
7848.1900 NOTICE PLANS WHEN SEEKING CERTIFICATION.​

Subpart 1. Filings required, service requirements. On or before June 1 of the year in which​
biennial transmission projects reports will be filed, utilities shall file proposed plans for providing​
notice to all persons reasonably likely to be affected by any transmission line proposed for​
certification in those reports. Utilities shall serve their proposed plans on the following persons:​

A. the Department of Commerce;​

B. the Residential and Small Business Utilities Division of the Office of the Attorney​
General; and​

C. the general service list for biennial transmission projects reports established under part​
7829.0600.​

Subp. 2. Procedural schedule, notice of procedural schedule. Initial comments on proposed​
notice plans must be filed within 20 days of the date of filing. Reply comments must be filed within​
20 days of the expiration of the initial comment period. Utilities shall include with the proposed​
notice plan a clear and conspicuous notice of these comment periods.​

Subp. 3. Types of notice. Proposed notice plans must include notice to the following persons​
by the method specified:​

A. direct mail notice, based on county tax assessment rolls, to landowners reasonably likely​
to be affected by the proposed transmission line;​

B. direct mail notice to all mailing addresses within the area reasonably likely to be affected​
by the proposed transmission line;​

C. direct mail notice to local and tribal governments whose jurisdictions are reasonably​
likely to be affected by the proposed transmission line; and​

D. newspaper notice to members of the public in areas reasonably likely to be affected by​
the proposed transmission line.​

Subp. 4. Notice content. Proposed notice plans must provide notice recipients with the​
following information:​

A. a map showing the end points of the line and existing transmission facilities in the area;​

B. a description of general right-of-way requirements for a line of the size and voltage​
proposed and a statement that the utility intends to acquire property rights for the right-of-way that​
the proposed line will require;​

C. a notice that the line cannot be constructed unless the commission certifies that it is​
needed;​

D. the commission's mailing address, telephone number, and website;​

E. the address of the website on which the utility or utilities proposing the line will post​
their biennial transmission projects reports;​
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F. a statement that the board will be preparing an environmental assessment of each​
high-voltage transmission line for which certification is requested;​

G. a brief explanation of how to get on the mailing list for the board's proceeding; and​

H. a statement that requests for certification of high-voltage transmission lines are governed​
by Minnesota law, including specifically this chapter, chapter 4410, and parts 7849.1000 to​
7849.2100, and Minnesota Statutes, section 216B.2425.​

Subp. 5. Supplementary notice. The commission shall require supplementary notice to persons​
reasonably likely to be affected by system alternatives developed in the course of certification​
proceedings if it appears that those system alternatives are as likely to be certified as the proposed​
high-voltage transmission line.​

Subp. 6. Notice time frames. The utility shall implement the proposed notice plan within 30​
days of its approval by the commission.​

Subp. 7. Good faith sufficient. The commission shall not deny a request for certification of​
a high-voltage transmission line on grounds of defective notice if the utility acted in good faith, in​
substantial compliance with the notice requirements of this subpart, and in substantial compliance​
with any commission orders issued under this subpart.​

Statutory Authority: MS s 216A.05; 216B.08; 216B.09​
History: 27 SR 1820​
Published Electronically: September 10, 2018​
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