6230.0200 SPECIAL PROVISIONS FOR WILDLIFE MANAGEMENT AREAS.

Subpart 1. **Areas requiring a permit to trap.** The following wildlife management areas are open to trapping with a permit:

- A. Carlos Avery in Anoka and Chisago Counties;
- B. Hubbel Pond in Becker County;
- C. Red Lake in Beltrami and Lake of the Woods Counties;
- D. Talcot Lake in Cottonwood and Murray Counties;
- E. Mille Lacs in Mille Lacs and Kanabec Counties;
- F. Lac qui Parle in Big Stone, Lac qui Parle, Swift, and Chippewa Counties;
- G. Roseau River in Roseau County;
- H. Thief Lake in Marshall County; and
- I. Whitewater in Olmsted, Wabasha, and Winona Counties.
- Subp. 2. **Trapping permits.** On areas where trapping permits are required, the number of trapping permits may be limited to avoid undue depletion of the furbearer resources or to prevent excessive crowding of trappers. The wildlife manager may establish a method, including a drawing, for impartially selecting the persons who may trap. An application for a trapping permit may be rejected if the trapper has failed to submit a trapping report for the previous season. Permits may be revoked at any time if the permittee violates any law or regulation or fails to comply with the requirements of the permit.
- Subp. 3. Areas closed to migratory waterfowl hunting. The Gordon W. Yeager Wildlife Management Area and the Eastside Wildlife Management Area in Olmsted County and the Carl Schmidt Wildlife Management Area in Morrison County are closed to the taking of migratory waterfowl. On the Gordon W. Yeager Wildlife Management Area, small game taken by firearms may only be taken with shotguns using No. 4 or smaller diameter shot.
- Subp. 4. **Areas with hunting, trapping, and firearms restrictions.** The Bayport Wildlife Management Area in Washington County, the Hastings Wildlife Management Area in Dakota County, and the Raguet Wildlife Management Area in Scott and Carver Counties are:
- A. closed to the trapping of unprotected mammals, except when there is an open trapping season for a protected species;

- B. closed to the possession of firearms unless unloaded and contained in a case, except that shotguns with only No. 4 buckshot or smaller diameter shot may be used during the small game season in posted areas; and
- C. open to the possession and use of lawful archery equipment in designated hunting areas during established hunting seasons.

In the Bayport Wildlife Management Area, all firearms will be allowed on the specified rifle range when supervised by the Minnesota Department of Corrections.

- Subp. 5. Areas closed to hunting and trapping. The Boerner Wildlife Management Area in Sibley County, the Buelow Wildlife Management Area in Steele County, the Bryson Wildlife Management Area in Freeborn County, the Chapa-Kak-Say-Za Wildlife Management Area in Steele County, and the Hutchinson Wildlife Management Area in McLeod County are closed to the hunting and trapping of all species. The Sand Prairie Wildlife Management Area in Sherburne County is closed to the hunting and trapping of all species, except hunting by individuals with disabilities participating in a special hunt.
- Subp. 6. **Areas closed to hunting only.** The following wildlife management areas are closed to the hunting of all species:
- A. Hearding Island and Interstate Island Wildlife Management Areas in St. Louis County;
 - B. Pine City Wildlife Management Area in Pine County;
 - C. Wesley E. Olson Wildlife Management Area in Big Stone County;
 - D. Tom Cliff Wildlife Management Area in Waseca County;
 - E. Somsen Wildlife Management Area in Brown County;
- F. that portion of the Perched Valley Wildlife Management Area located in Section 6, Township 112 North, Range 13 West, and Section 31, Township 113 North, Range 13 West, lying north and east of Highway 61; and
- G. Carl and Verna Schmidt and Bur Oak Wildlife Management Areas in LeSueur County.
- Subp. 7. **Areas open to waterfowl hunting only.** The Gold Portage Wildlife Management Area in Koochiching and St. Louis Counties is open to waterfowl hunting during the established season. It is closed to all other hunting and to trapping.
- Subp. 8. Areas open to hunting beginning with the opening of waterfowl season. The Uppgaard Wildlife Management Area in Crow Wing County is open to hunting and trapping beginning on the opening date of the regular migratory waterfowl season. Unprotected species may not be taken, except during the same time and by the same methods legal to take protected species.

- Subp. 9. Areas closed to firearms deer hunting. The Lake Blanche Wildlife Management Area in Otter Tail County, the Gordon W. Yeager Wildlife Management Area in Olmsted County, a portion of the Timber Lake Wildlife Management Area (as posted) in Jackson County, and a portion of the Gores Pool Wildlife Management Area (as posted) in Dakota County are closed to firearms deer hunting. Small game taken by firearms on a portion of Gores Pool Wildlife Management Area in Dakota County that is posted with firearms restrictions may only be taken with shotguns using BBB or smaller diameter shot.
- Subp. 10. **Areas closed to trapping only.** The Pike Bay Wildlife Management Area in St. Louis County is closed to the trapping of all species.

Subp. 11. Areas with other restrictions.

- A. The Schrafel Wildlife Management Area in Mower County is closed to trapping and firearms hunting.
- B. The Hvoslef Wildlife Management Area in Fillmore County is open to archery hunting only from September 1 to October 31 and during the spring wild turkey seasons. Firearms hunting, except the use of centerfire rifles, is allowed from November 1 to December 15.
- C. The Bass Brook Wildlife Management Area in Itasca County is closed to trapping and firearms hunting. It is open to archery deer hunting.
- D. The Mentel Wildlife Management Area in Mower County is closed to all firearms hunting, but open for trapping and archery hunting.
- Subp. 12. **Sanctuary areas open to hunting.** The following sanctuary areas of wildlife management areas posted with "Wildlife Sanctuary Do Not Trespass" signs are open for hunting as specified:
- A. The Talcot Lake Wildlife Management Area Sanctuary is open for deer hunting by persons with disabilities at designated stands, by permit, during the established state seasons.
 - B. The Carlos Avery Wildlife Management Area sanctuaries are open for:
 - (1) hunting by persons with disabilities at designated stands, by permit; and
- (2) taking wild turkeys during the spring wild turkey season in those portions of the sanctuaries that lie within an open spring wild turkey hunting zone.
- Subp. 13. **Lead shot prohibited on posted managed dove fields.** A person may not use or possess lead shot while hunting doves on posted managed dove fields in state wildlife management areas.

Statutory Authority: MS s 86A.06; 97A.045; 97A.137; and others at 19 SR 6

History: 18 SR 83; 19 SR 484; 19 SR 2222; 22 SR 292; 24 SR 644; 30 SR 613; 34 SR 621; 35 SR 2014; 36 SR 1155

Published Electronically: April 12, 2012