4830.0400 APPLICATION DATES AND STUDENT ELIGIBILITY.

- Subpart 1. **Date.** Annually the office shall adopt by resolution a date after February 14, by which all applications must be filed to receive an award.
 - Subp. 2. [Repealed, 15 SR 1780]
- Subp. 2a. **Out-of-state housing.** A student's Minnesota residence is not lost if the student or parent must live outside of Minnesota for purposes of postsecondary education, military service, or missionary work, provided the student or parent continues to claim Minnesota as the state of legal residence for income tax purposes.
 - Subp. 3. [Repealed, 15 SR 1780]
- Subp. 4. **Eligibility for initial grant.** To be eligible for an initial grant a student must be an eligible student, as defined in part 4830.0100, subpart 5, except item D, and:
 - A. demonstrate financial need;
 - B. if under 17 years old, hold a high school diploma or the equivalent;
- C. pursuing a program or course of study that applies to a degree, diploma, or certificate;
 - D. must not have received a previous Minnesota state grant; and
- E. is not more than 30 days in arrears for any child support payments owed to a public agency responsible for child support enforcement or, if the student is more than 30 days in arrears, is complying with a payment plan for arrearages.
- Subp. 5. **Renewal awards.** A grant is renewable for a maximum of six semesters, nine quarters, or the equivalent, but must not continue after the first of the following occurrences:
 - A. the recipient has obtained a baccalaureate degree; or
- B. the recipient has been enrolled on a full-time basis for eight semesters, 12 quarters, or the equivalent, taking into account the exclusions specified in Minnesota Statutes, section 136A.121, subdivision 9.

To be eligible to renew a grant a student must apply each year and continue to meet the requirements for an initial grant, except for subpart 4, item D. A student must have made satisfactory academic progress as defined in Minnesota Statutes, section 136A.101, subdivision 10.

Subp. 5a. **Child support arrearages.** A grant is not renewable if the recipient is more than 30 days in arrears for any child support payment owed to a public agency responsible for child support enforcement and not subject to a payment plan for arrearages or not in compliance with a payment plan for the arrearages.

Subp. 6. [Repealed, 18 SR 1141]

Subp. 7. **Minnesota correctional institution.** "Minnesota correctional institution" means a federal or state penal institution located in Minnesota in which students are eligible for grants under this rule pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 136A.121, subdivision 6.

Statutory Authority: MS s 136A.01; 136A.04; 136A.111; 136A.134; 136A.16; 136A.234; 136A.70; 147.30

History: 8 SR 196; 8 SR 2335; 9 SR 991; 10 SR 2319; 13 SR 128; 15 SR 1780; 16 SR 1822; 18 SR 1141; L 1995 c 212 art 3 s 59; 20 SR 2284

Published Electronically: June 11, 2008