- 1 Department of Public Safety
- 2
- 3 Adopted Rules Governing Motor Vehicle Accident Prevention
- 4 Courses

5

- 6 Rules as Adopted
- 7 7411.7100 PURPOSE.
- 8 The purpose of parts 7411.7100 to 7411.7700 is to
- 9 effectuate the mandate of the legislature as set forth in
- 10 Minnesota Statutes, section 65B.28, to establish and regulate
- 11 accident prevention courses for persons 65 years of age and
- 12 older.
- 13 7411.7200 SCOPE.
- 14 The scope of parts 7411.7100 to 7411.7700 is confined to
- 15 and consistent with Minnesota Statutes, section 65B.28.
- 16 7411.7300 DEFINITIONS.
- 17 Subpart 1. Scope. The terms used in parts 7411.7100 to
- 18 7411.7700 have the meanings given them in this part.
- 19 Subp. 2. Certificate. "Certificate" means a course
- 20 completion certification.
- 21 Subp. 3. Commissioner. "Commissioner" means the
- 22 commissioner of the Department of Public Safety.
- Subp. 4. Satisfactorily complete. "Satisfactorily
- 24 complete" means attendance at all periods of the course offered.
- 25 7411.7400 APPLICATION TO PROVIDE COURSE.
- A person or organization may apply for approval to offer an
- 27 accident prevention course to insureds 65 years of age and
- 28 older. The application must include the name of the person or
- 29 organization offering the course, the name of the course
- 30 administrator, an outline of the course curriculum, and the
- 31 amount of the fees to be charged.
- 32 7411.7500 APPLICATION APPROVAL.
- 33 Subpart 1. When application received. Upon receiving an
- 34 application from a person or an organization for the approval of APPROVED IN THE

- 1 an accident prevention course, the commissioner shall review the
- 2 information submitted, determine approval, and if approved,
- 3 issue a certificate of approval.
- 4 Subp. 2. Approval withdrawal. With evidence that an
- approved accident prevention course is operated contrary to
- 6 Minnesota Statutes, section 65B.28 or parts 7411.7100 to
- 7 7411.7700, the commissioner shall notify the sponsoring person
- 8 or organization in writing that approval is withdrawn, whereupon
- 9 the certificate of approval must be returned.
- 10 7411.7600 REQUIREMENTS FOR APPROVAL AND OPERATION.
- 11 Subpart 1. Certificate of approval. No accident
- 12 prevention course is approved for purposes of an automobile
- 13 insurance premium reduction if the course provider does not have
- 14 a certificate of approval issued by the commissioner under part
- 15 7411.7500, subpart 1.
- 16 Subp. 2. Operation responsibility. The operation of each
- 17 accident prevention program, including course content, methods
- 18 of instruction, and general conduct of the course, is the
- 19 responsibility of the designated course administrator.
- 20 Subp. 3. Course length restrictions. The course of study
- 21 may not be less than a total of eight hours, with no more than
- 22 three four hours of instruction required in a 24-hour period.
- 23 Subp. 4. Subjects. The curriculum of the course must
- 24 include periods of instruction in the following subject areas:
- 25 A. orientation and administration;
- 26 B. driver fitness, including emotions, frustrations,
- 27 attitudes, temporary disabilities, vision, hearing, chronic
- 28 illness, drugs, and alcohol; and
- 29 C. driving strategies, including factors affecting
- 30 perception, identification, and prediction of traffic
- 31 situations; evaluation of traffic hazards; decision making; and
- 32 defensive driving.
- 33 Subp. 5. Workshops. Each administrator or an instructor
- 34 designated by the administrator shall attend any workshop set up
- 35 by the sponsor to develop curricula, to share ideas, or to
- 36 discuss methods of improvement of the course of instruction APPROVED IN THE

- 1 Subp. 6. Recordkeeping. The administrator of each
- 2 accident prevention course shall keep attendance records and
- 3 shall report to the sponsor whether each individual enrolled has
- 4 satisfactorily completed or failed to complete the course.
- 5 Subp. 7. Certificate of completion. The administrator
- 6 shall issue a certificate of completion to each person who
- 7 satisfactorily completes the accident prevention course.
- 8 7411.7700 QUALIFICATION FOR INSURANCE PREMIUM REDUCTION.
- 9 Satisfactory completion of an approved accident prevention
- 10 course evidenced by possession of a certificate of completion
- 11 indicates that the insured has met the requirements of Minnesota
- 12 Statutes, section 65B.28 for an appropriate automobile insurance
- 13 premium reduction. Persons 65 years of age or older who
- 14 complete an accident prevention course every three years remain
- 15 eligible for an appropriate automobile insurance premium
- 16 reduction.