## 7512.0600 CONTRACTOR LICENSE RENEWAL.

- Subpart 1. **License expiration date.** A fire protection contractor license expires at midnight on June 30 of each year. A license is valid upon renewal until the following June 30.
- Subp. 2. **Renewal application.** A renewal application for a contractor license must be on a form provided or approved by the commissioner and must contain the following information and items:
  - A. The application must contain the contractor's name and contractor number.
- B. The application must verify that the contractor information is accurate as of the date of renewal. Contractor information includes information or items submitted with the contractor's initial license application, as amended by a notice of change.
- C. The application must be accompanied by documentation showing compliance with the workers' compensation insurance coverage requirement of Minnesota Statutes, section 176.181, subdivision 2. The documentation must contain the name of the insurance company, the policy number, and dates of coverage, or the permit to self-insure.
- D. The application must be accompanied by a license renewal fee of \$500. If the application is submitted on or after June 1, the application must also be accompanied by a late fee of \$50.
- E. The application must contain or be accompanied by other information requested by the commissioner as necessary to determine whether the applicant meets the requirements for a contractor of parts 7512.0400 to 7512.1200 and Minnesota Statutes, chapter 299M.
- F. One person named on the application shall sign the application, verifying that the information on the application is true.
- Subp. 3. **Reasons to refuse renewal.** To renew a contractor license, the contractor shall submit a completed license renewal application to the commissioner. The commissioner shall accept a renewal application any time on or before June 30. A person shall not perform fire protection-related work after the license has expired and before a renewal license is issued. The commissioner shall renew the license, unless there is a reason to refuse to renew. The commissioner shall refuse to renew for any of the following reasons:
  - A. The application does not meet the requirements of subpart 2.
  - B. The applicant is currently under revocation or suspension.

- C. The commissioner of revenue notifies the commissioner of public safety under Minnesota Statutes, section 270C.72, that the applicant owes the state delinquent taxes, penalties, or interest.
- Subp. 4. **Application after lapse.** Within one year after a contractor license has expired, a former contractor may obtain another license by following the renewal procedures of this part. A contractor whose license has been expired for more than one year shall comply with all requirements and procedures of part 7512.0500 in order to obtain another license. A person may not perform fire protection-related work after the license has expired and before another license is issued.

**Statutory Authority:** MS s 299M.04

History: 18 SR 1870; L 2005 c 151 art 1 s 116

Published Electronically: November 8, 2006