
5200.2030 APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION AND RENEWAL.​

Subpart 1. Requirements to become a certified worker organization. To become a certified​
worker organization, an applicant must:​

A. meet the definition of worker organization in Minnesota Statutes, section 181.211;​

B. submit complete information satisfying the application requirements under subpart 2;​
and​

C. demonstrate the ability to provide training as follows:​

(1) the training must follow curriculum established by the board and include a​
synchronous portion for fielding questions from nursing home workers;​

(2) the training, follow-up written materials, and responses to inquiries are in a language​
in which a nursing home worker is proficient;​

(3) the training records must be provided to the nursing home; and​

(4) the records of workers who attend a training, including when the workers were​
trained, are retained by the worker organization for five years.​

Subp. 2. Application.​

A. To become certified, an applicant must file with the board an application in a format​
prescribed by the board that includes:​

(1) the applicant's legal business name;​

(2) the applicant's federal employer tax identification number;​

(3) a list of the applicant's board of directors;​

(4) an affirmation that the applicant is exempt from federal income taxation under​
section 501(c)(3), 501(c)(4), or 501(c)(5) of the Internal Revenue Code;​

(5) an affirmation that the applicant is not dominated or interfered with by any nursing​
home employer within the meaning of United States Code, title 29, section 158a(2);​

(6) an explanation of and evidence demonstrating that the applicant has at least five​
years of experience engaging with and advocating for nursing home workers;​

(7) an affirmation that data received from a nursing home employer in connection to​
the training of its nursing home workers will be maintained according to any applicable data security​
law and used only for the purposes of Minnesota Statutes, section 181.214, subdivision 5;​

(8) information demonstrating that the applicant will follow the curriculum established​
by the board and otherwise satisfy the requirements of Minnesota Statutes, section 181.214,​
including:​

(a) the training materials the applicant proposes to use;​
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(b) the follow-up materials the applicant proposes to send to nursing home workers​
after trainings, which must include a certificate of completion formatted in a manner prescribed by​
the board; and​

(c) an affirmation that the applicant will provide training, follow-up written materials,​
and responses to inquiries in a language in which a nursing home worker is proficient;​

(9) an affirmation that the applicant will update its curriculum as required by the board;​

(10) an affirmation that the applicant will provide nursing homes with applicable training​
records; and​

(11) an affirmation that the information provided in the application is true.​

B. An applicant may request that the executive director or the executive director's designee​
examine parts of the application and answer questions related to eligibility.​

Subp. 3. Renewal application. Within 30 days of updated standards becoming effective, the​
board must open a renewal application period. The renewal application period must last 60 days,​
during which time a certified worker organization must apply for renewal if it wishes to remain​
certified. The applicant must file with the board a complete renewal application in a format prescribed​
by the board that includes:​

A. updates to any information previously provided to the board;​

B. an affirmation that the applicant has reviewed any updated standards and curriculum​
established by the board;​

C. an affirmation that the applicant will educate its trainers on the updated standards and​
curriculum;​

D. an affirmation that data received from a nursing home employer in connection to the​
training of its nursing home workers will be maintained according to any applicable data security​
law and used only for the purposes set forth in Minnesota Statutes, section 181.214, subdivision 5;​
and​

E. an affirmation that all information in the application is true.​

Statutory Authority: MS s 181.213; 181.214; 181.215​
History: 49 SR 628​
Published Electronically: January 24, 2025​
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