8092.1400 ANNUAL RETURNS.

Subpart 1. General rule. If an employer deducts and withholds an amount required by Minnesota Statutes, chapter 290, for a base year and the amount required is \$500 or less, the employer, for the qualifying year, may elect to file an annual return and make an annual payment of the amount required to be deducted and withheld in that calendar year and is thereafter relieved from filing quarterly returns and making quarterly payments. The annual return and payment are due on or before February 28 of the calendar year following the calendar year the amounts were deducted and withheld. The annual return will serve as the reconciliation required in Minnesota Statutes, section 289A.09, subdivision 2, paragraph (d), for those employers who have elected to file an annual return. The Department of Revenue, applying the criteria of this part, will annually determine which employers are eligible to file an annual return and notify those employers who qualify. Employers who have not filed all withholding tax returns required for the base year are not eligible to file an annual return. Only those employers so notified by the Department of Revenue are eligible to elect to file an annual return. At the time of notification, eligible employers may still elect to file returns and make deposits quarterly. Employers who make such election are required to make all returns and deposits required by Minnesota Statutes, chapter 289A, and will be subject to all applicable penalties.

- Subp. 2. **Base year.** "Base year" means the most recent period of four consecutive quarters for which the Department of Revenue has compiled data on all employers withholding tax for that period. The first base year is the four-consecutive quarter period beginning January 1990 and ending December 1990.
- Subp. 3. **Qualifying year.** "Qualifying year" means the calendar year for which the Department of Revenue notifies the employer that it is eligible to file an annual return. The first qualifying year is the 1992 calendar year.
- Subp. 4. **Accelerated deposits.** If, at the end of any calendar month other than the last month of the calendar year, the aggregate amount of undeposited withholding tax withheld by an employer who has elected to file an annual return exceeds \$500, the employer must deposit the aggregate amount with the Department of Revenue within 30 days after the close of the calendar month.

Notwithstanding any other provision of this part, employers are subject to the eighth-monthly period deposit requirements of Minnesota Statutes, section 289A.20.

In the event an employer who has elected to file an annual return pursuant to this part permanently ceases to pay wages for which withholding of tax is required, the employer must file a final return and deposit any undeposited tax on or before the last day of the month following the month in which the discontinuance of such activity occurred. Subp. 5. **Maximum withholding amount.** The commissioner of revenue shall annually recalculate the maximum withholding amount for annual filing, using the percentage calculated pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 290.06, subdivision 2d, paragraph (b). If the maximum withholding amount so calculated is more than \$100 above the maximum withholding amount for annual filing then in effect, the maximum withholding amount for annual filing must be increased by \$100. If the maximum withholding amount so calculated is less than \$100 above the maximum withholding amount then in effect, there shall be no change in the maximum withholding amount then in effect. When the maximum withholding amount is adjusted by the commissioner under this subpart, the maximum withholding amounts referred to in subparts 1 and 4 must be adjusted by the same amount by the commissioner.

Statutory Authority: MS s 270.06; 270C.06

History: 16 SR 444; L 2005 c 151 art 1 s 114

Published Electronically: November 14, 2006