9503.0005 DEFINITIONS.

- Subpart 1. **Scope.** The definitions in this part apply to parts 9503.0005 to 9503.0170.
- Subp. 2. **Age category.** "Age category" means the designation given a child according to the child's age. The age categories are as follows:
- A. "Infant" means a child who is at least six weeks old but less than 16 months old.
 - B. "Toddler" means a child at least 16 months old but less than 33 months old.
- C. "Preschooler" means a child who is at least 33 months old but who has not yet attended the first day of kindergarten.
- D. "School-age child" has the meaning given in Minnesota Statutes, section 245A.02, subdivision 16.

The age designation given a child may be further modified in accordance with part 9503.0040, subpart 4.

- Subp. 3. **Applicant.** "Applicant" means a person, corporation, partnership, voluntary association, or other organization that has applied for licensure under Minnesota Statutes, chapter 245A, and parts 9503.0005 to 9503.0170. The term includes license holders that have applied for a new license to continue operating a child care program after the expiration date of their current license.
- Subp. 4. **Building official.** "Building official" means a person appointed according to Minnesota Statutes, section 326B.133, to administer the State Building Code. The term includes the appointee's authorized representative.
- Subp. 5. **Center.** "Center" means a facility in which a child care program is operated when the facility is not excluded by Minnesota Statutes, section 245A.03, subdivision 2, and is not required to be licensed under parts 9502.0315 to 9502.0445 as a family or group family day care home.
 - Subp. 6. Child. "Child" means a person 12 years old or younger.
- Subp. 7. **Child care program.** "Child care program" means the systematic organization or arrangement of activities, personnel, materials, and equipment in a facility to promote the physical, intellectual, social, and emotional development of a child in the absence of the parent for a period of less than 24 hours a day.
- Subp. 8. **Child care program plan.** "Child care program plan" means the written document that states the specific activities that will be provided by the license holder to promote the physical, intellectual, social, and emotional development of the children enrolled in the center.

- Subp. 9. Clean. "Clean" means free from dirt or other contaminants that can be detected by sight, smell, or touch.
- Subp. 10. **Commissioner.** "Commissioner" means the commissioner of the Department of Human Services or the commissioner's designated representative.
- Subp. 11. **Disinfected.** "Disinfected" means treated to reduce microorganism contamination after an object has been cleaned. Disinfection must be done by rinsing or wiping with a solution of one-fourth cup chlorine bleach plus water to equal one gallon, or an equivalent product or process approved by the community health board as defined in Minnesota Statutes, section 145A.02, or its designee.
- Subp. 12. **Facility.** "Facility" means the indoor and outdoor space in which the child care program is provided.
- Subp. 13. **Fire marshal.** "Fire marshal" means the person designated by Minnesota Statutes, section 299F.011, to administer and enforce the Minnesota Uniform Fire Code. The term includes the fire marshal's authorized representative.
- Subp. 14. **Health consultant.** "Health consultant" means a physician licensed to practice medicine under Minnesota Statutes, chapter 147; a public health nurse or registered nurse licensed under Minnesota Statutes, section 148.171; or the community health board as defined in Minnesota Statutes, section 145A.02, or its designee.
- Subp. 15. **License.** "License" means a certificate issued by the commissioner authorizing the license holder to operate a child care program in a center for a specified period of time in accordance with the terms of the license, rules of the commissioner, and provisions of Minnesota Statutes, chapter 245A.
- Subp. 16. **License holder.** "License holder" means the individual, corporation, partnership, voluntary association, or other organization legally responsible for the operation of the child care program in a center that has been granted a license by the commissioner under Minnesota Statutes, chapter 245A, and parts 9503.0005 to 9503.0170.
- Subp. 17. **Licensed capacity.** "Licensed capacity" means the maximum number of children for which the license holder is licensed to operate a child care program in a center at any one time.
- Subp. 18. **Medicine.** "Medicine" means a substance used to treat disease or injuries, maintain health, heal, or relieve pain. The term applies to prescription and nonprescription substances taken internally or applied externally.
- Subp. 19. **Minnesota Uniform Fire Code.** "Minnesota Uniform Fire Code" means those codes and regulations adopted by the state fire marshal according to Minnesota Statutes, section 299F.011.

- Subp. 20. **Parent.** "Parent" means the person or persons with legal custody of the child.
- Subp. 21. **Program staff person.** "Program staff person" means a teacher, assistant teacher, or aide, whether paid or unpaid, who carries out the child care program plan in the center and has direct contact with children.
- Subp. 21a. **School-age child care program.** "School-age child care program" has the meaning given in Minnesota Statutes, section 245A.02, subdivision 17.
- Subp. 22. **Sick child.** "Sick child" means a child with a condition or illness as specified in part 9503.0080.
- Subp. 23. **Staff person.** "Staff person" means a person, whether paid or unpaid, who works in the center.
- Subp. 24. **State Building Code.** "State Building Code" means those codes and regulations adopted by the commissioner of the Department of Administration according to Minnesota Statutes, section 326B.101, and contained in chapter 1300.
- Subp. 25. **Supervision.** "Supervision" has the meaning given in Minnesota Statutes, section 245A.02, subdivision 18.
- Subp. 26. **Variance.** "Variance" means time limited written permission by the commissioner for an applicant or license holder to depart from the provisions of parts 9503.0005 to 9503.0170 if equivalent alternative measures are taken to ensure the health, safety, and rights of the children in care.

Statutory Authority: MS s 14.386; 14.388; 245A.02; 245A.09; 252.28

History: 13 SR 173; 30 SR 585; L 2007 c 140 art 4 s 61; art 13 s 4; L 2015 c 21 art 1 s 109

Published Electronically: October 2, 2015