## REVISOR

## 6800.5350 PRECEPTORS.

Subpart 1. **Certificates.** Pharmacists intending to act as preceptors for pharmacist-interns must register as preceptors with the board by submitting an application and any supporting documentation required by the board. A preceptor registration shall expire every other year on the anniversary of its issuance. The board shall grant registrations or renewals to applicants who fulfill the requirements of subparts 2 and 3.

Subp. 2. Training and practice. Applicants must show that:

A. they are participating in the Experiential Education Program of the University of Minnesota College of Pharmacy as an approved preceptor; or

B. they have completed at least 4,000 hours of practice as a licensed pharmacist, with at least 2,000 hours of that practice occurring within the state of Minnesota.

Subp. 3. **Other requirements.** In addition to fulfilling the requirements of subpart 2, item A or B, applicants must show that:

A. they are currently in practice at least 20 hours per week as a pharmacist;

B. they have a history of exemplary practice with respect to compliance with state and federal laws;

C. they will provide time on a regular basis, at least three times each month, for the purpose of helping their interns meet the competencies of the internship requirement; and

D. for renewal of a registration only, that they have participated in an instructional program specifically for preceptors, provided by or approved by the board, within the previous 24 months.

**Statutory Authority:** *MS s 151.06; 151.102* 

History: 18 SR 1145; 23 SR 1597; 36 SR 237

Published Electronically: September 21, 2011