2/21/85

Department of Revenue 1 Alcohol, Tobacco and Special Taxes 2 3 4 Adopted Rules Relating to Solid Waste; Metropolitan Area 5 **Operators'** Fees 6 7 Rules as Adopted 8 9 METROPOLITAN SOLID WASTE LANDFILL FEE 8121.0100 SCOPE; PURPOSE. 10 Parts 8121.0100 to 8121.0500 govern the administration of 11 the fee imposed upon operators accepting and disposing of solid 12 waste at mixed municipal solid waste disposal facilities in the 13 metropolitan area under Minnesota Statutes, sections 473.842 and 14 15 473.843. 16 8121.0200 DEFINITIONS. 17 The terms in parts 8121.0100 to 8121.0500 have the meanings given in the rules of the Pollution Control Agency and in 18 Minnesota Statutes, chapters 115A, 116, 290, and 473. Terms of 19 special significance to these parts are: 20 21 "Solid waste" is as defined in Minnesota Statutes, Α. section 116.06, subdivision 10. 22 23 в. "Previous month" means a calendar month, however, an operator may elect to designate an alternate period of time 24 not to exceed 31 days. 25 26 C. "Commissioner" means the commissioner of revenue. 27 D. "Rolloffs" means the common solid waste 28 industry-wide standard applied to an-open-top, a movable container capable of being temporarily attached to a truck 29 30 chassis, used primarily for transporting solid waste to a 31 landfill or disposal site. These-vehicles-are-known-to-the industry-as-"noncompactor"-vehicles. 32 33 8121.0300 DETERMINATION OF FEE. 34 Subpart 1. Amount. The fee due from an operator of a 35 mixed municipal solid waste disposal facility in the

APPROVED IN THE REVISOR OF STATUTES OFFICE BY:

2/21/85

1 metropolitan area on solid waste accepted for disposal is 50
2 cents per cubic yard of solid waste accepted for disposal. If
3 the waste accepted is weighed, the fee due is 50 cents per 600
4 pounds.

5 Subp. 2. Basis for calculation. An operator of a facility 6 that weighs waste may allow haulers to elect the method to be 7 used for calculation of the fee on the haulers' vehicles.

8 A hauler making the election is to do so annually, prior to 9 January 1, by notifying the landfill operator of the method for 10 calculation of the fee to be used.

Haulers may elect a method to apply to the entire fleet or the election may be done on a vehicle by vehicle basis.

13 All invoices must indicate the method selected for the 14 vehicles identified on the invoice.

The commissioner will approve identifiers to be attached to all vehicles which will allow the operator to easily detemine the basis for calculation of the fee.

18 If an election is not made by January 1, an operator will 19 calculate the fee based on the weight-of-the-undesignated 20 vehicle same basis as the tipping fee is calculated.

21 On or before February 1 of each year, operators shall 22 submit to the commissioner the list of elections made by all 23 haulers.

Subp. 3. Exception. Upon request of a hauler, the landfill operator may calculate the fee for rolloffs on a load by load basis. Each invoice is to reflect the basis for the calculation of the fee. The tipping fee and state fee are to be calculated on the same basis.

29 8121.0400 REPORTING REQUIREMENTS.

30 Subpart 1. Returns; payment of fee. A return, on a form designed by the commissioner, must be submitted by all operators 31 to the commissioner no later than the 20th day of the following 32 month. Payment of the fee due must accompany the return. 33 Α mixed municipal solid waste facility may use an accounting 34 period other than a calendar month but only after receiving, THE 35 SEVISOR OF STATUTES approval from the commissioner. 36 OFFIGE BY:

2/21/85

Failure to file the return or pay the fee due is subject to the penalties in Minnesota Statutes, sections 290.46, 290.47, and 290.53. The operator shall maintain records sufficient to document the information required on the returns. All records must be maintained for four years.

6 Records required to be maintained include bills, receipts, 7 invoices, cash register tapes, other documents or original entry 8 supporting the entries in the books of account, and all 9 schedules and working papers used in preparation of the tax 10 report.

11 Original records are required unless prior approval has 12 been obtained from the commissioner to use microfilm. Approval 13 will be given after all aspects of the microfilming process have been inspected by the commissioner. Electronic data processing 14 15 records must provide a method of producing visible and legible 16 records from the machine. Machine sensible records are to be 17 maintained in the same manner as printed records and are to verify the taxpayers' liabilities. In addition, all electronic 18 19 data processing accounting systems must provide:

20

Α.

21

B. an identifiable audit trail;

22 C. the capability of tracing any transaction back to 23 the original source or forward to a final total;

a general ledger with source references;

D. adequate record retention facilities for thestorage of all supporting documents;

E. a general description of the electronic data processing system to include programming technique, codes, glossary, abbreviations used, standard operating procedures, control procedures, change log, and operator instructions.

30 Subp. 2. Invoices. In addition to the requirements in 31 subpart 1, every operator of a facility shall prepare an 32 invoice, in duplicate, for each individual shipment of solid 33 waste received and accepted at the facility. Each invoice must 34 include the following: the customer's name and address, weight 35 of the waste in pounds if the fee is calculated on weight or 36 volume of the waste in cubic yards, and a means of vehicle

2/21/85

1 identification that will establish the amount of waste delivered 2 to the landfill by each vehicle when a customer operates more 3 than one vehicle for the purpose of hauling and disposing of 4 waste. The duplicate copy of the invoice must be retained at 5 the disposal facility, or otherwise be available from the 6 operator, for not less than 18 months.

7 The amount of the fee charged, if any, must be shown 8 separately on each invoice, except that when a customer receives 9 a periodic billing statement, the statement must separately show 10 the total amount of solid waste fee due, as well as the number 11 of cubic yards or the pound equivalent received at the facility 12 by each vehicle of the customer during the billing period.

For customers with multiple vehicles hauling, the operator may modify the above requirement by issuing a statement when the customer is billed.

16 For nonrepetitive single vehicle customers or for loads 17 containing less than three cubic yards, the invoice does not 18 need to show the customer's name and address.

19 If an operator has a flat disposal fee policy for certain 20 vehicles or loads, the state fee assessed is 50 cents for 21 automobiles and \$1.50 for pickup trucks, trailers, and other 22 vehicles containing three cubic yards or less.

23 8121.0500 EXEMPTIONS.

Subpart 1. Energy and resource recovery facilities. Facilities seeking exemption must apply to the commissioner before solid waste is taken to a mixed municipal solid waste disposal facility.

In order for an energy and resource recovery facility to qualify for this exemption, the energy and resource recovery facility shall make application to the commissioner, providing the commissioner with records showing volume of waste received, amount of recycled product, and the amount of disposal solid waste residue.

When the commissioner has approved the exemption of an energy and resource recovery facility in consultation with the Pollution Control Agency, the energy and resource recovery APPROVED IN THE REVISOR OF STATUTES OFFICE BY:

2/21/85

facility shall present to the operator of a mixed municipal
 solid waste disposal facility a statement of exemption
 requesting the 50 percent reduction. The statement must be on a
 form designed by the commissioner.

5 The statement of exemption must be signed and dated by the 6 operator and attached to the report upon which the exemption is 7 taken. The exemption must be claimed on the report for the 8 month that it is allowed to the energy and resource recovery 9 facility.

10 Subp. 2. Metalcasting facilities. For the period January 11 1, 1985, to December 31, 1987, nonhazardous solid waste from 12 metalcasting facilities are not taxable if a statement of 13 exemption is presented to the operator at the time the waste is 14 brought to the facility. The form will be designed by the 15 commissioner. The operator shall sign and date the statement of 16 exemption and attach it to the operator's monthly report.

Subp. 3. Operating waste. When solid waste that is 17 accepted at a mixed municipal solid waste facility is not 18 disposed of in the body of the facility, but is to be used in 19 the operation of the facility, for-example,-daily-or-final 20 21 cover,-lining-material,-and-road-bed, the solid waste may be 22 exempt from the amount of fee charged. The generator of waste qualifying for this exemption must first obtain approval of the 23 Minnesota Pollution Control Agency as to the suitability of the 24 material for the intended use. 25

Upon receipt of authorization for the exemption from the Pollution Control Agency, the commissioner will provide the generator with an appropriate statement of exemption. The commissioner may revoke an exemption upon a finding that the use of the material is not consistent with the use for which the exemption was granted.

> APPROVED IN THE PEVISOR OF STATUTES OFFICE BY: