11 MOAR 1

- 1 Department of Public Safety
- 2 Bureau of Criminal Apprehension

3

- 4 Adopted Rules Governing the Possession or Ownership of Machine
- 5 Guns and Short-Barrelled Shotguns

6

- 7 Rules as Adopted
- 8 11 MCAR S 1.3060 Statutory authority.
- 9 Rules 11 MCAR SS 1.3060-1.3066 are adopted pursuant to the
- 10 authority granted to the superintendent of the Bureau of
- 11 Criminal Apprehension by Minnesota Statutes, sections 299C.03,
- 12 and 609.67.
- 13 11 MCAR S 1.3061 Definitions.
- 14 A. Applicability. For the purpose of 11 MCAR SS
- 15 1.3060-1.3066, the following terms have the meanings given them.
- B. Bureau---"Bureau"-means-the-Minnesota-Bureau-of-Criminal
- 17 Apprehension-
- 18 E.--Collector's-items,-relies,-museum-pieces-or-objects-of
- 19 curiosity, -ornaments-or-keepsakes, -and Approved machine gun or
- 20 short-barrelled shotgun. "Approved machine guns-and gun or
- 21 short-barrelled shotguns-not-likely-to-be-used-as-weapons."
- 22 collector's-items,-relics,-museum-pieces-or-objects-of
- 23 curiosity,-ornaments-or-keepsakes,-and-approved-machine-guns-and
- 24 short-barrelled-shotguns shotgun" means a machine gun or
- 25 short-barrelled shotgun that, although designed as a weapon, has
- 26 been determined by the superintendent as not likely to be used
- 27 as weapons"-means-firearms-which-have a weapon and that has been
- 28 determined by the superintendent of-the-bureau-or-his-delegate
- 29 pursuant-to-Minnesota-Statutes,-section-609-67,-subdivision-3,
- 30 elause-(3) to be-firearms-which appear on the National Firearms
- 31 Act Curios and Relics List, as provided by United States Code,
- 32 title 18, chapter 44, and as issued by the Department of the
- 33 Treasury, Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco and Firearms (Washington,
- 34 D.C.).
- 35 C. Bureau. "Bureau" means the Minnesota Bureau of Criminal

l Apprehension.

- 2 D. Report form. "Report form" means the official form
- 3 created by the bureau of-Eriminal-Apprehension on which contains
- 4 the data required-by specified in Minnesota Statutes, section
- 5 609.67, subdivision 4 is to be reported to the superintendent.
- 6 E. Superintendent. "Superintendent" means the
- 7 superintendent of the Minnesota bureau of-Criminal-Apprehension _
- 8 or his delegate.
- 9 11 MCAR S 1.3062 Procedures for reporting ownership or
- 10 possession of approved machine guns or short-barrelled shotguns.
- 11 A. Requirements. If a person owns or possesses an approved
- 12 machine gun or short-barrelled shotgun, the following procedures
- 13 must be followed.
- 14 B. Report. The-person-shall-send-to-the-superintendent-a
- 15 completed-Bureau-of-Criminal-Apprehension-report-form-indicating
- 16 the-ownership-or-possession-of-an-approved-machine-gun-or
- 17 short-barrelled-shotgun---This-form-must-be-sent Within ten days
- 18 after the-applicant a person takes possession or ownership of
- 19 the an approved machine gun or short-barrelled shotgun, the
- 20 person shall send a report form to the superintendent.
- 21 C. Fee. The reporting person shall send a \$15 nonrefundable
- 22 fee with each report form.
- 23 D.--Taking-ownership-or-possession-of-firearm.--Within-ten
- 24 days-of-taking-ownership-or-possession,-the-person-who-takes
- 25 ownership-or-possession-shall-send-the-superintendent-one-fully
- 26 completed-copy-of-the-approved-report-form-indicating-the-date
- 27 the-firearm-was-transferred-and-shall-certify-that-the-firearm
- 28 is-now-owned-or-possessed-by-the-person-making-the-report.
- 29 11 MCAR S 1.3063 Return-of-report-form Filing not accepted.
- 30 The superintendent shall return-the not accept a report
- 31 form to-the-reporting-person for filing if:
- 32 A. the reporting person misrepresents, falsifies, or fails
- 33 to complete any information on the report form; or
- 34 B. the superintendent determines that the firearm is not a
- 35 firearm-which-appears-on-the-National-Firearms-Act-Curios-and

- 1 Relies-bist,-as-specified-under-United-States-Code,-title-18,
- 2 chapter-44,-and-as-issued-by-the-Department-of-the-Treasury,
- 3 Bureau-of-Alcohol,-Tobacco-and-Firearms-(Washington,-D.C.) an
- 4 approved machine gun or short-barrelled shotgun.
- 5 C. If the superintendent refuses to accept the report form
- 6 on the grounds of A. or B., the report required by Minnesota
- 7 Statutes, section 609.67, shall be deemed not to have been made.
- 8 If the report can be corrected or completed properly, the
- 9 reporting person shall submit a new report form within ten days
- 10 after receipt of the superintendent's notice of nonacceptance. A
- ll new fee need not accompany a report form resubmitted under this
- 12 provision.
- 13 11 MCAR S 1.3064 Right to contest decision.
- 14 If the superintendent returns does not accept the report
- 15 form to-the-reporting-person, the superintendent shall notify
- 16 the reporting person in writing, specifying the reasons for
- 17 nonacceptance. That person may contest the decision of the
- 18 superintendent: in proceedings shall-be conducted pursuant to
- 19 the Administrative Procedure Act, Minnesota Statutes, sections
- 20 14.57 to 14.70, and 9-MCAR-SS-2-201-2-222 rules of the Office of
- 21 Administrative Hearings, 9 MCAR SS 2.201 to 2.222.
- 22 If-the-superintendent-refuses-to-accept-the-report-form-on
- 23 the-grounds-of-9-MCAR-S-1.3063,-the-person-attempting-to-make
- 24 the-report-required-by-Minnesota-Statutes,-section-609.67-shall
- 25 be-deemed-to-have-not-made-the-required-report.
- 26 ll-MCAR-S-1.3065-Data-privacy:
- 27 Report-forms-and-associated-documents-shall-be-filed-with
- 28 the-bureau-of-Criminal-Apprehension-and-shall-be-considered
- 29 private-data,-available-only-to-law-enforcement-officials.
- 30 11 MCAR S 1.3066 Limited protection of reporting information.
- 31 All persons possessing or owning a an approved machine gun
- 32 or a short-barrelled shotgun prior to the effective date of ll
- 33 MCAR SS 1.3060-1.3066 shall have 90 days after the effective
- 34 date of these rules to report-the-possession-or-ownership---The
- 35 information-contained-in-the file a report form submitted-to

- l with the superintendent within-90-days-of-the-effective-date-of
- 2 these-rules-shall-not-be-used-against-the-reporting-person-in
- 3 any-criminal-proceeding.