1 MINNESOTA RULES 8840.6300

8840.6300 VARIANCE.

Subpart 1. Elements. The commissioner may grant a variance from parts 8840.5100 to
8840.6300, except part 8840.5400. To request a variance, an applicant must submit a petition
containing all information required by Minnesota Statutes, section 14.056, subdivision 1, and
demonstrate that:

A. the rationale for the rule or rules in question can be met or exceeded by the specific
alternative practice which the applicant proposes to substitute;

B. the application of the rule in question would impose an excessive burden on the applicant;
and

C. the granting of the variance will not adversely affect the public health and safety.

Subp. 1a. Consultation with Council on Disability. Before granting a variance, the
commissioner shall consult with the Minnesota State Council on Disability. The commissioner
shall provide to the council a copy of the variance application, documents filed by the provider or
other persons that support or oppose the variance, and other material that the commissioner intends
to consult in deciding whether to grant or deny the variance. The commissioner shall not provide
information that is classified as private, confidential, nonpublic, or protected nonpublic data under
the Minnesota Government Data Practices Act, Minnesota Statutes, chapter 13. The commissioner
shall transmit the relevant information to the council on receipt of the variance application and shall
tell the council when the 30-day period for granting or denying the variance will expire. If the
council chooses to make a recommendation to the commissioner, it shall do so in writing at least
seven days before the 30-day period expires.

Subp. 2. Written answer in 30 days. The commissioner shall set forth in writing the reasons
for granting or denying the variance within 30 days of receiving the application. If the variance is
denied, the applicant may, within 30 days of receiving notice of the denial, request a contested case
hearing. The commissioner shall notify the Minnesota State Council on Disability of each grant or
denial of a variance and each request for a contested case hearing on a variance denial.

Subp. 3. Compliance. Any special transportation service provider that is granted a variance
shall comply with the alternative practice specified in its successful application for a variance.

Subp. 4. Material change in circumstances. Any special transportation service provider that
has been granted a variance shall immediately notify the Department of Transportation if any
material change occurs in the circumstances which justified granting the variance.

Subp. 5. Revocation of variance. A variance must be revoked if a material change occurs in
the circumstances that justified the variance or if the applicant fails to comply with the alternative
practice specified in the application for a variance. The commissioner shall notify the Minnesota
State Council on Disability of each variance revocation.

Subp. 6. Conditions and duration. The commissioner may impose conditions on the granting
of a variance according to Minnesota Statutes, section 14.055. The commissioner may limit the
duration of a variance and may renew a variance.
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