9505.0235 ABORTION SERVICES.

Subpart 1. **Definition.** For purposes of this part, "abortion related services" means services provided in connection with an elective abortion except those services which would otherwise be provided in the course of a pregnancy. Examples of abortion related services include hospitalization when the abortion is performed in an inpatient setting, the use of a facility when the abortion is performed in an outpatient setting, counseling about the abortion, general and local anesthesia provided in connection with the abortion, and antibiotics provided directly after the abortion.

Medically necessary services that are not considered to be abortion related include family planning services as defined in part 9505.0280, subpart 1, history and physical examination, tests for pregnancy and venereal disease, blood tests, rubella titer, ultrasound tests, rhoGAM(TM), pap smear, and laboratory examinations for the purpose of detecting fetal abnormalities.

Treatment for infection or other complications of the abortion are covered services.

- Subp. 2. **Payment limitation.** Unless otherwise provided by law, an abortion related service provided to a recipient is eligible for medical assistance payment if the abortion meets the conditions in item A, B, or C.
- A. The abortion must be necessary to prevent the death of a pregnant woman who has given her written consent to the abortion. If the pregnant woman is physically or legally incapable of giving her written consent to the procedure, authorization for the abortion must be obtained as specified in Minnesota Statutes, section 144.343. The necessity of the abortion to prevent the death of the pregnant woman must be certified in writing by two physicians before the abortion is performed.
- B. The pregnancy is the result of criminal sexual conduct as defined in Minnesota Statutes, section 609.342, paragraphs (c) to (f). The conduct must be reported to a law enforcement agency within 48 hours after its occurrence. If the victim is physically unable to report the criminal sexual conduct within 48 hours after its occurrence, the report must be made within 48 hours after the victim becomes physically able to report the criminal sexual conduct
- C. The pregnancy is the result of incest. Before the abortion, the incest and the name of the relative allegedly committing the incest must be reported to a law enforcement agency.

Statutory Authority: MS s 256B.04

History: 12 SR 624

Published Electronically: August 12, 2008