4761.2200 CERTIFIED LEAD FIRMS.

Subpart 1. General requirements.

A. A person who employs individuals to perform regulated lead work outside of the person's property must obtain certification as a lead firm according to Minnesota Statutes, section 144.9505, subdivisions 1 and 1g.

B. Persons exempt from certification, as specified in Minnesota Statutes, section 144.9505, subdivision 1, paragraph (d), must comply with parts 4761.2000 to 4761.2700.

C. A firm that is certified under this part and employs a subcontractor to perform regulated lead work must ensure that the subcontractor is licensed, certified, or registered under this chapter.

Subp. 2. **Application.** An applicant for certification as a lead firm must submit to the commissioner:

A. a completed application on a form provided by the commissioner;

B. evidence of workers' compensation insurance as required by Minnesota Statutes, section 176.182, unless the applicant is not liable to pay workers' compensation under Minnesota Statutes, chapter 176. If the applicant is not liable to pay workers' compensation under Minnesota Statutes, chapter 176, the applicant must submit a letter to the commissioner, signed and dated, stating why the applicant is not liable. The Department of Health must be listed on the certificate of workers' compensation insurance as a certificate holder; and

C. a \$100 nonrefundable fee payable to the Minnesota Department of Health.

Subp. 3. **Expiration.** A certificate issued under this part is valid for 12 months. A lead firm's certificate must be current for the firm to continue conducting regulated lead work.

Subp. 4. **Renewal.** A certified lead firm must renew its certification annually. Certification may be renewed by submitting the information required under subpart 2.

Subp. 5. **Denial; conditions.** The commissioner shall deny an application for certification if the applicant fails to comply with all applicable requirements in this part. The commissioner may also deny an application or set conditions on a certification according to Minnesota Statutes, section 144.99, subdivision 8. If a certification application is denied, the applicant:

A. must be notified in writing of the denied certification application and the reasons for the denial; and

B. is not required to pay a second fee if the applicant submits a second application according to subpart 2 within 30 days of receiving the notice that the application was denied. Fees are required for all subsequent applications.

Statutory Authority: MS s 144.9508

History: 29 SR 531

Published Electronically: November 29, 2004