4716.0210 CREDIT FOR HOURS OF INSTRUCTION.

Subpart 1. **Approval of continuing education programs.** To qualify as a continuing education hour of instruction under part 4716.0205, subpart 1, a continuing education program shall be approved in advance by the department. The subject matter must pertain to the plumbing code or the topics specified in part 4716.0205, subpart 1. The sponsor shall submit an application for approval according to Minnesota Statutes, section 326B.0981. An interactive educational program may also be approved for presentation through electronic media. Any program presented through electronic media that does not include real-time interaction between the presenter and the licensee or registrant must include an examination process that ensures a licensee or registrant has successfully completed the program.

Subp. 2. Notification of presentations. Not less than 30 days prior to a presentation of a continuing education program, the sponsor shall notify the department in writing of the date, time, and location of the program.

Subp. 3. **Instruction in another state.** Notwithstanding subparts 1 and 2, continuing education programs that are offered in another state and have not been preapproved by the department, shall be approved for credit if the department is provided with evidence that the educational program meets the requirements of this part, part 4716.0205, and Minnesota Statutes, sections 326B.098 to 326B.099, and the course has been approved for continuing education hours of instruction or credit by a public authority licensing plumbers or restricted plumbers in the other state.

Subp. 4. **Qualifications of instructors.** All educational programs shall be conducted by instructors who meet the requirements of Minnesota Statutes, section 326B.099, subdivision 3, and have the qualifications described in at least one of the following items:

A. an individual plumber license issued by the department and at least four years' experience in plumbing inspection, plumbing installations, or teaching subjects within the scope of plumbing work permitted by the instructor's license;

B. at least five years' practical experience in the subject being taught. An instructor in this category may only be approved for instruction on technical topics related to plumbing installations and equipment; or

C. an instructor certified by a national plumbing-related training program.

Subp. 5. Credit for teaching. Instructors of educational programs approved under this part shall receive instruction credit for each hour of instruction allowable under subpart 1.

Subp. 6. **Report of credits earned.** Within 14 days after presentation of an educational program for credit under part 4716.0205, the sponsor shall provide a certificate of completion to each licensee or registrant in attendance and shall forward an attendance

list and original attendance sign-in document to the department on a form supplied by the department, or in a format approved by the department. Each certificate of completion and attendance list shall include the name of the sponsor, date and location of the presentation, educational program identification that was provided to the department, hours of instruction or continuing education units, and the licensee's or registrant's name and license or registration number or the last four digits of the applicant's Social Security number. The attendance list must be typewritten and provide a summary of each attendee's hours for each course attended.

Subp. 7. Credit for completing an educational program. Participants in an educational program must complete the entire program to receive credit. Partial credit must not be granted.

Statutory Authority: *MS s 326B.43; 326B.435; 326B.52*

History: 37 SR 5

Published Electronically: December 5, 2012