## 6100.5000 SNOWMOBILE REGISTRATION AND DISPLAY OF NUMBERS.

Subpart 1. **Application.** Application for snowmobile registration shall be made to the commissioner of natural resources or authorized agent on the form prescribed. Registrants must be 18 years of age or older prior to applying for registration of a snowmobile. Upon presentation of a bill of sale in the form prescribed by the commissioner, and payment of the fee required, a snowmobile registration certificate will be issued to the applicant. Registration certificates are valid for a period of three years. A decal showing the expiration date shall be affixed to the machine as illustrated below.

Subp. 2. **Required information.** The applicant shall furnish all the information required by the application for snowmobile registration.

Subp. 3. Affixation of number. The registration number of the snowmobile, shown on the registration certificate, shall be affixed to the snowmobile and maintained in a clear, legible manner. On all machines made after June 30, 1972, and sold in Minnesota, such registration number shall be affixed in the space provided therefor in accordance with part 6100.5700, subpart 4. On all other machines it shall be affixed on each side of the cowling on the upper half of the machine, as follows.

Subp. 4. **Description of decal or number; lost or destroyed number or decal.** All letters and numbers shall be of a color which will contrast with the surface to which applied, and shall be at least three inches high and three-eighths inch stroke. When any previously affixed registration number or decal is destroyed or lost, a duplicate shall be affixed in the manner shown above. The registration number shall remain the same if renewed by July 1 following the expiration date.

Subp. 5. General prohibition. No person shall operate or transport, and no person shall permit the operation of, a snowmobile within this state which does not have its registration number and unexpired decal affixed in the form and manner required by this part, unless the owner is exempted from the registration requirements of this state by Minnesota Statutes, section 84.82.

Subp. 6. **Duplicate certificate.** A duplicate registration certificate will be issued upon application by the owner to the commissioner on the form prescribed and upon payment of the fee required by law. Replacement registration decals may be obtained from the Department of Natural Resources License Center or any conservation officer.

Subp. 7. **Transfer of ownership.** Application for transfer of ownership shall be made to the commissioner within 15 days of the date of transfer. An "Application for Transfer"

## REVISOR

form is to be executed by the registered owner and the purchaser and submitted together with the fee required by law, the owner's registration certificate, and a bill of sale in the form prescribed by the commissioner.

Subp. 8. **Reporting of abandoned, stolen, or destroyed snowmobiles.** Abandoned, stolen, or destroyed snowmobiles shall be reported to the commissioner within 15 days by completing the reverse side of the registration certificate. No fee is charged for the reporting.

**Statutory Authority:** *MS s 84.86* 

History: 17 SR 1279; L 2003 c 2 art 1 s 45

Published Electronically: June 11, 2008