4690.1900 STANDARDS AND RADIO FREQUENCY ASSIGNMENTS.

- Subpart 1. **Ambulances.** Ambulances must have a two-way very high frequency (VHF) mobile radio, with continuous tone coded squelch system (CTCSS), capable of operating on at least two VHF high band radio frequency channels.
- Subp. 2. **Basic ambulance service.** Each basic ambulance service must have the capability of using a communications base that has a two-way VHF base radio, with CTCSS, capable of operating on at least two VHF high band radio frequency channels.
- Subp. 3. **Assigned radio frequency.** Ambulances and communications bases must select and operate one channel at the radio frequency assigned to the district within which the communications base is located, as follows:
- A. northwestern district (Kittson, Roseau, Lake of the Woods, Marshall, Beltrami, Polk, Pennington, Red Lake, Clearwater, Hubbard, Norman, and Mahnomen Counties) has one channel radio frequency of 155.325 megahertz (MHz);
- B. northeastern district (Koochiching, St. Louis, Lake, Cook, Itasca, Carlton, and Aitkin Counties) has one channel radio frequency of 155.355 MHz;
- C. west central district (Clay, Becker, Wilkin, Otter Tail, Grant, Douglas, Stevens, Traverse, and Pope Counties) has one channel radio frequency of 155.355 MHz;
- D. central district (Cass, Wadena, Crow Wing, Todd, Mille Lacs, Isanti, Pine, Chisago, Kanabec, Morrison, Stearns, Benton, Sherburne, and Wright Counties) has one channel radio frequency of 155.385 MHz;
- E. southwestern district (Swift, Kandiyohi, Meeker, Lac qui Parle, Chippewa, Yellow Medicine, Renville, McLeod, Lincoln, Lyon, Redwood, Pipestone, Murray, Cottonwood, Rock, Nobles, Big Stone, and Jackson Counties) has one channel radio frequency of 155.400 MHz;
- F. south central district (Sibley, Le Sueur, Nicollet, Brown, Watonwan, Blue Earth, Waseca, Martin, and Faribault Counties) has one channel radio frequency of 155.355 MHz;
- G. southeastern district (Rice, Goodhue, Wabasha, Steele, Dodge, Olmsted, Winona, Freeborn, Mower, Fillmore, and Houston Counties) has one channel radio frequency of 155.385 MHz; and
- H. metropolitan district (Anoka, Hennepin, Ramsey, Washington, Carver, Scott, and Dakota Counties) has one channel radio frequency of 155.325 MHz.
- Subp. 4. **CTCSS tone operation.** The CTCSS tone operation on the channel assigned to the district frequency on the mobile radio must be the same as the CTCSS tone operation of the base radio for that channel and frequency.

- Subp. 5. **Channel assigned to national frequency.** Ambulances and communications bases must operate one channel assigned to the national frequency at a radio frequency of 155.340 MHz and must use a CTCSS tone of 210.7 Hz for that channel.
 - Subp. 6. Labeled to show use. Each channel must be labeled to show use.
- Subp. 7. **Base station.** The base station or other receiving site must be configured to receive the CTCSS tone of 210.7 Hz for operation of its speaker, but must not transmit the tone. The receiver must be operated with a digital dial decoder that bypasses the tone circuit for base to base communications on 155.340 MHz.
- Subp. 8. **Ambulance radio.** The ambulance radio must be configured to transmit the CTCSS tone of 210.7 Hz on 155.340 MHz radio frequency, and the radio must be connected in a manner that allows operation of the speaker system without reception of the tone.
- Subp. 9. Use of other means of communication. Ambulances and communications bases may communicate by telephone and means of communication other than radio when radio communications are not necessary.
- Subp. 10. **Prohibition of mobile telephone services.** Mobile telephone services are not acceptable as an alternative to the required two-way radio operation.

Statutory Authority: MS s 144.804; 144E.16

History: L 1987 c 209 s 39

Published Electronically: October 16, 2013