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1/6/83 [REVISOR ] PMM/CS AR0284

Department of Commerce

Commissioner of Banks

Adopted Amendments to Rules Governing the Operation of Regulated
Lenders (Formerly Small Loan Lenders) and Industrial Loan and
Thrift Companies (Chapter 3: BD 100-109 and Chapter 4: BD

120-127)
Rules as Adopted

LICENSED REGULATED LENDERS

4 MCAR S 1.0101 Maximum loan applies to multiple offices.
Licensees shall not induce or permit any borrower to become
obligated, directly or contingently, for a total amount in
excess of maximum limit stated in Minnesota Statutes, section
56.131 on loans obtained from two or more licensed offices
operated in Minnesota by the same individual, partnership,
affiliated partnership, corporation, or affiliated corporation.
Licensees shall take reasonable precautions to prevent borrowers
from obtaining amounts in excess of the maximum limit in this

manner.

4 MCAR S 1.0102 Licensees to be responsible for acts of
assignees.

A. Notification. Within ten days after the transaction
date, licensees shall notify the commissioner of banks of the
bulk purchase of loan accounts made pursuant to the Minnesota
Regulated Loan Act from another licensee or person authorized by
the Minnesota Regulated Loan Act to engage in this business
without necessity of a license and of the bulk sale of loan
accounts to another licensee or person authorized by the
Minnesota Regulated Loan Act to engage in this business without
necessity of a license. Notices of the purchase and sale of
accounts shall state the name and address of’the licensee or
person from whom accounts are being purchased, to whom accounts

are being sold, and shall state the total number of accounts and
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the total outstanding principal balances involved.

B. Disposition éf loan accounts to unlicensed persons.
Licensees shall not make a bulk sale or otherwise dispose of
loan accounts made pursuant to the Minnesota Regulated Loan Act
to any person not licensed under or authorized to engage in this
business without necessity of a license by the Minnesota
Regulated Loan Act unless prior approval is obtained from the
commissioner of banks. The privilege of receiving the charges
allowved by the Minnesota Regulated Loan Act cannot be
transferred to an unlicensed purchaser or purchaser not
authorized to engage in this business without necessity of a
license and all loans sold, assigned, or transferred to a
nonlicensee or unauthorized person shall be endorsed to bear
interest at a rate not to exceed the maximum legal contract rate
of interest. This paragraph does not apply to the transfer of
loan accounts made pursuant to the Minnesota Regulated Loan Act

which is involuntary or by operation of law.

4 MCAR S 1.0104 Transferred accounts.

The original ledger card or record of payments on any
transferred regulated loan must be retained in the transferring
licensed regulated loan office for at least two years from the

date of transfer.

4 MCAR S 1.0106 Refund of unearned interest.

The refund of unearned precomputed interest shall be
computed as of the next installment date on any regulated loan
prepaid in full by cash, a new loan, renewal, refinancing, or
otherwise if prepaid when:

1. 15 days or more have elapsed after a scheduled
installment due date in any month where the actual number of
days in the interval between the scheduled installment dates
totals 28 or 29 days; or

2. 16 days or more have elapsed after a scheduled
installment due date in any month where the actual number of
days in the interval between the scheduled installment dates

totals 30 or 31 days.
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When fewer days than described in 1. or 2. have elapsed the
refund shall be computed as of the prior due date.

INDUSTRIAL LOAN AND THRIFT COMPANIES

4 MCAR S 1.0120 Books and records.

A. General requirements. In order to facilitate a
satisfactory examination by the commissioner of banks or the
commissioner's representatives, each industrial loan and thrift
company shall maintain:

1. such books and records as are deemed necessary; and
2. a monthly trial balance as of the close of the
accounting period to be in the branch office within 25 days.

B. Additional requirements. The principal office of each
industrial loan and thrift company in this state shall maintain
the following additional books and records:

1. a consolidated monthly trial balance as of the close
of the accounting period to be in the principal office within 25
days;

2. copies of the corporate stock register;

3. copies of all corporate insurance policies and surety
bonds, as required by 4 MCAR S 1.0122;

4. copies of the minutes of all the annual, regular, and
special meetings of the board of directors and stockholders.

C. Retention period for legal instruments or records of
payments. Unless otherwise provided, all legal instruments,
supporting documents, and ledger cards or record of payments
shall be maintained in the office for at least two years after

recording the final entry on them.

Renumbering. Renumber BD 100 as 4 MCAR S 1.0100; BD 104 as 4
MCAR S 1.0103; BD 106 as 4 MCAR S 1.0105; BD 109 as 4 MCAR S
1.0107; BD 121 as 4 MCAR S 1.0121; BD 122 as 4 MCAR S 1.0122; BD

123 as 4 MCAR S 1.0123; and BD 127 as 4 MCAR S 1.0124.

Repealer. Rules BD 102, BD 108, BD 124, BD 125, and BD 126 are

repealed.
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