## 7503.2500 NOTICE OF DISQUALIFICATION OF COMMERCIAL DRIVING PRIVILEGE.

- Subpart 1. **Notice served by peace officer.** Notice of disqualification is served by a peace officer when a person is subject to disqualification under Minnesota Statutes, section 171.165, subdivision 2.
- A. The issuing peace officer must forward to the commissioner on the same or next business day a copy of the notice of disqualification together with any license certificates surrendered by the person, the peace officer's incident reports, and the implied consent advisory and peace officer's certificate.
- B. The commissioner shall provide the format for the notice of disqualification and issuing temporary licenses.
- C. A completed notice must contain the information specified in this subpart and may contain other information provided by the commissioner that the commissioner considers appropriate:
- (1) the person's full name, date of birth, driver's license number, height and weight, and residential address on the driver's record, including street number, city, state, and zip code;
  - (2) the date the notice of disqualification is served;
  - (3) the date of the incident;
  - (4) the traffic case number;
  - (5) the type of vehicle being operated at the time of the incident;
- (6) the name, signature, and agency name of the peace officer serving the notice of disqualification;
  - (7) the reason for the disqualification;
  - (8) the length of the disqualification period;
- (9) a statement advising the person that the person is under an out-of-service order required under Minnesota Statutes, section 169A.54, subdivision 7, paragraph (c), for 24 hours;
- (10) a statement advising the person that the person is disqualified from operating commercial motor vehicles in seven days or upon expiration of a seven-day temporary license period or when the disqualification will be effective;
- (11) a statement that no temporary license was issued, if the person did not have valid driving privileges at the time of the incident;

- (12) a statement informing the person that the person has a right to an administrative reconsideration by the commissioner of the notice of possible disqualification under Minnesota Statutes, section 171.166, subdivision 3, and to a judicial review of the disqualification order under Minnesota Statutes, section 169A.53, subdivision 2;
- (13) information explaining that an administrative review of the disqualification order under Minnesota Statutes, section 169A.52 or 171.65, may be obtained by submitting a written request for an administrative review to the commissioner under part 7409.4600, subparts 1 to 4, and Minnesota Statutes, section 169A.53, subdivision 1, unless the person has already requested reconsideration of the notice of possible disqualification under Minnesota Statutes, section 171.166, subdivision 3;
- (14) information explaining that a judicial review of a disqualification order issued under Minnesota Statutes, section 169A.52, may be obtained by filing a petition for judicial review within 30 days of receipt of the notice of disqualification for a violation of Minnesota Statutes, section 169A.52. The request must be made in accordance with Minnesota Statutes, section 169A.53, subdivision 2; and
- (15) a statement informing the person that failing to petition for judicial review in compliance with Minnesota Statutes, section 169A.53, subdivision 2, forfeits the person's right to judicial review of a disqualification order issued under Minnesota Statutes, section 169A.52.
- Subp. 2. **Notice by commissioner.** Notice of disqualification must be served by the commissioner when a person is subject to disqualification under Minnesota Statutes, section 171.165, subdivision 1, clause (1), and notice is not served by a court; a person is subject to disqualification under Minnesota Statutes, section 171.165, subdivision 2, and notice is not served by a peace officer; or, when requirements imposed from a previous disqualification have not been satisfied
- A. The notice must be in writing and sent by first class mail to the residential address shown on the driver's record.
- B. The commissioner shall establish a format for serving the notice of disqualification.
- C. A completed notice must contain the information specified in this subpart and may contain other information provided by the commissioner that the commissioner considers appropriate:
- (1) the person's full name, date of birth, driver's license number, and current address obtained from the person's driver's license record, including the street number, city, state, and zip code;

- (2) the type of vehicle being operated at the time of the disqualifying incident;
  - (3) the date the notice of disqualification is issued;
  - (4) when the disqualification order is effective;
  - (5) the reason for the disqualification;
  - (6) the length of the disqualification period;
  - (7) reinstatement requirements;
- (8) if the person is disqualified under Minnesota Statutes, section 171.165, subdivision 2, a statement informing the person that the person has a right to an administrative reconsideration by the commissioner of the notice of possible disqualification under Minnesota Statutes, section 171.166, subdivision 3;
- (9) if the person is disqualified under Minnesota Statutes, section 169A.52 or 171.165, information explaining:
- (a) that an administrative review of the disqualification order may be obtained by submitting a written request for an administrative review in accordance with part 7409.4600, subparts 1 to 4, and Minnesota Statutes, section 169A.53, subdivision 1, unless a person disqualified under Minnesota Statutes, section 171.165, has already requested reconsideration of the notice of possible disqualification under Minnesota Statutes, section 171.166, subdivision 3; and
- (b) that judicial review may be obtained by petitioning for judicial review within 30 days after receiving the notice of disqualification for a violation of Minnesota Statutes, section 169A.52. The request must be made in accordance with Minnesota Statutes, section 169A.53, subdivision 2; and
- (10) if the person is disqualified under Minnesota Statutes, section 171.165, subdivision 2, a statement informing the person that failing to petition for judicial review in compliance with Minnesota Statutes, section 169A.53, subdivision 2, forfeits the person's right to judicial review of a disqualification order issued under Minnesota Statutes, section 169A.52.
- Subp. 3. **Notice to other states.** When a nonresident commercial vehicle driver is convicted of violating current or former Minnesota Statutes, section 169.1211, 169A.20, or 169A.31, the commissioner shall report that conviction to the driver's state of residence.

**Statutory Authority:** MS s 14.06; 169.798; 169A.75; 171.165; 299A.01

**History:** 15 SR 2406; L 2000 c 478 art 2 s 7; 27 SR 707

**Published Electronically:** September 9, 2005