
6500.3000 CONTINUING EDUCATION REQUIREMENTS.​

Subpart 1. Required hours and compliance period. An optometrist licensed in Minnesota​
is required as a condition of licensure and license renewal to complete 40 hours of board-approved​
continuing optometric education every two years. The two-year cycle begins on January 1 and ends​
on December 31 of the second year.​

Subp. 2. Continuing education reporting. At the time of license renewal, each licensee shall​
demonstrate, either through a board-approved electronic tracking system or paper documentation,​
completion of the minimum of 40 approved continuing education hours since the last renewal. A​
maximum of 15 hours per reporting period may be satisfied by board-approved noninteractive,​
independent study. A maximum of six hours per reporting period may be satisfied by continuing​
education in practice management.​

It is the licensee's responsibility to maintain proof of continuing education compliance in either​
paper or electronic format. Failure to demonstrate proof of the required continuing education​
compliance shall result in nonrenewal of the license pursuant to part 6500.2000.​

Proof of attendance, in either electronic or paper form, must include:​

A. the name of the sponsoring organization;​

B. the name of the licensee;​

C. the course title and instructor's name;​

D. the number of hours in attendance; and​

E. the date of the program.​

For purposes of this subpart, a receipt for payment of the fee for the continuing education​
program or activity is not sufficient evidence of completion.​

Subp. 3. Audits of continuing education. The board may conduct random audits for the​
purpose of verifying continuing education each reporting year. A licensee who is being audited​
must provide verification of the required number of continuing education hours by submitting the​
documentation described in subpart 2. Failure to submit the required documentation shall be grounds​
for disciplinary action.​

Subp. 4. Courses; board approval required. Continuing education activities must be approved​
by the board or the board's designee. Activities must be approved for all attendees when submitted​
by the sponsor pursuant to subpart 6, or a licensee may request individual approval pursuant to​
subpart 7. Courses that meet approval criteria standards and receive approval from the board's​
designee shall be accepted for credit by the board.​

The board or the board's designee shall consider the following factors when determining whether​
an activity should be approved:​

A. whether the activity is structured on sound educational principles and has a topic relevant​
to the practice of optometry;​

Copyright © 2018 by the Revisor of Statutes, State of Minnesota. All Rights Reserved.​

6500.3000​MINNESOTA RULES​1​



B. whether the speakers, lecturers, or other presenters are recognized by the board as being​
highly qualified in their fields;​

C. whether the proposed course, if conducted within Minnesota, is open to all optometrists​
licensed in Minnesota;​

D. whether the tuition fee charged for courses conducted within Minnesota is the same for​
nonmembers of the course's sponsoring organization as it is for members. Any difference in tuition​
shall be reasonable and related to the sponsoring organization's expense in operating the continuing​
education course; and​

E. whether the course is interactive between audience and instructor, either live or remote​
via Webinar, teleconferencing, or videoconferencing.​

Courses or programs deemed by the board to be a sales promotion for a product or service shall​
be denied approval of continuing education credit, and may be presented without continuing​
education credit when so noted by the sponsor.​

Subp. 5. Retroactive revocation of CE approval. The board may, after due consideration,​
add or delete continuing education credit hours of previously approved continuing education​
programs due to a change in content or actual hours of presentation. The board shall notify the​
program sponsor via mail of the change in approval. The program sponsor must then notify the​
program participants of the change in continuing education hours awarded.​

Subp. 6. Sponsor's application for course approval. A program sponsor requesting approval​
by the board or the board's designee must submit a program, schedule, and course description to​
the board. The board shall respond to the applications within 30 days. Nothing in this part shall​
permit the board to approve an educational program that has not satisfied the criteria in subpart 4.​
Courses not eligible for credit shall be identified by the program sponsor.​

Subp. 7. Licensee's application for course approval. A licensee may apply individually to​
the board for approval of continuing education activities that have not been approved by the board​
or its designee. A licensee shall complete and submit to the board the following information, as​
well as any other information the board or its designee deems necessary to evaluate the course for​
approval:​

A. the name and address of the organization sponsoring the activity, if applicable;​

B. a detailed description of the content of the activity;​

C. the name and credentials of each instructor or presenter, if applicable; and​

D. the location, including the name and address of the facility, at which the activity will​
be conducted.​

If the activity does not meet the standards in subpart 4, the board or its designee shall deny​
approval. The board shall notify the licensee in writing of the reason for denying approval or an​
activity under this subpart.​
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Subp. 8. Sources of credit. Continuing education credit may be applied for the types of​
programs described in this subpart.​

A. Programs approved by the board or its designee under subpart 4. A maximum of six​
credit hours per compliance period may be granted for programs related to practice management.​

B. Participation in grand rounds, which consist of presenting medical conditions or treatment​
of a particular patient or type of condition to an audience consisting of licensed health care providers,​
residents, or medical students. One hour of continuing education credit may be awarded for each​
hour of participation in grand rounds.​

C. Preparation of articles accepted for publication in optometric journals or other​
health-related journals. A maximum of three hours of continuing education per compliance period​
may be granted for acceptance and publication of articles in optometric or health-related journals.​

D. Preparation of books or subparts of books on optometry-related subjects that have been​
accepted for publication. A maximum of nine hours of continuing education credits per compliance​
period may be granted for acceptance and publication of books.​

E. Development and presentation of one or more lectures on optometry-related topics before​
an audience of optometric or other health care professionals. One hour of continuing education​
credit may be awarded for each hour of presentation. For one time only per lecture, two hours of​
continuing education credit may be awarded for development of each hour of presentation.​

F. Participation in noninteractive, independent study activities, including self-instruction​
in vision care periodicals, Webcasts, audiotaped or videotaped programs, podcasts, written​
correspondence courses, and Internet courses. All programs must include a self-test to qualify for​
continuing education credit. A maximum of 15 hours of continuing education credits per compliance​
period may be awarded for noninteractive, independent study activities.​

Subp. 9. Exemption for continuing education requirements. A licensee whose license has​
not expired and who meets any of the following conditions is exempt from continuing education​
requirements as described in this subpart.​

A. A licensee who has been granted emeritus status under part 6500.2700 is exempt from​
continuing education requirements.​

B. A licensee serving in active military service, as defined in Minnesota Statutes, section​
190.05, subdivision 5, during any part of the 12 months immediately preceding the annual license​
renewal date is exempt from continuing education requirements.​

C. A licensee first licensed by examination or reciprocity in the first year of the compliance​
period is exempt from continuing education requirements for that year but is responsible for 20​
hours of continuing education for the second year of the compliance period.​

D. A licensee first licensed by examination or reciprocity in the second year of the​
compliance period is exempt from continuing education requirements for the entire compliance​
period.​
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Subp. 10. Requirements in specified subjects. The board may, when compelled by​
advancement in scope of practice or emerging public health issues, and by mailing written notice​
to each licensed optometrist on or before January 1, require all optometrists to attend continuing​
education programs in specified subjects.​

Statutory Authority: MS s 145.714; 148.53; 214.06​
History: 43 SR 5​
Published Electronically: July 11, 2018​
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