7895.0450 ARABIAN REGISTRATION.

- Subpart 1. **Broodmare registration.** To be eligible to receive any breeders' award payments, the following requirements must be met:
- A. Prior to foaling, the broodmare must be in Minnesota and registered or the registration renewed with the Racing Commission or official registering agency on or before January 31 of the year in which the broodmare will foal. The broodmare's original Arabian Horse Registry of America, Inc. certificate must be received by the Racing Commission or official registering agency.
- B. In the event an unregistered broodmare should foal in Minnesota before January 31, the owner must submit a sworn affidavit to the Racing Commission or the official registering agency attesting that the foal was born in Minnesota. The affidavit will be considered evidence that the foal is a Minnesota-bred or Minnesota-foaled horse and the owner of the broodmare or his or her agent must register the broodmare in accordance with item A. The attending veterinarian, licensed by the state of Minnesota, must certify on information and belief that the information provided from the owner or agent is true and correct.
 - C. Fines for late broodmare registration will be imposed as follows:
- (1) A fine of \$50 will be imposed for broodmare registrations received February 1 to March 1 (excluding Saturday and Sunday) of the foaling year.
- (2) A fine of \$100 will be imposed for broodmare registrations received March 2 to May 1 (excluding Saturday and Sunday) of the foaling year.
- D. Failure to submit broodmare registration forms on or before May 1 of the foaling year (excluding Saturday and Sunday) will require payment of a fine of \$300 to qualify for any subsequent claims for breeders' award payments or for the foal to be registered as Minnesota-bred.
- E. The commission may, at its discretion, request written documentation from any persons seeking late registration that the broodmare was standing in Minnesota as of January 31 of the foaling year.
- Subp. 2. **Stallion registration.** To be eligible to receive any stallion award payments, the following requirements must be met:
- A. Stallions must be in Minnesota and registered or the registration renewed with the Racing Commission or official registering agency by January 31 of the current breeding year. The stallion's original Arabian Horse Registry of America, Inc. certificate must be received by the Racing Commission or official registering agency. If the stallion is leased, a copy of the lease must accompany the registration application. The lease must include a statement that the lessee is authorized to sign the breeding certificate.

B. Stallions must remain in Minnesota for the entire breeding season from January 31 to August 31.

A newly acquired stallion which has not been in Minnesota for breeding purposes before January 31 of the current breeding season may be eligible for stallion awards if the stallion has not serviced any mare after December 31 of the previous year.

- C. Fines for late stallion registration will be imposed as follows:
- (1) A fine of \$50 will be imposed for stallion registrations received February 1 to March 1 (excluding Saturday and Sunday) of the breeding year.
- (2) A fine of \$100 will be imposed for stallion registrations received March 2 to May 1 (excluding Saturday and Sunday) of the breeding year.
- D. Failure to submit stallion registration forms on or before May 1 of the breeding year (excluding Saturday and Sunday) will require payment of a fine of \$300 to qualify for any subsequent claims for stallion award payments.
- E. The commission may, at its discretion, request written documentation from any persons seeking late registration that the stallion was standing in Minnesota as of January 31 of the breeding year.
- F. Any stallion outside Minnesota that is licensed in the semen transport program governed by the Arabian Horse Registry of America, Inc. must be registered with the Racing Commission or official registering agency. A special affidavit will be signed and notarized by the stallion owner and registered with the Racing Commission or official registering agency. All requirements in subpart 2 will apply to the stallion in question.
- Subp. 3. **Foal registration and certification.** For a horse foaled in Minnesota to be registered and subsequently certified as Minnesota-bred, the following requirements must be met:
- A. Within 30 days of the date a horse is foaled in Minnesota, the foal must be registered with the racing commission or official registering agency. The registration form must contain the following information: the date, the name of the owner of the foaling dam at the time of conception, the date that the foal was born, an owner's statement that the foal was born in Minnesota, and the signature and veterinary license number of the veterinarian submitting the report. Failure to submit the veterinarian's report will disqualify any subsequent claim to register the foal as Minnesota-bred.
 - B. Fines for late foal registration will be imposed as follows:
- (1) A fine of \$50 will be imposed for foal registrations received up to 30 days late (excluding Saturday and Sunday).

- (2) A fine of \$100 will be imposed for foal registrations received 31 to 90 days late (excluding Saturday and Sunday).
- C. Failure to submit foal registration forms on or before 120 days of the date of foaling will require payment of a fine of \$300 to qualify for any subsequent claims to enter the horse in a restricted race or to earn any breeders' fund payments.
- D. The original foal certificate must be embossed by the racing commission or official registering agency prior to entry into any restricted race.
- E. Failure to have foal certificate embossed shall disqualify any claim to enter a horse in a restricted race or to earn any breeders' fund payments.

Statutory Authority: MS s 240.23

History: 16 SR 2684

Published Electronically: June 7, 2007