7409.2400 FAILURE TO MAINTAIN INSURANCE.

Subpart 1. Authority; suspension periods. Under Minnesota Statutes, section 169.797, subdivision 4a, the commissioner shall suspend the driver's license of an operator upon a showing by department records, including accident reports or other sufficient evidence, that a plan of reparation security had not been provided and maintained at the time of the incident. The driver's license must be suspended for a period of:

A. 30 days, if the operator's driver's license has not been withdrawn under Minnesota Statutes, section 169.797, within a five-year period;

B. 90 days, if the operator's driver's license has been withdrawn once under Minnesota Statutes, section 169.797, within a five-year period;

C. 180 days, if the operator's driver's license has been withdrawn twice under Minnesota Statutes, section 169.797, within a five-year period; or

D. one year, if the operator's driver's license has been withdrawn three or more times under Minnesota Statutes, section 169.797, within a five-year period.

Subp. 2. Converted to revocation. If a person is later convicted under Minnesota Statutes, section 169.797, subdivision 4, paragraph (b), for the same offense, then the commissioner shall convert the suspension imposed under this part to a revocation under part 7409.1600, subpart 1.

Subp. 3. [Repealed, 27 SR 466]

Statutory Authority: MS s 14.06; 169.792; 169.795; 169.798; 299A.01

History: 16 SR 1177; L 1992 c 571 art 14 s 13; 27 SR 466

Published Electronically: January 3, 2003