## 4664.0140 ORIENTATION TO HOSPICE REQUIREMENTS.

Subpart 1. **Orientation training.** Every individual applicant for a license and every person who provides direct care, supervision of direct care, or management of services for a licensee must complete an orientation training to hospice requirements before providing hospice services to hospice patients. The orientation need only be completed once. The orientation training must include the following topics:

- A. an overview of this chapter and Minnesota Statutes, sections 144A.75 to 144A.755;
- B. handling of emergencies and use of emergency services;
- C. reporting the maltreatment of vulnerable minors and adults under Minnesota Statutes, chapter 260E and section 626.557;
  - D. the hospice bill of rights;
- E. handling of patients' complaints and reporting of complaints to the Office of Health Facility Complaints;
  - F. services of the Office of the Ombudsman for Older Minnesotans; and
  - G. hospice philosophy and the physical, spiritual, and psychosocial aspects of hospice care.
- Subp. 2. **Sources of orientation training.** The orientation training required by this part may be provided by the licensee or may be obtained from other sources. The commissioner shall provide a curriculum and materials that may be used to present the orientation training.
- Subp. 3. **Verification and documentation.** Each licensee shall retain evidence that the required orientation training has been completed by each person specified in subpart 1.
  - Subp. 4. **Fines.** For each violation of the following subparts, the stated fine shall be assessed:
    - A. subpart 1, \$300; and
    - B. subpart 3, \$50.

**Statutory Authority:** MS s 144A.752

**History:** 28 SR 1639

Published Electronically: October 13, 2021