## 3/6/84 4 MCAR 3

[REVISOR ] RR/B. AR0311

4-2-84

L Minnes	ota Pul	olic Uti	lities	Commissi	ion

3 Adopted Rules Governing Utility Delinquency Charges

4

2

5 Rules as Adopted

6 4 MCAR S 3.0317 Definitions.

A. Scope. The terms used in 4 MCAR SS 3.0317-3.0322 have
8 the meanings given them in this rule.

B. Delinquent account amount. "Delinquent account amount" 9 means the portion of a customer's account representing charges 10 for utility service or services past due. In the case of a 11 residential customer on either a utility's budget billing plan 12 or a payment schedule under-4-MEAR-S-3-0299-G-, "delinquent 13 account amount" means the lesser of the outstanding account 14 balance or the outstanding scheduled monthly-payment payments. 15 C. Late payment charge. "Late payment charge" means the 16 allowable charge a utility may impose upon a delinquent account 17 18 amount.

D. Utility. "Utility" means a public utility as defined in
 Minnesota Statutes, section 216B.02, as modified by Minnesota
 Statutes, sections 216B.025 and 216B.026.

E. Residential customer. "Residential customer" means a 22 customer of a utility whose principal use of gas or electricity 23 is for household purposes such as lighting, cooking, water 24 heating, and space heating in space occupied as living 25 quarters. Utility service is normally supplied through a single 26 meter to a single family dwelling unit, but apartments or other 27 subdivided dwelling units may be classified as residential even 28 though several individual units take service through the same 29 30 meter.

31 4 MCAR S 3.0318 Billing terms.

A utility shall designate any late payment charge imposed on a customer as a late payment charge on that customer's bill. Other terms, including "penalties," "discounts," or "net-gross rate differentials," must not be used to indicate any charge [REVISOR ] RR/BY AR0311

1 which results from delinquent payment.

2 4 MCAR S 3.0319 Determination of delinquency.

A utility which chooses to impose a late payment charge on 4 its customers shall use two measures for determining when a 5 customer's bill is delinquent:

A. Residential customer. If a residential customer's 6 utility bill payment is not paid received by the utility by the 7 next scheduled billing date, which must be not less than 25 days 8 from the current billing date, a late payment charge may be 9 imposed. The current billing date must be no more than three 10 working days before the date of mailing of the bill by the 11 utility. The utility may print a due date on the bill which is 12 not more than five days before the next scheduled billing date. 13

B. Nonresidential customer. If a nonresidential customer's utility bill is not paid received by the utility within a grace period of not less than 15 days from the current billing date, a late payment charge may be imposed. The current billing date must be no more than three working days before the date of mailing of the bill by the utility.

4 MCAR S 3.0320 Requirements for imposing late payment charge.
Before a utility may impose a late payment charge, the
utility shall comply with the following requirements:

A. Tariffs. The utility shall file and have approved by the
commission tariffs providing for the late payment charge and
specifying the terms and conditions of the late payment charge.
<u>The filing must include substantiating documents and exhibits</u>
supporting the finance fee and grace periods proposed.

B. Bill content. The utility shall clearly indicate upon each bill the terms and conditions of the late payment charge, including the date after which the late payment charge is applied, the amount of the late payment charge after the charge is actually applied, and the monthly <u>and the annual</u> percentage rate of the late payment charge.

C. Uniformity. The utility shall administer its late
 .
 35 payment charge in a nondiscriminatory manner.

2

	3/6/84 [REVISOR ] RR/B AR0311
1	D. Implementation. Within 90 days of the effective date of
2	this rule, the utility shall comply with the tariff, bill
3	content, and uniformity requirements of AC.
4	4 MCAR S 3.0321 Amount of late payment charge.
5	A late payment charge imposed by a utility must consist-of
6	the-following-two-components be calculated as follows:
7	A. Minimum delinguent amount. The utility shall not assess
8	a late payment charge until the delinquent amount exceeds \$10.
9	B. Finance fee. The utility may impose a finance fee no
10	greater than 1-1/2 percent per month monthly billing period on
11	the delinquent account amount.
12	BCollection C. Minimum finance fee. The utility may
13	impose a collection minimum finance fee no greater than \$1.
14	4 MCAR S 3.0322 Crediting of payments.
15	The utility shall credit all payments received against the
16	oldest outstanding account balance before the application of any

17 late payment charge.