
9530.6565 STAFF QUALIFICATIONS.​

Subpart 1. Qualifications for all staff who have direct client contact. All staff who have​
direct client contact must be at least 18 years of age and must, at the time of hiring, document that​
they meet the requirements in item A or B.​

A. Program directors, supervisors, nurses, assessors, and any other persons who have direct​
client contact must be free of chemical use problems for at least two years immediately preceding​
hiring and must sign a statement attesting to that fact.​

B. Technicians must be free of chemical use problems for at least six months immediately​
prior to their hiring and must sign a statement attesting to that fact.​

Subp. 2. [Repealed, L 2022 c 98 art 12 s 21]​

Subp. 3. Program director qualifications. In addition to the requirements under subpart 1,​
a program director must:​

A. have at least one year of work experience in direct service to individuals with substance​
use disorders or one year of work experience in the management or administration of direct service​
to individuals with substance use disorders;​

B. have a baccalaureate degree or three years of work experience in administration or​
personnel supervision in human services; and​

C. know and understand the implications of parts 9530.6510 to 9530.6590 and Minnesota​
Statutes, chapters 245A and 260E and sections 626.557 and 626.5572.​

Subp. 4. Responsible staff person qualifications. In addition to the requirements in subpart​
1, each responsible staff person must know and understand the implications of parts 9530.6510 to​
9530.6590 and Minnesota Statutes, chapter 260E and sections 245A.65, 253B.04, 253B.051,​
626.557, and 626.5572.​

Subp. 5. Technician qualifications.​

A. In addition to the requirements in subpart 1, a technician employed by a detoxification​
program must demonstrate competency in the following areas:​

(1) knowledge of the client bill of rights found in Minnesota Statutes, section 148F.165,​
and staff responsibilities outlined in Minnesota Statutes, sections 144.651 and 253B.03;​

(2) knowledge of and ability to perform basic health screening procedures with​
intoxicated clients that consist of:​

(a) blood pressure, pulse, temperature, and respiration readings;​

(b) interviewing to obtain relevant medical history and current health complaints;​
and​

(c) visual observation of a client's health status, including monitoring a client's​
behavior as it relates to health status;​
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(3) knowledge of and ability to perform basic first aid procedures, including​
cardiopulmonary resuscitation and first aid for seizures, trauma, and loss of consciousness; and​

(4) knowledge of and ability to perform basic activities of daily living and personal​
hygiene.​

B. An individual who does not meet all the qualifications specified in this subpart may be​
hired as a technician only if the license holder has a written plan for providing competency training​
in the areas specified in item A, and the individual completes that training within 30 days of the​
date of hire.​

Subp. 6. Personal relationships. A license holder must have a written policy addressing​
personal relationships between clients and staff who have direct client contact. The policy must:​

A. prohibit direct contact between a client and a staff member if the staff member has had​
a personal relationship with the client within two years prior to the client's admission to the program;​

B. prohibit access to a client's clinical records by a staff member who has had a personal​
relationship with the client within two years prior to the client's admission, unless the client consents​
in writing; and​

C. prohibit a clinical relationship between a staff member and a client if the staff member​
has had a personal relationship with the client within two years prior to the client's admission. If a​
personal relationship exists, the staff member must report the relationship to his or her supervisor​
and recuse himself or herself from the clinical relationship with that client.​

Statutory Authority: MS s 241.021; 245A.03; 245A.09; 254A.03; 254B.03; 254B.04​
History: 29 SR 129; 32 SR 2268; L 2013 c 125 art 1 s 107​
Published Electronically: March 2, 2023​

Official Publication of the State of Minnesota​
Revisor of Statutes​

2​MINNESOTA RULES​9530.6565​


	Part 9530.6565
	Subp. 1
	Subp. 2
	Subp. 3
	Subp. 4
	Subp. 5
	Subp. 6


