1 REVISOR 6262.0300

6262.0300 FISHING REGULATIONS FOR LAKE SUPERIOR AND
TRIBUTARIES.

Subpart 1. General Lake Superior fishing regulations. Fish may not be taken in
Lake Superior except as provided by this part or under permit.

Subp. 2. Number of lines allowed. No more than two lines with one bait attached to
each line may be used to take fish on Lake Superior, except that only one line may be used
within 100 yards of the mouth of any flowing stream.

Subp. 3. Transportation restrictions. While on any portion of the Minnesota waters
of Lake Superior, a person licensed to take fish by angling or as otherwise authorized by
Minnesota, Wisconsin, Michigan, or the province of Ontario, may not possess or transport
more than the daily limit of fish allowed under any one but not more than one of their
licenses.

Subp. 4. Taking smelt from Lake Superior. Smelt may be taken by licensed anglers
from Lake Superior and tributary streams subject to the following provisions:

A. smelt may be taken with the use of dip nets and minnow seines not more than
25 feet in length nor more than four feet in depth. Seines may not be used in any stream,
except the St. Louis River, and seines may not be used in Lake Superior within 100 feet of
the mouth of any stream,;

B. live smelt may not be possessed or transported; and

C. taking of smelt at any time is prohibited in the following streams tributary to
Lake Superior:

(1) French River, St. Louis County;
(2) Sucker River, St. Louis County;
(3) Little Sucker River, St. Louis County;
(4) Silver Creek, Lake County;
(5) Encampment River, Lake County; and
(6) Crow Creek, Lake County.
Subp. 5. Prohibition on taking fish for bait purposes.

A. Except as provided in this subpart, taking fish for bait purposes from all
Minnesota waters of Lake Superior and all waters of the St. Louis River downstream of
the Fond du Lac Dam in St. Louis and Carlton Counties, including any and all outflows,
estuaries, streams, creeks, or waters adjacent to or flowing into these waters, is prohibited.

B. Notwithstanding Minnesota Statutes, sections 84D.03, subdivision 3, and
97C.341, paragraph (b), eggs from legally taken and possessed trout harvested from Lake
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Superior or its tributaries below the posted boundaries may be used to make spawn bags
for bait as provided in this item and as authorized in Minnesota Statutes, section 97C.341,
paragraph (a). Spawn bags may be used only in Lake Superior and its tributaries below
the posted boundaries and may be transported to and from Lake Superior or its tributaries
below the posted boundaries.

C. Notwithstanding Minnesota Statutes, section 84D.03, subdivision 3, and as
provided in Minnesota Statutes, section 97C.341, paragraph (¢), cisco or rainbow smelt may
be taken for use as bait from Lake Superior or its tributaries below the posted boundaries,
except those streams listed in subpart 4, item C. The cisco and rainbow smelt may be used
only on Lake Superior or its tributaries below the posted boundaries, as fresh, dead, frozen,
or preserved bait. Preserved cisco and smelt may be used as prescribed in part 6262.0576
on all waters of the state.

Subp. 6. Lake Superior and tributaries open season, daily and possession limits.
Angling season and daily and possession limits for Lake Superior are as follows:

Species Open Season Daily and Possession Limits

A.Rainbow trout, including

steelhead

Lake Superior and all streams Continuous 5 in aggregate with brown and
and rivers from Lake Superior brook trout and splake. No more
upstream to the posted than 3 may be clipped rainbow
boundaries, including the St. trout, including steelhead. The
Louis River upstream to the minimum size limit for clipped
Highway 23 bridge, and Lake rainbow trout is 16 inches in
Superior tributaries with no length. Clipped rainbow trout
posted boundaries. have their adipose fin removed

and must show a healed scar.
No harvest of unclipped rainbow
trout is allowed. All unclipped
rainbow trout must be returned
to the water immediately and it
1s unlawful for anyone to have in
possession, regardless of where
taken, any unclipped rainbow
trout while on or fishing in Lake
Superior.
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In all streams of the Lake
Superior watershed in St.
Louis, Lake, Carlton, and
Cook Counties above the
posted boundaries and their
tributaries.

Saturday nearest
April 15 to
September 30

. Brook trout and splake

Lake Superior and all streams Saturday nearest
and rivers from Lake Superior April 15 through
upstream to the posted Labor Day
boundaries, including the St.

Louis River upstream to the

Highway 23 bridge, and Lake

Superior tributaries with no

posted boundaries.

In all streams of the Lake
Superior watershed in St.
Louis, Lake, Carlton, and
Cook Counties above the
posted boundaries and their
tributaries.

Saturday nearest
April 15 to
September 30

. Brown trout

Lake Superior and all streams Continuous
and rivers from Lake Superior

upstream to the posted

boundaries, including the St.

Louis River upstream to the

Highway 23 bridge, and Lake

Superior tributaries with no

posted boundaries.

6262.0300

No harvest of rainbow trout

is allowed. All rainbow trout
must be returned to the water
immediately. It is unlawful for
anyone to have in possession,
regardless of where taken, any
rainbow trout while on or fishing
in the listed waters.

5 in aggregate with brown and
rainbow trout. The aggregate
limit for brook trout and splake is
1 and the minimum size limit is
20 inches in length.

5 in aggregate with brown trout.
No more than 1 may be over 16
inches in length.

5 in aggregate with rainbow and
brook trout and splake. No more
than 1 may be over 16 inches
and the minimum size limit is 10
inches in length.
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In all streams of the Lake Saturday nearest 5 in aggregate with brook trout
Superior watershed in St. April 15 to and splake. No more than 1 may
Louis, Lake, Carlton, and September 30 be over 16 inches in length.

Cook Counties above the
posted boundaries and their
tributaries.

D. Lake trout

Lake Superior and all streams December 1 3
and rivers from Lake Superior through the first
upstream to the posted full weekend in
boundaries, including the St.  October

Louis River upstream to the

Highway 23 bridge, and Lake

Superior tributaries with no

posted boundaries.

E. Chinook, coho, Atlantic, and Continuous 5 in aggregate. All must be at
pink salmon least 10 inches in length. Only 1
may be an Atlantic salmon.

F. Smelt Continuous Smelt may be possessed without
limit and may be bought or sold
at any time.

G. Walleye

Lake Superior and all streams Saturday two weeks 2. All must be at least 15 inches
and rivers from Lake Superior prior to Saturday  in length.

upstream to the posted of Memorial Day

boundaries, including the St.  weekend through

Louis River upstream to the = March 1

Highway 23 bridge, and Lake

Superior tributaries with no

posted boundaries.
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H. Northern pike

Lake Superior and all streams Saturday two weeks 2
and rivers from Lake Superior prior to Saturday
upstream to the posted of Memorial Day
boundaries, including the St. weekend through
Louis River upstream to the =~ March 1

Highway 23 bridge, and Lake

Superior tributaries with no

posted boundaries.

All other species may be taken as allowed by inland regulations. When the closing date
of the season falls on a Saturday, the season extends to the following Sunday.

Subp. 7. Single hook restrictions. Only a single hook per rod may be used for angling
below the posted boundaries in tributaries to Lake Superior, except in the Pigeon River
(Cook County), and the St. Louis River (St. Louis and Carlton Counties). "Single hook"
does not include a treble or double hook, stinger hook, or lure with multiple single hooks
or more than one hook on any type of drop line or at the end of the line.

Statutory Authority: MS s 14.388; 84.027; 974.045; 97C.025; 97C.315; 97C.341;
97C.395; 97C.401; 97C.415; 97C.811; and others at 19 SR 6

History: /8 SR 83; 19 SR 484, 19 SR 2222; 22 SR 292; 23 SR 348; 28 SR 629; 35 SR
1396, 37 SR 1664, 38 SR 787; 39 SR 822; 39 SR 1619
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