## MINNESOTA RULES

## 4716.0092 LICENSURE.

Subpart 1. Water conditioning contractor. An applicant for a water conditioning contractor license must designate a responsible licensed master as defined in Minnesota Statutes, section 326B.50. The responsible licensed master must give a minimum 15-day notice to the water conditioning contractor and the department before resigning as the responsible licensed master for the contractor. The contractor and responsible licensed master must immediately notify the department upon the termination or separation of the contractor's responsible licensed master. The water conditioning contractor shall have 60 days from the last day of employment of its previous responsible licensed master to employ another responsible licensed master. The water conditioning contractor shall submit written notification to the department that it has designated a different responsible licensed master. If the water conditioning contractor is unable to acquire a replacement responsible license and desist from performing any water conditioning work and return the contractor's hall cease and desist from performing any water conditioning work and return the contractor's license for voluntary termination. Upon acquiring a replacement responsible licensed master, the water conditioning work and return the contractor's license is invalid and the contractor's license for voluntary termination. Upon acquiring a replacement responsible licensed master, the water conditioning work and return the contractor's license is section 326B.096.

Subp. 2. Water conditioning master. An applicant for a water conditioning master license must satisfactorily pass an examination given by the commissioner. An applicant for the water conditioning master examination must have had at least 12 months' experience as a licensed water conditioning journeyworker, or at least 12 months of practical experience as listed in subpart 4, items B and C, subitem (1). The applicant is responsible for verifying practical experience.

Subp. 3. Water conditioning journeyworker. An applicant for a water conditioning journeyworker license must satisfactorily pass an examination given by the commissioner. An applicant for the water conditioning journeyworker examination must have been a registered unlicensed water conditioner at all times while obtaining at least six months of practical experience as listed in subpart 4, item C, subitem (2), except as permitted in subpart 4, item A, subitem (4). The applicant is responsible for verifying practical experience.

Subp. 4. **Experience.** For the purposes of the experience required under subparts 2 and 3, the following requirements apply.

A. Experience in the planning, superintending, installing, and servicing of water conditioning systems is acceptable in the situations described in the following:

(1) experience while in the employ of a contractor licensed under Minnesota Statutes, section 326B.46 or 326B.55, and this part;

(2) experience while working in Minnesota for an employer who is exempt from being licensed as a contractor under Minnesota Statutes, section 326B.46 or 326B.55, subdivision 1, paragraph (d), clause (2), if the water conditioning installation or servicing work is done under the supervision of a properly licensed individual;

(3) experience while performing the practical installation and servicing of water conditioning systems outside of Minnesota, which the department has determined is substantially

## MINNESOTA RULES

equivalent to work performed while in the employ of a licensed contractor in Minnesota. The determination must be based on a certification by the employer for the type of work performed; or

(4) experience performing the practical installation and servicing of water conditioning systems while in the military of the United States, which the department has determined is substantially equivalent to the work performed while in the employ of a licensed contractor in Minnesota. The determination must be based on a certification by the military for the type of work performed.

B. Twelve months of experience consists of at least 1,750 hours, which may be obtained in more than one 12-month period; however, not more than 1,750 hours shall be credited for one calendar year.

C. The commissioner may require work records, time cards, pay records, or other documentation necessary to evaluate experience. The commissioner shall make the final determination about the adequacy and acceptability of an applicant's experience.

(1) An applicant for water conditioning master examination must include at least the following number of hours in the following water conditioning aspects:

- (a) installation, 200 hours;
- (b) servicing, 300 hours;
- (c) planning, 250 hours; and
- (d) supervising, 250 hours.

The remaining required hours of practical experience may be in any aspect of water conditioning work. An applicant may not include any hours of experience obtained prior to attaining the age of 17.

(2) An applicant for water conditioning journeyworker examination must include at least the following number of hours in the following water conditioning aspects:

- (a) installation, 100 hours; and
- (b) servicing, 200 hours.

The remaining required hours of practical experience may be in any aspect of water conditioning work. An applicant may not include any hours of experience obtained prior to attaining the age of 17.

D. If the applicant is a registered unlicensed water conditioner:

(1) the applicant must have been a registered unlicensed water conditioner at all times while obtaining the practical water conditioning experience, except as allowed under Minnesota Statutes, section 326B.555, subdivision 2; and

(2) all practical water conditioning experience must be certified by the licensed water conditioning master who is responsible for the work performed. Practical water conditioning

MINNESOTA RULES

experience includes installation, servicing, and training hours. The commissioner may require work records, time cards, pay records, or other documentation necessary to evaluate experience. The commissioner shall make the final determination about the adequacy and acceptability of an applicant's experience.

E. The employer of a water conditioning journeyworker or registered unlicensed water conditioner is responsible for:

(1) recording the practical water conditioning experience worked by each employee;

and

(2) maintaining the records of practical water conditioning experience for at least six years after the employee's last recorded experience.

## Subp. 5. Examinations.

A. Applications to take the water conditioning master or water conditioning journeyworker examination must be submitted on a form approved by the commissioner. Each application must include the fee under Minnesota Statutes, chapter 326B.

B. The commissioner shall give a written examination for the licensing of water conditioning contractors and installers at least once per year. The written licensing examination for contractors and installers shall include questions covering one or more of the following subject areas: relevant plumbing and installation provisions, materials and tools of the trade, general principles of water conditioning processes, and operation of water conditioning equipment. Additionally, the contractor's licensing examination shall include questions covering one or more of the following subjects: calculations to determine appropriate equipment size, and specific functions and processes involved in different types of water conditioning.

C. A score of 70 percent shall be considered passing. The examinee shall be notified of the results of the examination.

Subp. 6. **Renewal and expiration.** The renewal and expiration of a water conditioning contractor, water conditioning master, or water conditioning journeyworker license shall be in accordance with Minnesota Statutes, sections 326B.092 to 326B.097, and 326B.50 to 326B.59.

**Statutory Authority:** *MS s 326B.43; 326B.435; 326B.47; 326B.52; 326B.555* **History:** *37 SR 5; 40 SR 71; 43 SR 1276* **Published Electronically:** *May 8, 2019*