
7150.0090 NOTIFICATION AND CERTIFICATION.​

Subpart 1. Prenotification. At least ten days before beginning any of the following activities,​
owners and operators must notify the agency in the manner prescribed by the commissioner of their​
intent to perform the activity:​

A. installation, replacement, or repair of a UST system, including tanks, piping, linings,​
containment sumps, and corrosion protection systems, but excluding dispensers and exposed​
components below grade that can be visually inspected;​

B. permanent closure of a UST system;​

C. change in status of a UST system to storage of a nonregulated substance; and​

D. inspection of a lining on an internally lined tank.​

Subp. 2. Notification of installation, replacement, or change in status. Owners and operators​
who bring a UST system or components such as tanks, retrofit tanks, piping, or dispensers into use​
or make a change in status must, within 30 days of bringing the UST system into use or making a​
change in status, submit to the agency, in the manner prescribed by the commissioner, a notice of​
the existence of the UST system or type of change in status, including the information required by​
Minnesota Statutes, section 116.48, subdivisions 1 and 3.​

Subp. 3. Certification by owners and operators. Owners and operators of new and​
replacement UST systems, including tanks, retrofit tanks, piping, and dispensers, must sign and​
certify in the notification form compliance with the following requirements:​

A. installation of tanks, piping, and dispensers according to parts 7150.0100 and 7150.0205,​
including secondary containment of new and replacement tanks, piping, and dispensers;​

B. financial responsibility under Code of Federal Regulations, title 40, part 280, subpart​
H;​

C. release detection according to parts 7150.0300 to 7150.0340; and​

D. corrosion protection according to part 7150.0215.​

Subp. 4. Certification by installers. Owners and operators of new and replacement UST​
systems, including tanks, retrofit tanks, piping, or dispensers, must ensure that the installer signs​
and certifies in the notification form that:​

A. all work was performed as specified by the manufacturer's instructions;​

B. all work was performed according to the applicable codes of practice in parts 7150.0205​
and 7150.0500;​

C. all work was performed according to applicable state and federal regulations, including​
this chapter; and​

D. the installer is in compliance with certification requirements imposed by chapter 7105.​
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Subp. 5. Notification of cathodic protection testing. Owners and operators of underground​
storage-tank systems with cathodic protection must notify the agency, or ensure that a cathodic​
protection tester notifies the agency, of the results of testing of cathodically protected tanks and​
piping as required by part 7150.0215, within 30 days of completion of testing, in the manner​
prescribed by the commissioner.​

Subp. 6. Notification of tank sale. A person who sells a tank intended to be used as an​
underground storage tank or property that the seller knows contains an underground storage tank​
must notify the purchaser of the tank in writing prior to closing the transaction of the new owner's​
notification obligations under subpart 2 and Minnesota Statutes, section 116.48.​

Subp. 7. Notification of tank purchase. A person who purchases property that the purchaser​
knows contains a UST system must notify the agency within 30 days after closing the transaction,​
pursuant to subpart 2. The notification must include the change in ownership and verify that all​
operators, including lessees, have read this chapter and have sufficient knowledge in the operation​
and maintenance of UST systems.​

Subp. 8. Notification of compatibility. Owners and operators of a UST system must notify​
the agency at least 30 days before storing a regulated substance containing more than ten percent​
ethanol, more than 20 percent biodiesel, or any other regulated substance identified by the​
commissioner as a substance that could degrade components of a UST system. Owners and operators​
must demonstrate to the commissioner that the components of the UST system are compatible with​
the product being stored in accordance with part 7150.0100, subpart 9.​

Subp. 9. Notification of other regulated substances. The commissioner must notify owners​
and operators in writing or electronically if the commissioner identifies any other regulated​
substances that require notice of compatibility under subpart 8.​

Statutory Authority: MS s 116.49​
History: 32 SR 1751; 43 SR 1253​
Published Electronically: June 6, 2019​
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