REVISOR

7512.1900 JOURNEYMAN SPRINKLER FITTER CERTIFICATE RENEWAL.

Subpart 1. Certificate expiration date. A journeyman sprinkler fitter certificate expires at midnight on June 30 of each year. A certificate is valid upon renewal until the following June 30.

Subp. 2. **Renewal application.** A renewal application for a journeyman certificate must be on a form provided or approved by the commissioner and must contain the following information:

A. The application must contain the journeyman's name and journeyman number.

B. The application must list any changes to the journeyman's address, telephone number, and driver's license number.

C. The application must be accompanied by documentation showing that the journeyman has met the continuing education requirements of subpart 5.

D. The application must be accompanied by a certificate renewal fee of \$75. If the application is submitted on or after June 1, the application must also be accompanied by a late fee of \$50.

E. The application must contain or be accompanied by other information requested by the commissioner as necessary to determine whether the applicant meets the requirements for a journeyman of parts 7512.1700 to 7512.2000 and Minnesota Statutes, chapter 299M.

F. The applicant shall sign the application, verifying that the information on the application is true.

Subp. 3. **Reasons to refuse renewal.** To renew a journeyman certificate, the journeyman shall submit a completed certificate renewal application to the commissioner. The commissioner shall accept a renewal application at any time on or before June 30. A person may not perform fire protection-related work after the certificate expires and before a renewal certificate is issued. The commissioner shall renew the certificate, unless there is a reason to refuse to renew. The commissioner shall refuse to renew for any of the following reasons:

A. The application does not meet the requirements of subpart 2.

B. The applicant has not met the continuing education requirements of subpart 5.

C. The applicant obtained an initial certificate without passing an examination and the examination exemption period has expired without the applicant having passed the examination.

D. The applicant is currently under revocation or suspension.

REVISOR

E. The commissioner of revenue notifies the commissioner of public safety under Minnesota Statutes, section 270C.72, that the applicant owes the state delinquent taxes, penalties, or interest.

Subp. 4. **Application after lapse.** Within one year after a journeyman certificate has expired, a former journeyman may obtain another certificate by following the renewal procedures of this part. A journeyman whose certificate has been expired for more than one year shall comply with all requirements and procedures of parts 7512.1700 and 7512.1800 in order to obtain another certificate. A person may not perform fire protection-related work after the expiration of a certificate and before another certificate is issued.

Subp. 5. **Continuing education.** During each licensing year, a journeyman shall attend ten hours of continuing education courses on the performance of fire protection-related work and on laws and rules governing the performance of fire protection-related work.

Statutory Authority: MS s 299M.04 History: 18 SR 1870; L 2005 c 151 art 1 s 116 Published Electronically: November 8, 2006