
4716.0020 EXAMINATION AND LICENSING OF PLUMBERS.​

Subpart 1. Examinations. An applicant for a plumber's license, other than a restricted​
journeyworker or restricted master plumber license, must satisfactorily pass an examination given​
by the commissioner.​

A. An applicant for the master plumber examination must have:​

(1) at least one year of practical plumbing experience as a licensed journeyworker​
plumber as described in subpart 2;​

(2) a current master plumber license from another state where the requirements of the​
licensing jurisdiction are equivalent to those of Minnesota, as determined by the commissioner; or​

(3) a current Minnesota restricted master plumber license and five years of verifiable​
experience in business as a plumbing contractor in Minnesota.​

B. An applicant for the journeyworker examination:​

(1) must be registered as a plumber's apprentice in Minnesota as described in Minnesota​
Statutes, section 326B.42, subdivision 6, or must be a registered unlicensed plumber as described​
in part 4716.0010, subpart 6, and must have at least four years of recorded practical plumbing​
experience, as specified in subpart 2, item F;​

(2) must have a current Minnesota restricted journeyworker plumber license or restricted​
master plumber license and at least two years of practical plumbing experience gained while holding​
the restricted plumber license, as specified in subpart 2, item E; or​

(3) must hold a current plumber's license from another state where the licensing​
jurisdiction requires at least four years of practical plumbing experience and an examination to​
qualify for licensure.​

Subp. 2. Experience. This subpart applies to all practical plumbing experience described in​
subpart 1.​

A. One year of practical plumbing experience consists of at least 1,750 hours.​

B. The 1,750 hours necessary to gain one year of practical plumbing experience may be​
worked in more than one 12-month period; however, not more than 1,750 hours shall be credited​
for one calendar year.​

C. Not more than two years of the practical plumbing experience from a state other than​
Minnesota shall be credited unless the applicant first obtains a plumber's license in the other state.​

D. The applicant is responsible for verifying practical plumbing experience. The​
commissioner may require work records, time cards, pay records, or other documentation necessary​
to evaluate practical plumbing experience. The commissioner shall make the final determination​
about the adequacy and acceptability of an applicant's practical plumbing experience.​
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E. If the applicant is a licensed restricted journeyworker plumber or a licensed restricted​
master plumber, subitems (1) and (2) apply.​

(1) The practical plumbing experience must include at least the following number of​
hours in the plumbing aspects specified in units (a) to (c). The remaining required hours of practical​
plumbing experience may be in any aspect of plumbing work included in the definition of plumbing​
in UPC section 218.0 as incorporated by reference in part 4714.0050; however, the applicant must​
include in the application the type of plumbing work and corresponding number of hours:​

(a) water distribution system installation, 1,000 hours;​

(b) drain, waste, and vent system installation, 1,000 hours; and​

(c) fixture installation, 500 hours.​

(2) The applicant must have been a licensed restricted journeyworker or a licensed​
restricted master plumber at all times while obtaining the practical plumbing experience.​

F. If the applicant is a registered unlicensed plumber, subitems (1) and (2) apply.​

(1) The practical plumbing experience must include at least the following number of​
hours in the plumbing aspects specified in units (a) to (c). The remaining required hours of practical​
plumbing experience may be in any aspect of plumbing included in the definition of plumbing in​
UPC section 218.0 as incorporated by reference in part 4714.0050; however, the applicant must​
include in the application the type of plumbing work and corresponding number of hours:​

(a) water distribution system installation, 2,000 hours;​

(b) drain, waste, and vent system installation, 2,000 hours; and​

(c) fixture installation, 1,000 hours.​

(2) The applicant must have been a registered unlicensed plumber at all times while​
obtaining the practical plumbing experience or the applicant must have obtained the practical​
plumbing experience in one of the following ways:​

(a) during military service, and the applicant's military officer certifies the​
experience;​

(b) as part of a plumbing education class approved by the commissioner, and an​
authorized representative of the plumbing educational institution certifies the experience; or​

(c) as a plumber's apprentice in another state where the experience is verified by a​
state agency that regulates plumbing licensing in that state or by a federal agency.​

G. Except as provided in item F, subitem (2), units (a) to (c), all practical plumbing​
experience must be certified by the licensed master plumber who is responsible for the work​
performed. A restricted master plumber cannot certify the restricted master plumber's own experience.​
The employer of a journeyworker plumber, restricted master plumber, restricted journeyworker​
plumber, or registered unlicensed plumber is responsible for:​
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(1) recording the practical plumbing experience worked by each such employee; and​

(2) maintaining these records of practical plumbing experience for at least six years​
after the employee's last recorded experience.​

Statutory Authority: MS s 326B.435; 326B.47; 326B.555​
History: 33 SR 2042; 43 SR 1276​
Published Electronically: May 8, 2019​
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