8290.1100 RENEWAL OF PROGRAM CERTIFICATION.

Subpart 1. Notification of option to renew.

A. At least 30 days before the expiration of the certification, the secretary of state shall inform the program participant or applicant, if different, of the option of renewing certification in Safe at Home by sending a renewal form by first class mail to the program participant's mailing address. The notice must provide instructions to the program participant on what actions to take upon expiration, including the return of the Safe at Home card and notification to public and private persons of the actual address, and that the designated address is no longer the address of the program participant. If the secretary of state has not received a renewal form ten days before the expiration of the program participant's certification, the secretary of state must mail a notice to the program participant reminding the program participant of the option to renew.

B. Along with the renewal form sent 30 days prior to expiration, the secretary of state must also offer the program participant the opportunity to register to vote as a permanent absentee voter with the secretary of state, pursuant to part 8290.1300 and Minnesota Statutes, section 5B.06, if the program participant has not already done so.

Subp. 2. **Application.** The secretary of state shall renew the certification of a program participant when the secretary of state receives a certification renewal form from that program participant or applicant, if different. The application must contain the same information required in the application as specified in part 8290.0200, subpart 1, except the renewal need not contain the signature of an application assistant.

Subp. 3. **Duties of applicant.** The program participant or applicant, if different, must provide all the information required by subpart 2 in the renewal, and date and sign the renewal.

Subp. 4. Completed renewals to be mailed. The program participant or applicant must submit completed renewals and any additional materials by first class mail to the secretary of state.

Subp. 5. **Missing information.** If the completed renewal does not meet the requirements of this part, the secretary of state shall contact the program participant or applicant to obtain the missing information.

Subp. 6. Effective date. A properly completed renewal postmarked on or before the expiration date is effective on the day it is reviewed and certified by the secretary of state.

Subp. 7. **Duties of secretary of state and program participants.** The secretary of state must send new Safe at Home cards with updated expiration dates within three business days of renewing a program participant's certification. Upon receipt, the program participant must immediately sign the Safe at Home card. A program participant under the age of 11 may have the card signed by the adult responsible for that person.

REVISOR

Subp. 8. **Penalties.** A person who falsely attests in a renewal or who knowingly provides false information upon making an application for renewal is subject to penalties under Minnesota Statutes, section 5.15, cancellation of program certification, or both.

Statutory Authority: *MS s 5B.08*

History: 34 SR 819; 39 SR 392; 39 SR 1378

Published Electronically: March 30, 2015