minnesota commissioner of commerce for real
- 19 estate prelicense education."
- 20 For continuing education courses, "This course has been
- 21 approved by the Minnesota commissioner of commerce for real
- 22 estate continuing education."
- The preceding language need not be displayed on the cover
- 24 of any out-of-state offering advertisement; however, it is the
- 25 responsibility of the sponsor to provide students with evidence
- 26 that the course has been approved.
- 27 Subp. 3. [Unchanged.]
- Subp. 4. Limitation on advertising. Courses may not be
- 29 advertised prior to approval, unless the course is described in
- 30 the advertising as "approval pending" and that is in fact the
- 31 case.
- 32 2800.8400 NOTICE TO STUDENTS.
- At the beginning of each approved offering, the following
- 34 notice shall be handed out in printed form or shall be read to

- 1 students: "This real estate educational offering is recognized
- 2 by the commissioner of commerce as satisfying _____ hours of
- 3 credit toward (choose one, or more, of
- 4 the following as is appropriate: prelicensing, postlicensing,
- 5 or continuing) real estate education requirements pursuant to
- 6 Minnesota Statutes, section 82.22. If you have any comments
- 7 about this real estate offering, please mail them to the
- 8 Commissioner of Commerce, 500 Metro Square Building, Saint Paul,
- 9 Minnesota 55101."
- 10 2800.8500 AUDITS.
- 11 The commissioner reserves the right to audit subject
- 12 offerings with or without notice to the sponsor.
- 13 2800.8700 REPORTS TO COMMISSIONER.
- 14 Continuing education credits shall be reported by the
- 15 licensee on the form prescribed by the commissioner.
- 16 Forms will not be accepted unless they reflect all the
- 17 required hours. Incomplete forms will be returned to the
- 18 licensee.
- 19 Forms must be received by the commissioner no later than
- 20 June 30 of the year due. Forms that are postmarked no later
- 21 than June 15 shall be deemed timely received if addressed to:
- 22 Licensing Unit, 500 Metro Square Building, Saint Paul, Minnesota
- 23 55101 . Licensees are encouraged to submit the form as soon as
- 24 they have completed the required hours of continuing education
- 25 credit.
- 26 2800.8750 CONTINUING EDUCATION COURSE VERIFICATION.
- The real estate education continuing education course
- 28 verification shall be in the form prescribed by the commissioner.
- 29 2800.9905 QUALIFICATIONS FOR INSTRUCTORS.
- 30 Applicants seeking approval as instructors of courses I,
- 31 II, and III must possess the following qualifications:
- A. a four-year real estate degree;
- B. a four-year degree with three years full-time
- 34 experience in the real estate industry;

- C. a four-year degree with three years full-time
- 2 experience in the business or profession relating to the subject
- 3 being taught;
- D. a post-graduate degree and completion of 45 hours
- 5 of continuing real estate education;
- 6 E. a two-year real estate degree and completion of 45
- 7 hours of continuing real estate education;
- F. a two-year degree or certificate with five years
- 9 full-time experience in the real estate industry;
- G. a degree or certificate with five years full-time
- ll experience in the business or profession relating to the subject
- 12 being taught; or
- 13 H. eight years of recent experience in the subject
- 14 area being taught.
- 15 2805.0100 DEFINITIONS.
- 16 Subpart 1. Scope. For the purposes of this chapter, the
- 17 terms defined in this part have the meanings given them.
- 18 Subp. 2. Commissioner. "Commissioner" means the
- 19 commissioner of commerce.
- 20 Subp. 3. Licensee. "Licensee" means a person duly
- 21 licensed under Minnesota Statutes, chapter 82.
- Subp. 4. Loan broker. "Loan broker" means a licensed real
- 23 estate broker or salesperson who, for another and for a
- 24 commission, fee, or other valuable consideration or with the
- 25 intention or expectation of receiving the same, directly or
- 26 indirectly negotiates or offers or attempts to negotiate a loan
- 27 secured or to be secured by a mortgage or other encumbrance on
- 28 real estate, or represents himself or herself or otherwise holds
- 29 himself or herself out as a licensed real estate broker or
- 30 salesperson, either in connection with any transaction in which
- 31 he or she directly or indirectly negotiates or offers or
- 32 attempts to negotiate a loan, or in connection with the conduct
- 33 of his or her ordinary business activities as a loan broker.
- "Loan broker" does not include a licensed real estate
- 35 broker or salesperson who, in the course of representing a

- 1 purchaser or seller of real estate, incidentally assists the
- 2 purchaser or seller in obtaining financing for the real property
- 3 in question if the licensee does not receive a separate
- 4 commission, fee, or other valuable consideration for this
- 5 service.
- 6 Subp. 5. Overpayment. "Overpayment" means any payment of
- 7 money in excess of a statutory fee or for a license for which a
- 8 person does not qualify.
- 9 Subp. 6. Override clause. "Override clause" means a
- 10 provision in a listing agreement or similar instrument allowing
- 11 the broker to receive a commission when, after the listing
- 12 agreement has expired, the property is sold to persons with whom
- 13 a broker or salesperson had negotiated or exhibited the property
- 14 prior to the expiration of the listing agreement.
- Subp. 7. Person. "Person" means a natural person, firm,
- 16 institution, partnership, corporation, or association.
- 17 Subp. 8. Primary broker. "Primary broker" means the
- 18 broker on whose behalf salespersons are licensed to act pursuant
- 19 to Minnesota Statutes, section 82.20, subdivision 6. In the
- 20 case of a corporation licensed as a broker, "primary broker"
- 21 means each officer of the corporation who is individually
- 22 licensed to act as a broker for the corporation. In the case of
- 23 a partnership, "primary broker" means each partner licensed to
- 24 act as a broker for the partnership.
- 25 Subp. 9. Property. "Property" means real property or
- 26 other property within the scope of Minnesota Statutes, chapter
- 27 82, unless the context clearly indicates otherwise.
- Subp. 10. Protective list. "Protective list" means the
- 29 written list of names and addresses of prospective purchasers
- 30 with whom a licensee has negotiated the sale or rental of the
- 31 property or to whom a licensee has exhibited the property prior
- 32 to the expiration of the listing agreement. For the purposes of
- 33 this subpart, "property" means the property that is the subject
- 34 of the listing agreement in question.
- 35 Subp. 11. Real estate broker or broker. "Real estate
- 36 broker" or "broker" as set forth in Minnesota Statutes, section

- 1 82.17, subdivision 4, clause (b) shall not apply to the
- 2 originating, making, processing, selling, or servicing of a loan
- 3 in connection with ordinary business activities by a mortgagee,
- 4 lender, or servicer approved or certified by the secretary of
- 5 housing and urban development, or approved or certified by the
- 6 administrator of veterans affairs, or approved or certified by
- 7 the administrator of the farmers home administration, or
- 8 approved or certified by the federal home loan mortgage
- 9 corporation, or approved or certified by the federal national
- 10 mortgage association.
- 11 Subp. 12. Rental service. "Rental service" means a person-
- 12 who gathers and catalogs information concerning apartments or
- 13 other units of real estate available for rent, and who, for a
- 14 fee, provides information intended to meet the individual needs
- 15 of specifically identified lessors or prospective lessees. This
- 16 term shall not apply to newspapers or other periodicals with a
- 17 general circulation or individual listing contracts between an
- 18 owner or lessor of property and a licensee.
- 19 Subp. 13. Sponsor. "Sponsor" means a person offering or
- 20 providing real estate education.
- 21 Subp. 14. Business of financial planning. "Business of
- 22 financial planning" means providing, or offering to provide,
- 23 financial planning services or financial counseling or advice,
- 24 on a group or individual basis. A person who, on
- 25 advertisements, cards, signs, circulars, letterheads, or in any
- 26 other manner, indicates that he or she is a "financial planner,"
- 27 "financial counselor," financial advisor," "investment
- 28 counselor," "estate planner," "investment advisor," "financial
- 29 consultant," or any other similar designation or title or
- 30 combination thereof, is considered to be representing himself or
- 31 herself to be engaged in the business of financial planning.
- 32 2805.0200 SCOPE OF APPLICATION.
- Prior rules exclusively govern all suits, actions,
- 34 prosecutions, or proceedings that are pending or may be
- 35 initiated on the basis of facts or circumstances occurring

- 1 before the effective date of these rules. Judicial review of
- 2 all administrative orders issued prior to the effective date of
- 3 these rules as to which review proceedings have not been
- 4 instituted by the effective date of these rules is governed by
- 5 prior rules.
- 6 2805.0300 COMPUTATION OF TIME.
- 7 Subpart 1. Days. Where the performance or doing of any
- 8 act, duty, matter, payment, or thing is ordered or directed, and
- 9 the period of time or duration for the performance or doing
- 10 thereof is prescribed and fixed by law, rule, or order, such
- 11 time, except as otherwise provided in subpart 2, shall be
- 12 computed so as to exclude the first and include the last day of
- 13 any such prescribed or fixed period or duration of time. When
- 14 the last day of such period falls on Sunday or on any day made a
- 15 legal holiday, by the laws of this state or of the United
- 16 States, such day shall be omitted from the computation.
- 17 Subp. 2. Months. When the lapse of a number of months
- 18 before or after a certain day is required by law, rule, or
- 19 order, the number of months shall be computed by counting the
- 20 months from such day, excluding the calendar month in which such
- 21 day occurs, and including the day of the month in the last month
- 22 so counted having the same numerical order as the day of the
- 23 month from which the computation is made, unless there be not so
- 24 many days in the last month so counted, in which case the period
- 25 computed shall expire with the last day of the month so counted.
- 26 2805.0400 NOTICE TO COMMISSIONER.
- 27 Subpart 1. Mandatory. Licensees shall notify the
- 28 commissioner of the facts in subparts 2 to 4.
- 29 Subp. 2. Civil judgment. Licensees must notify the
- 30 commissioner in writing within ten days of a final adverse
- 31 decision or order of a court, whether or not the decision or
- 32 order is appealed, regarding any proceeding in which the
- 33 licensee was named as a defendant, and which alleged fraud,
- 34 misrepresentation, or the conversion of funds, if the final
- 35 adverse decision relates to the allegations of fraud,

- 1 misrepresentation, or the conversion of funds.
- 2 Subp. 3. Disciplinary action. The licensee must notify
- 3 the commissioner in writing within ten days of the suspension or
- 4 revocation of the licensee's real estate or other occupational
- 5 license issued by this state or another jurisdiction.
- 6 Subp. 4. Criminal offense. The licensee must notify the
- 7 commissioner in writing within ten days if the licensee is
- 8 charged with, adjudged guilty of, or enters a plea of guilty or
- 9 nolo contendere to a charge of any felony, or of any gross
- 10 misdemeanor alleging fraud, misrepresentation, conversion of
- 11 funds, or a similar violation of any real estate licensing law.

12

- 13 RENUMBERING. Renumber the parts in column A as the parts
- 14 in column B.

15	Column A	Column B
16	2800.3100	2805.0500
17	2800.3200	2805.0600
18	2800.3300	2805.0700
19	2800.3400	2805.0800
20	2800.3500	2805.0900
21	2800.3600	2805.1000
22	2800.3700	2805.1100
23	2800.3800	2805.1200
24	2800.3900	2805.1300
25	2800.4000	2805.1400
26	2800.4100	2805.1500
27	2800.4200	2805.1600
28	2800.4300	2805.1700
29	2800.4400	2805.1800
30	2800.4500	2805.1900
31	2800.4600	2805.2000

32

- REPEALER. Minnesota Rules, parts 2800.1600, subparts 1, 3,
- 34 4, and 5; 2800.2175; 2800.5500; 2800.6800, subparts 2 and 3;
- 35 2800.7200, subparts 3 and 5; 2800.9910; 2800.9915; 2800.9920;
- 36 2800.9925; 2800.9930; 2800.9935; 2800.9940; 2800.9945;

1 2800.9950; and 2800.9955 are repealed.