2/11/83

7 MCAR 5

[REVISOR] LSJ/BW AR0269

3-29-83

	•
l	Board of Nursing
2	·
3	Adopted Amendments to Rules Relating to Licensure Fees,
4	Examinations, Continuing Education for Professional Nurses and
5	Reregistration
6	
7	Rules as Adopted
.8	7 MCAR S 5.1002 Application. The application forms and
9	instructions for filing are provided by the board. The
10	application shall be submitted to the board in advance of the
11	published deadline for the desired examination date.
12	A. An application for licensure by examination from a
13	graduate of a Minnesota program shall consist of:
14	1. The notarized application form,
15	2. The recommendation from the nursing program director
16	and
17	3. The fee of \$50, effective January 1, 1983.
18	Following graduation, whether this occurs before or after
19	the examination, the applicant must also submit an affidavit of
20	graduation (notarized) and an official school transcript.
21	B. A completed application from an out-of-state graduate
22	shall consist of:
23	1. The notarized application,
24	2. The recommendation from the nursing program director,
25	3. The fee of \$50, effective January 1, 1983,
26	4. The affidavit of graduation and
27	5. The official school transcript.
28	C. The board will schedule the applicant to write the first
29	examination available after application is completed within the
30	constraints of space, expense, personnel and time.
31	7 MCAR S 5.1004 Examination and reexamination. The licensure
32	examination may be prepared by the Minnesota Board of Nursing or
33	by others delegated to do so by the Minnesota Board of Nursing.
34	A. The passing score on the Minnesota licensure examination,
35	the National Council Licensure Examination (NCLEX-RN). shall be

.

1 a scaled score of at least 1600.

B. An applicant must pass the examination in not more than
three writings within a 24 month period that begins on the date
of the first examination of the cycle.

An applicant who does not pass the examination within the 5 с. 24 month period must present evidence of remedial assistance to 6 the board prior to admission to each subsequent examination. 7 The remedial assistance must occur during the period following 8 the applicant's last examination and prior to the applicant's 9 next examination. The remedial assistance must relate to the 10 subject matter of the examination, test-taking skills or English 11 12 proficiency.

D. The fee for reexamination shall be \$25, effective January 14 1, 1983, and is required for each reexamination whether one or 15 more sections of the examination are to be rewritten at that 16 time.

17 E. Prior to the examination date each accepted applicant 18 will be sent an admission card which shall be presented by the 19 applicant for admission to the examination center.

20 7 MCAR S 5.1021 Application.

The foreign educated nurse who has been licensed in another U.S. jurisdiction after passing the same examination as administered in Minnesota shall be licensed by interstate endorsement. He or she shall submit the same application as outlined in 7 MCAR S 5.1011, with the addition of a form indicating compliance with the United States Immigration and Naturalization Act.

The foreign educated nurse who has not passed the same 28 licensure examination as administered in Minnesota shall be 29 required to write and pass all parts of the examination. 30 The completed application for such applicant shall include the 31 notarized application form, certification of licensure from the 32 foreign licensure authority, if the applicant has been licensed, 33 certification of graduation from a nursing program, official 34 transcript from the nursing program, reference from a United 35 States employer, if employed in the United States, immigration 36

[REVISOR] LSJ/BW AR0269

2/11/83

form and the fee of \$50, effective January 1, 1983. The board 1 will schedule the foreign educated nurse to write the first 2 examination available after the application is complete within 3 the constraints of space, time, expense, and personnel. 4 7 MCAR S 5.1031 Registration renewal. 5 6 A. Requirements. [Unchanged.] 1.-3. 7 4. At least one of the acceptable continuing education 8 activities required for registration renewal on or after August 9 1, 1986, shall require the licensee to show evidence that he or / 10 she successfully demonstrated to the instructor skill in 11 performing one or a portion of a professional nursing function 12 as indicated in Minnesota Statutes 1976, section 148.171, clause 13 14 (3). 5.-7. [Unchanged.] 15 16 8. In order for a continuing education activity to be acceptable to the board for registration renewal, a licensee 17 must shall be able to substantiate that each of the criteria 18 listed below has been met. 19 20 A-continuing-education-activity-that-is-approved-by-another board-of-nursing,-another-Minnesota-health-related-licensing 21 board-as-defined-in-Minnesota-Statutes,-section-214-01, 22 subdivision-27-or-a-national7-regional7-or-out-of-state-nursing 23 organization-or-an-activity-that-is-conducted-or-sponsored-by-a 24 national,-regional,-or-state-medical-organization,-is-acceptable 25 even-if-criteria-c--and-e--are-not-met-26 a.-i. [Unchanged.] 27 9.-11. [Unchanged.] 28 [Unchanged.] 29 в. 7 MCAR S 5.1033 Reregistration. 30 A. [Unchanged.] 31 32 Β. [Unchanged.] C. A nurse who has been employed as a registered nurse in 33 another state or country or in a federal facility located in 34 Minnesota for a period of two years or more immediately 35

[REVISOR] LSJ/BW AR0269

35

-

preceding application for reregistration may substitute 1 satisfactory employment references which encompass the entire 2 employment period in lieu of the continuing education report. 3 7 MCAR S 5.2002 Application. The application forms and 4 instructions for filing are provided by the board. The 5 application shall be submitted to the board in advance of the 6 published deadline for the desired examination date. 7 A. An application for licensure by examination from a 8 student or graduate of a Minnesota program shall consist of: 9 The notarized application form, 10 1. The recommendation from the nursing program director, 2. 11 12 and The fee of \$35, effective January 1, 1983. 13 3. Following graduation, whether this occurs before or after 14 the examination, the applicant must also submit an affidavit of 15 graduation (notarized) and an official transcript. 16 B. A completed application from an out-of-state graduate 17 shall consist of: 18 19 The notarized application, 1. The recommendation from the nursing program director, 20 2. The fee of \$35, effective January 1, 1983, 21 3. The affidavit of graduation, and 22 4. The official school transcript. 23 5. C. The board will schedule the applicant to write the first 24 examination available after application is completed within the 25 constraints of space, expense, personnel and time. 26 7 MCAR S 5.2003 Examination and reexamination. The licensure 27 examination may be prepared by the Minnesota Board of Nursing or 28 by others delegated to do so by the Minnesota Board of Nursing. 29 A. The passing score on the Minnesota licensure examination, 30 the National Council Licensure Examination (NCLEX-PN), shall be 31 a scaled score of at least 350. 32 B. An applicant must pass the examination in not more than 33 three writings within a 24 month period that begins on the date 34

4

of the first examination of the cycle.

An applicant who does not pass the examination within the 1 с. 24 month period must present evidence of remedial assistance to 2 the board prior to admission to each subsequent examination. 3 4 The remedial assistance must occur during the period following the applicant's last examination and prior to the applicant's 5 next examination. The remedial assistance must relate to the 6 7 subject matter of the examination, test-taking skills or English proficiency. 8

9 D. The fee for reexamination shall be \$10, effective January 10 1, 1983 and is required for each reexamination.

11 E. Prior to the examination date each accepted applicant 12 will be sent an admission card, which shall be presented by the 13 applicant for admission to the examination center.

14 7 MCAR S 5.2021 Application.

The foreign educated practical nurse who has been licensed in another U.S. jurisdiction after passing the same examination as administered in Minnesota shall be licensed by interstate endorsement. He or she shall submit the same application as outlined in 7 MCAR S 5.2011, with the addition of a form indicating compliance with the U.S. Immigration and Naturalization Act.

The foreign educated practical nurse who has not passed the 22 same licensure examination as administered in Minnesota shall be 23 required to write and pass the examination. The completed 24 application for such applicant shall include the notarized 25 application form, certification of licensure from the foreign 26 licensure authority, if the applicant has been licensed, 27 certification of graduation from a nursing program, official 28 transcript from the nursing program, reference from a United 29 States employer, if employed in the United States, the 30 immigration form and the fee of \$35, effective January 1, 1983. 31 The board will schedule the applicant to write the first 32 33 examination, available after the application is complete within the constraints of space, time, expense and personnel. 34

35 7 MCAR S 5.2030 Renewal of registration.

[REVISOR] LSJ/BW AR0269

1 A. [Unchanged.]

2 B. [Unchanged.]

3 C. [Unchanged.]

D. If a person is granted a Minnesota license within six calendar months prior to the first day of licensee's renewal period, the license fee shall serve as payment for the first renewal period.

8 7 MCAR S 5.2033 Reregistration.

9 A. The names of all nurses who do not return the renewal 10 application, renewal fees, and penalty fees by April 1 of each 11 renewal year shall be removed from the roster of persons 12 authorized to practice practical nursing during the current 13 renewal period.

B. The licensed practical nurse whose name has not been on
the registration roster for five years or more must present
evidence of competency in nursing before becoming reregistered.
Such evidence may include any of the following which occurred
within the five year period prior to the application for a
current renewal certificate:

employment as a licensed practical nurse in another
 United States jurisdiction or foreign country;

22 2. completion of no less than one week of a refresher23 course;

3. attendance at no less than 15 clock hours of
nursing-related educational offerings;

26 4. participation in an orientation program at least one
27 week in length conducted by an employer or potential employer;
28 or

29 5. such other similar evidence; and

30 6. such other evidence as the board may reasonably31 require.

32 C. The licensee whose name has not been on the registration 33 roster for less than five years will be granted reregistration 34 upon submission of a signed reregistration application and 35 payment of the renewal fee for the current period.