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7877.0100 GENERAL REQUIREMENTS.

Subpart 1. Scope. Except as otherwise provided by rule, an individual who serves on the association
board of directors, an association officer, and any person whose work, in whole or in part, is conducted at a
licensed racetrack shall first obtain a Class C license from the commission.

Subp. 2. Licensing criteria. In issuing a Class C license, the commission shall first determine that
the applicant's age, experience, reputation, competence, record of law abidance, and financial responsibility
are consistent with the best interests of horse racing, the provisions of Minnesota Statutes, chapter 240, and
that licensure will not adversely affect the public health, welfare, and safety within Minnesota.

Statutory Authority: MS s 240.08; 240.10; 240.23; 240.24
History: 9 SR 2527; 22 SR 1785
Published Electronically: August 1, 2008

7877.0110 PROCEDURE FOR OBTAINING CLASS C LICENSE.

Subpart 1. Application. A person desiring a Class C license shall make application on forms
provided by the commission and, upon written request of the commission, shall provide information
supplemental to the application. Applications may be obtained from and filed with the licensing office at
any current race meeting regulated by the commission, or with the commission's main office.

Subp. 2. Application content. An application for a Class C license must include the following
information with respect to the applicant:

A. date of birth;
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7877.0110 HORSE RACING; CLASS C LICENSES 2
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F.

social security number;

home address;

home telephone number;

names and addresses of previous employers;

a signed statement authorizing the release of information to the commission and the Alcohol

and Gambling Enforcement Division; and

G.

Subp. 3.

if the applicant is 18 through 70 years of age, a completed FBI fingerprint card.

Application submission. An application shall not be considered filed until the application

form has been filled out completely and all information requested by the commission has been supplied.

Subp. 4. Racing officials. Each association shall submit to the commission for its approval or
disapproval the names of all persons whom the association has selected as racing officials, and other
employees whose duties relate to the actual running of races. The list shall include, where applicable, the
following racing officials:

A.
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assistant racing secretary;

association veterinarian;

claims clerk (thoroughbred, quarterhorse, or arabian);
clerk of course (harness);

clerk of scales (thoroughbred, quarter horse, or arabian);
clocker (thoroughbred, quarter horse, or arabian);
director of security;

general manager;
identifier;
jockeys' or drivers' room custodian;

mutuels manager;

paddock judge;

patrol judge;

placing judge;

program director (harness);

outrider;

racing secretary;

starter;

steward;

timer; and

track superintendent.
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3 HORSE RACING; CLASS C LICENSES 7877.0120

The list of racing officials' names shall be submitted to the commission in writing at least 30 days
prior to the opening of each race meeting.

The association shall be responsible for filing a complete application for a Class C license with respect
to each nominee who has not been previously licensed by the commission as a racing official.

The commission may request any person whose name is proposed as a racing official to submit to a
physical examination and to forward the results of said examination to the commission. The request shall
be made only where there is a reasonable basis for suggesting that the applicant's physical condition would
hinder or prevent him or her from performing the duties of a racing official.

The commission shall act on the association's list of officials at a meeting of the commission.
If commission staff recommends disapproval of an official, the association shall be notified of that
recommendation in advance of the commission's meeting.

Under no circumstances shall an identifier, placing judge, or patrol judge be approved by the
commission unless the person has satisfactorily passed an optical examination within 90 days prior to
approval evidencing 20-20 vision (corrected) and the ability to distinguish colors.

Statutory Authority: MS s 240.08; 240.13; 240.15; 240.16, 240.19; 240.23; 240.24

History: 9 SR 2527; 10 SR 2161; 13 SR 38; 14 SR 332; 16 SR 2684, 22 SR 1785; 24 SR 1568, 31
SR 1277

Published Electronically: August 1, 2008

7877.0120 FEES.

Subpart 1. License fees. Each application for a Class C license, or its renewal, shall be accompanied
by the payment of an annual fee according to the following schedule:

A. bloodstock agent, $100;
concessionaire/vendor, $100;
concession/vendor employee, $15;
driver (harness), $35;

exercise rider, $20;

farrier, $50;

farrier's assistant, $25;
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gate crew, $15;

groom/hot-walker, $10;

e

horsepersons' bookkeeper, $25;
. jockey, $35;

jockey agent, $35;
. jockey, apprentice, $35;

owner, individual, $50;

Szt r =

owner, multiple, corporate, partnership, or stable, $50;

Copyright ©2016 by the Revisor of Statutes, State of Minnesota. All Rights Reserved.



7877.0120 HORSE RACING; CLASS C LICENSES 4

pony rider, $15;

racing official, $35;

stable supervisor, $10;

trainer, $50;

trainer, assistant, $25;

valet, $10;

veterinarian, $100;

veterinary assistant, $50;

association employees, part time or temporary full time, $15;

association staff, permanent full time, $35;
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stable name registration, $25;
AA. authorized agent, $5;
BB. owner/trainer/driver, $100; and

CC. with the exception of owner/trainer/driver, all applicants to participate at a Class B or D
licensed facility where the meet to be conducted is seven or fewer days, $10.

Subp. 2. Fingerprinting and licensing reciprocity. The commission shall license persons holding
valid permanent licenses issued by other racing jurisdictions in North America if the persons meet the
criteria specified in this subpart. The licensee must be in good standing, have cleared a Federal Bureau
of Investigation (FBI) or Royal Canadian Mounted Police (RCMP) fingerprint check within the previous
60 months, file an application and/or affidavit as may be required by the commission, and pay the required
applicable fees before participating in racing.

A. The commission shall recognize racing licenses from other racing jurisdictions in North
America for purposes of issuing Minnesota licenses, provided the applicant meets the licensing qualifications
in Minnesota Statutes, chapter 240, and rules of the commission.

B. Only permanent licenses in good standing shall be considered. Temporary or probationary
licenses shall not be considered.

C. Applicants must be in good standing in each jurisdiction where they hold or have held a
racing license.

D. All applicants who have not previously been licensed by the commission must submit
fingerprints with their initial application. All licensees must submit fingerprints every 60 months for the
purpose of a criminal records check by the FBI or RCMP. The applicant shall provide the commission with
proof of licensure from another racing jurisdiction to which fingerprints were submitted.

E. The applicant shall submit the license application form and license fee required by the
commission.

F. Provided the requirements in items A to E have been met, the commission shall issue
a license and/or a validation sticker. The validation sticker shall be affixed to a license issued by the
commission. The validation sticker shall contain Minnesota's two-letter postal service abbreviation, the
year of the validation, and may contain the audit trail code or serial number, if applicable. The validation
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sticker shall be constructed of an approved tamper-resistant material. The affixing of the validation sticker
shall constitute licensing. The commission shall determine the period of time that the license is valid in
Minnesota.

G. In the event the licensee is absent from Minnesota, and upon payment of the applicable
fees, a receipt shall be mailed to the licensee's permanent address. The receipt may then be presented at
the commission office by the licensee so that a commission representative may affix the proper validation
sticker to the racing license badge. Any horse owner who does not make application in person must meet
all requirements of this subpart, except that the owner may file a completed fingerprint card taken by a law
enforcement agency.

All reference to fingerprinting in this subpart applies to applications submitted by persons age 18 to
70 years.

Subp. 3. Jockey mount fees. Except as otherwise specially agreed by the parties, the fees to be paid
jockeys shall be at least in an amount set forth in the following fee scale:

Purse Winning Mount Second Mount Third Mount M(jltllrll:
$0-12,499 10% of win purse $125 $100 $75
$12,500-19,999 10% of win purse 5% of place purse $125 $75
$20,000-49,999 10% of win purse 5% of place purse 5% of show purse $75
$50,000-99,999 10% of win purse 5% of place purse 5% of show purse $85
$100,000 and up 10% of win purse 5% of place purse 5% of show purse $105

For the purpose of this subpart, "purse" includes purse supplement money from the Minnesota
Breeders' Fund pursuant to parts 7895.0110, subpart 4, item A, and 7895.0300, subpart 6.

Subp. 4. Driver's fee. In the absence of a contract or special agreement, drivers' fees shall be $20
or five percent of the purse earned, whichever is greater.

A. For the purpose of this subpart "purse earned" means the amount paid the winning horse
less the fees paid by the owner to enter the horse in the race.

B. The purpose of this subpart is not to set a minimum or a maximum fee, but merely to provide
a fee in the event that the parties have not made any other written agreement to the contrary.

A driver's fee shall be considered earned when the horse which the driver has been engaged to drive
leaves the paddock for the post; provided, however, that in the event of a substitution of drivers after the fee
is considered earned, no additional driver fee or double driver fee need be paid except when so ordered by
the stewards.

C. In the event the parties reach an agreement with respect to the fee to be paid the driver,
a contract or agreement in writing signed by the driver (or his or her agent) and the owner (or his or her
authorized agent) specifying the agreed upon fee shall be delivered to the horsepersons' bookkeeper prior
to the running of the race in question. The horsepersons' bookkeeper shall debit the owner's account in
accordance with the contract or written agreement.
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D. If no contract or written agreement is submitted to the horsepersons' bookkeeper prior to
the running of the race in question, the horseperson's bookkeeper shall debit the owner's purse account in
accordance with the applicable fees found in this subpart.

Statutory Authority: MS s 240.03; 240.08; 240.10; 240.13; 240.15; 240.16; 240.19; 240.23;
240.24

History: 9 SR 2527; 10 SR 2161; 14 SR 332; 14 SR 2008, 14 SR 2454; 16 SR 2684, 17 SR 1279; 19
SR 2307; 20 SR 2592; 22 SR 1785; 24 SR 1568, 25 SR 1609; 28 SR 699; 33 SR 2095; 40 SR 29

Published Electronically: July 20, 2015

7877.0125 CRITERIA FOR DETERMINING ELIGIBILITY.

Subpart 1. Age. An applicant for a Class C license, except an individual owner's license, shall be at
least 14 years of age unless an older age is required by statute or rule; however Class C licensees who work
in proximity to horses shall be at least 16 years of age.

Subp. 2. Burden of proof. If an applicant for a Class C license has had a license denied or had his or
her license suspended or revoked or been excluded by another racing jurisdiction, or has engaged in conduct
that the commission determines would adversely affect the public health, welfare, and safety or the integrity
of racing in Minnesota, the commission shall consider such fact as prima facie evidence that the applicant
is unfit to be granted a Class C license, and the burden of proof shall rest upon the applicant to establish his
or her fitness. In reviewing such applications, the commission shall consider the factors provided in part
7877.0100, subpart 2.

Subp. 3. Compliance with laws. An applicant for a Class C license shall certify that he or she is
in compliance with all applicable federal and state laws and rules including, but not limited to, racing, tax,
affirmative action, the ADA, and workers' compensation.

Statutory Authority: MS s 240.08; 240.10; 240.23; 240.24
History: 9 SR 2527; 12 SR 2393; 19 SR 2307
Published Electronically: August 1, 2008

7877.0130 STANDARDS REQUIRED OF APPLICANTS FOR SPECIFIC LICENSES.

Subpart 1. Individual owners. An applicant for an individual owner's license must own, lease, or
be a lessor of a horse eligible to race in Minnesota which is registered with the racing secretary and under
the care of a trainer licensed by the commission.

If younger than 18 years of age, an applicant for an individual owner's license must submit a
notarized affidavit from his or her parent or legal guardian stating that the parent or legal guardian assumes
responsibility for the applicant's financial, contractual, and other obligations relating to the applicant's
participation in racing. A parent or legal guardian submitting such an affidavit also shall submit information
required in part 7877.0110, subpart 2. If the commission has reason to doubt the financial responsibility of
an applicant for an individual owner's license, the applicant shall complete a verified financial statement.

Subp. 2. Multiple owners. Applicants for a multiple owner's license must comply with subpart 1
and the following requirements.

Copyright ©2016 by the Revisor of Statutes, State of Minnesota. All Rights Reserved.



7 HORSE RACING; CLASS C LICENSES 7877.0130

A. A corporation, general partnership, limited partnership, trust, or any combination of two or
more individuals, except spouses, which owns or leases a horse eligible to race in Minnesota (hereinafter
referred to as "multiple owner") must obtain a Class C license issued by the commission.

B. Directors, officers, general partners, policymakers, and all holders of direct or indirect
record or beneficial ownership or other voting interests or control, whether absolute or contingent, of five
percent or more in a multiple owner also must obtain Class C licenses issued by the commission.

C. Individuals or entities required by items A and B to obtain a Class C license must make
their best effort, as defined in part 7870.0030, item E, to disclose to the commission in writing at the time of
each Class C license application and renewal request, any interest in a race horse other than horses owned
or leased by the multiple owner, and any agreement or understanding entered into regarding the racing of
horses owned or leased by the multiple owner or the distribution of the benefits of racing the horses.

D. A multiple owner must make its best effort, as defined in part 7870.0030, item E, to disclose
to the commission in writing at the time of each Class C license application and renewal request, the nature
and extent of every direct or indirect record of beneficial ownership or other voting interest or control,
whether absolute or contingent, in the multiple owner. The disclosure shall include the names and addresses
of every individual and other entity. The individuals and other entities identified, except those required to be
licensed pursuant to item B, shall not be licensed and shall not have access to restricted areas at racetracks.

E. A corporation must file with the commission, at the time of application for a Class C license,
a copy of its articles of incorporation and a notarized statement signed by its chief executive officer agreeing
to represent the entire ownership and be responsible for the corporation's horses and all racing matters.

F. A general partnership shall file with the commission, at the time of its application for a
Class C license, a copy of the partnership agreement and a notarized agreement signed by all the partners
designating a partner to represent the entire ownership and be responsible for the partnership's horses and
all racing matters.

G. A limited partnership shall file with the commission, at the time of its application for a Class
C license, a copy of the partnership agreement and a notarized designation of a general partner to represent
the entire ownership and be responsible for the partnership's horses and all racing matters.

H. A stable is defined as any ownership operating under a name other than their own name and
must be registered with the commission by filing an application on a form prescribed by the commission.
No person may use the real name of another owner of race horses as a stable name. A stable name which has
already been registered may not be registered by another owner. The granting of a stable name registration
by the commission shall not relieve any person from the obligation to file or register a fictitious name as
provided by the laws of Minnesota. The registration of a stable name must reflect all actual ownership
interests. The stable name and the name of the owner shall be published in the program. If the stable name
consists of more than one person, the program shall list the name of the managing owner along with the
phrase "et al."

Subp. 3. Trainers and assistant trainers. Applicants for a trainer's or assistant trainer's license
must comply with the following requirements.

A. An applicant for a trainer's license or an assistant trainer's license must be at least 18 years
old.

B. Any person applying for the first time in Minnesota for a trainer's or assistant trainer's license
shall submit to the examination required of prospective trainers and assistant trainers under subpart 4, items
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B and C unless the applicant has been licensed as a trainer or assistant trainer in another racing jurisdiction
for at least the two preceding years, and meets the criteria in part 7877.0100, subpart 2.

C. An applicant for a trainer's license shall have at least one horse to train which is eligible
to race in Minnesota. An applicant for an assistant trainer's license shall be employed by a licensed trainer
with at least six horses in his or her stable at the time of filing the assistant trainer's application.

D. An applicant for a trainer's license shall provide proof of having complied with the
workers' compensation laws and maintain all applicable policies and requirements with Minnesota Statutes,
chapter 176, and all pertinent rules adopted thereunder. The Minnesota Racing Commission shall be named
as a certificate holder with the insurance company providing the workers' compensation coverage. The
commission, as a certificate holder, must be notified of any changes in the policy within a reasonable time,
not to exceed 30 days from the date of the policy change.

Subp. 4. Prospective trainers and assistant trainers. An applicant who has never been licensed
by the commission or by another racing jurisdiction as a trainer or an assistant trainer must have at least two
years' experience in an occupation that indicates a knowledge of horsemanship and racing practices.

A. The applicant must submit three letters of recommendation from former employers or
currently licensed trainers attesting to the applicant's ability and experience.

B. The applicant must pass a written examination administered by the stewards, or their
designee, covering such subjects as rules of racing, care and handling of horses, and proper use of racing
equipment.

C. The applicant must pass a practical test of horsemanship administered by the stewards or
their designee.

Subp. 5. Jockeys. Applicants for a jockey's license must comply with the following requirements.
A. An applicant for a jockey's license must be at least 16 years old.

B. The applicant must have been licensed previously as a jockey or apprentice jockey by the
commission or by another racing jurisdiction.

C. The applicant must pass a physical examination by a licensed, practicing physician within
a year prior to the first Minnesota race meeting at which he or she intends to ride.

D. An applicant for a jockey's license may not be the owner or trainer of a race horse.

Subp. 6. Apprentice jockeys. Applicants for an apprentice jockey's license must comply with the
following requirements.

A. An applicant for an apprentice jockey's license must be at least 16 years old.

B. The applicant must have been licensed previously by the commission or another racing
jurisdiction as an apprentice jockey or as an exercise rider, or have acquired comparable experience at a
training facility or farm. If licensed as an exercise rider or acquired comparable experience, an applicant
must demonstrate the ability to break a horse from a starting gate in company with other horses under the
observation of a starter and, thereafter, ride in at least two races under the observation of the stewards.

C. An applicant must pass a physical examination by a licensed, practicing physician within a
year prior to the first Minnesota race meeting at which he or she intends to ride.
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9 HORSE RACING; CLASS C LICENSES 7877.0130

D. Only thoroughbred races at authorized race meetings in the United States, Canada, or
Mexico, which are reported in the Daily Racing Form or other recognized racing publication, shall be
considered in determining eligibility for licensing as an apprentice jockey.

E. An applicant for an apprentice jockey's license may not be the owner or trainer of a race
horse.

F. An apprentice jockey shall race under certificate issued by the commission in accordance
with the standards in part 7877.0170, subpart 3, item A.

Subp. 7. Exercise rider. An applicant for an exercise rider's license must have been licensed as an
exercise rider by the commission or by another racing jurisdiction. If unable to meet this requirement, an
applicant shall demonstrate to the stewards, or their designee, the ability to ride a galloping race horse.

Subp. 8. Harness driver. Applicants for a harness driver's license must be at least 16 years old. In
addition:

A. The applicant must have been licensed previously as a harness driver by the commission
or another racing jurisdiction, or the USTA. When licensed by the USTA and applying to drive at a Class D
race meet, the USTA license classifications shall apply.

B. If the applicant has never been licensed as a harness driver, the applicant must meet the
qualifications of Rule 17 for the current United States Trotting Association (USTA) Charter, Bylaws, Rules
and Regulations to qualify for drivers licenses.

(1) Ifsuch an applicant successfully completes those prerequisites, the applicant shall be
issued a "QF" (qualifying fair) license to compete in qualifying and other nonwagering races only.

(2) The holder of a "P" (provisional) license must drive in at least 12 qualifying or
nonwagering races, under supervision of the stewards, before being awarded a harness driver's license.

Subp. 9. Veterinarians. An applicant for a veterinarian's license must:

A. be currently licensed by the Minnesota Board of Veterinary Medicine to practice veterinary
medicine in Minnesota;

B. demonstrate to the commission's veterinarian that he or she is familiar with current equine
medical practices and possesses knowledge of the commission's medication rules as specified in chapter
7890;

C. provide proof of current United States Department of Agriculture Animal and Plant
Inspection Service accreditation in Minnesota; and

D. provide proof of current registration status under the Controlled Substance Act of 1970,
including the schedules for which the applicant has been approved by the Drug Enforcement Administration.

Subp. 10. Farriers. An applicant for a farrier's license must have been licensed previously as a
farrier by the commission or another racing jurisdiction, or must pass an examination related to the shoeing
of race horses administered by the stewards or their designee.

Subp. 11. Pony riders. An applicant for a pony rider's license must have been licensed previously
as a pony rider by the commission or by another racing jurisdiction. If unable to meet this requirement, the
applicant must demonstrate his or her riding ability to the stewards or their designee.
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Subp. 12. Stable supervisor. An applicant for a stable supervisor's license must have been licensed
previously as a stable supervisor by the commission or by another racing jurisdiction, or must have been
licensed as a groom for at least one year in any racing jurisdiction.

Subp. 13. Jockey agents. An applicant for a jockey agent's license must have been licensed
previously as a jockey agent by the commission or by another racing jurisdiction, and may represent no
more than two jockeys and one apprentice jockey.

If never licensed as a jockey agent, the applicant must have at least one year's experience as a Class
C licensee or have held an occupational license from another racing jurisdiction, and must pass a written
examination administered by the stewards or their designee relating to jockey engagements, horse eligibility,
and other topics relevant to his or her appointment as a jockey agent.

Subp. 14. Authorized agents. To be appointed an authorized agent, the appointee must be licensed
as an individual owner, a trainer, or an assistant trainer. A written agency appointment authorizing the
authorized agent to act on behalf of a licensed individual owner or licensed multiple owner, or licensed trainer
in racing matters not directly related to the care and training of horses must accompany the appointment.
The authorization shall be on a form provided by the commission and shall define the powers, limits, and
terms of the agency agreement. The authorization must be signed by the individual principals or the multiple
owner designated representative and notarized.

A separate notarized agency appointment is required for each principal an authorized agent intends to
represent. All such agencies shall remain in effect for the duration of the current race meeting unless written
notice of revocation is submitted to the stewards at the meeting where the principal is racing.

Subp. 15. Bloodstock agents. Any person who for gain, gratuity, commission, or reward, in either
money or goods, acts as an agent for the sale or purchase of any race horse not his or her own which is
eligible to race at an authorized race meeting in Minnesota, and who offers for sale, offers to purchase for a
client or for his or her own account for resale within 60 days, or offers his or her services as an agent in the
purchase or sale of any race horse not his or her own which is eligible to race in Minnesota, must obtain a
Class C license from the commission to act as a bloodstock agent.

Subp. 16. Concessionaire or vendor. Notwithstanding part 7877.0100, subpart 1, any person or
entity that sells or distributes products or provides services at a Class A or D facility outside of the time of
a live race meeting for fewer than four consecutive days, or less than a total of 11 days in a calendar year,
and which products or services are sold or distributed in a restricted area or are necessary for the running of
a horse race, does not need to be licensed. The director of pari-mutuel racing shall request the director of
the Division of Alcohol and Gambling Enforcement to investigate the background, financial responsibility,
security, and integrity of any person or entity providing such products or services to a licensed racetrack.

Statutory Authority: MS s 240.03; 240.08; 240.13; 240.15; 240.16, 240.19; 240.23; 240.24

History: 9 SR 2527, 10 SR 2161; 15 SR 2307; 16 SR 2684, 17 SR 1279; 19 SR 2307; 20 SR 2592;
L1997 c 129 art2s 15; 24 SR 1568; 28 SR 1482; 31 SR 1277; 33 SR 8; 40 SR 29

Published Electronically: July 20, 2015

7877.0135 DUAL LICENSING.

In determining whether to issue more than one Class C license to an applicant, the commission shall
consider the nature of the licenses sought or already held, and whether holding multiple licenses would be
a conflict of interest.
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A. A person licensed as a jockey or veterinarian may not be licensed in another capacity.

B. No racing official may serve or act in a nonofficial capacity at a race meeting at which he
or she is licensed as an official.

C. In addition to the prohibitions of item B, a person licensed as an owner may not be licensed
as a jockey agent, nor may any person licensed as a jockey agent be licensed as an owner.

D. No Class C licensee shall act in any capacity other than that for which he or she is licensed.

E. For all county fairs in which the average daily handle for the preceding year was less than
$150,000, the commission may authorize county fair associations to allow officials other than stewards to
act in dual capacities. Stewards may act as placing judges and timers. The commission may require that
additional officials be present at a county fair meet at the time of application approval or renewal of the class
D license.

Statutory Authority: MS s 240.23
History: 9 SR 2527; 11 SR 2201, 16 SR 2684, 18 SR 886
Published Electronically: August 1, 2008

7877.0140 TEMPORARY LICENSE.

Subpart 1. Issuance. Pending completion of an investigation of qualifications and fitness, and a
decision by the commission to issue or deny a Class C license, the commission may grant a temporary
license to a person who has filed a complete and sufficient application for a Class C license and paid all
applicable fees, which are nonrefundable. A temporary license must be granted if:

A. the applicant desires to act in a capacity for which a Class C license is required prior to the
time the commission will make a decision on his or her application;

B. the applicant, in the exercise of reasonable care and diligence, could not have made
application in time for the commission to make its decision before the applicant desires to commence the
activity; and

C. the commission does not have reason to believe that the applicant is ineligible for the Class
C license he or she seeks.

Subp. 2. Termination. A temporary license shall carry no presumption of qualifications or fitness
and may be terminated summarily by the commission for cause.

A temporary license shall terminate upon a decision of the commission to issue or deny a Class C
license, or 120 days after the grant of the temporary license, whichever occurs first.

Statutory Authority: MS s 240.24
History: 9 SR 2527; 10 SR 2161
Published Electronically: August 1, 2008

7877.0145 EMERGENCY LICENSE.

Subpart 1. Racing officials. If a racing official approved by the commission becomes incapacitated
or is unable to perform his or her duties, the stewards may approve an emergency license. The approval
shall be based on the standards in part 7877.0175, and must be reported to the commission for consideration
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at the next commission meeting. If the emergency licensee has not previously been considered by the
commission, the association shall be responsible for immediately submitting a completed license application
to the commission.

Subp. 2. Owners. If an owner is unable to complete an application for an owner's license because
of absence or illness, the licensed trainer desiring to enter a horse in a race shall be permitted to apply for
an emergency owner's license on behalf of the absent owner.

The trainer applying for an emergency owner's license on behalf of an absent owner must submit a
notarized affidavit with the license application specifying the reasons the owner is unable to complete the
application.

The trainer must, at the time of submission for an emergency owner's license, provide at least the
following information: the owner's full name, home or business address, telephone number, and social
security number. At the time of application, the appropriate licensing fee must be paid to the commission.
Failure to provide all of the foregoing information is grounds for denial of an emergency owner's license.

Within 21 days of the issuance of the emergency owner's license, the owner must submit a properly
completed owner's application, fingerprint card, and fingerprint fee. Failure to provide the foregoing
information is grounds for suspension of the emergency owner's license. In addition, if the required
information is not submitted due to an act or omission on the part of the trainer, the trainer may also be
subject to disciplinary action.

Statutory Authority: MS s 240.23
History: 9 SR 2527; 10 SR 2161; 11 SR 2201
Published Electronically: August 1, 2008

7877.0150 REPLACEMENT LICENSE.

A person whose license (ID badge) is lost, destroyed, or mutilated must request issuance of a
replacement license and pay a fee of $25.

Statutory Authority: MS s 240.08; 240.10,; 240.23
History: 9 SR 2527; 28 SR 699
Published Electronically: August 1, 2008

7877.0155 CONDITIONS PRECEDENT TO LICENSING.

Acceptance of a Class C license, including a provisional license, shall mean that the licensee consents
and agrees to the following conditions:

A. The licensee will abide by commission rules.

B. The licensee will abide by all rulings and decisions of the stewards, unless the commission
has modified or reversed a ruling or decision after a hearing.

C. The licensee will fully and truthfully provide information requested by the stewards or the
commission in the course of an investigation, inquiry, hearing, or application for a license.
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D. The licensee will notify the stewards or the commission immediately about any bribe,
attempted bribe, or any violation of a statute or rule relating to horse racing or gambling of which he or
she has knowledge.

E. The licensee will submit to inspections and searches as hereinafter provided:

(1) When investigating for violations of law or rules upon the grounds of an association,
the commission or the stewards may designate the Minnesota Department of Public Safety, Alcohol and
Gambling Enforcement Division or another appropriate law enforcement agency as having authority to
conduct searches of any Class C licensee, or any employee or agent of a Class A, B, or D licensee under the
commission's jurisdiction. This authority shall extend to searches and inspections of persons and personal
effects in and about grounds.

(2) Each applicant for a Class C license and each employee or agent of a Class A, B, or
D licensee consents to such searches and inspections, and waives all claims or possible actions for damages
that he or she believes he or she may have suffered in connection with any such search or inspection.

F. The licensee will, upon request of the commission, the commission's director of security, or
the stewards, provide a blood, breath, or urine sample for analysis if the duties of the licensee place him or
her in a position of danger or he or she commits an act that endangers a horse or human.

G. The licensee shall, upon request, furnish the commission with additional sets of classifiable
fingerprints on designated law enforcement agency cards.

H. The licensee will conduct himself or herself in a manner that is not detrimental to the best
interests of racing.

Statutory Authority: MS s 240.23
History: 9 SR 2527; 11 SR 2201, 16 SR 1800; 19 SR 2307; L 1997 c 129 art 2 s 15
Published Electronically: August 1, 2008

7877.0160 DURATION AND EXTENT OF CLASS C LICENSES.

Subpart 1. Duration. A Class C license shall expire at midnight on December 31 of the calendar
year after its issuance.

Subp. 2. Extent. A Class C license issued at one race meeting during the calendar year shall be
eligible for validation at any other race meeting regulated by the commission that year provided that:

A. the licensee is in good standing with the commission; and

B. the licensee furnishes proof of employment or other evidence that he or she is practicing the
occupation for which he or she is licensed at the race meeting other than the meeting for which the license
was issued.

Subp. 3. Change of employees. At the time a Class C licensee changes employees, the licensee
must notify the commission office of the change no later than by the end of the next racing day of that race
meeting.

Subp. 4. Renewal. The commission may renew a license after receipt of required submissions unless
the licensee is determined to be ineligible. The commission may require fingerprints, a photograph, or other
relevant data if it has reason to doubt the identity or eligibility of the licensee.
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Statutory Authority: MS s 240.08; 240.10; 240.13; 240.15; 240.16; 240.19; 240.23; 240.24
History: 9 SR 2527; 14 SR 332; 15 SR 2307; 24 SR 1568
Published Electronically: August 1, 2008

7877.0165 CREDENTIALS.
Subpart 1. Badges.
A. The commission shall issue an identification badge to each Class C licensee.

B. The licensee must wear the badge on outer apparel at all times the licensee is within any
restricted area unless the activity for which the licensee is licensed renders wearing of the badge on outer
apparel unsafe or creates a substantial risk of loss, destruction, or mutilation of the badge, in which case the
badge shall be in possession of the licensee.

C. No licensee shall permit any other person to use the licensee's badge for identification,
entrance to the racetrack, or for any other purpose on or off the racetrack grounds.

Subp. 2. Temporary pass. In the event the commission's licensing office is closed, the association
may issue a temporary pass for individuals whose work is located in the stable area. The temporary pass will
be valid until such time as the licensing office reopens but not to exceed three consecutive days in duration.

Statutory Authority: MS s 240.08; 240.10; 240.13; 240.15; 240.16, 240.19; 240.23; 240.24
History: 9 SR 2527; 24 SR 1568; 28 SR 1482
Published Electronically: August 1, 2008

7877.0170 DUTIES AND RESPONSIBILITIES OF CLASS C LICENSEES.
Subpart 1. Owners. Horse owners shall have the following responsibilities:
A. Owners are responsible for stakes payment, jockeys' fees, and drivers' fees.

B. Any owner wagering for a jockey/driver on any horse that the jockey/driver is to ride/drive
for the owner shall keep a written record of the wager.

C. Owners shall comply with rules of claiming as specified in chapter 7883.

D. An owner of a thoroughbred, quarter horse, arabian, or other breed is responsible for the
registration of colors and for their availability to, and use by, the jockey engaged to ride the owner's horse.

E. Upon receipt of a positive lab report, an owner is subject to part 7892.0150.
Subp. 2. Trainers. Trainers shall have the following responsibilities.

A. A trainer shall keep in his or her charge or under his or her supervision at the racetrack
horses owned only by owners who are licensed by the commission.

B. A trainer shall ascertain the true identity of all horses in his or her charge.

C. A trainer shall be responsible for horses he or she enters as to eligibility; weight or other
allowances claimed; physical fitness of the horse to perform credibly at the distance entered; absence of
prohibited medication; proper shoeing, bandaging, and equipment; and timely arrival in the paddock.
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(1) No trainer may start or permit a horse in his or her custody, care, or control to be
started if he or she knows, or might have known, or has cause to believe, that the horse has received any
medication in contravention of the provisions of chapter 7890.

(2) The commission shall consider any positive test to be prima facie evidence that the
trainer is responsible for such positive test unless he or she can prove by substantial evidence that neither the
trainer nor any employee or agent of the trainer was responsible for the administration of the medication.

(3) A trainer must guard each horse trained by him or her in such a manner and for such
time prior to racing the horse as to prevent the administration of any medication in contravention of the
provisions of chapter 7890.

D. A trainer must obtain a designated stall assignment from the association before occupying
any stall on the racetrack grounds.

E. A trainer must register each horse in his or her charge within 24 hours of the horse's arrival
on the grounds of an association by completing forms provided by the racing secretary. At the same time,
any trainer of thoroughbred, quarter horses, arabian, or other breeds must submit with that registration a
description of the owner's colors for each horse in his or her charge.

F. Each trainer must provide a list of all persons in his or her employ to the association's security
office and must ensure that those persons are licensed by the commission no later than the next racing day
after those employees arrive on the grounds of an association. Upon discharge of an employee, the trainer
shall report that fact to the association's security office by no later than the end of that racing day.

G. The trainer shall supply each horse in his or her care with adequate food, water, medical
treatment, exercise, and shelter, and shall comply with all applicable provisions of Minnesota Statutes,
chapter 343.

H. A trainer may use only veterinarians licensed by the commission to tend horses in his or
her care that are entered to race or at any time that the horses are on the grounds of an association.

I. No trainer may register under a stable name as trainer, but may be permitted to be the owner
or part-owner of horses registered under the stable name.

J. A trainer shall represent an owner in making entries and scratches, and in all other matters
pertaining to the running of a race.

K. A thoroughbred, quarter horse, arabian, or other breed trainer shall personally attend his or
her horses in the paddock, and shall supervise his or her horses' preparation to race, unless excused by the
stewards because of illness or other emergency.

L. If a trainer is responsible for two or more horses in any race, the trainer shall instruct the
jockeys or drivers he or she has engaged that each shall give his or her best effort and that each horse shall
be ridden or driven to win.

M. If a horse entered to race becomes unfit for racing because of illness or injury, the trainer
shall notify the stewards or the commission's veterinarian promptly.

N. A trainer is responsible for notifying the racing secretary of any circumstances that would
necessitate changing a horse's registration or eligibility papers. This includes notifying the racing secretary
when a horse is "nerved" pursuant to part 7897.0100, subpart 11, and immediately reporting the alteration
of the sex of a horse to the horse identifier and racing secretary.
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O. A trainer is responsible for having each horse in the trainer's charge that is racing in
Minnesota or stabled on the grounds of an association tested for equine infectious anemia (EIA) once
every 12 months. The tests shall be performed by a laboratory approved by the United States Department
of Agriculture. A copy of each horse's negative EIA test results must be attached to the horse's foal
registration certificate on or before the time of entry into a race or the entry must not be accepted. The EIA
test certificates must be dated within a 12-month period prior to the date of entry, and must be renewed or
replaced on the foal registration certificate no later than 48 hours following the date of expiration.

P. A trainer must ensure that at the time of arrival at a licensed racetrack, each horse in the
trainer's care is accompanied by an original health certificate issued not more than ten days prior to the
arrival. The health certificate must be completed by an accredited veterinarian and must contain complete
equine infectious anemia (EIA) test results, including the date, laboratory, and accession number of the most
recent negative EIA test. The health certificates must be surrendered to stable gate personnel for immediate
transmittal to the commission veterinarian.

Q. A trainer must promptly report the death of any horse in his or her care on the grounds of
an association to the commission veterinarian and must comply with part 7891.0110 governing postmortem
examinations.

R. If a trainer must be absent because of illness or any other cause, the trainer shall appoint
another licensed trainer to fulfill his or her duties, and promptly report the appointment to the stewards. The
absent trainer and substitute trainer will have joint responsibility for the condition of the horses normally
trained by the absent trainer.

S. Trainers licensed as owners must train all horses owned wholly or in part by them.

T. Each trainer shall comply with all provisions of Minnesota Statutes, chapter 176, and all
rules adopted under that chapter.

Subp. 2a. Assistant trainers. An assistant trainer shall be charged with the same responsibilities as
a trainer. If warranted after full consideration by the stewards of all facts and circumstances as contained
in chapter 7879, the assistant trainer shall be held equally culpable with the trainer by whom the assistant
trainer is employed for any acts to which the assistant trainer has prior knowledge or involvement.

Subp. 3. Jockeys and apprentice jockeys. Jockeys and apprentice jockeys shall have the following
responsibilities.

A. An apprentice jockey must ride with a five-pound weight allowance beginning with his or
her first mount and for one full year thereafter, unless the jockey is riding in stakes races, handicap races,
or substituting for a journeyman jockey who is unable to fulfill a riding engagement. If after one full year
from the date of his or her fifth winning mount the apprentice jockey has failed to ride 40 winners, he or
she shall continue to ride with a five-pound weight allowance for up to two years from the date of his or her
fifth winning mount or until he or she has ridden a total of 40 winners, whichever comes first. Apprentice
allowances may be waived with the stewards' permission at the time of entry by the trainer or the trainer's
designee. If an apprentice jockey is unable to ride for a period of 14 consecutive days or more after the date
of the jockey's fifth winning mount because of service in the United States armed forces, enrollment in an
institution of secondary or postsecondary education, or because of physical disability, the commission may
extend the time during which the apprentice weight allowance may be claimed for a period not to exceed
the period the apprentice jockey was unable to ride.
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B. For purposes of the remainder of this subpart, reference to "jockey" also includes apprentice
jockey.

C. Each jockey engaged to ride in a race must be in the jockey's room at the reporting time
specified by the stewards on each day he or she is scheduled to ride. Upon arrival, the jockey shall report
to the clerk of scales.

D. Each jockey reporting to the jockeys' room must remain there until he or she has fulfilled
all of that day's riding engagements. While in the performance of his or her duties, the jockey may have no
contact or communication with any person outside the jockeys' room, without the permission of the stewards,
other than with an owner or trainer for whom he or she is riding that day, or with the stewards or other
commission officials.

E. Each jockey engaged to ride in a race shall report his or her riding weight to the clerk of
scales at the time specified by the association.

F. Each jockey engaged to ride in a race must report to the clerk of scales for weighing out not
more than 30 minutes before post time for the first race, if he or she is riding in that race, nor sooner than
the running of the preceding race, if he or she is riding in any other race.

G. (1) A jockey's weight shall include clothing, boots, saddle and its attachments, and any
other equipment except the bridle, bit, blinkers, goggles, number cloth, and safety equipment including
helmet, vest, overgirth, reins, and breast collar.

(2) Upon the steward's approval, jockeys may be allowed up to three pounds more than
published weights to account for inclement weather clothing and equipment.

H. No jockey may weigh-out if he or she is more than two pounds over the weight assigned to
his or her horse without permission of the owner or trainer, and under no circumstances shall the overweight
exceed seven pounds.

I. If employing an agent, a jockey is bound by all commitments made by the agent. If not
employing an agent, the jockey shall conduct his or her business as if he or she were his or her own agent.

J. A jockey must fill his or her riding engagements. However, no jockey may be forced to ride
a horse he or she believes to be unsafe, or to ride on a race course he or she believes to be unsafe.

K. A jockey unable to fulfill his or her riding engagements because of illness or injury must
pass a physical examination conducted by a licensed physician or paramedic before resuming race riding.

L. A jockey must wear the racing colors provided by the owner of the horse the jockey is
to ride, plus solid white riding pants, top boots, and a number on the right shoulder corresponding to the
mount's number as shown on the saddle cloth and in the daily program. With the approval of the stewards,
the jockeys will be permitted to wear black mud pants during bad weather conditions or during muddy
or sloppy track conditions. No symbols, words, or emblems shall be worn which, in the opinion of the
commission, are not in keeping with the customs of the turf or are employed for advertising or promotional
purposes. Notwithstanding this provision, the Jockey's Guild patch or the jockey's name may be displayed
on the solid white pants. The size of the display of the jockey's name on the solid white pants is limited to
a maximum of 32 square inches on each thigh of the pants on the outer sides between the hip and the knee,
and ten square inches on the rear at the base of the spine.
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M. A jockey must wear a protective helmet with a buckled chin strap while mounted upon any
horse at a licensed racetrack. A jockey must wear a safety vest when riding in any official race. The safety
vest must comply with one of the following minimum standards or later revisions:

(1) British Equestrian Trade Association (BETA):2000 Level 1;
(2) Euro Norm (EN) 13158:2000 Level 1;
(3) American Society for Testing and Materials (ASTM) F2681-08 or F1937;

(4) Shoe and Allied Trade Research Association (SATRA) Jockey Vest Document M6
Issue 3; or

(5) Australian Racing Board (ARB) Standard 1, 1998.

N. Inany race, a jockey must ride to win or to finish as near as possible to first. A jockey shall
not ease his or her horse without cause, even if the horse has no apparent chance to earn a portion of the
purse.

O. A jockey must make his or her best effort to control and guide his or her horse in such a
way so as not to endanger his or her own horse or other horses and jockeys, nor to cause a foul.

P. A jockey must unsaddle his or her own horse before weighing in.

(1) A jockey shall weigh in at no less than the same weight at which the jockey weighed
out, and if under that weight, and after consideration of mitigating circumstances by the board of stewards,
the jockey's mount may be disqualified from any portion of the purse money.

(2) In the event of a disqualification, all money wagered on the horse shall be refunded
unless the race has been declared official.

(3) A jockey's weight shall include clothing, boots, saddle and its attachments, and any
other equipment except the bridle, bit, blinkers, number cloth, overgirth, reins, and breast collar.

(4) Upon approval of the stewards, the jockeys may be allowed up to three pounds more
than published weights to account for inclement weather clothing and equipment.

(5) The postrace weight of jockeys includes any sweat, dirt, and mud that have
accumulated on the jockey, and the jockey's clothing, safety equipment, and overgirth. This accounts for
additional weight, depending on specific equipment, as well as weather, track, and racing conditions.

Q. Each jockey must check the stewards' daily video replay list in the jockeys' room and report
to the stewards, at the time designated, if so required by the list.

R. A jockey must notify the stewards in writing on a form provided by the commission if he
or she intends to sever a business relationship with an agent or if he or she intends to change agents. The
notification must be signed by both the jockey and agent.

S. A jockey not prohibited by contract may agree to give first or second call on his or her
services to any licensed owner or trainer. Such agreements must be in writing if for a period of more than
30 days.

T. A jockey employed by a racing stable on a regular salaried basis shall not ride against the
stable. No owner or trainer shall employ or engage a jockey to prevent the jockey from riding another horse.

U. Conflicting claims for the services of a jockey shall be decided by the stewards.
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V. A jockey mount fee shall be considered earned by a jockey when he or she is weighed out
by the clerk of scales, except in the following cases:

(1) (a) When the jockey does not weigh out and ride in a race for which engaged because
an owner or trainer engaged more than one jockey for the same race. In such a case, the owner or trainer
shall pay a jockey mount fee that is equal to that earned by the jockey who rode the horse to each jockey
engaged for the race.

(b) In the event an owner or trainer elects to remove a jockey from a mount after
naming a rider at the time of the draw, the stewards shall require a double jockey fee to be paid if the named
rider is available to ride in that race. The fee to be paid to the jockey who was removed from the mount is
equal to that earned by the jockey who rode the horse.

(2) When a jockey, of the jockey's own free will, elects to be taken off a mount where
injury to the horse or rider is not involved.

(3) When the stewards replace the jockey with a substitute jockey for reasons other than
the jockey suffering an injury during the time between weighing out and the start of the race.

(4) Any conditions or considerations not covered by this part shall be addressed at the
discretion of the stewards. All jockey protests must be filed prior to the race.

W. Whenever a jockey from a foreign country, excluding Mexico or Canada, rides in
Minnesota, the jockey must present a declaration sheet stating that he or she is a holder of a valid license
and not under suspension, and that he or she agrees to be bound by the commission's rules. This sheet shall
be retained by the clerk of scales and, at the conclusion of the jockey's participation in racing, shall be
returned to the jockey properly endorsed by the clerk of scales stating whether or not the jockey incurred
any penalty or had a fall.

X. No jockey shall willfully or purposely touch, strike, or jostle another jockey or horse, either
with hands or riding crop, from the time they leave the paddock until after dismounting from a race.

Y. A jockey who is suspended for less than ten days for a riding infraction may be allowed
to ride in a stakes or trial race that was designated by the stewards prior to the start of the race season.
Permission to race will be granted at the stewards' discretion, based on the circumstances of the suspension.

Subp. 4. Drivers. In every race a driver shall drive so as to win or to finish as near as possible to
first. The driver shall not ease a horse without adequate cause, even if the horse has no apparent chance to
earn a portion of the purse.

Each driver shall make a best effort to control and guide the horse in such a way so as not to endanger
other drivers or horses, and so as not to cause a foul.

A driver shall fulfill a commitment to drive, unless excused by the stewards. A driver unable to fulfill
a commitment because of illness or injury must pass a physical examination before resuming race driving.

Each driver shall wear the traditional driver's costume in any pre-race warm-up, post parade, race,
or time trial. The costume shall consist of racing colors, white pants, and a fully padded fiberglass helmet
buckled whenever the driver is in a sulky.

A driver reporting to the driver's room must remain there until the driver has fulfilled all of that day's
driving engagements. While in the performance of the driver's duties, the driver must have no contact or
communication with any person outside the driver's room, without the permission of the stewards, other
than with an owner or trainer for whom the driver is driving that day, or other commission officials.
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Subp. 5. Pharmaceutical representatives. Each pharmaceutical representative must register with
the commission veterinarian at the racetrack, and file with the veterinarian for his or her approval a list of
the items proposed to be sold or delivered.

Subp. 6. Bloodstock agents. Every bloodstock agent who participates as an agent in the purchase
or sale of a race horse where any warranty of soundness, condition, or racing ability is expressed or implied
shall file with the commission within five days of the date of sale a memorandum report of warranty which
shall set forth all warranties expressed or implied. In the absence of any such filing it shall be presumed that
no warranties were expressed or implied by the seller. A memorandum report of warranty shall be signed
by both seller and purchaser or by the bloodstock agent acting in their behalf.

Every bloodstock agent who participates as an agent in the purchase or sale of any race horse eligible
to race in Minnesota, where any condition of such purchase or sale includes any lien upon such horse by the
seller or other person, shall file a memorandum report of conditional sale with the commission within five
days of the date of sale.

Any warranty or condition of sale set forth in any sale catalog, printed offer of sale, or sales
agreement shall be considered as a memorandum of warranty or condition of sale, whether or not filed with
the commission.

No bloodstock agent shall misrepresent any material fact, nor knowingly withhold any material fact
from any person connected with the sale of a horse, nor misrepresent the agent's personal interest in any
horse. All bloodstock agents licensed pursuant to part 7877.0130, subpart 15, must file with the stewards
and commission security personnel by the 30th of each month a report of their activities for the previous
month. Failure to provide these reports by the 30th of each month shall result in disciplinary action by the
stewards. All bloodstock agents must make available to the stewards and commission security personnel
upon request all documents necessary to verify and evaluate the licensee's business activity as a bloodstock
agent. If in the opinion of the stewards pursuant to part 7879.0200, subpart 1, it is determined that the
licensee's conduct and business activity as a bloodstock agent can be questioned, the stewards shall take
appropriate disciplinary action.

Subp. 7. Jockey's agent. A jockey's agent shall keep a written record of all engagements made for
jockeys he or she represents. The record shall be accurate and up-to-date, and shall be available at all times
for inspection by the stewards.

No jockey agent shall be permitted to contract riding engagements for more than two jockeys and
one apprentice jockey. No agent may arrange more than two calls for a jockey in any race and the first
engagement shall be designated as the first call and the other as the second call. The jockey would have to
fulfill the contract with the first call unless the horse is unable to start.

A jockey's agent shall be in the racing secretary's office, or shall check in with the racing secretary's
office, at scratch time to confirm a jockey's commitments for the day's program.

A jockey's agent shall notify the stewards in writing if he or she no longer intends to serve as agent
for any jockey. When so notifying the stewards, the agent also shall turn over to the stewards a list of any
unfulfilled engagements that he or she has made for the jockey.

Subp. 8. Horsepersons' bookkeeper. It shall be the responsibility of the association to administer
the horsepersons' accounts by providing the services of a horsepersons' bookkeeper who shall be bonded in
the amount of $100,000.
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The association must establish an interest-bearing trust account for the horsepersons' accounts. The
horsepersons' trust account shall be separate and distinct from any other account. Deposits made into the
horsepersons' trust account by the association are the property of the horsepersons' trust account and not of
the association.

The horsepersons' bookkeeper shall be the custodian of the horsepersons' trust account and shall keep
accurate records of all receipts, deposits, and disbursements and make those records available at all times
for inspection by the commission. The horsepersons' bookkeeper shall not distribute any purse money to a
person with an emergency license.

The association must deposit into the horsepersons' account:

A. by the end of the business day following the date of the race in which purses are earned,
an amount to cover all of its obligations including breeders fund purse supplements, other supplements,
guarantees, stated purses of official races, and, when due, any other payments that the association has
agreed to make including agreements entered into under Minnesota Statutes, section 240.13, subdivision
5, paragraph (b); and

B. by the end of the business day following the date of receipt by the association, all stakes,
entrance money, starting fees, purchase money in claiming races, and deposits made by other parties.

Subp. 9. Veterinarians. The following shall apply to veterinarians licensed by the commission:

A. Veterinarians shall be responsible for the conduct of any veterinary assistant working with
or employed by the veterinarian to ensure compliance with this subpart.

B. Veterinarians shall not be negligent in the performance of their duties with respect to the
health and welfare of a horse, or in the prescription or administration of a medication or injectable substance,
or in the use of equipment for hypodermic injection.

C. Alldrugs, substances, medication, venom, or biological product administered, dispensed, or
carried by a veterinarian on the grounds of an association must be FDA or USDA approved. A veterinarian
may possess substances that are FDA or USDA approved, but not specifically for use on the horse, only by
providing prior notice to the commission's veterinarian and the Board of Stewards. Veterinarians shall not
possess medications or substances without a specific manufacturer's name, lot number, and expiration date.

D. Veterinarians shall not be in possession of controlled substances in schedules for which they
are not currently registered and approved by the Drug Enforcement Administration.

E. Veterinarians must remove from the grounds of an association all discardable equipment and
injectable substance containers or make arrangements with the commission veterinarian regarding removal.

F. Veterinarians shall dispense prescription and compounded drugs abiding by the rules of the
state of Minnesota, Boards of Pharmacy and Veterinary Medicine, and according to the guidelines of the
American Veterinary Medical Association.

G. All medications and hypodermic equipment must be in the veterinarian's possession,
personal vehicle, or stored off grounds.

H. Veterinarians shall immediately report any horse suspected of harboring a communicable
infectious disease to the commission veterinarian.

I. No veterinarian shall have contact with an entered horse on race day except for administration
of furosemide under the guidelines in part 7890.0100, subpart 13, and medical emergencies under the
guidelines in part 7890.0160.
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Subp. 9a. Veterinary assistants. The following apply to veterinary assistants licensed by the
commission:

A. Veterinary assistants must work under the direct supervision of a veterinarian who is
currently licensed by the commission. For purposes of this item, "direct supervision" means that the
licensed veterinarian is in the stable area of the grounds of the association at all times when veterinary
assistants employed by the licensed veterinarians are engaged in their duties in the stable area of the grounds
of the association, and that the animal patient under the care of the veterinary assistant has been examined
by the licensed veterinarian. When the veterinarian has delegated certain animal care tasks to a veterinary
assistant, the licensed veterinarian is at all times quickly and easily available to the veterinary assistant to
render veterinary care consistent with the delegated animal health care task. Veterinary assistants are held
to the same standard of care as the licensed veterinarian.

B. Veterinary assistants shall not:
(1) diagnose disease, lameness, or illness;
(2) provide a prognosis;
(3) prescribe any treatments, drugs, medications, or appliances;
(4) dispense, compound, or mix drugs or medications;
(5) perform surgery;
(6) draw blood;
(7) place catheters, needles, swabs, or tubes of any kind in any body part of the horse;
(8) apply splints, slings, or tourniquets;
(9) administer injectable medications including rabies vaccine; or
(10) sign the veterinarian's daily log.

C. Veterinary assistants may assist licensed veterinarians with the following procedures, but
may not perform the procedures themselves:

(1) radiologys;
(2) ultrasound;
(3) extracorporeal shock wave treatment; or
(4) endoscopic assistance.
D. Veterinary assistants may perform the following tasks:
(1) maintain the veterinarian's medication inventory;
(2) draw up injectable medications;
(3) deliver prescription medications to the appropriate trainer;
(4) maintain the veterinarian's daily log;

(5) dispose of biohazardous materials, including needles, syringes, and used medication
vials in the appropriate containers in the detention barn; and

(6) perform equine dentistry and equine massage therapy.

Subp. 10. Pony riders. The following applies to pony riders licensed by the commission:
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A. Within 24 hours of obtaining a Class C license, a pony rider must register with the
commission veterinarian and provide at that time a list of all pony horses for which he or she is responsible
and which he or she intends to bring onto the grounds of the association. Such a list will include the
name, sex, age, and brief description of color and markings for each pony horse. Should a pony rider
obtain additional pony horses during the racing season, he or she must also register these animals with the
commission veterinarian prior to bringing them onto the grounds of the association.

B. A pony rider is responsible for having each pony horse in his or her charge tested for equine
infectious anemia (EIA) once every 12 months. The test shall be performed by a laboratory approved by
the United States Department of Agriculture. A copy of each pony horse's current negative EIA test results
must be provided to the commission veterinarian at the time of registration pursuant to item A or, if not
available at the time of registration, prior to the arrival of the pony horse at the racetrack. Any certificate
which expires during the racing season must be replaced with a current EIA test certificate no later than 48
hours following the date of expiration.

C. Anyone bringing any pony horse onto the grounds of the association must provide to stable
gate personnel the accurate name of the animal. Each pony horse must be accompanied by an original
certificate of veterinary inspection completed by an accredited veterinarian and issued not more than ten days
prior to arrival. It must contain complete equine infections anemia test results, including the date, laboratory,
and accession number of the most recent negative EIA test. The certificate of veterinary inspection must
be surrendered to stable gate personnel for immediate transmittal to the commission veterinarian. The
certificate of veterinary inspection for horses leaving and returning on an ongoing basis throughout the meet
must be renewed within the first five days of each month.

D. The pony rider shall supply each pony horse in his or her care with adequate food, water,
medical treatment, exercise, and shelter, and shall comply with all applicable provisions of Minnesota
Statutes, chapter 343.

E. A pony rider must promptly report the death of any pony horse in his or her care on the
grounds of an association to the commission veterinarian, and must comply with part 7891.0110 governing
postmortem examinations if such examination is deemed necessary by the commission veterinarian.

Statutory Authority: MS s 240.03; 240.08; 240.13; 240.15; 240.16, 240.19; 240.23; 240.24

History: 9 SR 2527; 10 SR 2161; 11 SR 2201; 13 SR 38, 14 SR 2008; 14 SR 2454, 15 SR 2307; 16
SR 2684; 18 SR 886, 19 SR 2307; 20 SR 2592; 24 SR 1568; 25 SR 1609; 26 SR 1438; 28 SR 1482; 31 SR
1277; 33 SR 8; 34 SR 1135; 36 SR 10; 39 SR 1739; 40 SR 29

Published Electronically: July 20, 2015

7877.0175 DUTIES AND RESPONSIBILITIES OF RACING OFFICIALS.
Subpart 1. Racing secretary. The racing secretary shall have the responsibilities in items A to L.

A. The racing secretary shall be responsible for scheduling races during a meeting; compiling
and publishing condition books or sheets; assigning weights or making allowances for handicap races;
processing all entries and nominations; compiling a registry of all horses and owners participating at the
race meeting, plus their corresponding colors and, when applicable, stable names; and establishing a purse
structure for the race meeting.

B. The racing secretary shall make stall assignments pursuant to chapter 7876 and shall
maintain a record of the arrival and departure of all horses stabled on the grounds of an association.

Copyright ©2016 by the Revisor of Statutes, State of Minnesota. All Rights Reserved.



7877.0175 HORSE RACING; CLASS C LICENSES 24

C. The racing secretary shall be responsible for publication of the official daily program, if the
association does not employ a program director.

D. The racing secretary shall be responsible for the daily posting of entries.

E. The racing secretary shall be responsible for the safekeeping of registration certificates,
eligibility certificates, and racing permits for horses; for recording required information on such documents;
and for returning the documents to the owners, trainers, or authorized agents at the conclusion of the race
meeting. However, an association employing a clerk of the course may assign these duties to the clerk of
the course.

F. The racing secretary shall maintain a list of horses that were entered but denied an
opportunity to race because they were eliminated from a race programmed in printed condition books
issued by the association.

G. The racing secretary's office shall keep up-to-date performance records on all horses
registered to race at a race meeting. Such files shall be kept current and furnished intact to the racing
secretary of the succeeding race meeting.

H. The racing secretary shall establish a preference system for horses which have been
excluded from races due to overfilling and shall maintain the system for the duration of a meeting. The
racing secretary shall be allowed broad discretion with regard to the preference system but shall act in the
best interest of racing and the meeting.

I. In the event that a race is declared off due to an insufficient number of entries, the racing
secretary must post in a conspicuous place the names of all trainers that entered horses in each race that was
declared off.

Subp. 2. Clerk of scales. The clerk of scales shall have the responsibilities in items A to I.

A. The clerk of scales shall be responsible for the security, regulation, and control of the
jockeys' room.

B. The clerk of scales shall supervise all valets and the issuance of numbered saddle cloths and
equipment for each jockey.

C. The clerk of scales shall be jointly responsible, with each jockey's valet, for the proper attire
and neat appearance of the jockey.

D. The clerk of scales shall be responsible for having changes in colors or jockeys posted and
announced to the public before any race if the colors or jockeys differ from those listed in the daily program.

E. The clerk of scales shall weigh-out every jockey riding in the first race not more than 30
minutes before post time for the race. The clerk of scales shall weigh-out jockeys riding in any other race no
sooner than the preceding race. In weighing-out each jockey, the clerk of scales shall record any overweight,
which shall be posted and announced to the public at the time specified by the association.

F. The clerk of scales shall weigh-in in public view immediately after the finish of each race
the following jockeys:

(1) for nonstakes races, those jockeys finishing first through fourth places and, if
designated by the stewards during or immediately after the race, any other jockey in the race; and

(2) for stakes races, every jockey finishing the race.

G. The clerk of scales shall notify the stewards immediately if:
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(1) ajockey fails to arrive in the jockeys' room at the designated time;
(2) ajockey does not present himself or herself to be weighed in;

(3) ajockey is underweight or more than two pounds overweight, or if the jockey is guilty
of any fraudulent practice with respect to weight or weighing;

(4) ajockey dismounts before reaching the scales, unless the jockey or the horse is ill or
disabled; and

(5) the clerk of scales receives any complaint, objection, or protest from an owner, trainer,
or jockey.

H. The clerk of scales shall notify the mutuels manager of every horse scratched pursuant to
part 7883.0120.

I. The clerk of scales shall be responsible for maintaining and keeping up-to-date apprentice
jockey's certificates and foreign jockey's declaration sheets.

Subp. 3. Starter. The starter shall have primary supervision over horses entered in any race from
the moment they leave the paddock until the time that the start is effected.

A. The starter shall have radio or telephone communication with the stewards immediately
available from the time the horses leave the paddock until the start is effected. The starter shall report to the
stewards any disobedience of his or her orders or attempts to take unfair advantage at the starting gate.

B. The starter shall be responsible for providing a fair and equal start of all horses in a race
by means of a starting gate. Whenever a horse is prevented from obtaining a fair start, the starter shall
immediately notify the stewards.

C. The starter shall require and supervise schooling in the starting gate for any horse not
sufficiently trained in starting gate procedures to ensure a fair and safe start. The starter shall maintain
a list of any horses so ordered, and those horses shall be ineligible to start until they are sufficiently schooled
in starting gate procedures and until the starter has removed their names from the schooling list.

D. The following starter's duties and responsibilities are applicable only to thoroughbred or
quarter horse racing:

(1) The starter with the consent of the stewards shall determine the procedures for loading
horses into the starting gate.

(2) The starter shall appoint and use the services of assistant starters as necessary, and
shall daily change the gate position of each assistant starter without notice to the assistant starters until the
field for the first race comes onto the course.

(3) The starter shall honor the written request of the trainer not to allow an assistant starter
to "tail" or "tong" a horse, insofar as practical. However, the starter shall instruct assistants to handle any
horse when he or she deems such handling necessary for a safe, orderly start.

(4) The starter shall report the cause of any delayed start to the stewards. If a delay occurs
at the post, the starter may permit the jockeys to dismount and the horses to be cared for during the delay;
otherwise, jockeys shall not be permitted to dismount.

(5) The starter shall maintain a daily written record showing the names of all horses
starting, the assistant starter who handled each horse, and any equipment other than a lead strap used for
each horse. The record shall be made available to the stewards upon request.
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(6) The starter shall observe anyone seeking an apprentice jockey's license breaking a
horse from a starting gate in company with other horses. The starter shall report his or her observations to
the stewards.

Subp. 4. Paddock judge. The paddock judge shall have the responsibilities in items A to L.

A. The paddock judge shall be in charge of the paddock, and shall notify the stewards of any
apparent rule violation occurring in the paddock.

B. The paddock judge shall see that only authorized persons are in the paddock.

C. The paddock judge shall be responsible for the orderly saddling and equipping of all horses
in any race. The saddling and equipping shall, in the case of thoroughbred, quarterhorse, or Arabian racing,
be open to public viewing and free from interference whenever possible. Horses shall leave the paddock for
post in order of their program numbers.

D. The paddock judge shall assemble the horses in the paddock no later than 15 minutes before
the scheduled post time for each thoroughbred, quarterhorse, or Arabian race, and at least one hour before
the scheduled post time for each harness race.

E. The paddock judge shall immediately report to the stewards the absence of, ineligibility of,
or any other irregularity with respect to a horse or its equipment.

F. The paddock judge shall inspect and maintain a written record of all equipment worn by
each horse in a race, and shall approve all equipment changes. The paddock judge shall immediately notify
the stewards of any change, violation, or defect relating to equipment.

G. The paddock judge shall inspect the bandages worn by all horses arriving in the paddock
and may order the bandages removed or replaced if he or she has reason to believe that a violation of statute
or rule has occurred, is occurring, or will occur.

(1) The paddock judge shall not allow a horse in the paddock if it is wearing bandages at
knee level or higher.

(2) Paddock boots and all bandages, except those bandages that will be worn during a
race, must be removed immediately after saddling in the paddock so that a satisfactory examination may be
assured.

H. The paddock judge shall immediately report to the commission veterinarian or the
association veterinarian the suspected infirmity or unsoundness of any horse.

I. The paddock judge shall immediately notify the stewards of the reason for any horse
returning to the paddock after having entered the course for the post parade and before the start of the race.

J. The paddock judge shall inspect and supervise the maintenance of emergency equipment
kept in the paddock.

K. The paddock judge shall notify the stewards of any trainer or groom who leaves the paddock
before the horse in his or her charge has left the paddock.

L. The paddock judge shall compile a schooling list of any horse that is fractious or unruly in
the paddock, and shall supervise the paddock schooling of those horses. The schooling list shall be posted
in the race office.
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Subp. 4a. Paddock judge responsibilities for harness races. Under the direction and supervision
of the stewards, the paddock judge will have complete charge of the paddock activities. The paddock judge
is responsible for:

A. Getting the field on the track for post parades in accordance with the schedule given by the
stewards.

B. Inspection of horses for changes in equipment, broken or faulty equipment, head numbers,
or saddle pads.

C. Supervision of paddock gate persons.

D. Proper check-in and check-out of horses and drivers and checking the identification of all
horses coming into the paddock including the tattoo or freeze brand number.

E. Directing the activities of the paddock blacksmith.

F. Immediately notifying the stewards of anything that could in any way change, delay, or
otherwise affect the racing program. The paddock judge will report to the stewards any cruelty to any horse
that the paddock judge observes.

G. Insuring that only authorized persons are permitted in the paddock, and shall notify the
stewards of any apparent rule violation occurring in the paddock.

H. Immediately reporting to the commission veterinarian or the association veterinarian the
suspected infirmity or unsoundness of any horse.

Subp. 5. Identifier. The identifier shall have the responsibilities in items A and B.

A. The identifier shall check the identification of all horses entering the paddock by checking
tattoo numbers, sex, color, and markings, and comparing those with documents of registration, eligibility,
or breeding, as necessary to ascertain a horse's identity.

The identifier shall notify the stewards immediately upon detecting any discrepancy in a horse's tattoo
numbers, markings, or other identifying characteristics.

The identifier shall supervise the identification of any horse on the grounds of an association before
approving the horse for tattooing.

B. The identifier shall be responsible to the paddock judge for maintaining a card that will list
all equipment worn, including shoes, and the tattoo or freeze brand number for each horse racing at the
meeting. The identifier shall compare the equipment actually being used on the horse with the approved
equipment listed on the card.

Subp. 6. [Repealed, 31 SR 1277]

Subp. 7. Claims clerk (thoroughbred, quarterhorse, and Arabian only). The claims clerk shall
ensure that the claim slip for a horse is deposited in the claim box in accordance with part 7883.0140, subpart
2.

The claims clerk shall open the claim box, search for claim envelopes according to designated race
numbers, open any envelopes found, and examine the claim slip inside no sooner than 15 minutes before
post time for each race.

The claims clerk shall ascertain whether:

A. errors exist in the form or deposit of the claim;

Copyright ©2016 by the Revisor of Statutes, State of Minnesota. All Rights Reserved.



7877.0175 HORSE RACING; CLASS C LICENSES 28

B. the claimant has established eligibility to claim;
C. the claimant has the amount of the claim to the claimant's credit; and
D. persons acting on behalf of a claimant are authorized to do so.

The claims clerk shall immediately report all findings to the stewards, and shall issue a written
authorization on behalf of the stewards for delivery of a horse to any claimant who is successful.

Subp. 8. Commission veterinarian. The commission veterinarian shall maintain a list of the
following:

horses that are scratched because of illness or injury;

horses that are pulled up because of lameness or other injury during a race;

a w »

horses that are bleeders, pursuant to part 7890.0140, subpart 1; and

D. horses otherwise considered unfit to race in the professional judgment of the commission
veterinarian or the association veterinarian.

The veterinarian's list shall be posted in the racing secretary's office, and any horse whose name is
on the list shall be ineligible to start in a race for five calendar days, or until the commission veterinarian or
association veterinarian removes it from the list, whichever is later. All workouts required by the commission
veterinarian for the purpose of potentially removing a horse from the veterinarian's list must be conducted
under the same medication requirements as those for race days. For purposes of this subpart, the five-day
period during which a horse is ineligible to start begins to run on the first day the horse is placed on the list.
The veterinarian's list is binding on all racetracks under the jurisdiction of the commission.

The commission veterinarian shall conduct racing soundness examinations pursuant to part
7891.0100. If the veterinarian finds that any horse is unfit to race he or she shall notify the stewards
immediately in writing.

The commission veterinarian shall supervise the operation of a barn for the detention and testing of
horses after each race pursuant to chapter 7890.

The commission veterinarian must post in a location accessible to all trainers, a list of all horses
registered as "nerved" pursuant to part 7897.0100, subpart 11.

The commission veterinarian shall have the authority to draw and submit blood to the diagnostic
laboratory from any horse or pony on the grounds of an association for the purpose of testing for equine
infectious anemia (EIA) and other reportable infectious diseases as determined by the Minnesota Board of
Animal Health, and shall supervise the removal from the racetrack of any horse or pony having positive EIA
or reportable infectious disease test results.

In the event of a veterinary emergency where the owner's veterinarian is not on racetrack grounds,
the commission veterinarian or association veterinarian may administer emergency treatment to a horse
after consulting with the owner or the owner's agent if they are present on racetrack grounds. In all cases,
the owner's veterinarian will be notified and the case transferred to the owner's veterinarian as soon as the
owner's veterinarian is present.

In the absence of an association veterinarian, a commission veterinarian shall assume the duties and
responsibilities of the association veterinarian.
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Subp. 8a. Association veterinarian. The association may, with the prior approval of the
commission, appoint an association veterinarian. The responsibilities of the association veterinarian may
include, but are not limited to, the following:

A. conduct racing soundness examinations pursuant to part 7891.0100;
B. notify the stewards of any horse he or she considers unfit to race;

C. provide the names of horses which shall be placed on or removed from the veterinarian's
list;

D. monitor horses in the paddock, post parade, and starting gate for signs of illness or injury;
and

E. tend to crippled or disabled horses pursuant to part 7883.0160, subpart 14.

Subp. 9. Patrol judge. Patrol judges shall be stationed at elevated locations specified by the
stewards, and shall observe the running of each race. In the case of harness racing, a patrol judge may
serve as a roving patrol judge by riding in the starting gate and observing activity on the race course at all
times during a race program.

Patrol judges shall be in communication with the stewards during every race, and shall immediately
notify the stewards of:

A. every apparent violation of commission rules;
B. any action on the race course that could improperly affect the result of a race;

C. any indication of a forthcoming claim of foul or other complaint of violation of the
commission's rules;

D. the lameness or unfitness of any horse;
E. any lack of or broken racing equipment; and
F. any unusual or illegal behavior of horses, jockeys, or drivers.

When instructed by the stewards, patrol judges shall be present at video reviews of races to confirm
or to clarify reported observations.

Subp. 10. Placing judge. At least two placing judges shall view each race from a stand directly
above the finish line, and shall determine the order of horses as they cross the finish line. In making that
determination, the placing judges shall take note of the horses' numbers, racing colors, and distinguishing
equipment, and shall determine the order of finish by considering only the noses of the horses.

The placing judges shall be responsible for having the numbers of the first four horses to cross the
finish line displayed on the result board.

The placing judges shall announce their decisions promptly, and those decisions shall be final unless
an objection to any horse placed within the purse is made and sustained. However, this rule shall not prevent
the judges from correcting any mistakes, subject to the stewards' confirmation.

The placing judges shall use photographs from the racetrack's photo-finish camera as an aid in
determining the order of horses as they cross the finish line. The placing judges shall use the photographs
of all finishes in which the winning margin is less than half a length, or in which the horses are widely
spaced across the race course. Copies of those photographs shall be posted in convenient locations for
public inspection.
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Subp. 11. Timer. A timer shall determine the official time of each race, which shall be the period
from the time the first horse crosses the timing beam or track marker at the start of the race until the first
horse crosses the finish line.

The timer shall verify the race time recorded by the racetrack's electric timing device. Should the
timing device malfunction, the time shown on the watch of the timer shall be the official time of the race.

Subp. 12. Clocker (thoroughbred, quarter horse, Arabian, or other breeds). A clocker shall
accurately record all workouts on any race course at which a race meeting is being conducted.

Upon order of the stewards, a clocker shall be able to demonstrate knowledge and proficiency in
accurately recording times of horses working out.

A clocker shall present daily records to the racing secretary and the stewards, post for the benefit of
the public daily records of all workouts clocked, and make a record of daily workout times available to the
news media.

Subp. 13. Outrider. Outriders shall be responsible for the orderly conduct of horses on the race
course during training and racing hours, as specified in the following paragraph.

At the thoroughbred/quarterhorse track, the outriders shall be present on the race course, mounted
and ready to assist in the control of any unruly horse or to recapture any loose horse, at all times that horses
are permitted on the race course. Outriders are required for harness racing during racing periods but are not
required during training hours.

The outriders shall escort to the post all horses starting in any race, and shall remain on duty until all
horses on that program have been returned to their handlers.

Each outrider must comply with part 7877.0170, subpart 10, for each pony horse in his or her care.
Subp. 14. Jockeys' room custodian. The jockeys' or drivers' room custodian shall:

A. supervise the orderly conduct of business in the jockeys' or drivers' room;

B. maintain cleanliness and neatness in the jockeys' or drivers' room; and

C. be responsible for the care and storage of racing colors.

Subp. 15. Clerk of the course (harness). The clerk of the course shall keep the stewards' sheets on
which he or she shall record the following information:

A. names of all horses entered and their eligibility numbers;
names of owners and drivers;

drivers' license numbers;

a record of each race, noting positions of horses at the finish;

names of scratched or ruled out horses;
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recorded times; and
G. all protests, penalties, and appeals.

The clerk of the course shall see that the stewards' sheets are signed, and shall forward copies of them
to the commission not later than the next day.

The clerk of the course shall check eligibility certificates before and after each race, and shall keep
the certificates up-to-date.
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When requested by an owner or owner's authorized agent, the clerk of the course shall return a horse's
eligibility certificate after a race.

Statutory Authority: MS s 240.03; 240.08; 240.13; 240.15; 240.16, 240.19; 240.23; 240.24

History: 9 SR 2527; 10 SR 2161; 13 SR 38; 14 SR 2008; 16 SR 2684, 20 SR 2592; 22 SR 1785, 24
SR 1568; 31 SR 1277; 34 SR 1135; 35 SR 627, 39 SR 1739; 40 SR 1393

Published Electronically: April 25, 2016

7877.0180 CONFLICTS.

Subpart 1. Racing officials. No racing official, other than a general manager, shall own any interest
in a privately held Minnesota racetrack at which the person is serving as an official. In the case of a publicly
held corporation, no racing official, other than a general manager, shall own more than five percent of the
outstanding shares of stock. No racing official shall:

A. own any interest in a horse eligible to race at a meeting at which the racing official serves
as an official;

B. buy or sell for the racing official, or as an agent for anyone else, any horse eligible to race
at a meeting at which the racing official serves as an official;

C. hold any interest in the contract of a jockey, apprentice jockey, or, in the case of standardbred
racing, as a driver at a meeting at which the official serves;

D. buy or sell for another person any right to a contract of any jockey, apprentice jockey, or, in
the case of standardbred racing, of a driver riding or driving at a meeting at which the racing official serves;

E. be permitted to compete as a jockey or, in the case of standardbred racing, of a driver, in
any race at a licensed racetrack in Minnesota during the term of the racing official's employment;

F. wager money or anything of value on any race in Minnesota during the term of the racing
official's employment; or

G. request or accept any remuneration or honorarium in payment or kind from any owner,
trainer, or other person licensed by the commission.

Subp. la. Other employees. No detention barn employee, commission staff, assistant starter,
claims clerk, outrider, association veterinarian, or track superintendent shall request or accept any
remuneration or honorarium in payment or kind from any owner, trainer, or other person licensed by the
commission.

Subp. 2. Veterinarians. No veterinarian or veterinary assistant may participate in pari-mutuel
wagering while licensed by the commission. No veterinarian designated as an official at a race meeting
shall treat or prescribe treatment for a horse racing at that meeting, except in emergencies or if no other
veterinarian licensed by the commission is on the grounds of the association. In that case, the official
veterinarian shall notify the commission of any compensation received.

Subp. 3. Owners, trainers, drivers, or jockeys. No owner, trainer, driver, or jockey shall wager to
win on any horse except his or her own in a race in which he or she competes.
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Statutory Authority: MS s 240.23
History: 9 SR 2527, 10 SR 2161, 11 SR 2201; 16 SR 2684, 19 SR 2307; 31 SR 1277; 33 SR §

Published Electronically: August 1, 2008

7877.0185 APPLICABILITY OF RULES AND RULINGS.

Rules pertaining to Class C licensees and rulings or orders against them shall apply equally to other
persons if:

A. participation in an activity by the other person would circumvent the intent of a rule, ruling,
or order by permitting the person to serve, in essence, as a substitute for the ineligible licensee; or

B. the other person is legally liable for the conduct that violated the rule or is the subject of the
ruling; or

C. the other person benefited financially from the conduct that violated the rule.
The transfer of a horse in an effort to avoid application of a commission rule or ruling is prohibited.
Statutory Authority: MS s 240.08; 240.10,; 240.23
History: 9 SR 2527; 14 SR 2008
Published Electronically: August 1, 2008
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